Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/23/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action mailed 7/28/2026 ("FAOM"). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Applicant's submission of the IDS under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Double Patenting
The terminal disclaimer filed 9/22/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 12,725,896 has been reviewed and approved. The nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1-2, 11 and 13 is hereby withdrawn because of the approved terminal disclaimer.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 9/22/2026 has been entered. The applicant has amended claims 1, 3, 14, 16, 17, 19, and cancelled claims 2, 18, 20. Claims 1, 3-17, and 19 remain pending in the application. The amendment has overcome the rejections of claims 14, 17, 19 set forth in the FAOM, which are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments, see pages 7-10 of the Remarks filed 9/22/2026 ("Remarks"), with respect to the remaining rejections and objections of record have been fully considered but found not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that “Tiihonen [aka Aquilon, SE543086] fails to disclose an RF transmission line on the second surface of a feed board, as set forth in amended claim 1” (Remarks at 8).
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the applicant improperly argues against Aquilon/Tiihonen individually rather than considering the combined teachings of Wang and Aquilon/Tiihonen (FAOM at 7-8). See MPEP 2145.IV (one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references).
Wang discloses a dielectric feed board having radiating elements on the first surface and RF filters having resonators mounted on the second surface of the feed board connected to the radiating elements through the board (FAOM at 5). Aquilon/Tiihonen teaches an RF cavity filter 100 including RF coupling lines 140 integrated with sheet-metal resonators 120 and the benefits of incorporating the RF transmission-line functionality and simplifying filter assembly through such integration (FAOM at 7-8). The antenna module of Wang, modified as taught by Aquilon/Tiihonen, would include all the features of the amended claim 1 (FAOM at 8).
Second, the applicant’s argument regarding the suspended configuration of Aquilon/Tiihonen’s coupling lines (Remarks at 8-9) is not commensurate with the scope of the amended claim 1, which does not require the RF transmission line to be completely disposed directly on the second surface of the feed board. Even if the modified antenna module of Wang would maintain some spacing between certain portions of the transmission line and the second surface of the feed board, as argued by the applicant (Remarks at 8-9), the transmission line itself would nevertheless be mounted on the second surface of the feed board. In addition, at least some portions of the transmission line would be penetrating the feed board and its second surface to be connected to the radiating elements on the opposite side of the board. As a result, the second surface of the feed board would comprise the RF transmission line, as required by the amended claim 1.
For the foregoing reasons, the rejections of claims 1, 3, 9-13, and 15, as well as the objections to claims 4-8 and 16, are maintained, as set forth in detail below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 9-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Aquilon, both of record.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a radio frequency (RF) device (Fig. 6, antenna module 100, including antenna subarrays 200 and RF filters 300) comprising:
a feed board (dielectric substrate 110) comprising a first surface (111) having a plurality of radiating elements (radiation units 210/211) thereon;
a filter bank comprising a plurality of RF filters (two filters 300) that each comprise a plurality of resonators (resonant rods 330) that are mounted on a second surface of the feed board that is opposite the first surface (two filters 300 provided on the lower surface 112 of the dielectric substrate 110 and connected to the radiating elements via feeding needles 340 passing through the dielectric substrate 110);
wherein the second surface of the feed board comprises a ground plane thereon, and the resonators are mounted on the ground plane (“the dielectric substrate 110 of the lower surface 112 towards the cavity 320 is provided with a second metal layer (not shown in the figure), the second metal layer is used as the antenna sub-array 200 of the reflecting plate, and the second metal layer is grounded”).
Wang does not disclose “wherein the second surface of the feed board further comprises an RF transmission line thereon.”
However, Aquilon, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a tunable RF cavity filter 100 including T-shaped sheet-metal resonators 120 (Figs. 2a-4a) installed in the housing 110, all sides of which are grounded. At least some of the resonators include an RF transmission line 140 and underside parts overlapping the RF transmission line 140 and the bottom of the grounded housing and (Fig. 3b, annotated, pp. 7-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna module of Wang by replacing its resonant rods with the T-shaped sheet-metal resonators integrated with RF transmission lines of Aquilon for the benefits of manufacturing the resonators and transmission lines from a single metal sheet to simplify the filter assembly, as taught by Aquilon (p.9)
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Aquilon discloses “wherein a first portion of an underside of a first of the resonators overlaps the RF transmission line, and wherein a second portion of the underside of the first of the resonators overlaps the ground plane” (Fig. 3b, annotated, pp. 7-10).
Regarding claims 9-10, Wang in view of Aquilon discloses the sheet-metal resonators soldered to the feed board (Aquilon, p. 9, lines 8-17).
Regarding claims 11-12, Wang in view of Aquilon discloses one or more integrated low-pass filters in the form of in-coupling 310 and out-coupling 320 (Aquilon, Figs. 2a-b, 3a-b, p. 10, lines 4-28).
Regarding claim 13, Wang in view of Aquilon discloses “a conductive wall that electrically isolates a first of the RF filters from a second of the RF filters (“resonant rods 330 are provided in resonant cavities 320”; “as shown in FIG. 7 and FIG. 8, two filters 300 respectively correspondingly provided with a first cavity 320 and the second cavity 320”; “the inner wall of the cavity 320 is made of metal material, or the inner wall of the cavity 320 is provided with a first metal layer”).
Regarding claim 15, Wang in view of Aquilon discloses: wherein a first and a second of the resonators are part of the same metal sheet (Aquilon, p. 9, lines 8-11);
wherein the first of the resonators comprises a protruding portion (capacitive coupling tuning members 130) that protrudes toward, and is capacitively coupled to, the second of the resonators (Aquilon, Fig. 3b, annotated; p. 9, lines 20-28), and
wherein a linking portion of the metal sheet inductively couples the first and the second of the resonators to each other (Aquilon, Fig. 3b, annotated).
Claim 1 is additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,225,799, issued 7/6/1993 (“West”), cited by the applicant in an information disclosure statement submitted under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 9/23/2026, after the mailing date of the FAOM.
As set forth above, Wang discloses all the limitations of the amended claim 1, except “wherein the second surface of the feed board further comprises an RF transmission line thereon.”
However, West, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a cavity microwave filter 30 mounted on a dielectric circuit board 190 having RF transmission lines 186 and 187 thereon, wherein the resonator taps 148 and 149 are bonded to the respective microstrip transmission lines and grounding tabs 180 are bonded to ground pads 192 electrically connected to the microstrip ground plane (Figs. 1A, 4, 7, 13-14; 5:46-58; 6:20-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna module of Wang by providing an RF microstrip transmission line on second surface 112 of dielectric substrate 110, adjacent to mounted filters 300, and coupling the filter to that transmission line using the microstrip coupling arrangements taught by West for the benefits of facilitating simpler assembly, accurate alignment and direct RF connection of the cavity filters to the feed board, as taught by West (1:48-59; 3:4-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 17 and 19 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: applicant’s amendments of claims 14, 17 and 19 have overcome the closest prior art references of Wang, Aquilon, Jia, Yoshida, and West, all of record, by requiring the feature of “wherein a first of the resonators comprises first and second leg portions having a distance therebetween that narrows as the first and second leg portions approach the second surface of the feed board,” recited in claim 14, the feature of “wherein the second surface of the feed board further comprises a plurality of RF transmission lines thereon, and wherein the sheet-metal resonators comprise: first resonators that overlap the RF transmission lines; and second resonators that each have at least two leg portions that are coupled to the ground plane,” recited in claim 17, and the feature of “wherein a second of the resonators has at least three leg portions that are mounted on the ground plane,” recited in claim 19, in combination with the remaining limitations of the respective claims.
Claims 4-8 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTOR COLE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843