DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed on September 24, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-19 are now pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 12 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 12 recites a "electric machine" comprising a rotor of claim 1, but does not recite any additional limitations of said inventive element. Thus, the claim does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 10, 12, 14-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated KOL (DE 102019214434 A1).
Regarding claim 1, KOL teaches:
A rotor (Fig 1; 1) of an electric machine (Fig 1; 100), comprising a rotor support (Fig 1; 9), which can be rotated about a rotor axis (Fig 1; 9), a rotor sleeve (Fig 2; 21), and a rotor body (Fig 2; 2), which is arranged between the rotor support (Fig 2; 9) and the rotor sleeve (Fig 2; 21) and which comprises multiple rotor poles (Fig 2; 16/17) and at least one magnet pocket (Fig 2; 3) per rotor pole(Fig 2; 16/17) for receiving magnets (Fig 2; 4)
wherein the rotor body (Fig 2; 2) has at least one base body (Fig 2; 23), said base body (Fig 2; 23) being supported on the rotor support (Fig 2; 9) radially inside the magnet pockets (Fig 2; 3) with respect to the rotor axis (Fig 2; 9), and outer segment bodies (Fig 2; 24) radially outside the magnet pockets (Fig 2; 3), wherein:
multiple base bodies (Fig 2; 23) are provided one behind the other in a circumferential direction(separated by radial separation 26),
a radial separation (Fig 2; 26) which is continuous in a radial direction is formed between each pair of adjacent base bodies (Fig 2; 23) in a region radially within each magnet pocket (Fig 2; 3)(the separation 26 runs from the edge of the rotor core 2 to the rotor support 9, which is at least mostly radially within the magnet pocket 3) in order to allow a radial movement of the base bodies (Fig 2; 23),
the base bodies (Fig 2; 23) can be clamped between the rotor support (Fig 2; 9) and the rotor sleeve (Fig 2; 21) in order to clamp the magnets (Fig 2; 4) in the magnet pockets (Fig 2; 3)[0035].
Regarding claim 2, KOL teaches the rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the rotor support (Fig 2; 9) is inserted in the rotor (Fig 2; 1) with pressing in an axial direction, such that the base bodies (Fig 2; 23) are each moved in the radial direction with an expansion of the radial separations (Fig 2; 26), whereby a preload in the rotor sleeve (Fig 2; 21) and consequently the clamping of the magnets (Fig 2; 4) in the magnet pockets (Fig 2; 3) can be achieved.
The Examiner points out the limitations of in claim 2, are considered as a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 6, KOL teaches the rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the outer segment bodies (Fig 2; 24) and the base bodies (Fig 2; 23) are connected to each other by bridging webs (Fig 2; 22), which are located on an outer circumference of the rotor body (Fig 2; 2) or are each configured as separate laminated cores.
Regarding claim 10, KOL teaches the rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the rotor sleeve (Fig 2; 21) is a fiber composite sleeve comprising a fiber winding, and a cured composite material for embedding the fiber winding[0009].
Regarding claim 12, KOL teaches:
An electric machine (Fig 1; 100) with a rotor (Fig 1; 1) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, KOL teaches the rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the rotor sleeve (Fig 2; 21) is a fiber composite sleeve[0009].
Regarding claim 15, KOL teaches the rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the magnets (Fig 2; 4) are permanent magnets[0013].
Regarding claim 16, KOL teaches the rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the base bodies (Fig 2; 23) can be clamped between the rotor support (Fig 2; 9) and the rotor sleeve (Fig 2; 21) by virtue of an oversize of the rotor support (Fig 2; 9) or by winding the rotor sleeve (Fig 2; 21) under tension[0035].
Regarding claim 18, KOL teaches the rotor according to claim 10:
wherein the fiber winding is glass fiber[0035] or carbon fiber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 7-9, 11, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOL (DE 102019214434 A1) in view of HILL (DE 102014219231 A1).
In regards to claim 3, KOL teaches, the rotor according to claim 1.
KOL does not teach:
wherein:
a. adjacent base bodies each have flat separating surfaces facing each other at a distance to form the respective radial separation, or
b. adjacent base bodies each have a separation interface to form the respective radial separation, wherein the respective separation interface is formed by the adjacent base bodies engaging in each other by overlapping sheet metal segments.
HIL teaches:
wherein the rotor body (Fig 2; 1) has at least one base body (Fig 2; 11), and outer segment bodies (Fig 2; 21)radially outside the magnet pockets (Fig 2; 30), wherein:
multiple base bodies (Fig 2; 11)are provided one behind the other in a circumferential direction(separated by radial separation R),
a radial separation (Fig 2; R) which is continuous in a radial direction is formed between each pair of adjacent base bodies (Fig 2; 11) in a region radially within each magnet pocket (Fig 2; 30) in order to allow a radial movement of the base bodies (Fig 2; 11),
wherein:
adjacent base bodies (Fig 2; 11) each have flat separating surfaces facing each other at a distance to form the respective radial separation (Fig 2; R).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOL by using the radial separation taught by HIL, in order to allows better fixing of the core segments [0042 HIL], thus creating a more secure electric machine.
In regards to claim 4, KOL teaches, the rotor according to claim 1.
KOL does not teach:
wherein at least one of the base bodies has on its inner circumference a shaped contour for transferring torque, which cooperates with a corresponding counter-shaped contour of the rotor support.
HIL teaches:
wherein at least one of the base bodies (Fig 16/18; 11) has on its inner circumference a shaped contour (Fig 16/18; 47) for transferring torque, which cooperates with a corresponding counter-shaped contour (Fig 16/18; 48) of the rotor support (Fig 16/18; 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOL by using the depression and elevations taught by HIL, in order to form a reliable torque transmission and a rotationally secure mounting [0038 HIL].
In regards to claim 7, KOL teaches, the rotor according to claim 6.
KOL does not teach:
wherein the rotor body formed by a package of circular laminations, wherein the laminations each have sheet metal slots for generating the radial separation of the base bodies.
HIL teaches:
wherein the rotor body (Fig 2; 1) is formed by a package of circular laminations[0005], wherein the laminations each have sheet metal slots (Fig 7) for generating the radial separation (Fig 2; 1) of the base bodies (Fig 2; 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOL by using a package of circular laminations to make the rotor as taught by HIL, in order to decrease scrap in manufacturing[0112 HIL].
The Examiner points out the limitations of in claim 7, are considered as a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113.
In regards to claim 8, KOL teaches, the rotor according to claim 6.
KOL does not teach:
wherein the rotor body is formed by a flat package of contoured sheet metal strips, wherein the contoured sheet metal strips each comprise first sheet metal segments for forming the outer segment bodies and second sheet metal segments for forming the base bodies, wherein the sheet metal segments of the respective contoured sheet metal strip are connected to each other by the bridging webs, wherein the flat package is bent around the rotor support, wherein the ends of the flat package of contoured sheet metal strips are located adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction.
HIL teaches:
wherein the rotor body (the rotor is formed by the following limitations, but holds minimal patentable weight because it is a product by process, thus it is taught by the method shown in HIL [ Fig 7; 0005]) is formed by a flat package of contoured sheet metal strips, wherein the contoured sheet metal strips each comprise first sheet metal segments for forming the outer segment bodies and second sheet metal segments for forming the base bodies, wherein the sheet metal segments of the respective contoured sheet metal strip are connected to each other by the bridging webs, wherein the flat package is bent around the rotor support, wherein the ends of the flat package of contoured sheet metal strips are located adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOL by using a package of circular laminations to make the rotor as taught by HIL, in order to decrease scrap in manufacturing[0112 HIL].
The Examiner points out the limitations of in claim 8, are considered as a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113.
In regards to claim 9, KOL teaches, the rotor according to claim 6.
KOL does not teach:
wherein the rotor body is formed by spiral or helical upright rolling of a contoured sheet metal strip around the rotor support, wherein the contoured sheet metal strip comprises first sheet metal segments for forming the outer segment bodies and second sheet metal segments for forming the base bodies, wherein the sheet metal segments of the contoured sheet metal strip are connected to each other by the bridging webs.
HIL teaches:
wherein the rotor body (the rotor is formed by the following limitations, but holds no patentable weight because it is a product by process, thus it is taught by the method shown in HIL) is formed by spiral or helical upright rolling of a contoured sheet metal strip around the rotor support, wherein the contoured sheet metal strip comprises first sheet metal segments for forming the outer segment bodies and second sheet metal segments for forming the base bodies, wherein the sheet metal segments of the contoured sheet metal strip are connected to each other by the bridging webs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOL by using a package of circular laminations to make the rotor as taught by HIL, in order to decrease scrap in manufacturing[0112 HIL].
The Examiner points out the limitations of in claim 9, are considered as a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113.
In regards to claim 11, KOL teaches, the rotor according to claim 1.
KOL does not teach:
wherein the magnet pockets are each U-shaped, V-shaped, or C-shaped and each have two, pocket legs, wherein each of the pocket legs is configured to receive at least one of the magnets.
HIL teaches:
wherein the magnet pockets(Fig 2; 31) are each U-shaped, V-shaped, or C-shaped and each have two, pocket legs, wherein each of the pocket legs is configured to receive at least one of the magnets (Fig 2; 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOL by using a V shaped magnet as taught by HIL, in order to increases the concentration factor [0025 HIL].
In regards to claim 17, KOL in view of HIL, teaches the rotor according to claim 4.
KOL does not teach:
wherein the shaped contour for transferring torque includes a protrusion or recess.
HIL teaches:
wherein the shaped contour (Fig 16/18; 47) for transferring torque includes a protrusion or recess(Fig 16/18).
In regards to claim 19, KOL in view of HIL, teaches the rotor according to claim 11.
KOL does not teach:
wherein the two pocket legs are mirror- symmetrical.
HIL teaches:
wherein the two pocket legs are mirror- symmetrical(shown in Fig 2).
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOL (DE 102019214434 A1) in view of KIM (KR 102018229 B1).
In regards to claim 5, KOL teaches, the rotor according to claim 1.
KOL does not teach:
wherein a magnetic cooling channel for cooling the magnets is provided in each of the magnet pockets and is flow-connected to a cooling channel formed in the rotor support via a separating slot formed by the respective radial separation.
KIM teaches:
wherein a magnetic cooling channel (Fig 4; 1141) for cooling the magnets (Fig 4; 12) is provided in each of the magnet pockets and is flow-connected to a cooling channel (Fig 4; 1141) formed in the rotor support (Fig 4; 110) via a separating slot (Fig 4; 112) formed by the respective radial separation (Fig 4; 112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOL by adding the cooling channels to cool the magnets as taught by KIM, in order to improve the output of the electric motor by improving the magnetic flux density of the permanent magnet and improve the magnetic flux. [0024 KIM].
In regards to claim 13, KOL teaches, the rotor according to claim 1.
KOL does not teach:
wherein the rotor support, is a rotor shaft.
KIM teaches:
wherein the rotor support, is a rotor shaft(Fig 2; 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KOL by adding the rotor shaft as taught by KIM, in order to further extend the transmission of rotation power axially.
Citation of Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure. Prior Art:
FANG (FR 3069972 A1): teaches manufacturing techniques disclosed in the present invention.
Conclusion
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834