DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 objected to because of the following informalities: on line 1 of claims 1 and 10, insert a colon (:) after “comprising.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al US 20130040640 (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a communication control apparatus (110, see fig. 1, [0022]) comprising
at least one processor (126, 121, see fig. 1, [0026]), the at least one processor carrying out:
a determination process of determining whether a target terminal apparatus has approached a cell which a base station (104-106, see fig. 1, [0022]) manages (513, see figs. 1 and 5, [0034]); and
a communication control process of increasing a frequency of cell searches which are conducted by the target terminal apparatus for connection to the cell, in a case where, in the determination process, it is determined that the target terminal apparatus has approached the cell (521, see fig. 5, [0034]).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Chen further discloses wherein the determination process includes a process of determining whether the target terminal apparatus has approached the cell, based on a result of comparing (i) positional information pertaining to the target terminal apparatus (see [0034]) or positional information pertaining to a mobile body to which the target terminal apparatus is mounted and (ii) positional information associated with the cell which the base station manages (see [0030], [0034]).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses a terminal apparatus (110, see fig. 1, [0022]) comprising at least one processor (126, 121, see fig. 1, [0026]), the at least one processor carrying out:
a determination process of determining whether the terminal apparatus has approached a cell which a base station (104-106, see fig. 1, [0022]) manages (513, see figs. 1 and 5, [0034]); and
a communication control process of increasing a frequency of cell searches for connection to the cell, in a case where, in the determination process, it is determined that the terminal apparatus has approached the cell (521, see fig. 5, [0034]).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses a communication control method (see fig. 5) carried out by a communication apparatus (110, 122, 126, see fig. 1, [0022]), comprising:
determining whether a target terminal apparatus (110, see fig. 1, [0022]) has approached a cell which a base station (104-106, see fig. 1, [0022]) manages (513, see figs. 1 and 5, [0034]); and
increasing a frequency of cell searches which are conducted by the target terminal apparatus for connection to the cell, in a case where it is determined that the target terminal apparatus has approached the cell (521, see fig. 5, [0034]).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses a non-transitory recording medium which stores therein a program (121, see fig. 1, [0026]) for causing a computer (126, 121, see fig. 1, [0026]) to carry out a process as a communication control apparatus (110, 122, 126, see fig. 1, [0022]) recited in claim 1 (see figs. 1 and 5, [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al US 20130040640 (hereinafter Chen) in view of Charbit GB 2496836 A.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Chen et al discloses the claimed invention except wherein the determination process includes a process of determining that the target terminal apparatus has approached the cell, based on a notification from a roadside apparatus that is provided in a vicinity of the cell which the base station manages. In the same field of endeavor, Charbit discloses determining that a target terminal apparatus has approached a cell, based on a notification from a roadside apparatus that is provided in a vicinity of the cell which a base station manages (see figs. 1, 3, and 6, page 17, lines 10-28, step 610; an ITS paging message received by the mobile terminal from a road side unit indicates it is has approached (vicinity) a range (cell) managed by an access point).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Charbit with Chen with a reasonable expectation of success by receiving (by a mobile terminal) a paging message upon approaching a range of a base station/access point, for the benefit enabling the mobile terminal to communicate with the base station when it is within range of the base station.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 3, the combination of Chen and Charbit disclose the claimed invention. Charbit further discloses wherein the notification includes a condition pertaining to a traveling direction of a mobile body, and in a case where the condition is satisfied, it is determined, in the determination process, that the target terminal apparatus has approached the cell (see figs. 1, 3, and 6, page 17, lines 10-28, step 610; an ITS paging message received by the mobile terminal from a road side unit indicates it is has approached (vicinity) a range (cell) managed by an access point).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al US 20130040640 (hereinafter Chen) in view of Damji et al US 20130258876 (hereinafter Damji).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Chen discloses the claimed invention except wherein, in the communication control process, a timing at which the frequency of the cell searches is increased is changed in accordance with a speed of movement of the target terminal apparatus or a mobile body to which the target terminal apparatus is mounted. In a similar field of endeavor, Damji discloses in a communication control process, a timing at which a frequency of the cell searches is increased is changed in accordance with a speed of movement of the target terminal apparatus or a mobile body to which the target terminal apparatus is mounted (see fig. 5, [0070]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Damji with Chen by adjusting the cell search period by reducing the cell search period when the velocity of the mobile terminal increases, as taught by Damji, for the benefit of efficiently performing cell searches.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Chen discloses the claimed invention except wherein, in the communication control process, a timing at which the frequency of the cell searches is increased is made earlier, as a speed of movement of the target terminal apparatus or a mobile body to which the target terminal apparatus is mounted becomes higher. In a similar field of endeavor, Damji discloses in a communication control process, a timing at which the frequency of cell searches is increased is made earlier, as a speed of movement of the target terminal apparatus or a mobile body to which the target terminal apparatus is mounted becomes higher (see fig. 5, [0070]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Damji with Chen by adjusting the cell search period by reducing the cell search period when the velocity of the mobile terminal increases, as taught by Damji, for the benefit of efficiently performing cell searches.
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1, Chen discloses the claimed invention except wherein, in the communication control process, the frequency of the cell searches is changed in accordance with a speed of movement of the target terminal apparatus or a mobile body to which the target terminal apparatus is mounted. In the same field of endeavor, Damji discloses in a communication control process, the frequency of cell searches is changed in accordance with a speed of movement of the target terminal apparatus or a mobile body to which the target terminal apparatus is mounted (see fig. 5, [0070]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Damji with Chen by adjusting the cell search period by reducing the cell search period when the velocity of the mobile terminal increases, as taught by Damji, for the benefit of efficiently performing cell searches.
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 8, the combination of Chen and Damji disclose the claimed invention. Damji further discloses wherein, in the communication control process, the frequency of the cell searches is increased, as the speed of the movement of the target terminal apparatus or the mobile body to which the target terminal apparatus is mounted becomes higher (see fig. 5, [0070]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gao et al US 20200128467 discloses performing cell searching based on a determined movement speed of a wireless device.
Gheorghiu et al US 20170048772 discloses adaptively changing a periodicity of measuring signal characteristics for a UE in a relatively high-speed environment based on one or more signal characteristics being outside of a threshold. Periodicity of measuring signal characteristics may be made directly by changing an interval at which measurements are taken.
Edara US 8,532,652 discloses when neighbor macro cells are detected by a user device, a closed subscriber group CSG selection subsystem may set a new search interval for a home CSG cell that is faster than the previous search frequency. If GPS coordinates and context sensor data indicate that the user device is very close to the home CSG cell 260, the search frequency may be further increased.
Deshpande US 20110136530 discloses systems and method for dynamically adjusting the amount of time searching for a cell.
Khan et al US 8,195,122 discloses a method and apparatus for adjusting the frequency of testing for a wireless communication signal.
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648