Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-4, 11-12 in the reply filed on 3/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-30 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seleznev (RU 2728888 C1) in view of Lee (WO 2022/198130).
Regarding Claim 1, Seleznev (RU 2728888 C1) discloses an automatic (permanent monitoring, p. 3) visual analyzer (monitoring of environment, p. 2) for remotely (remote visual inspection, p. 3) analyzing (survey, p. 2) … channels (intended use/work acted on by the invention, no patentable weight), the automatic visual analyzer comprising:
a. a viewing body (solid metal case with six compartments, p. 2) having a plurality of cameras (six video cameras, p. 2) mounted thereon (located in the metal case, p. 2) in fixed related directions (spaced 90° and providing 360° viewing angle, p. 2) to allow a defined directional scan (i.e., 90°) of the [] pathway (environment [21]);
b. a drive line (carrying cable-rope, p. 2) …;
c. at least one communication system (transceiver 7, cable 8, transceiver 9, control module 10, p. 2) connected to the body and/or drive line (cable 8 is connected to transceivers 7 and 9 and the metal case, p. 2) for control communication of the viewing body (surveillance and recording control, p. 3) and communication with the plurality of cameras (signal from cameras fed through the transceivers 7, 9, cable 8 for storage or display, p. 2);
and d. at least one controller (laptop-based control module on the boat or on shore, p. 2-3) for transmitting or receiving communication (surveillance and recording control, p. 3) from the at least one communication system (transceiver 7, cable 8, transceiver 9, control module 10, p. 2) allowing the communication to be transmitted or received (surveillance and recording control, p. 3; signal from cameras fed through the transceivers 7, 9, cable 8 for storage or display, p. 2) external of the [] pathways being analyzed (laptop-based control module on the boat or on shore, p. 2-3).
Seleznev does not disclose, but Lee (WO 2022/198130) teaches analyzing (mapping [0081]) confined pathways such as sewers and sewer access channels (manhole chamber 602, Fig. 6a);
scan (full 360° view of the environment [0081]) of the confined pathway (manhole chamber 602, Fig. 6a);
line (rope 510, Fig. 6a) for providing a directional path (up and down, Fig. 6a) along the confined pathway (manhole chamber 602, Fig. 6a) by which the viewing body can be driven (lowered into the manhole [0091]);
confined pathways being analyzed (manhole chamber 602, Fig. 6a).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to adapt the camera module of Seleznev to view sewers, as in Lee because Lee teaches that inspection of sewers is difficult, dangerous, slow, and expensive, and there is a need for a cost-effective solution to inspect such subterranean infrastructures [0003], and the module of Seleznev has all of the features that enable it to be adaptable to subterranean inspection, making it a suitable base solution for improvement.
Regarding Claim 2, Seleznev (RU 2728888 C1) discloses an automatic visual analyzer according to claim 1… wherein the plurality of cameras are at fixed predetermined spacing (there are four cameras in the horizontal plane having their principal meridians spaced 90° apart from each other, providing a 360° view, p. 2-3).
Seleznev does not disclose, but Lee (WO 2022/198130) teaches including a LiDAR (the mapping device 100 includes a sensor, the sensor includes a LiDAR [0066]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the camera module of Seleznev with a rope, as in Lee, because Lee teaches that inspection of sewers is difficult, dangerous, slow, and expensive, and there is a need for a cost-effective solution to inspect such subterranean infrastructures [0003], and the module of Seleznev is a small, mobile, hermetically sealed camera with 360° view, making it a suitable base solution for improvement. One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the camera module of Seleznev with a LiDAR sensor, as in Lee, because LiDAR is known in the art to provide 3D measurements of the environment, and using cameras in conjunction with LiDAR is known to provide more information than using cameras alone, improving the system.
Regarding Claim 3, Seleznev (RU 2728888 C1) discloses an automatic visual analyzer according to claim 2.
Seleznev does not disclose, but Lee (WO 2022/198130) teaches including a 3D generator for generating a digital representation of the confined pathway (The mapping can he reconstructed in 3D as a sparse point cloud [0121]) by the overlap known directional scans (visual simultaneous localization and mapping (VSLAM) process using the visual data from a camera module 102 [0121]) by the plurality of cameras mounted on the viewing body in fixed related directions (array of cameras that provide a 360° view [0052]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the camera module of Seleznev with a rope, as in Lee, because Lee teaches that inspection of sewers is difficult, dangerous, slow, and expensive, and there is a need for a cost-effective solution to inspect such subterranean infrastructures [0003], and the module of Seleznev is a small, mobile, hermetically sealed camera with 360° view, making it a suitable base solution for improvement. One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the camera module of Seleznev with a LiDAR sensor, as in Lee, because LiDAR is known in the art to provide 3D measurements of the environment, and using cameras in conjunction with LiDAR is known to provide more information than using cameras alone, improving the system.
Regarding Claim 4, Seleznev (RU 2728888 C1) discloses an automatic visual analyzer according to claim 1 wherein the confined pathway is substantially in the range of 0.5 meters to 10 meters (intended use/work acted on by the invention, no patentable weight).
Seleznev does not disclose, but Lee (WO 2022/198130) teaches wherein the confined pathway has a cross-sectional dimension substantially in the range of 0.5 meters to 10 meters (manhole chamber 602, Fig. 6a).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to adapt the camera module of Seleznev to view sewers, as in Lee because Lee teaches that inspection of sewers is difficult, dangerous, slow, and expensive, and there is a need for a cost-effective solution to inspect such subterranean infrastructures [0003], and the module of Seleznev has all of the features that enable it to be adaptable to subterranean inspection, making it a suitable base solution for improvement.
Regarding Claim 11, Seleznev (RU 2728888 C1) discloses an automatic visual analyzer according to claim 1 wherein the plurality of cameras mounted on the viewing body in fixed related directions is mounted coplanar in a direction normal to the directional path of the driveline (four cameras of the six provide 360° view in the horizontal plane, p. 2, Fig. 1, which is normal to the direction of the carrying cable-rope attached via fasteners 3 to the top of the metal case, p. 2, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Seleznev (RU 2728888 C1) discloses an automatic visual analyzer according to claim 11 wherein the number of the plurality of cameras is dependent on the relative location and the coplanar field of view of the lens of the plurality of cameras (there are four cameras in the horizontal plane having their principal meridians spaced 90° apart from each other, providing a 360° view, p. 2-3) and wherein the number of the plurality of cameras each have a related light mounted adjacent on the viewing body (each camera in window 2 has lighting lamps installed in sealed holes 5, p. 2, Fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed 7 October 2026 have been considered but are not persuasive. The arguments are directed to features that are not claimed, and in some cases mis-represent the invention. They are based on unsupported assumptions about the references.
Applicant argues that neither Seleznev nor Lee teaches a “drive line that provides a directional path along the confined pathway by which the viewing body is driven.” Remarks at 4. This is unpersuasive as Applicant concedes that Lee deploys a winch that lowers a mapping device vertically down a manhole. Applicant has not explained why “vertical” is not a “directional path” and why a manhole is not a “confined pathway.” Applicant also mis-represents the invention as the invention relates to lowering a camera vertically down a sewer access channel. Spec. at [044]-[0047], Fig. 1.
Applicant argues that attempting to introduce Seleznev’s apparatus into a sewer is technologically impossible, that Seleznev’s four-cable bridle mount and extended stabilizing sail would physically bind, jam, and destroy any ability to navigate narrow sewer pipes, bends, or manhole access shafts. Remarks at 5. Regarding the stabilizing sail, Seleznev’s stabilizing sail is installed “if necessary.” Seleznev at [32]-[33]. Adding the weight “is possible.” Seleznev at [32]-[33]. That means that having this component is optional and within the ordinary skill, not that it is essential. Applicant asserts that this optional feature will cause jamming, but the assertion is based on unsupported assumptions that it is a necessary feature, and that its size is too big. On the contrary, Seleznev’s camera is described as having “small dimensions” and being “mobile.” Seleznev at [31]. This suggests its capability of being used in confined pathways. In addition, Applicant’s Claim 1 has no limitation pertaining to binding, jamming, and navigating. The pertinent claim limitation is “an automatic visual analyzer for remotely analyzing confined pathways… comprising: a viewing body… [and] a drive line for providing a directional path along the confined pathway by which the viewing body can be driven….” The dispositive question is not whether Seleznev would jam in a sewer, but whether Seleznev, when combined with Lee, teaches a person of ordinary skill how to drive (ascend/descend, Lee) a visual analyzer (360° field-of-view hermetically sealed camera system, Seleznev) into a confined pathway (manhole, Lee) using a drive line (rope, Lee). And since Seleznev already has a carrying cable 8 (Remarks at 3), it is a simple addition or substitution to fit Seleznev with the winch and rope of Lee.
Applicant argues that Seleznev relies strictly on open-water hydrodynamic towing from a boat; placing it inside a sewer destroys its basic principle of operation. Remarks at 5. This is not persuasive. Seleznev discloses a hermetically sealed 360° view camera system in the shape of a sphere. Applicant has not explained why this camera can only be used for open-water hydrodynamic towing. Indeed it can be used for that. That does not mean that a camera fails to be a camera when placed somewhere else.
Applicant argues that Seleznev lacks a mechanism to navigate, roll, float, or be driven along an enclosed conduit. Remarks at 5. This argument is not persuasive as it argues limitations that are not claimed. The claim does not require the claimed visual analyzer to navigate, roll, float. It only requires “a drive line for providing a directional path along the confined pathway by which the viewing body can be driven….” This limitation is taught by Seleznev in view of Lee, in which the rope of Lee is added to Seleznev and used to descend the camera of Seleznev into a manhole.
Applicant argues that POSITA would not look at a deep-sea module to solve inspection inside a sewer. Remarks at 5. This is not persuasive because POSITA would consider a small, mobile, hermetically sealed 360° view camera to inspect spaces where humans can not safely or easily inspect, such as a manhole.
Applicant next argues that the teaching, suggestion, and motivation from Lee, to combine Lee and Seleznev constitutes impermissible hindsight. This is not persuasive as the teaching, suggestion, and motivation pre-dates the application filing date, therefore it is not hind-sight. Both Lee and Seleznev are directed to automatic visual inspection of places where humans cannot safely inspect. Persons of ordinary skill in the art would naturally be motivated to consider other teachings in the same technology area to create a visual inspection devices including the features of each.
Applicant repeats that the combination of references do not teach a drive line for providing a directional path. Remarks at 6. This argument has already been addressed. It is not persuasive because Applicant has not explained why “vertical” is not a “directional path” and why a manhole is not a “confined pathway.”
Applicant argues that adapting Seleznev requires “substantial redesign,” and is “fundamentally incompatible” with the constraints of a confined sewer pathway where the viewing body must descend vertically through narrow access points, navigate bends, obstructions, or operate in an explosive hazardous environment. Remarks at 6-7. This is unpersuasive. The office action proposes that the rope of Lee is added to Seleznev and used to descend the camera of Seleznev into a manhole. Since Seleznev already has a carrying cable 8 (Remarks at 3), it is a simple addition or substitution to fit Seleznev with the rope of Lee. This is not “substantial” for a person of ordinary skill. There is no reason why a small, mobile, hermetically sealed 360° view camera is fundamentally incompatible with a confined sewer pathway, or why it would fail to descend down a manhole. As expressed above, the sail and weights of Seleznev are optional, and a small, mobile sphere seems to fit and work in many confined spaces, even hazardous ones. Not only that, the claims do not require the camera to navigate narrow access points, navigate bends and obstructions, and operate in an explosive/ atmospherically hazardous environment. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness does not require a combination of references to render this feature obvious—it’s not a claimed feature.
Applicant next argues that modifying Seleznev’s towing system for a vertical gravity feed would fundamentally alter its operation. Remarks at 7. This is unpersuasive. The office action proposes that the rope of Lee is added to Seleznev and used to descend the camera of Seleznev into a manhole. Since Seleznev already has a carrying cable 8 (Remarks at 3), it is a simple addition or substitution to fit Seleznev with the rope of Lee. It’s not clear why Seleznev, fitted with an additional rope, would suddenly fail to capture images in water, or would fail to be pulled horizontally, or would fail to descend vertically.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Claim 3, that neither reference discloses a 3D “representation of the confined pathway by the overlap known directional scans the plurality of cameras mounted on the viewing body in fixed related directions,” even though Lee discloses VSLAM, is not persuasive. Remarks at 9-10. VSLAM is a term of art for a technique that involves matching feature points across images to output a 3D map of the environment. As features are tracked across multiple images, there is overlap between the images. Applicant highlights that VSLAM tracks frames over time. This is inapposite. The claims only require “overlap,” not spatial overlap among the views. Applicant may rephrase “overlap known directional scans” to specify spatial overlap among the views, if desired.
Regarding Claim 4, Applicant argues “Lee’s manhole chamber is not a ‘confined pathway’ within the meaning of the claims. A manhole chamber is a vertical access shaft (an entry point to the sewer system). The claimed ‘confined pathway’ refers to the sewer channel or conduit itself, the horizontal or near-horizontal passage through which wastewater flows and along which the viewing body is driven.” Remarks at 10. This is not persuasive. The broadest reasonable interpretation of confined pathway is not “near-horizontal passage through which wastewater flows.” The BRI of “confined pathway” is not limited to the horizontal direction. The BRI of “confined pathway” does not require wastewater to flow through it. If Applicant would like to amend the claims to include these limitations, applicant may do so. Note also, that the claim language is “confined pathways such as sewers and sewer access channels.” While “sewers and sewer access channels” are descriptive, rather than a patentable limitation, sewer access channels are vertical pathways. As a result, Applicant’s argument is not consistent with the claim language. Also, that Applicant’s argument is not consistent with Applicant’s disclosed invention. The disclosed invention describes confined pathway 15 as a vertical conduit, a sewer access channel. Spec. at [0044] – [0047], Fig. 1. Not only is Applicant’s argument not persuasive under the BRI of “confined pathway,” it is also not consistent with Applicant’s specification.
Regarding Claim 11, Applicant argues that Seleznev is towed horizontally through water by a moving vessel, the cameras are arranged around the equator in a horizontal plane, therefore the cameras are not “mounted coplanar in a direction normal to the directional path of the driveline.” Remarks at 10-11. This is unpersuasive because it is based the assumption that the camera of Seleznev can’t move vertically. On the contrary, the camera of Seleznev is capable of descending to its operating depth, a vertical movement, rendering the cameras on the horizontal plane normal to the drive line. Furthermore, in the combination, the rope of Lee is added to Seleznev and used to descend the camera of Seleznev vertically into a manhole, consistent with Applicant’s Fig. 1 described in paragraphs [0044]-[0047] of the specification. As a result, in the combination, Seleznev’s cameras arranged horizontally are normal to the directional path of the driveline, the vertical descent into and ascent out of the manhole.
Regarding Claim 12, Applicant argues that the lighting lamps of Seleznev are on the “upper ring collar” and not “adjacent to each camera in the co-planar array.” This is not persuasive as Applicant has identified the lights of only one of the cameras, and ignored the lights adjacent to all the other cameras. Each camera in each technical window 2 has lights 5. Seleznev at [23].
Applicant argues that Seleznev contains no disclosure that the number of cameras is determined as a function of the relative location and horizontal field of view of the lenses. This is unpersuasive. Seleznev teaches that in each plane, there are four cameras spaced 90° apart providing a total of 360° coverage. Seleznev at [21]. There is an inherent numerical relationship among the number of cameras, the field of view of each, and the total field of view of the system. At four cameras spaced 90° apart providing a total of 360° coverage, each camera must have a field of view of at least 90°. It is just as simple to extract the number of cameras based on the field of view as it is to extract the field of view from the number of cameras. As a result, this limitation is obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10060252 B1 – raising and lowering a camera in a manhole
US 20240121363 A1 – generating a 3d model and lidar camera in a camera in a stormwater drain
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHADAN E HAGHANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2485