DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments filed 5/29/2026 have overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 and 112.
Regarding prior art rejections, applicant's arguments filed 5/29/2026 have been fully considered. However, the arguments are moot due to the amendments necessitating a new rejection set forth in view of Diankov (US-2020038722-A1). Diankov teaches a system in which a path is calculated for a robot arm placing an object, wherein obstacle height is considered when calculating the path such that the obstacles are avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuzuki (US-20210371215-A1) in view of Diankov (US-2020038722-A1).
Claim 1
Tsuzuki teaches
a memory configured to store instructions; and
a processor configured to execute the instructions to:
(Tsuzuki - [0095] The controller 10, which is configured to control operations of the robot arm 4, is comprised of, for example, a computer that includes a central processing unit (CPU), i.e., a processor, 10a and a storage unit 10b comprised of, for example, a ROM and a RAM. The CPU 10a of the controller 10 for example can run one or more programs, i.e., program instructions, stored in the storage unit 10b, thus controlling operations of the robot arm 4.)
set a restriction on a range of a height to which a target object is lifted using a reference plane as a reference; and
(Tsuzuki - [0085] Specifically, the controller 10 performs a pick-up process that
…
[0088] (3) Instructs the suction mechanisms 9a to suction the workpiece 2 when the workpiece 2 reaches the predetermined pickup position of the belt conveyor apparatus 3 above the conveyor belt 3a, thus picking up the workpiece 2
[0089] Next, the controller 10 performs a packing process that
[0090] (1) Instructs the robot arm 4, i.e., the arm actuating mechanism AM, to move the hand 9 of the robot arm 4 upward to a predetermined height that is, for example, higher by a preset length than the height of the top of the container 5)
EXAMINER NOTE: The top of the container 5 acts as a reference plane. The lifting height is restricted in that the lifting height must be higher than the container.
… calculate a path along which the target object is moved to a movement destination based on the set restriction …
(Tsuzuki - [0097] More specifically, the CPU 10a of the controller 10 is configured to run predetermined programs stored in the storage unit 10b to thereby implement various functions including a position specifying unit 11 and an operation controlling unit 12.
[0098] The position specifying unit 11 and the operation controlling unit 12 perform, through the driver 10c, feedback control of the motors and/or brake mechanisms of the arm actuating mechanism AM in accordance with the received feedback signals sent from the encoders of the arm actuating mechanism AM, thus causing each arm and screw to automatically perform previously programmed motions.)
EXAMINER NOTE: While the motions are "previously programmed," the position specifying unit must perform feedback control in order to perform the correct motions (calculate a path along which the target object is moved)
Tsuzuki alone may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Diankov teaches
set, as an entry prohibition area of the target object, an area where an obstacle having a height exceeding a predetermined value exists;
(Diankov - [0081] In some embodiments, the robotic system 100 can validate the potential obstacle 610 based on the height measures 402 of FIG. 4A. For example, the robotic system 100 can validate/identify the potential obstacles 610 with one or more of the height measures 402 greater than or equal to those of the candidate position 360. The robotic system 100 can eliminate the previously placed objects 508 having the height measures 402 less than those of the candidate position 360 as the potential obstacles 610. In one or more embodiments, the robotic system 100 can identify/eliminate the potential obstacles 610 based on an ambiguity associated with the height of the candidate position 360 and/or the height of the potential obstacles 610.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The obstacles which are higher than the candidate position (obstacles which exceed a predetermined height) are classified as prohibited areas.
calculate a path along which the target object is moved to a movement destination based on the set restriction and the entry prohibition area;
generate, based on the path, a sequence of a robot for each time step for moving the target object;
(Diankov - [0082] In some embodiments, the robotic system 100 can derive the approach paths 510 in a reverse order, such as beginning from the candidate position 360 and ending at the start location 114 of FIG. 5. Accordingly, the robotic system 100 can derive the final segment 606 first (e.g., before other segments) to avoid the potential obstacles 610. For example, the robotic system 100 can determine the approach increments 602 (e.g., ‘F-1’ first, then ‘F-2’, etc.) based on iteratively increasing the height of the approach increments 602 by a predetermined distance. For each iteration, the robotic system 100 can calculate and analyze a vector 612 between the determined approach increment 602 (e.g., a bottom surface/edge thereof) and the potential obstacles 610 (e.g., a top surface/edge thereof). The robotic system 100 can continue to increase the height of the approach increments 602 until the vector 612 indicates that the determined approach increment 602 is above the potential obstacles 610 and/or clears the potential obstacles 610 by a clearance threshold 614 (e.g., a requirement for a minimum vertical separation for the target object 112 above a highest point of the potential obstacles 610 to avoid contact or collision between the target object 112 and the potential obstacle 610). When the determined approach increment 602 satisfies the clearance threshold 614 or for the following iteration, the robotic system 100 can adjust the corresponding approach increment 602 along a horizontal direction (e.g., toward the start location 114) by a predetermined distance. Accordingly, the robotic system 100 can derive the final segment 606 and/or the subsequent path segments 604 based on the candidate position 360 and the approach increment 602 that satisfied the clearance threshold 614 to derive the approach paths 510.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The path is calculated incrementally as a sequence of motions such that the obstacles are avoided. See also Figs 5-6.
generate a control signal for controlling the robot, based on the sequence; and control the robot based on the control signal.
(Diankov - [0106] At block 714, the robotic system 100 can place the target object 112 at the derived placement location 350. In placing the target object 112 at the placement location 350, one or more components/devices of the robotic system 100 can communicate with and/or operate other components/devices. For example, one or more of the processors 202 and/or a stand-alone controller (such as, e.g., a warehouse/shipping center control device) can send information, such as the placement location 350, a corresponding motion plan, a set of commands and/or settings for operating the actuation devices 212 of FIG. 2 and/or the transport motor 214 of FIG. 2, or a combination thereof, to the other components/devices. The other components/devices, such as other instances of the processors 202 and/or the robotic arm 502 of FIG. 5, the actuation devices 212, the transport motor 214, and/or other external devices/systems, can receive the information and execute corresponding functions to manipulate (e.g., grip and pick up, transfer and/or reorient across space, place at destination, and/or release) the target object 112 and place it at the placement location.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tsuzuki’s robot system with Diankov’s suggestion to set previously placed objects as prohibited areas in order to derive a path which avoids collisions with other objects (see [0082] reproduced below).
(Diankov - [0082] … Accordingly, the robotic system 100 can derive the final segment 606 first (e.g., before other segments) to avoid the potential obstacles 610.)
Claim 2
The combination of Tsuzuki and Diankov teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Tsuzuki further teaches
wherein in an area where the target object is movable from a movement source to the movement destination, the reference plane is a surface of an obstacle capable of being confirmed in a height direction in an area where the obstacle is present and a floor surface in an area where the obstacle is absent.
(Tsuzuki - [0149] Next, the CPU 10a serves as the operation controlling unit 12 to instruct, through the driver 10c, the robot arm 4 to move the hand 9 of the robot arm 4 straight downward until the picked-up workpiece 2 reaches a predetermined height position in step S5. The predetermined height position is programmed to be set to be higher by a margin height higher than a reference point. The reference point represents one of
[0150] (1) The top of the uppermost workpiece 2 packed in the selected packing position specified by the position specifying unit 11 if at least one workpiece 2 has been packed in the selected packing position specified by the position specifying unit 11
[0151] (2) The bottom part 6b of the sheet 6 if no workpieces 2 have been packed in the selected packing position specified by the position specifying unit 11
[0153] The above description determines a value of the height position for each packing position, but can commonly determine a value of the height position for all the packing positions.
[0154] Following the operation in step S5, the CPU 10a serves as the operation controlling unit 12 to instruct, through the driver 10c, the robot arm 4 to release the suctioning of the picked-up workpiece 2 to thereby detach the picked-up workpiece 2 from the suction mechanisms 9a, so that the detached workpiece 2 is located at the packing position specified by the region specifying unit 11 in step S6.)
EXAMINER NOTE: When the object is placed, the lifting height is restricted based on either the upper surface of a workpiece (obstacle) or the bottom of the container (floor).
Claim 3
The combination of Tsuzuki and Diankov teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Tsuzuki further teaches
wherein the reference plane is parallel to a horizon
EXAMINER NOTE: See rejection of claim 1. The top of container 5 acts as the reference plane. The top of the container is a uniform height which may define a horizontal plane given any three points on the upper perimeter. The container is shown Figs. 1, 3, 5, or 6.
Claim 7
The combination of Tsuzuki and Diankov teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. As shown above the cited combination also teaches
further comprising an additional obstacle in an area where movement of the target object in a height direction is predicted to be greater than or equal to a threshold value.
EXAMINER NOTE: See Figs. 5-6. Diankov's system accounts for multiple obstacles 508 which exceed the height of the candidate placement position.
Claim 10
Tsuzuki teaches
setting a restriction on a range of a height to which a target object is lifted using a reference plane as a reference; and
(Tsuzuki - [0085] Specifically, the controller 10 performs a pick-up process that
…
[0088] (3) Instructs the suction mechanisms 9a to suction the workpiece 2 when the workpiece 2 reaches the predetermined pickup position of the belt conveyor apparatus 3 above the conveyor belt 3a, thus picking up the workpiece 2
[0089] Next, the controller 10 performs a packing process that
[0090] (1) Instructs the robot arm 4, i.e., the arm actuating mechanism AM, to move the hand 9 of the robot arm 4 upward to a predetermined height that is, for example, higher by a preset length than the height of the top of the container 5)
EXAMINER NOTE: The top of the container 5 acts as a reference plane. The lifting height is restricted in that the lifting height must be higher than the container.
… calculating a path along which the target object is moved to a movement destination based on the set restriction …
(Tsuzuki - [0097] More specifically, the CPU 10a of the controller 10 is configured to run predetermined programs stored in the storage unit 10b to thereby implement various functions including a position specifying unit 11 and an operation controlling unit 12.
[0098] The position specifying unit 11 and the operation controlling unit 12 perform, through the driver 10c, feedback control of the motors and/or brake mechanisms of the arm actuating mechanism AM in accordance with the received feedback signals sent from the encoders of the arm actuating mechanism AM, thus causing each arm and screw to automatically perform previously programmed motions.)
EXAMINER NOTE: While the motions are "previously programmed," the position specifying unit must perform feedback control in order to perform the correct motions (calculate a path along which the target object is moved)
Tsuzuki alone may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Diankov teaches
setting, as an entry prohibition area of the target object, an area where an obstacle having a height exceeding a predetermined value exists;
(Diankov - [0081] In some embodiments, the robotic system 100 can validate the potential obstacle 610 based on the height measures 402 of FIG. 4A. For example, the robotic system 100 can validate/identify the potential obstacles 610 with one or more of the height measures 402 greater than or equal to those of the candidate position 360. The robotic system 100 can eliminate the previously placed objects 508 having the height measures 402 less than those of the candidate position 360 as the potential obstacles 610. In one or more embodiments, the robotic system 100 can identify/eliminate the potential obstacles 610 based on an ambiguity associated with the height of the candidate position 360 and/or the height of the potential obstacles 610.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The obstacles which are higher than the candidate position (obstacles which exceed a predetermined height) are classified as prohibited areas.
calculating a path along which the target object is moved to a movement destination based on the set restriction and the entry prohibition area;
generate, based on the path, a sequence of a robot for each time step for moving the target object;
(Diankov - [0082] In some embodiments, the robotic system 100 can derive the approach paths 510 in a reverse order, such as beginning from the candidate position 360 and ending at the start location 114 of FIG. 5. Accordingly, the robotic system 100 can derive the final segment 606 first (e.g., before other segments) to avoid the potential obstacles 610. For example, the robotic system 100 can determine the approach increments 602 (e.g., ‘F-1’ first, then ‘F-2’, etc.) based on iteratively increasing the height of the approach increments 602 by a predetermined distance. For each iteration, the robotic system 100 can calculate and analyze a vector 612 between the determined approach increment 602 (e.g., a bottom surface/edge thereof) and the potential obstacles 610 (e.g., a top surface/edge thereof). The robotic system 100 can continue to increase the height of the approach increments 602 until the vector 612 indicates that the determined approach increment 602 is above the potential obstacles 610 and/or clears the potential obstacles 610 by a clearance threshold 614 (e.g., a requirement for a minimum vertical separation for the target object 112 above a highest point of the potential obstacles 610 to avoid contact or collision between the target object 112 and the potential obstacle 610). When the determined approach increment 602 satisfies the clearance threshold 614 or for the following iteration, the robotic system 100 can adjust the corresponding approach increment 602 along a horizontal direction (e.g., toward the start location 114) by a predetermined distance. Accordingly, the robotic system 100 can derive the final segment 606 and/or the subsequent path segments 604 based on the candidate position 360 and the approach increment 602 that satisfied the clearance threshold 614 to derive the approach paths 510.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The path is calculated incrementally as a sequence of motions such that the obstacles are avoided. See also Figs 5-6.
generating a control signal for controlling the robot, based on the sequence; and control the robot based on the control signal.
(Diankov - [0106] At block 714, the robotic system 100 can place the target object 112 at the derived placement location 350. In placing the target object 112 at the placement location 350, one or more components/devices of the robotic system 100 can communicate with and/or operate other components/devices. For example, one or more of the processors 202 and/or a stand-alone controller (such as, e.g., a warehouse/shipping center control device) can send information, such as the placement location 350, a corresponding motion plan, a set of commands and/or settings for operating the actuation devices 212 of FIG. 2 and/or the transport motor 214 of FIG. 2, or a combination thereof, to the other components/devices. The other components/devices, such as other instances of the processors 202 and/or the robotic arm 502 of FIG. 5, the actuation devices 212, the transport motor 214, and/or other external devices/systems, can receive the information and execute corresponding functions to manipulate (e.g., grip and pick up, transfer and/or reorient across space, place at destination, and/or release) the target object 112 and place it at the placement location.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tsuzuki’s robot system with Diankov’s suggestion to set previously placed objects as prohibited areas in order to derive a path which avoids collisions with other objects (see [0082] reproduced below).
(Diankov - [0082] … Accordingly, the robotic system 100 can derive the final segment 606 first (e.g., before other segments) to avoid the potential obstacles 610.)
Claim 11
Tsuzuki teaches
A non-transitory recording medium storing a program for causing a computer to
(Tsuzuki - [0095] The controller 10, which is configured to control operations of the robot arm 4, is comprised of, for example, a computer that includes a central processing unit (CPU), i.e., a processor, 10a and a storage unit 10b comprised of, for example, a ROM and a RAM. The CPU 10a of the controller 10 for example can run one or more programs, i.e., program instructions, stored in the storage unit 10b, thus controlling operations of the robot arm 4.)
set a restriction on a range of a height to which a target object is lifted using a reference plane as a reference; and
(Tsuzuki - [0085] Specifically, the controller 10 performs a pick-up process that
…
[0088] (3) Instructs the suction mechanisms 9a to suction the workpiece 2 when the workpiece 2 reaches the predetermined pickup position of the belt conveyor apparatus 3 above the conveyor belt 3a, thus picking up the workpiece 2
[0089] Next, the controller 10 performs a packing process that
[0090] (1) Instructs the robot arm 4, i.e., the arm actuating mechanism AM, to move the hand 9 of the robot arm 4 upward to a predetermined height that is, for example, higher by a preset length than the height of the top of the container 5)
EXAMINER NOTE: The top of the container 5 acts as a reference plane. The lifting height is restricted in that the lifting height must be higher than the container.
… calculate a path along which the target object is moved to a movement destination based on the set restriction …
(Tsuzuki - [0097] More specifically, the CPU 10a of the controller 10 is configured to run predetermined programs stored in the storage unit 10b to thereby implement various functions including a position specifying unit 11 and an operation controlling unit 12.
[0098] The position specifying unit 11 and the operation controlling unit 12 perform, through the driver 10c, feedback control of the motors and/or brake mechanisms of the arm actuating mechanism AM in accordance with the received feedback signals sent from the encoders of the arm actuating mechanism AM, thus causing each arm and screw to automatically perform previously programmed motions.)
EXAMINER NOTE: While the motions are "previously programmed," the position specifying unit must perform feedback control in order to perform the correct motions (calculate a path along which the target object is moved)
Tsuzuki alone may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Diankov teaches
set, as an entry prohibition area of the target object, an area where an obstacle having a height exceeding a predetermined value exists;
(Diankov - [0081] In some embodiments, the robotic system 100 can validate the potential obstacle 610 based on the height measures 402 of FIG. 4A. For example, the robotic system 100 can validate/identify the potential obstacles 610 with one or more of the height measures 402 greater than or equal to those of the candidate position 360. The robotic system 100 can eliminate the previously placed objects 508 having the height measures 402 less than those of the candidate position 360 as the potential obstacles 610. In one or more embodiments, the robotic system 100 can identify/eliminate the potential obstacles 610 based on an ambiguity associated with the height of the candidate position 360 and/or the height of the potential obstacles 610.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The obstacles which are higher than the candidate position (obstacles which exceed a predetermined height) are classified as prohibited areas.
calculate a path along which the target object is moved to a movement destination based on the set restriction and the entry prohibition area;
generate, based on the path, a sequence of a robot for each time step for moving the target object;
(Diankov - [0082] In some embodiments, the robotic system 100 can derive the approach paths 510 in a reverse order, such as beginning from the candidate position 360 and ending at the start location 114 of FIG. 5. Accordingly, the robotic system 100 can derive the final segment 606 first (e.g., before other segments) to avoid the potential obstacles 610. For example, the robotic system 100 can determine the approach increments 602 (e.g., ‘F-1’ first, then ‘F-2’, etc.) based on iteratively increasing the height of the approach increments 602 by a predetermined distance. For each iteration, the robotic system 100 can calculate and analyze a vector 612 between the determined approach increment 602 (e.g., a bottom surface/edge thereof) and the potential obstacles 610 (e.g., a top surface/edge thereof). The robotic system 100 can continue to increase the height of the approach increments 602 until the vector 612 indicates that the determined approach increment 602 is above the potential obstacles 610 and/or clears the potential obstacles 610 by a clearance threshold 614 (e.g., a requirement for a minimum vertical separation for the target object 112 above a highest point of the potential obstacles 610 to avoid contact or collision between the target object 112 and the potential obstacle 610). When the determined approach increment 602 satisfies the clearance threshold 614 or for the following iteration, the robotic system 100 can adjust the corresponding approach increment 602 along a horizontal direction (e.g., toward the start location 114) by a predetermined distance. Accordingly, the robotic system 100 can derive the final segment 606 and/or the subsequent path segments 604 based on the candidate position 360 and the approach increment 602 that satisfied the clearance threshold 614 to derive the approach paths 510.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The path is calculated incrementally as a sequence of motions such that the obstacles are avoided. See also Figs 5-6.
generate a control signal for controlling the robot, based on the sequence; and control the robot based on the control signal.
(Diankov - [0106] At block 714, the robotic system 100 can place the target object 112 at the derived placement location 350. In placing the target object 112 at the placement location 350, one or more components/devices of the robotic system 100 can communicate with and/or operate other components/devices. For example, one or more of the processors 202 and/or a stand-alone controller (such as, e.g., a warehouse/shipping center control device) can send information, such as the placement location 350, a corresponding motion plan, a set of commands and/or settings for operating the actuation devices 212 of FIG. 2 and/or the transport motor 214 of FIG. 2, or a combination thereof, to the other components/devices. The other components/devices, such as other instances of the processors 202 and/or the robotic arm 502 of FIG. 5, the actuation devices 212, the transport motor 214, and/or other external devices/systems, can receive the information and execute corresponding functions to manipulate (e.g., grip and pick up, transfer and/or reorient across space, place at destination, and/or release) the target object 112 and place it at the placement location.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tsuzuki’s robot system with Diankov’s suggestion to set previously placed objects as prohibited areas in order to derive a path which avoids collisions with other objects (see [0082] reproduced below).
(Diankov - [0082] … Accordingly, the robotic system 100 can derive the final segment 606 first (e.g., before other segments) to avoid the potential obstacles 610.)
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuzuki and Diankov as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ikushima ((US-20110184544-A1).
Claim 4
The combination of Tsuzuki and Diankov teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Tsuzuki may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination, but Ikushima teaches
wherein the processor is configured to receive a restriction on the height via a graphical user interface (GUI); and the processor is configured to set a restriction on the height
(Ikushima - [0016] More specifically, a first aspect of the present invention provides a program for preparing a moving program of a working robot which performs desired work by moving a holder holding a working apparatus and a workpiece relatively to each other, the program comprising a step of displaying a text entry screen on which movement information of the working apparatus can be input on the character basis, a step of displaying a figure entry screen on which movement information of the working apparatus can be input as a path on a two-dimensional plane in correlation with height information,
[0067] The function of the Z-axis bar 90 is described in connection with the example of FIG. 3. The Z-axis bar 90 in FIG. 3 represents information in the Z-axis (i.e., the height information) …
[0070] While the procedure for changing the Z-directional height on the figure entry screen 72 has been described above, it is a matter of course that the value indicative of the Z-directional height can be directly edited on the text entry screen 71.)
Tsuzuki's programs are predetermined during execution, and Tsuzuki does not discuss the creation of said programs. However, as evidenced by Ikushima, it is known in the art to provide a graphical user interface to aid in the creation of robot motion programs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize Ikushima's GUI with Tsuzuki's system in order to provide a means for creating the motion programs. Ikushima's GUI provides the operator with a convenient display to allow visual verification of distances.
(Ikushima - [0121] The gist of the present invention resides in displaying the distance between the working apparatus mounted to a holder and the workpiece in a visually recognizable manner so that the operator can easily determine whether the distance is appropriate.)
Claim 8
The combination of Tsuzuki and Diankov teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Tsuzuki may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination, but Ikushima teaches
wherein the processor is configured to set a range of a path along which the target object is moved to the movement destination designated by a user as a new restriction via a graphical user interface (GUI).
(Ikushima - [0057] Programming work by a user is performed using a text entry screen 71 and a figure entry screen 72. The user can describe the moving program 100 by inputting, from the keyboard 31, a command, etc. to the text entry screen 71 which is displayed on the monitor 33. Also, the moving program 100 can be automatically generated with the user drawing a figure on the figure entry screen 72, which is displayed on the monitor 33, by using the mouse 32.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The path may be defined by the user through various entry screens (GUI) via entering text or by drawing.
Tsuzuki's programs are predetermined during execution, and Tsuzuki does not discuss the creation of said programs. However, as evidenced by Ikushima, it is known in the art to provide a graphical user interface to aid in the creation of robot motion programs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize Ikushima's GUI with Tsuzuki's system in order to provide a means for creating the motion programs. Ikushima's GUI provides the operator with a convenient display to allow visual verification of distances.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuzuki and Diankov as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyagawa (US-20240255956-A1), claiming foreign priority to JP-2021-095647, filed 6/8/2021).
Claim 9
Tsuzuki teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Tsuzuki alone may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Miyagawa teaches
wherein the processor is configured to set a range of a path along which the target object is moved to the movement destination designated by a user as a new restriction using a feature object.
(Miyagawa - [0121] … an “approach area” which is a work allowable area where the robot 10 is determined to be able to safely execute work by driving the arm 12 and the hand 13 in the work area.
[0211] The approach area generator 205 inputs user input information necessary for generating the approach area … By using the location and area of the work target input by the user, a work motion, and the obstacle information, an area in which the robot 10 can perform a scheduled work on the work target object without interfering with (contacting) the obstacle is generated as a “preset approach area”.
[0299] The user terminal 30 uses the location and area of the work target input by the user 20, the work motion, and the obstacle information to decide, the an “approach area”, an area where the robot 10 can perform scheduled work on the work target object without interfering with (contacting) the obstacle.
[0301] The user 20 inputs the obstacle information, the work target information, and the work motion information via the user interface (UI) 201, and after completion of the input of each of these information, operates an approach area generation instruction icon displayed on the user interface (UI) 201. Then, the approach area generator 205 starts approach area generation processing.)
Tsuzuki's programs are predetermined during execution, and Tsuzuki does not discuss the creation of said programs. However, as evidenced by Miyagawa, it is known in the art for users to designate areas in which the robot is allowed to move freely. Miyagawa's system generates approach areas (areas where work is deemed safe an allowable) based on obstacle information (feature objects) input by the user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to limit the motion of Tsuzuki's robot based on additional obstacles, as taught by Miyagawa, in order to ensure the robot's range of motion does not pose a danger.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuzuki and Diankov as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nihei (US 20100191372 A1).
Claim 5
The combination of Tsuzuki and Diankov teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Tsuzuki further teaches
wherein the processor is configured to set multiple height restrictions at different points on the reference plane.
(Tsuzuki - [0149] Next, the CPU 10a serves as the operation controlling unit 12 to instruct, through the driver 10c, the robot arm 4 to move the hand 9 of the robot arm 4 straight downward until the picked-up workpiece 2 reaches a predetermined height position in step S5. The predetermined height position is programmed to be set to be higher by a margin height higher than a reference point. The reference point represents one of
[0150] (1) The top of the uppermost workpiece 2 packed in the selected packing position specified by the position specifying unit 11 if at least one workpiece 2 has been packed in the selected packing position specified by the position specifying unit 11
[0151] (2) The bottom part 6b of the sheet 6 if no workpieces 2 have been packed in the selected packing position specified by the position specifying unit 11
[0153] The above description determines a value of the height position for each packing position, …)
EXAMINER NOTE: Here, the robot places the picked item into the container 5, which is lined by sheet 6. If the item is placed into an unoccupied area of container 5, the height margin is less than if the item is placed on top of another packed item. Therefore, the restriction differs based on the placement of the item in the x and y axes (see Fig. 2). See claim interpretation notes outlined with regards to the 112(b) rejection of claim 5.
While Examiner is of the belief that Tsuzuki teaches the above limitations, Nihei alternatively teaches the above limitations.
(Nihei - [0050] In cooperative task area 5, in order that a part of operator 1 is not caught between the component of robot 2 and a peripheral object, such as working table 6, a robot entry-prohibited area 8 is defined as an area, the boundary of which is separated from the peripheral object by a predetermined distance or less. As shown in FIG. 3, when a member 10 such as a jig or a workpiece is positioned on working table 6, a robot entry-prohibited area 8 is also defined as an area, the boundary of which is separated from member 10 by a predetermined distance or less. As such, the peripheral object is an object positioned within or near the reachable area of robot 2, and operator 1 may be caught between robot 2 and the peripheral object.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The height restriction relative to the floor changes depending on the height of the member 10 such that a constant offset is maintained.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Tsuzuki's robot system such that the robot maintains a constant distance from obstacles so that humans may not be caught between the robot and obstacle, thus improving safety.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuzuki and Diankov as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zuckerman (US-20210256467-A1).
Claim 6
The combination of Tsuzuki and Diankov teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. The cited combination may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Zuckerman teaches
further- comprising a cushioning material in an area where movement of the target object in a height direction is predicted to be greater than or equal to a threshold value.
(Zuckerman - [0208] In one embodiment, said grabbing is done so as to place a bottom of the disposable package 11 at a height of no more than 1 (one) meter above ground, and no less than 10 (ten) centimeters above ground during said carriage; and said releasing results in said disposable package 11 with the consumer item inside 93-ci falling a short distance of between 10 centimeters and one meter to the ground, in which a survival of the consumer item when the disposable package hits the ground is facilitates by at least one of: (i) said distance being short, and (ii) said disposable package comprising a soft and/or collapsible cushioning material 94-cm (FIG. 17D) that is an integral part of the disposable package 11 and/or that is attached to the bottom side of the disposable package.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Tsuzuki’s robot system with Zuckerman’s suggestion to include a soft cushioning material when the item is dropped from higher distances in order to reduce the possibility of damage (facilitate survival of the consumer item).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES MILLER WATTS III/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/JONATHAN L SAMPLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657