Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fees et al. (US 2018/0162447 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fees et al. discloses a battery pack (Battery modules 330-335) configured to provide electricity to an electric propulsion motor (electric motor 365) of a vehicle (Para 0046), wherein the battery pack comprises: at least two layers of battery cells (Fig. 3) arranged inside a casing (casing portion 305; Para. 0045); and a battery junction compartment arranged outside of the casing (BJB 350 is mounted on the top of the battery module mounting area; Para. 0046), wherein the battery junction compartment comprises a number of electrical connection arrangements electrically connecting battery cells of the at least two layers of battery cells (battery modules 310-335 via busbars 355 via module to tunnel interfaces 360; Para. 0046).
Regarding claim 2, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the battery junction compartment comprises: a compartment body forming an opening and an inner space accommodating the number of electrical connection arrangements; and a lid arrangeable to cover the opening and removable to provide access to the inner space of battery junction compartment via the opening (Paras. 0037-0038; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the number of electrical connection arrangements comprises at least one electrical connector removably arranged via an attachment assembly (connectors on part 510; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 2. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the attachment assembly is accessible via the opening when the lid is removed from the opening (see lid on BJB in Fig. 4; Para. 0047).
Regarding claim 5, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the number of electrical connection arrangements comprises one or more of a battery fuse and a contactor (Para. 0032).
Regarding claim 6, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Fees et al. discloses wherein the battery junction compartment comprises a component cluster unit comprising at least part of the number of electrical connection arrangements (Para. 0032).
Regarding claim 7, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 6. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the component cluster unit further comprises a battery control arrangement (BMC; Para. 0034).
Regarding claim 8, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 6. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the battery junction compartment comprises a compartment body forming an opening and an inner space accommodating the number of electrical connection arrangements, wherein the component cluster unit is assembled inside the inner space by an insertion of the component cluster unit through the opening along a determined insertion direction, and wherein the component cluster unit is secured to the compartment body in directions parallel to the determined insertion direction by a number of fastening elements (cluster A-B and cluster F-G connected by BJB; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 8. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the component cluster unit comprises a unit body, and wherein the component cluster unit is secured relative to the compartment body in directions transversal to the determined insertion direction by an abutting contact between the unit body and the compartment body (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the battery junction compartment comprises one component cluster unit per pair of layers of battery cells of the battery pack, and wherein each component cluster unit comprises electrical connection arrangements electrically connecting battery cells of one pair of layers of battery cells (Para. 0032).
Regarding claim 11, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the battery pack comprises at least four layers of battery cells, and wherein the battery junction compartment comprises a first component cluster unit comprising electrical connection arrangements electrically connecting battery cells of a first pair of layers of battery cells, and a second component cluster unit comprising electrical connection arrangements electrically connecting battery cells of a second pair of layers of battery cells (layers A-E and E-J; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 11. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the second component cluster unit has the same design, layout, and types of components as the first component cluster unit (layers A-E and F-J; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the battery junction compartment comprises a high voltage connection arrangement for connecting the layers of battery cells to an electric system of the vehicle (Para. 0033).
Regarding claim 14, Fees et al. discloses a vehicle comprising: an electric propulsion motor (electric motor 365) configured to provide motive power to the vehicle; a battery pack (battery modules 330-335) configured to provide electricity to the electric propulsion motor (electric motor 365) wherein the battery pack comprises: at least two layers of battery cells (battery modules 310-335 via busbars 355 via module to tunnel interfaces 360; Para. 0046) arranged inside a casing; and a battery junction compartment arranged outside of the casing (BJB 350 is mounted on the top of the battery module mounting area; Para. 0046), wherein the battery junction compartment comprises a number of electrical connection arrangements electrically connecting battery cells of the at least two layers of the battery cells (battery modules 310-335 via busbars 355 via module to tunnel interfaces 360; Para. 0046).
Regarding claim 15, Fees et al. discloses the vehicle according to claim 14. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the battery pack is attached to the vehicle such that the battery junction compartment of the battery pack can be accessed from an outside of the vehicle (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 14.
Fees et al. further discloses wherein the battery junction compartment comprises: a compartment body forming an opening and an inner space accommodating the number of electrical connection arrangements; and a lid arrangeable to cover the opening and removable to provide access to the inner space of battery junction compartment via the opening (Paras. 0037-0038; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 14. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the battery junction compartment comprises: a component cluster unit comprising at least part of the number of electrical connection arrangements (Para. 0032); and a compartment body forming an opening and an inner space accommodating the number of electrical connection arrangements, wherein the component cluster unit is assembled inside the inner space by an insertion of the component cluster unit through the opening along a determined insertion direction, and wherein the component cluster unit is secured to the compartment body in directions parallel to the determined insertion direction by a number of fastening elements (cluster A-B and cluster F-G connected by BJB; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 17. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the component cluster unit comprises a unit body, and wherein the component cluster unit is secured relative to the compartment body in directions transversal to the determined insertion direction by an abutting contact between the unit body and the compartment body (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 14. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the battery junction compartment comprises one component cluster unit per pair of layers of battery cells of the battery pack, and wherein each component cluster unit comprises electrical connection arrangements electrically connecting battery cells of one pair of layers of battery cells (Para. 0032).
Regarding claim 20, Fees et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 14. Fees et al. further discloses wherein the battery pack comprises at least four layers of battery cells, and wherein the battery junction compartment comprises a first component cluster unit comprising electrical connection arrangements electrically connecting battery cells of a first pair of layers of battery cells, and a second component cluster unit comprising electrical connection arrangements electrically connecting battery cells of a second pair of layers of battery cells (layers A-E and E-J; Fig. 1).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and cited on PTO Form 892 is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Conclusion
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Inquiry
/HILARY L JOHNS/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613