Claim Objections
Claims 2-5, 7, 12-14, 16-19, and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 2, line 2, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 2, lines 4-5, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 2, line 5, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 2, line 7, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 2, line 8, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 2, lines 8-9, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 2, line 12, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 2, line 13, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 3, line 5, “the progression level” should read as “the current progression level”.
Claim 3, line 6, “the requested virtual reward resource” should read as “the virtual reward resource”.
Claim 3, lines 8-9, “the progression level” should read as “the current progression level”.
Claim 4, line 3, “the progression level” should read as “the current progression level”.
Claim 4, line 4, “the progression level” should read as “the current progression level”.
Claim 5, line 2, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 5, line 4, “the progression level” should read as “the current progression level”.
Claim 5, line 6, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 5, line 7, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 5, line 10, “the progression level” should read as “the current progression level”.
Claim 5, line 12, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 5, line 13, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 5, lines 14-15, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 5, line 16, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 5, line 18, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 7, line 1, “The method of claim 22” should read as “The method of claim 2”.
Claim 12, lines 3-4, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 12, lines 6-7, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 12, line 8, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 12, lines 8-9, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 12, line 9, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 12, line 10, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 13, lines 7-8, “the progression level” should read as “the current progression level”.
Claim 14, line 2, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 14, line 7, “virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 14, line 10, “the progression level” should read as “the current progression level”.
Claim 14, line 12, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 14, lines 13-14, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 14, lines 14-15, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 14, lines 15-16, “virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 16, line 2, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 16, line 5, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 16, lines 5-6, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 16, line 9, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 16, lines 9-10, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 16, lines 12-13, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 16, line 13, “the first virtual characters” should read as “the first virtual character”.
Claim 17, line 5, “the progression level” should read as “the current progression level”.
Claim 17, lines 8-9, “the progression level” should read as “the current progression level”.
Claim 18, line 3, “the progression level” should read as “the current progression level”.
Claim 18, line 4, “the progression level” should read as “the current progression level”.
Claim 19, line 2, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 19, line 6, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 19, line 7, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 19, line 8, “the requested progression level” should read as “the current progression level”.
Claim 19, line 11, “the progression level” should read as “the current progression level”.
Claim 19, line 12, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 19, lines 13-14, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 19, line 15, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 19, line 16, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 19, lines 18-19, “the virtual progression resources” should read as “the virtual progression resource”.
Claim 24, lines 1-2, “a computer executable instruction” should read as “the instruction”.
Claim 24, line 2, “a processor” should read as “the processor”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-5, 8, 12-19, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under US 20220103360 A1 (“Verstraeten”) in view of US 20230245175 A1 (“Schaeppi”).
In regard to claim 1, Verstraeten discloses
A method for virtual resource interaction, comprising ([0058], “the user may provide a virtual access … to the resource … such as in an … interaction”): transmitting, by a client ([0065], “The … device … can transmit the request”), a first acquisition request ([0064], “the … device … can generate a request for … data”) and first verification data to ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”) a server to request acquisition of ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”)
transmitting, by the server, ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”) the client based on the first acquisition request ([0050], “The server … may use … computing structures … for … the requests from … client computers”) and the first verification data ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”);
transmitting, by the client ([0065], “The … device … can transmit the request”), a second acquisition request ([0064], “the … device … can generate a request for … data”) and second verification data to ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”) the server to request acquisition of ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”)
and transmitting, by the server ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”), the client based on the second acquisition request ([0050], “The server … may use … computing structures … for … the requests from … client computers”) and the second verification data ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”).
Verstraeten does not disclose
a virtual progression resource of
a first virtual character;
a virtual reward resource of
the first virtual character;
the virtual reward resource of
the first virtual character to
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
a virtual progression resource of ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”)
a first virtual character ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”);
a virtual reward resource of ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”)
the first virtual character ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”);
the virtual reward resource of ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”)
the first virtual character to ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, a virtual progression resource of a first virtual character;
a virtual reward resource of the first virtual character; the virtual reward resource of
the first virtual character to, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding virtual resources, progression, virtual space, and rewards.
In regard to claim 2, Verstraeten discloses
wherein the first verification data indicates ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”) a current number of ([0039], “request message may … comprise … a current … number”) and transmitting, by the server ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”), verifying, by the server, whether the current number of the first virtual characters satisfies a number of the first virtual characters required for ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”) the request virtual progression resource ([0064], “the … device … can generate a request for … data”);
determining, by the server ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”), a number of ([0028], “a … system can facilitate … determining … numbers”) transmitted and ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”) updating the current number of ([0028], “system can facilitate … maintaining … numbers”) when the current number of the first virtual characters satisfies the number of the first virtual characters required ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”);
transmitting, by the server ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”),
and synchronizing, by the client, the current number of the virtual progression resources and the current number of the first virtual characters at the client ([0036], “an arrangement by which a first entity maintains a value on behalf of a second entity”).
Verstraeten does not disclose
the virtual progression resource of
the first virtual character to the client comprises:
the virtual progression resources to be
the first virtual characters
the virtual progression resource and the updated current number of
the first virtual character to the client;
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
the virtual progression resource of ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”) the first virtual character to the client comprises ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”):
the virtual progression resources to be ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”)
the first virtual characters ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”)
the virtual progression resource and the updated current number of ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”)
the first virtual character to the client ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, the virtual progression resource of the first virtual character to the client comprises: the virtual progression resources to be
the first virtual characters the virtual progression resource and the updated current number of the first virtual character to the client, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding virtual resources, progression, and virtual space.
In regard to claim 3, Verstraeten discloses
wherein the second verification data indicates ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”)
and transmitting, by the server ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”), verifying, by the server, whether the current progression level of the first virtual character satisfies the progression level of the first virtual character required for ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”)
determining, by the server ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”),
transmitting, by the server ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”), and synchronizing, by the client ([0036], “an arrangement by which a first entity maintains a value on behalf of a second entity”)
Verstraeten does not disclose
a current progression level of the first virtual character at the client,
the virtual reward resource of the first virtual character to the client comprises:
the requested virtual reward resource;
the virtual reward resource to be transmitted when the current progression level of the first virtual character satisfies the progression level of the first virtual character required;
the virtual reward resource to the client;
the virtual reward resource at the client.
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
a current progression level of ([0035], “The progression indicators mechanic may include … levels”) the first virtual character at the client ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”),
the virtual reward resource of the first virtual character to the client comprises ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”): the requested virtual reward resource ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”);
the virtual reward resource to be transmitted when the current progression level of the first virtual character satisfies the progression level of the first virtual character required ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”);
the virtual reward resource to the client ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”);
the virtual reward resource at the client ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, a current progression level of the first virtual character at the client, the virtual reward resource of the first virtual character to the client comprises: the requested virtual reward resource; the virtual reward resource to be transmitted when the current progression level of the first virtual character satisfies the progression level of the first virtual character required; the virtual reward resource to the client, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding progression indicators, levels, a character, an object, virtual space, and rewards.
In regard to claim 4, Verstraeten discloses
further comprising: transmitting, by the client ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”), a third acquisition request ([0064], “the … device … can generate a request for … data”) and third verification data to ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”)
and transmitting, by the server ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”), the third acquisition request ([0064], “the … device … can generate a request for … data”) and the third verification data ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”).
Verstraeten does not disclose
the server to request acquisition of the progression level of the first virtual character;
the progression level of the first virtual character to the client based on
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
the server to request acquisition of the progression level of ([0035], “The progression indicators mechanic may include … levels”) the first virtual character ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”);
the progression level of ([0035], “The progression indicators mechanic may include … levels”) the first virtual character to the client based on ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, the server to request acquisition of the progression level of the first virtual character; the progression level of the first virtual character to the client based on, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding progression indicators, levels, a character, an object, and virtual space.
In regard to claim 5, Verstraeten discloses
wherein the third verification data indicates ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”) and transmitting, by the server, the progression level of the first virtual character to the client comprises ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”): verifying, by the server, whether the current number of the virtual progression resources of the first virtual character satisfies the number of the virtual progression resources required for the requested progression level of the first virtual character based on the current progression level of the first virtual character ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”);
determining, by the server and based on ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”) and updating the current number of ([0028], “system can facilitate … maintaining … numbers”) when the current number of the virtual progression resources of the first virtual character satisfies the required number of the virtual progression resources ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”);
transmitting, by the server, the updated current number of ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”) and synchronizing, by the client, the current number of the virtual progression resources and the current progression level of the first virtual character at the client ([0036], “an arrangement by which a first entity maintains a value on behalf of a second entity”).
Verstraeten does not disclose
the current number of the virtual progression resources of
the first virtual character at the client
and the current progression level of the first virtual character,
the current progression level of
the first virtual character, the progression level of the first virtual character to be transmitted,
the virtual progression resources and the current progression level of the first virtual character,
the virtual progression resources and the updated current progression level of the first virtual character to the client;
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
the current number of the virtual progression resources of ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”) the first virtual character at the client ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”) and the current progression level of the first virtual character ([0035], “The progression indicators mechanic may include … levels”),
the current progression level of ([0035], “The progression indicators mechanic may include … levels”) the first virtual character, the progression level of the first virtual character to be transmitted ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”),
the virtual progression resources and the current progression level of the first virtual character ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”),
the virtual progression resources and the updated current progression level of the first virtual character to the client ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, the current number of the virtual progression resources of the first virtual character at the client and the current progression level of the first virtual character, the current progression level of the first virtual character, the progression level of the first virtual character to be transmitted, the virtual progression resources and the current progression level of the first virtual character, the virtual progression resources and the updated current progression level of the first virtual character to the client, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding virtual resources, progression, progression indicators, levels, a character, an object, and virtual space.
In regard to claim 8, Verstraeten does not disclose
further comprising: sharing, by the client, the virtual reward resource with other clients.
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
further comprising: sharing, by the client, the virtual reward resource with other clients ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, further comprising: sharing, by the client, the virtual reward resource with other clients, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding a resource and rewards.
In regard to claim 12, Verstraeten discloses
wherein a database coupled with the server stores ([0073], “The table can be stored in any suitable database.”) the current number of ([0039], “request message may … comprise … a current … number”), and the method further comprises: retrieving, by the server, the current number from the database ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”);
verifying, by the server, whether the current number at the client and at the server remains consistent ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”);
and determining, by the server ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”), the number of the virtual progression resources to be ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”) transmitted ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”) and updating the current number ([0028], “system can facilitate … maintaining … numbers”) when the current number satisfies the number of the first virtual characters required and when the current number at the client and at the server remains consistent ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”);
Verstraeten does not disclose
first virtual characters
the virtual progression resources
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
first virtual characters ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”)
the virtual progression resource ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, first virtual characters, the virtual progression resources, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding a character, an object, virtual resources, progression, and virtual space.
In regard to claim 13, Verstraeten discloses
the database further stores ([0073], “The table can be stored in any suitable database.”) the method further comprises: retrieving, by the server from the database ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”);
verifying, by the server, whether the current progression level of the first virtual character satisfies the progression level of the first virtual character required for ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”)
and determining, by the server ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”),
to be transmitted ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”)
when the current number satisfies the number required and when the current number at the client and at the server remains consistent ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”);
Verstraeten does not disclose
the current progression level of the first virtual character,
the virtual reward resource
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
the current progression level of ([0035], “The progression indicators mechanic may include … levels”) the first virtual character ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”),
the virtual reward resource ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, the current progression level of the first virtual character, the virtual reward resource, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding progression indicators, levels, a character, an object, virtual space, and rewards.
In regard to claim 14, Verstraeten discloses
wherein the database stores ([0073], “The table can be stored in any suitable database.”) and the method further comprises: retrieving, by the server, from the database ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”)
verifying, by the server, whether the current number of the virtual progression resources of the first virtual character and the current progression level of the first virtual character at the client and at the server remain consistent ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”);
and determining, by the server and based on ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”) and updating the current number of ([0028], “system can facilitate … maintaining … numbers”) when the current number of the virtual progression resources of the first virtual character satisfies the required number of the virtual progression resources ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”);
and when the current number of virtual progression resources of the first virtual character and the current progression level of the first virtual character at the client and at the server remain consistent ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”).
Verstraeten does not disclose
the current number of the virtual progression resources
the first virtual character
and the current progression level of the first virtual character
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
the current number of the virtual progression resources of ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”) the first virtual character ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”) and the current progression level of the first virtual character ([0035], “The progression indicators mechanic may include … levels”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, the current number of the virtual progression resources,
the first virtual character, and the current progression level of the first virtual character, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding virtual resources, progression, progression indicators, levels, a character, an object, and virtual space.
In regard to claim 15, Verstraeten discloses
A system for virtual resource interaction, comprising ([0058], “the user may provide a virtual access … to the resource … such as in an … interaction”) a client ([0050], “The server … may use … computing structures … for … the requests from … client computers”) and a server ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”), wherein the client and the server are configured to implement operations for virtual resource interaction, the operations comprising ([0050], “The server … may use … computing structures … for … the requests from … client computers”): transmitting, by the client ([0065], “The … device … can transmit the request”), a first acquisition request ([0064], “the … device … can generate a request for … data”) and first verification data to ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”) the server to request acquisition of ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”)
transmitting, by the server, ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”) the client based on the first acquisition request ([0050], “The server … may use … computing structures … for … the requests from … client computers”) and the first verification data ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”);
transmitting, by the client ([0065], “The … device … can transmit the request”), a second acquisition request ([0064], “the … device … can generate a request for … data”) and second verification data to ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”) the server to request acquisition of ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”)
and transmitting, by the server ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”), the client based on the second acquisition request ([0050], “The server … may use … computing structures … for … the requests from … client computers”) and the second verification data ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”).
Verstraeten does not disclose
a virtual progression resource of
a first virtual character;
a virtual reward resource of
the first virtual character;
the virtual reward resource of
the first virtual character to
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
a virtual progression resource of ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”)
a first virtual character ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”);
a virtual reward resource of ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”)
the first virtual character ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”);
the virtual reward resource of ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”)
the first virtual character to ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, a virtual progression resource of a first virtual character;
a virtual reward resource of the first virtual character; the virtual reward resource of
the first virtual character to, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding virtual resources, progression, virtual space, and rewards.
In regard to claim 16, Verstraeten discloses
wherein the first verification data indicates ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”) a current number of ([0039], “request message may … comprise … a current … number”), and transmitting, by the server ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”), verifying, by the server, whether the current number of
the first virtual characters satisfies a number of the first virtual characters required for ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”) the request virtual progression resource ([0064], “the … device … can generate a request for … data”);
determining, by the server ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”), a number of ([0028], “a … system can facilitate … determining … numbers”) transmitted and ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”) updating the current number of ([0028], “system can facilitate … maintaining … numbers”) when the current number of the first virtual characters satisfies the number of the first virtual characters required ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”);
transmitting, by the server ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”),
and synchronizing, by the client, the current number of the virtual progression resources and the current number of the first virtual characters at the client ([0036], “an arrangement by which a first entity maintains a value on behalf of a second entity”).
Verstraeten does not disclose
the virtual progression resource of
the first virtual character to the client comprises:
the virtual progression resources to be
the first virtual characters
the virtual progression resource and the updated current number of
the first virtual character to the client;
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
the virtual progression resource of ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”) the first virtual character to the client comprises ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”):
the virtual progression resources to be ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”)
the first virtual characters ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”)
the virtual progression resource and the updated current number of ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”)
the first virtual character to the client ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, the virtual progression resource of the first virtual character to the client comprises: the virtual progression resources to be
the first virtual characters the virtual progression resource and the updated current number of the first virtual character to the client, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding virtual resources, progression, and virtual space.
In regard to claim 17, Verstraeten discloses
wherein the second verification data indicates ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”)
and transmitting, by the server ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”), verifying, by the server, whether the current progression level of the first virtual character satisfies the progression level of the first virtual character required for ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”)
determining, by the server ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”),
transmitting, by the server ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”), and synchronizing, by the client ([0036], “an arrangement by which a first entity maintains a value on behalf of a second entity”)
Verstraeten does not disclose
a current progression level of the first virtual character at the client,
the virtual reward resource of the first virtual character to the client comprises:
the requested virtual reward resource;
the virtual reward resource to be transmitted when the current progression level of the first virtual character satisfies the progression level of the first virtual character required;
the virtual reward resource to the client;
the virtual reward resource at the client.
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
a current progression level of ([0035], “The progression indicators mechanic may include … levels”) the first virtual character at the client ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”),
the virtual reward resource of the first virtual character to the client comprises ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”): the requested virtual reward resource ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”);
the virtual reward resource to be transmitted when the current progression level of the first virtual character satisfies the progression level of the first virtual character required ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”);
the virtual reward resource to the client ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”);
the virtual reward resource at the client ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, a current progression level of the first virtual character at the client, the virtual reward resource of the first virtual character to the client comprises: the requested virtual reward resource; the virtual reward resource to be transmitted when the current progression level of the first virtual character satisfies the progression level of the first virtual character required; the virtual reward resource to the client, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding progression indicators, levels, a character, an object, virtual space, and rewards.
In regard to claim 18, Verstraeten discloses
wherein the operations further comprise: transmitting, by the client ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”), a third acquisition request ([0064], “the … device … can generate a request for … data”) and third verification data to ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”)
and transmitting, by the server ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”), the third acquisition request ([0064], “the … device … can generate a request for … data”) and the third verification data ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”).
Verstraeten does not disclose
the server to request acquisition of the progression level of the first virtual character;
the progression level of the first virtual character to the client based on
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
the server to request acquisition of the progression level of ([0035], “The progression indicators mechanic may include … levels”) the first virtual character ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”);
the progression level of ([0035], “The progression indicators mechanic may include … levels”) the first virtual character to the client based on ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, the server to request acquisition of the progression level of the first virtual character; the progression level of the first virtual character to the client based on, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding progression indicators, levels, a character, an object, and virtual space.
In regard to claim 19, Verstraeten discloses
wherein the third verification data indicates ([0159], “The … module … may … compare … the information received by … the … request … with … verification values”) and transmitting, by the server, the progression level of the first virtual character to the client comprises ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”): verifying, by the server, whether the current number of the virtual progression resources of the first virtual character satisfies the number of the virtual progression resources required for the requested progression level of the first virtual character based on the current progression level of the first virtual character ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”);
determining, by the server and based on ([0019], “communication devices may include … a server”) and updating the current number of ([0028], “system can facilitate … maintaining … numbers”) when the current number of the virtual progression resources of the first virtual character satisfies the required number of the virtual progression resources ([0160], “The … module … can verify whether … received … data … matches expected … data”);
transmitting, by the server, the updated current number of ([0058], “the … device … may transmit … a token”) and synchronizing, by the client, the current number of the virtual progression resources and the current progression level of the first virtual character at the client ([0036], “an arrangement by which a first entity maintains a value on behalf of a second entity”).
Verstraeten does not disclose
the current number of the virtual progression resources of
the first virtual character at the client
and the current progression level of the first virtual character,
the current progression level of
the first virtual character, the progression level of the first virtual character to be transmitted,
the virtual progression resources and the current progression level of the first virtual character,
the virtual progression resources and the updated current progression level of the first virtual character to the client;
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
the current number of the virtual progression resources of ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”) the first virtual character at the client ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”) and the current progression level of the first virtual character ([0035], “The progression indicators mechanic may include … levels”),
the current progression level of ([0035], “The progression indicators mechanic may include … levels”) the first virtual character, the progression level of the first virtual character to be transmitted ([0018], “The character may refer to an object … in a virtual space”),
the virtual progression resources and the current progression level of the first virtual character ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”),
the virtual progression resources and the updated current progression level of the first virtual character to the client ([0034], “The … mechanic may include virtual resources … progression”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, the current number of the virtual progression resources of the first virtual character at the client and the current progression level of the first virtual character, the current progression level of the first virtual character, the progression level of the first virtual character to be transmitted, the virtual progression resources and the current progression level of the first virtual character, the virtual progression resources and the updated current progression level of the first virtual character to the client, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding virtual resources, progression, progression indicators, levels, a character, an object, and virtual space.
In regard to claim 23, Verstraeten discloses
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, on which a computer executable instruction is stored, wherein the instruction is executed by a processor to implement the method for virtual resource interaction according to claim 1 ([0052], “A suitable memory may comprise a non-transitory computer readable medium that stores instructions that can be executed by a processor to implement a desired method.”).
In regard to claim 24, Verstraeten discloses
a computer program product, comprising a computer executable instruction, wherein the instruction is executed by a processor to implement the method for virtual resource interaction according to claim 1 ([0052], “A suitable memory may comprise a … computer … medium that stores instructions that can be executed by a processor to implement a desired method.”).
Claims 7 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under Verstraeten in view of Schaeppi and in further view of US 20180350144 A1 (“Rathod”).
In regard to claim 7, Verstraeten discloses
and synchronizing, by the client, the virtual reward resource at the client further comprises ([0036], “an arrangement by which a first entity maintains a value on behalf of a second entity”): storing, by the client, each received image data and/or video data ([0022], “data … may be stored on a … device”) for display ([0141], “the … device can display the interaction … screen to the user”);
Verstraeten does not disclose
wherein the virtual reward resource further comprises
image data and/or video data,
and superimposing, by the client, at least a portion of the received image data and/or video data as combined image data and/or video data, and storing the combined image data and/or video data for display.
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
wherein the virtual reward resource further comprises ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”)
image data and/or video data ([0128], “the … content may be … an image, a video”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the virtual reward resource further comprises
image data and/or video data, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding a resource, rewards, content, an image, and video.
Further, Rathod is also analogous art because it is the field of virtual world simulations. Rathod discloses
and superimposing, by the client, at least a portion of the received image data and/or video data as combined image data and/or video data, and storing the combined image data and/or video data for display ([0280], “system can superimpose … virtual content … on the screen … of a … device”).
Substituting and superimposing, by the client, at least a portion of the received image data and/or video data as combined image data and/or video data, and storing the combined image data and/or video data for display of Rathod into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding a system, virtual content, a screen, and a device.
In regard to claim 20, Verstraeten discloses
audio track data ([0019], “input … may be from … audio data”), and synchronizing, by the client, the virtual reward resource at the client comprises ([0036], “an arrangement by which a first entity maintains a value on behalf of a second entity”): storing, by the client, each received audio track data for playing ([0022], “data … may be stored on a … device”);
at least a portion of the received audio track data as combined audio track data, and storing the combined audio track data for playing ([0019], “input … may be from … audio data”).
Verstraeten does not disclose
wherein the virtual reward resource comprises
and superimposing, by the client
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
wherein the virtual reward resource further comprises ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the virtual reward resource further comprises,
of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding a resource and rewards.
Further, Rathod is also analogous art because it is the field of virtual world simulations. Rathod discloses
and superimposing, by the client, ([0280], “system can superimpose … virtual content … on the screen … of a … device”).
Substituting and superimposing, by the client, of Rathod into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding a system, virtual content, a screen, and a device.
In regard to claim 21, Verstraeten discloses
and synchronizing, by the client, the virtual reward resource at the client further comprises ([0036], “an arrangement by which a first entity maintains a value on behalf of a second entity”): storing, by the client, each received image data and/or video data ([0022], “data … may be stored on a … device”) for display ([0141], “the … device can display the interaction … screen to the user”);
Verstraeten does not disclose
wherein the virtual reward resource further comprises
image data and/or video data,
and superimposing, by the client, at least a portion of the received image data and/or video data as combined image data and/or video data, and storing the combined image data and/or video data for display.
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
wherein the virtual reward resource further comprises ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”)
image data and/or video data ([0128], “the … content may be … an image, a video”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the virtual reward resource further comprises
image data and/or video data, of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding a resource, rewards, content, an image, and video.
Further, Rathod is also analogous art because it is the field of virtual world simulations. Rathod discloses
and superimposing, by the client, at least a portion of the received image data and/or video data as combined image data and/or video data, and storing the combined image data and/or video data for display ([0280], “system can superimpose … virtual content … on the screen … of a … device”).
Substituting and superimposing, by the client, at least a portion of the received image data and/or video data as combined image data and/or video data, and storing the combined image data and/or video data for display of Rathod into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding a system, virtual content, a screen, and a device.
In regard to claim 22, Verstraeten discloses
audio track data ([0019], “input … may be from … audio data”), and synchronizing, by the client, the virtual reward resource at the client comprises ([0036], “an arrangement by which a first entity maintains a value on behalf of a second entity”): storing, by the client, each received audio track data for playing ([0022], “data … may be stored on a … device”);
at least a portion of the received audio track data as combined audio track data, and storing the combined audio track data for playing ([0019], “input … may be from … audio data”).
Verstraeten does not disclose
wherein the virtual reward resource comprises
and superimposing, by the client
However, in the analogous field of taxonomical classifications, Schaeppi discloses
wherein the virtual reward resource further comprises ([0034], “The … resource … mechanic may include … rewards”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
(PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed
limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the virtual reward resource further comprises,
of Schaeppi into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten and it would not change the basic principle operation of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding a resource and rewards.
Further, Rathod is also analogous art because it is the field of virtual world simulations. Rathod discloses
and superimposing, by the client, ([0280], “system can superimpose … virtual content … on the screen … of a … device”).
Substituting and superimposing, by the client, of Rathod into the modified methods and systems for performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers of Verstraeten, nor would it render Verstraeten unsuitable for its intended purpose of performing and authorizing interactions with virtual access credentials that can be linked to account identifiers; rather it would enhance Verstraeten by adding a system, virtual content, a screen, and a device.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure. The following references have been cited to further show the
state of the art.
• US 20210110359 A1 (“Outlaw”)
Outlaw discloses providing for selection of resource amounts of different resource types prior to or in conjunction with initiation of a resource transfer.
• US 20090036216 A1 (“Ratcliff”)
Ratcliff discloses a web-based video game for interactive engagement between multiple on-line participants in competition over internet websites.
Contact Information
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is
(571) 272-4252 and whose email address is lantoine@uspto.gov. The examiner can be
reached Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am-5:30 pm CT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based
collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO
Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If
attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s
supervisor, Xuan Thai, can be reached on (571) 272-7147. The fax phone number for
the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Publication Information
obtained from the Patent Center. Unpublished application information in the Patent
Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in the
Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about the
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in
DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC)
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LISA H ANTOINE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/JAMES B HULL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715