DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 17 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 17 December 2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 6 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/848,590 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite the same structure and method steps albeit with slight wording differences rendering the instant application slightly broader than the ‘590 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “before placed” in line 3 should read “before being placed”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitations “an uncrosslinked core made of a crosslinkable rubber composition for a core, and an uncrosslinked outer layer, made of a crosslinkable rubber composition for an outer layer, covering a periphery of the uncrosslinked core” in lines 5-7. These limitations are indefinite as it is unclear if they refer to the prior claimed core, outer layer, and periphery of lines 2-3 or of they are additional elements. Additionally it is unclear if the uncrosslinked portions are what become the prior claimed core/outer layer or if they are other elements. Appropriate clarification and correction is required. For examination purposes Examiner assumes Applicant intended to claim “an uncrosslinked crosslinkable rubber composition for the core, and an uncrosslinked crosslinkable rubber composition for the outer layer”.
Claim 7 recites the limitations “a core” and “an outer layer” in line 3. These limitations are indefinite as it is unclear if they refer to the prior claimed core and outer layer of claim 1 or of they are additional elements. Appropriate clarification and correction is required. For examination purposes Examiner assumes Applicant intended to claim “the core” and “the outer layer” respectively.
Claim 11 recites the limitations “for a core” in line 5 and “for an outer layer” in line 6. These limitations are indefinite as it is unclear if they refer to the prior claimed core and outer layer of claim 1 or of they are additional elements. Additionally it is unclear if these refer to the composition of the prior claimed elements as opposed to a material that is merely “intended” to be for the core and the outer layer. Appropriate clarification and correction is required. For examination purposes Examiner assumes Applicant intended to claim “of the core” and “of the outer layer” respectively.
Claims 7-12 are indefinite at least by virtue of depending on an indefinite claim listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-8 and 10, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2001-208204.
With regard to claim 6, JP ‘204 discloses a method (as disclosed in para. [0012] of the machine translation) for manufacturing an annular seal material (i.e. the material of 1, as seen in Fig. 1, etc.) comprising a core (12) and an outer layer (11) covering a periphery of the core (as seen in Figs. 1, etc.), wherein the outer layer has a thick film portion (i.e. the portion of 12 at 350 as seen in Figs. 5, 14, 16, etc. is thicker than the non-thick film portion) and a non-thick film portion (i.e. the rest of 12, which as seen in Figs. 5, 14, 16, etc. is thinner) in a cross section (as seen in Figs. 5, 14, 16, etc.) in a circumferential direction (as seen in Figs. 5, 14, 16, etc.), the method comprising: a preforming step of providing one or two or more rope-like preforms (as disclosed in para. [0012] of the machine translation) comprising an uncrosslinked core (12, disclosed as uncrosslinked in para. [0012], etc. of the machine translation) made of a crosslinkable rubber composition for a core (as disclosed as uncrosslinked in para. [0012], etc. of the machine translation), and an uncrosslinked outer layer (11, as disclosed as later crosslinked (i.e. vulcanized) in para. [0012], etc. of the machine translation), made of a crosslinkable rubber composition for an outer layer (as disclosed as later crosslinked (i.e. vulcanized) in para. [0012], etc. of the machine translation), covering a periphery of the uncrosslinked core (as seen in Figs. 1, 5, etc.); and a hot pressing step of contacting two end portions of the rope-like preform with each other and placing the same in a mold to carry out hot press molding (as disclosed in para. [0012], [0033], etc.).
With regard to claim 7, JP ‘204 discloses that the preforming step comprises carrying out extrusion using the crosslinkable rubber composition for a core and the crosslinkable rubber composition for an outer layer (as seen in Fig. 5, described in para. [0003], [0012], etc. of the machine translation, etc.).
With regard to claim 8, JP ‘204 discloses that the method further comprises winding an uncrosslinked thin film layer (35, as described in para. [0032], etc.) around a seam of the two end portions of the rope-like preform that have been contacted (as seen in Figs. 12, etc.), before placed in the mold in the hot pressing step (as seen in Figs. 13, etc.), and as a material constituting the uncrosslinked thin film layer, the crosslinkable rubber composition for an outer layer is used (as discloses in para. [0032], etc.).
With regard to claim 10, JP ‘204 discloses the method further comprises heating the two end portions of the rope-like preform before the hot pressing step (as disclosed in para. [0033] they are first heated then pressed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2001-208204 alone.
With regard to claim 12, JP ‘204 fails to disclose that in the hot pressing step, two or more of the rope-like preforms are connected (i.e. as it appears to only disclose one rope-like preform). However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the device of JP ‘204 to include two rope-like preforms as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with examples of seal rings being made from two preliminary pieces. Such a modification would have provided the expected benefit of allowing the use of smaller pieces that may otherwise be discarded/wasted.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not appear to disclose removing part of the core (while in the uncrosslinked state) or disposing a connecting member between the end portions, wherein at least the outer layer of the connecting member is thicker then the outer layer of the rest of the preform.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides additional examples of similar annular seals and methods of making such.
/NICHOLAS L FOSTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675