DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the "road type recognition unit" and the "control unit" in claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/850,220 in view of Takiguchi et al. (cited below). Claim 2 (and claim 1, upon which it is dependent) of the reference application teaches:
A mobile object control device for controlling a mobile object capable of moving both on a roadway and in a predetermined region different from the roadway
(Claim 1) “A mobile object control device for controlling a mobile object capable of moving both on a roadway and in a predetermined region different from the roadway”
a road type recognition unit configured to recognize whether the mobile object is moving on the roadway or in the predetermined region on the basis of an output of an external environment detection device configured to detect an external situation of the mobile object
(Claim 1) “a road type recognition unit configured to recognize whether the mobile object is moving on the roadway or in the predetermined region on the basis of an output of an external environment detection device configured to detect an external situation of the mobile object”
a control unit configured to limit a speed of a case where the mobile object moves on the roadway to a first speed and limit a speed of a case where the mobile object moves in the predetermined region to a second speed lower than the first speed
(Claim 1) “a control unit configured to limit a speed of a case where the mobile object moves on the roadway to a first speed and limit a speed of a case where the mobile object moves in the predetermined region to a second speed lower than the first speed”
wherein the road type recognition unit
(Claim 2) “wherein the road type recognition unit recognizes whether the mobile object is moving on the roadway or in the predetermined region on the basis of a roadway score”
The claims of the reference application are silent as to how the roadway score is determined; however, Takiguchi et al. teaches:
wherein the road type recognition unit adds a point value to a roadway score every time each of a plurality of first events indicating that the mobile object is moving on the roadway is recognized on the basis of the output of the external environment detection device and recognizes that the mobile object is moving on the roadway when the roadway score is greater than or equal to a first threshold value
(Takiguchi – [0024]) “the road type determination unit 50 assigns predetermined points (increased or decreased points) when the external environment recognition unit 20 detects a pedestrian, when it detects a toll gate, etc. Then, if the total points (evaluation points) exceed a predetermined number of points, it is determined that the road the vehicle is currently on is a highway.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the roadway score of the reference application with the calculation method of Takiguchi et al. Both the reference application and Takiguchi et al. are directed towards the use of a roadway score to determine a road type; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that this could be done with predictable results. One would have been motivated to do this in order to refine the positioning accuracy beyond that offered by GPS (Takiguchi – [0005]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9: Claim 1, upon which claim 9 is dependent, recites that a mobile object is moving on a roadway when a roadway score is greater than or equal to a first threshold value. However, claim 9 recites that the mobile object is moving in a predetermined region (which is not the roadway) when the roadway score is less than or equal to a second threshold value which is greater than the first threshold value. It is not clear what determination is made in a situation where the roadway score is above the first threshold but below the second threshold. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as if the second threshold replaces the first threshold in determining where the mobile object is moving.
Regarding claim 10: Claim 10 fails to cure the deficiencies of claim 9 and is thus indefinite for at least the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nangeroni et al. (US 20190383627, cited in applicant IDS) in view of Takiguchi et al. (WO2019216386, cited in applicant IDS).
Claim 1.
Nangeroni et al. teaches:
A mobile object control device for controlling a mobile object capable of moving both on a roadway and in a predetermined region different from the roadway
(Nangeroni – [0033]) “The motorized vehicle preferably includes one or more remote controllers, which can be operable to accept control inputs from user input devices”
a road type recognition unit configured to recognize whether the mobile object is moving on the roadway or in the predetermined region on the basis of an output of an external environment detection device configured to detect an external situation of the mobile object
(Nangeroni – [0064]) “The vehicle operation parameters can include: … location type and/or classification of the path on which the vehicle is operating, such as the roadway type (e.g., residential road, multi-lane road, highway, bike lane, bike path, sidewalk, pedestrian path, unpaved trail, not a designated roadway or path, etc.)”
a control unit configured to limit a speed of a case where the mobile object moves on the roadway to a first speed and limit a speed of a case where the mobile object moves in the predetermined region to a second speed lower than the first speed
(Nangeroni – [0069]) “when the vehicle is operating on a roadway type other than the permitted roadway types (e.g., undesired roadway type, such as sidewalk, pedestrian path, highway, not a designated roadway or path, etc.), then the vehicle operation responses can restrict vehicle operation parameters, such as to limit the vehicle’s maximum speed to an amount less than the standard maximum speed”
Nangeroni et al. does not explicitly teach determining a roadway score; however, Takiguchi et al. teaches:
wherein the road type recognition unit adds a point value to a roadway score every time each of a plurality of first events indicating that the mobile object is moving on the roadway is recognized on the basis of the output of the external environment detection device and recognizes that the mobile object is moving on the roadway when the roadway score is greater than or equal to a first threshold value
(Takiguchi – [0024]) “the road type determination unit 50 assigns predetermined points (increased or decreased points) when the external environment recognition unit 20 detects a pedestrian, when it detects a toll gate, etc. Then, if the total points (evaluation points) exceed a predetermined number of points, it is determined that the road the vehicle is currently on is a highway.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the vehicle operation parameters of Nangeroni et al. such that the roadway type is determined based on the point value of Takiguchi et al. Nangeroni et al. teaches general determination of a roadway type without a specific method and Takiguchi et al. teaches a specific method of determining a roadway type; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that they could be combined with predictable results. One would have been motivated to do this because GPS alone is insufficiently accurate to determine a road type based on a determined vehicle position (Takiguchi – [0005]).
Claim 4.
The combination of Nangeroni et al. and Takiguchi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Nangeroni et al. further teaches:
wherein the plurality of first events include that a vehicle is moving in a region where the mobile object is located
(Nangeroni – [0121]) “Position type information can be determined based on… image recognition such as recognition of features associated with one or more path types (e.g., image recognition of bike lane markings, pedestrians on a sidewalk, automobiles on a roadway, etc.)”
Claim 5.
The combination of Nangeroni et al. and Takiguchi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Nangeroni et al. further teaches:
wherein the plurality of first events include that there is a road surface marking on a road surface of a region where the mobile object is located
(Nangeroni – [0121]) “Position type information can be determined based on… image recognition such as recognition of features associated with one or more path types (e.g., image recognition of bike lane markings, pedestrians on a sidewalk, automobiles on a roadway, etc.)”
Claim 15.
Rejected by the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 16.
Rejected by the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Nangeroni et al. and Takiguchi et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pieper et al. (US 20220141450).
Claim 2.
The combination of Nangeroni et al. and Takiguchi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. While Takiguchi et al. teaches assigning weights to different detected objects, neither Nangeroni et al. nor Takiguchi et al. explicitly teaches weighting a point value based on a degree of confidence. However, Pieper et al. teaches:
wherein the road type recognition unit weights a point value in accordance with a degree of confidence when each of the plurality of first events has been recognized and adds the weighted point value to the roadway score
(Pieper – [0237]) “a neural network that outputs a measure of confidence for each object detection. Such a confidence value may be interpreted as a probability, or as providing a relative ‘weight’ of each detection compared to other detections.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the object detections of Nangeroni et al. with the confidence weights of Pieper et al. One would have been motivated to do this to allow the system to screen out potential false positive detections in the sensor data (Pieper – [0237]).
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Nangeroni et al. and Takiguchi et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tran (US 20210108926).
Claim 3.
The combination of Nangeroni et al. and Takiguchi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. While both Nangeroni et al. and Takiguchi et al. teach the detection of various objects, neither explicitly teaches detecting a static obstacle other than a vehicle not located inside an outer edge of a region where the mobile object is located. However, Tran teaches:
wherein the plurality of first events include that a static obstacle other than a vehicle is not located inside an outer edge of a region where the mobile object is located
(Tran – Abstract) “capturing a point cloud from a vehicle street view and converting the point cloud to a 3D model; applying a trained neural network to detect street signs, cross walks, obstacles, or bike lanes”
[Examiner’s Note: A street sign is a static obstacle other than a vehicle which is not located inside the outer edge of a roadway.]
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the object detections of Nangeroni et al. such that it includes the particular detections of Tran. One would have been motivated to do this in order to improve the capability of Nangeroni et al. to detect the surrounding environment.
Claim 6.
The combination of Nangeroni et al. and Takiguchi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. While Nangeroni et al. teaches determining bike lane markings, Nangeroni et al. does not explicitly teach detecting a crosswalk. However, Tran teaches:
wherein the plurality of first events include that there is a crosswalk in a region where the mobile object is located
(Tran – Abstract) “capturing a point cloud from a vehicle street view and converting the point cloud to a 3D model; applying a trained neural network to detect street signs, cross walks, obstacles, or bike lanes”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings for the reasons given in discussion of claim 3.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Nangeroni et al. and Takiguchi et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mullen (US 20170116485).
Claim 7.
The combination of Nangeroni et al. and Takiguchi et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. While Nangeroni et al. detects roadways and sidewalks, Nangeroni et al. does not explicitly teach detection of a curb. However, Mullen teaches:
wherein the plurality of first events include that a region where the mobile object is located is on a lower side with respect to a step
(Mullen – [0042]) “Curbs 210 may be detected based on color, height, location near a road, position between the road and other surface features, or the like.”
[Examiner’s Note: A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that determination of a height of a curb would additionally result in determining whether a vehicle is above or below the curb.]
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the roadway detection of Nangeroni et al. such that it takes into account the curb detection of Mullen. One would have been motivated to do this in order to assist in determining a speed limit for the road (Mullen – [0015]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9: While the closest available art, Takiguchi et al., teaches a first set of detections which result in adding to the roadway score and a second set of detections which result in subtracting from the roadway score, Takiguchi et al. does not explicitly teach making a determination of moving in the roadway or the predetermined region based on a second threshold larger than the first threshold value.
Regarding claim 10: Claim 10 is dependent on claim 9 and would thus be potentially allowable for at least the same reasons.
Conclusion
/S.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669