DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office action is in response to Applicant’s filing on 9/24/24. Claims 1-9 are pending. The effective filing date of the claimed invention is 4/1/22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2021/0401044 to Qiu (“Qiu”) in view of US2019/0099561 to Nettenstrom (“Nettenstrom”) in further view of US2004/0070652 to Haldorsen (“Haldorsen”).
With regard to claims 1, 8, Qiu discloses the claimed aerosol generating system comprising:
a cartridge (2) comprising a supply of aerosol generating material (15) (Qiu, abstract); and
an aerosol generating device (4) for receiving the cartridge (2); wherein: the cartridge (2) comprises one or more projections (38) (see Qiu, Fig. 1, where cartridge 10 is inserted into aerosol generating device 20, Fig. 2 showing disconnection, see Fig. 3 showing one or more projections at e.g. 1612 sliding groove. Qiu [0182] expressly provides an alternative with an ejector rod on the cartridge that presses the device’s switch’s button; see also Nettenstrom, [0026-30] Figs. 1 & 4, cartomizer 200, liquid reservoir 21, heater 22, and battery-powered control unit 300);
the aerosol generating device (4) comprises one or more recesses (40) configured to receive the one or more projections (38) when the cartridge (2) is received in the aerosol generating device (4) (see e.g. Qiu, Fig. 11 [0189] [0170] Fig. 15 showing connection between cartridge and device; see also Haldorsen [0057-59] Figs. 8-12, cartridge keying features 92 correspond to receiving grooves 102); and
the aerosol generating device (4) further comprises a pressure-responsive surface (20) disposed in a base of a first set of the one or more of the recesses (40) for detecting pressure exerted by one or more of the one or more projections (38) when received in the first set of recesses (40) (see e.g. Qiu, [0159] Fig. 9 and 10, where downward pressure is exerted from cartridge as it is pressed into device, Fig. 11, where [0180] when pressure is applied to push the cartridge down, the switch element 65 is activated on the device as the cartridge pushes down the switch and forces the switch to connect with cooperating portion 153, where a connection signal/separation signal is created based on the pressure exerted from cartridge to device; see also Halderson switches 126 are associated with grooves 102 and through holes 128, the particular cartridge key must activate its sensor before operation), wherein the pressure-responsive surface (20) is a surface of a plate that is configured to move in response to pressure applied to the pressure-responsive surface (20) and thereby to complete an electrical circuit (See Qiu at [180-182] mechanical pressure closes a switch and makes the detection circuit conductive; see also Nettenstrom, [0063, 67, 72-75] contact board, resilient mounting, and pressure contacts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Qiu to include these features of Nettenstrom and Halderson. Nettenstrom [0067] expressly allows the contact arrangement to be reversed so that the cartridge carries the pins and the control unit carries the contact board, [0072-73] discusses the board’s planar substrate, alternative contacts, and resilient mounting components, [0063-64] teaches reliable electrical engagement (circuit closing function). The advantage of such features is resilient electrical connection so that the electrical connection and circuit is closed properly. Halderson supplies the complimentary keyed geometry and detection at the grooves. Halderson [0061] each groove can have a switch that must be activated by its corresponding key feature. The advantage of such features is to prevent operation with inappropriate cartridges, including cartridges that omit the keying features.
With regard to claim 2, (currently amended) TheAn aerosol generating system according to claim 1, wherein the plate is mounted such that pressure applied unevenly to the pressure-responsive surface (20) mayis configured to cause the plate to tilt and thereby fail to complete the electrical circuit.
With regard to claim 3, Qiu does not teach these limitations. See Nettenstrom [0027-28] [0064]. See combination above.
With regard to claim 4, see Qiu at [0180] [0218]
With regard to claim 5, Qiu does not teach these limitations. See Halderson at [0061], and combination above.
With regard to claim 6, Qiu does not teach these limitations. See Halderson, multiple groove associated with sensors appears in Halderson. (currently amended) TheAn aerosol generating system according to claim of claims 1 to 4, comprising a second pressure-responsive surface (21) disposed at thea base of a second set of the one or more of the recesses (40) for detecting pressure exerted by one or more of the projections (38) when received in the second set of recesses (40), the second set of recesses (40) being distinct from the first set of recesses (40).
With regard to claim 9, see Qiu at [0218] [0223].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu, Nettenstrom, Halderson, in view of US5761566 to Suzuki (“Suzuki”).
With regard to claim 7, Qiu does not disclose claim 7. See Suzuki at claims 2, 4, Figs. 2-6. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qiu to include such features in Suzuki as this helps to identify pirated cartridges. See Suzuki, abstract.
Conclusion
/PETER LUDWIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627