Claim Objections
Claim 49 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 21 “iii) the inventory handling station…” should read “iv) the inventory handling station…” to follow appropriate numbering.
It is further recommended by the examiner to change the second list numbering starting on line 17 with “i) a wheel assembly…” to avoid using the same numbering as the first list’s numbering that starts on line 3 with “i) a storage and retrieval system…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 30-33 and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Bowron (EP4043658A1).
Bowron teaches a connector (lower connector 8) for connecting to at least three support elements of a three dimensional modular structure (Figs. 3 and 4), the connector including a single body comprising:
i) a first connector portion for connecting a support element extending in a first direction (12 or 14, Figs. 3 and 4);
ii) a second connector portion for connecting a support element extending in a second direction (12 or 14);
iii) a third connector portion for connecting a support element extending in a third direction, the first, second and third directions being substantially perpendicular to each other (See the three connector portions each perpendicular to each other in Figs. 3 and 4);
iv) one or more mounting projections, each of the one or more mounting projections having a substantially flat mating face for mating with a corresponding mounting projection of an adjacent connector (combination of pins 54, and gusset plate 20 in Figure 7, which are part of the single body when attached via fasteners 28, the combination of the pins and gusset plate are substantially flat and results in mating as shown in Figure 8);
and wherein each of the first, second and third connecting portions includes a key having a profile for controlling an orientation of the support elements in their respective first, second and third directions (arms 104 comprise bevel 46, or weld backer 24, which hold beams 40, or column 16, in their oriented directions).
Regarding Claim 31, Bowron further teaches at least two opposing straight edges to prevent rotation of the support elements about an axis extending through the key, each of the at least two opposing straight edges defining a load bearing surface (Figure 5 shows beams 40 mate with bevel 46 and/or weld backer 24 which is shown to comprise at least two opposing straight edges which would have to prevent rotation of the beam 40 and/or column 16).
Regarding Claim 32, Bowron further teaches wherein the keys of the first and second connector portions lie in a same plane and are orientated such that a line extending along a mid-point of the keys of the first and second connector portions intersect at substantially 90° (shown in Figure 5 between the directions of perpendicular beams, heretofore referred to as the first and second key/beams).
Regarding Claim 33, Bowron further teaches wherein the key of the third connector portion lies in a plane perpendicular to a plane of the keys of the first and second connector portions such that the connector has a line of symmetry extending through the key of the third connector portion (weld backer 24 is perpendicular to the planes of the first and second keys and would produce a line of symmetry of the whole 180° connector shown in 5 and 6).
Regarding Claim 35, Bowron further teaches wherein each of the one or more mounting projections comprises: a first bore and a second bore, the first bore is a threaded bore and the second bore is a non-threaded bore (wherein the first bore are holes for fastening means 28, which can be screws or bolts meaning that the bore is threaded, and the second bore are holes 56 for pins).
Regarding Claim 36, Bowron further teaches a spacer for spacing with an adjacent connector (gusset plate 20 also serves as a spacer between adjacent connectors as shown in Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 37, Bowron further teaches a plurality of vertically spaced modular sections, each of the plurality of modular sections including at least four of the connectors, each of the at least four connectors in a single modular section being connected to two other connectors by a horizontal support element to form a substantially rectangular frame, and wherein each of the at least four connectors of vertically adjacent modular sections are connected together by a substantially vertical support element to form a frame structure (see construction of connectors to form frame structures in Figs. 7-17); and wherein distal ends of each of the horizontal and vertical support elements includes an opening having a profile complementary to the profiles of the keys of the connectors such that an orientation of the horizontal and vertical support elements are controlled by the profiles of the keys (paragraphs 0002, 0006 and 0011 described using connectors of Bowran to construct a frame such as those shown in Figures 1 and 2, such an implementation would include all of these elements, Figure 5 further shows openings on the beams 40 and column 16 with complementary openings to the bevels 46 and/or welding backers 24).
Regarding Claim 38, Bowron further teaches wherein the modular structure has a substantially cuboidal structure (shown in Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 39, Bowron further teaches a plurality of the modular structures, wherein adjacent modular structures in the assembly are joined together by one or more of their mounting projections (shown in Figures 1, 2, 7 and 8, wherein an implementation would include modular structures joined together via mounting projections).
Regarding Claim 40, Bowron further teaches wherein the plurality of modular structures are arranged in a stack or side by side (shown in Figures 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowron (EP4043658A1) in view of the Austrheim (US 20240227870 A1).
Bowron teaches the claim limitations of Claim 30 as above. They do not teach their connector(s) being configured in an inventory handling station for cooperating with a storage and retrieval system.
Austrheim teaches an inventory handling system comprising:
a plurality of upright columns lying in one or more vertical planes and arranged to form a plurality of grid columns for one or more containers to be stacked between and be guided by the plurality of upright columns in a vertical direction, the plurality of upright columns being interconnected at their top ends by a first set of grid members extending in a first direction and a second set of grid members extending in a second direction, the second set of grid members running transversely to the first set of grid members in a substantially horizontal plane to form a grid including a plurality of grid cells or grid spaces (shown in Figure 6A, 7A and Abstract);
and the first and the second set of grid members supporting a first set and a second set of tracks respectively at an upper level of the grid framework structure for a load handling device to move one or more storage containers on the grid framework structure (shown in Figures 7A and 7B);
wherein the inventory handling station assembly comprises:
a conveying system including a plurality of conveying units, each of the plurality of conveying units being mounted on structures to form a continuous conveyor (shown in Figures 7A and 7B).
Regarding Claim 41, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the connectors of Bowran as part of an assembly of the modular structures arranged for the grid framework structure of the inventory handling system of Austrheim. This would be for the purpose of creating a modifiable frame structure for the inventory handling system so it can be used in a variety of warehouses and processing facilities of different shapes and sizes. One of ordinary skill in the art could apply the connectors of Bowran to the inventory handling system of Austrheim without undue experimentation. Further, the application of the connectors of Bowran to the inventory handling system of Austrheim would produce the predictable results of processing items in an inventory system designated for storage and/or retrieval.
Regarding Claim 42, Austrheim further teaches
i) a port station for receiving a storage container being dropped off from and to be picked up through a grid cell (delivery port described in Abstract and paragraphs 0145 and shown in Figure 6B);
ii) an access station to enable access to one or more storage containers dropped off from the port station, and wherein the conveying system is configured and arranged for conveying a storage container between the port station and the access station (cabinet 61 of access station or point described in Abstract and paragraph 0139, 0151 and 0153 and containers are conveyed via delivery vehicles 30 shown in Figure 6b).
Regarding Claim 43, Austrheim further teaches a vertical chute configurable to cooperate with at least one upright column, the at least one vertical chute having a first opening for receiving a container lowered by at least one load handling device through a grid cell and a second opening to allow the container to exit from the port station (delivery column described in paragraphs 0047 and 0146).
Regarding Claim 44, the implementation of the connectors of Bowran to the inventory handling system of Austrheim would further enable that the assembly of modular structures are arranged in a stack to define the vertical chute.
Regarding Claim 45, Austrheim further teaches a bin lift device being configurable to upwardly lift a storage container towards the grid such that, when in use, the storage container can be retrieved by the least one load handling device (described in paragraph 0140, wherein a form of lifting device would be necessary for container handling vehicles 300 to lift them).
Regarding Claim 46, Austrheim further teaches wherein the port station comprises: a supply zone for receiving a storage container being dropped off through a grid cell and a pick up zone for picking up a storage container through a grid cell (multiple delivery ports 150 serve this purpose as described in paragraph 0157 and shown in Figure 6B).
Regarding Claim 47, Austrheim further teaches wherein the plurality of conveyor units comprises: an entry conveyor unit being configured and arranged in the supply zone, an access conveyor unit being configured and arranged in the access station, and an exit conveyor unit being configured and arranged in the pick-up zone (wherein the conveyor units are movable delivery vehicles 30 shown in Figure 6b and described in paragraph 0057 and can serve the desired purpose in each zone or access station).
Regarding Claim 48, Austrheim further teaches wherein the entry conveyor unit, the exit conveyor unit and the access conveyor unit are arranged to respectively transport a storage container in a first, second and third transport directions, and wherein the first transport direction of the entry conveyor unit is opposite and parallel to the second transport direction of the exit conveyor unit and the third transport direction of the access conveyor unit is orthogonal to both the first transport direction of the entry conveyor unit and the second transport direction of the exit conveyor unit (delivery vehicles 30 can serve each purpose and move in any direction along delivery rail 50, wherein forward and backward on each of the perpendicular rails would enable at least a first, second and third direction, wherein the first direction would be moving to a delivery port, the second direction would be away from delivery port, and the third direction would be perpendicular to the first and second directions to approach the access point as described in paragraphs 0151, 0154 and 0157).
Regarding Claim 49, Austrheim further teaches:
i) a storage and retrieval system including a grid framework structure including:
a plurality of upright columns lying in one or more vertical planes and arranged to form a plurality of grid columns for one or more containers to be stacked between and be guided by the plurality of upright columns in a vertical direction, the plurality of upright columns are interconnected at their top ends by a first set of grid members extending in a first direction and a second set of grid members extending in a second direction, the second set of grid members running transversely to the first set of grid members in a substantially horizontal plane to form a grid or grid structure comprising a plurality of grid cells or grid spaces (shown in Figure 6a);
wherein the first and the second set of grid members supports a first and a second set of tracks respectively at an upper level of the grid framework structure for a robotic load handling device to move one or more storage containers on the grid framework structure (Figure 6a shows storage 104 which has rail system 108 for container handling vehicles 200, 300 as described in paragraphs 0008 and 0010 to enable movement in directions along a grid);
ii) one or more load handling devices remotely operated to move the one or more containers stored in the grid framework structure, each of the one or more load handling devices (Austrheim states multiple examples of load handling devices in paragraph 0114 from other prior arts, one example is Hognaland (WO 2014090684 A1)) including:
i) a wheel assembly for guiding the load handling device on the grid structure (shown in Figure 6a of Austrheim and Figure 5 of Hognaland);
ii) a container-receiving space located above the grid structure (shown in Figure 5 of Hognaland, wherein the container 2 is shown to be stored in cavity 7 above wheels which would rest on top of the grid for operation, described in Abstract of Hognaland); and
iii) a lifting device arranged to lift a single container from a stack into the container-receiving space (described in Abstract of Hognaland); and
iv) the inventory handling station being configured to receive one or more storage containers from the storage and retrieval system (described in Abstract of Austrheim).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 34 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art: the connector of Bowron (EP4043658A1) does not teach a first projection lying in a first mounting projection plane and a second mounting projection lying in a second mounting projection plane, the second mounting projection plane being substantially perpendicular to the first mounting projection plane such that a line extending through the first mounting projection is substantially perpendicular to a line extending through the second mounting projection.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jacob Scott, can be reached on 571-270-3415. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M.T.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655