Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0171812 to Zhu (hereinafter “Zhu”).
Zhu discloses a moisture-curable polyurethane adhesive composition comprising a polyurethane prepolymer obtained by reacting a polyol with a polyisocyanate wherein the polyol comprises an amorphous polyester polyol, a semi-crystalline polyester polyol, and a polyether polyol (paragraph 21). The semi-crystalline polyester polyol has a crystallinity of 50-90% (paragraph 31), corresponding to the claimed crystalline polyol. Zhu further teaches that the polyurethane adhesive composition further contains less than 5% by mass of a crystalline polyol (paragraph 38). Zhu asserts that the polyether polyol contributes hydrophilicity and improves the moisture permeability (paragraph 36). The polyether polyol is a polyoxyethylene glycol in an amount of 20-70 wt% of the moisture-curable polyurethane adhesive composition within the claimed range (paragraph 37). The polyether polyol reads on the claimed hydrophilicity imparting agent. The polyether polyol is devoid of an amino group. Hence, the moisture-curable polyurethane adhesive composition meets the claimed conditions (1)-(3).
As to claim 3, Zhu discloses that the amorphous polyester polyol is produced by polycondensation of an aromatic polycarboxylic acid, an aliphatic polyol, and an aliphatic polycarboxylic acid as major components (paragraph 24).
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2022027803 (hereinafter “JP’803”) in view of Zhu.
As to claims 1 and 3, JP’803 discloses a moisture-curable polyurethane adhesive composition comprising (i) a polyurethane prepolymer obtained by reacting a polyol with a polyisocyanate; and (ii) a hydrophilicity imparting agent wherein the hydrophilicity imparting agent is present in an amount of 5-20% by mass of the adhesive composition (paragraph 6). This is within the claimed range. The hydrophilicity imparting agent contains a polyoxyethylene group (paragraph 19). The hydrophilicity imparting agent does not have an amino group that can react with an isocyanate group (paragraph 19).
The polyol includes a polyester polyol, a polycarbonate polyol, polyether polyol, a polyester ether polyol and any combinations thereof (paragraphs 12-16).
The adhesive composition has a water contact angle of 50o or less within the claimed range (paragraph 6).
The adhesive composition satisfies the claimed conditions (1)-(4).
JP’803 does not explicitly disclose the polyol comprising a crystalline polyol and an amorphous polyol wherein the amorphous polyol contains structural units derived from an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid and an aromatic dicarboxylic acid.
Zhu, however, discloses a moisture-curable polyurethane adhesive composition comprising a polyurethane prepolymer obtained by reacting a polyol with a polyisocyanate wherein the polyol comprises an amorphous polyester polyol, a semi-crystalline polyester polyol, and a polyether polyol (paragraph 21). The semi-crystalline polyester polyol has a crystallinity of 50-90% (paragraph 31), corresponding to the claimed crystalline polyol. Zhu further teaches that the polyurethane adhesive composition further contains less than 5% by mass of a crystalline polyol (paragraph 38).
Zhu also discloses that the amorphous polyester polyol is produced by polycondensation of an aromatic polycarboxylic acid, an aliphatic polyol, and an aliphatic polycarboxylic acid as major components (paragraph 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a combination of semi-crystalline polyol and an amorphous polyol disclosed in Zhu for the polyol disclosed in JP’803 motivated by the desire to provide a polyurethane adhesive composition having improved initial tack and excellent moisture permeability.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2022027803 (hereinafter “JP’803”) in view of CN 107090268 to Zhang (hereinafter “Zhang”).
As to claims 1 and 3, JP’803 discloses a moisture-curable polyurethane adhesive composition comprising (i) a polyurethane prepolymer obtained by reacting a polyol with a polyisocyanate; and (ii) a hydrophilicity imparting agent wherein the hydrophilicity imparting agent is present in an amount of 5-20% by mass of the adhesive composition (paragraph 6). This is within the claimed range. The hydrophilicity imparting agent contains a polyoxyethylene group (paragraph 19). The hydrophilicity imparting agent does not have an amino group that can react with an isocyanate group (paragraph 19).
The polyol includes a polyester polyol, a polycarbonate polyol, a polyether polyol, a polyester ether polyol, or any combinations thereof (paragraphs 12-16).
The adhesive composition has a water contact angle of 50o or less within the claimed range (paragraph 6).
The adhesive composition satisfies the claimed conditions (1)-(4).
JP’803 does not explicitly disclose the polyol comprising a crystalline polyol and an amorphous polyol wherein the amorphous polyol contains structural units derived from an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid and an aromatic dicarboxylic acid.
Zhang, however, discloses a moisture-curable polyurethane adhesive composition comprising a polyurethane prepolymer obtained by reacting a polyol with a polyisocyanate wherein the polyol comprises an amorphous polyester polyol, a crystalline polyester polyol and polyether polyol (summary of the invention).
Zhang also discloses that the amorphous polyester polyol comprises two or more polymers formed from polycondensation of glycol, butanediol in adipic acid and terephthalic acid. That is, the amorphous polyol contains structural units derived from an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid and an aromatic dicarboxylic acid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a combination of a crystalline polyol and an amorphous polyol disclosed in Zhang for the polyol disclosed in JP’803 motivated by the desire to provide a polyurethane adhesive composition having improved initial tack, great moisture-permeability, and excellent heat resistance and flowability properties.
Conclusion
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788