DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 are pending and currently under review.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the term “MX-type precipitate”, which is indefinite because the addition of the word "type" to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. See MPEP 2173.05(b)(III)(E). It is unclear what the term “type” is meant to convey. For example, it is unclear whether the claimed precipitates are limited to specifically MX formulas, or whether the claim merely requires precipitates having the same or similar crystal structure, or something else entirely. The examiner interprets the claim to be met by any of the above interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya et al. (JP20180709790, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 1, Kamiya et al. discloses a steel material having a composition as shown in table 1 below [0001, 0010]. Kamiya et al. does not expressly require the inclusion of any non-recited elements, which meets the limitation of “consisting of…” as claimed. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition of Kamiya et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Kamiya et al. does not expressly teach formulas (1) and (2) as claimed. However, the examiner notes that these formulas merely further limit the claimed Mn, S, Ti, Nb, and V amounts, which further overlap with the claimed ranges of Kamiya et al. above. Kamiya et al. further teaches a yield strength range of 1103 to 1206 MPa, which meets the claimed range.
Kamiya et al. does not expressly teach a number density of precipitates as claimed. However, the examiner submits that overlapping precipitate parameters would have naturally flowed from the disclosure of Kamiya et al. which is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I). One of ordinary skill would readily recognize that steel properties and microstructure are a direct result of steel composition and manufacturing parameters. The instant specification further expressly discloses controlling the claimed precipitate parameters by controlling an intermediate heating step prior to quenching as further shown in table 1 below [0085-0113]. Kamiya et al. discloses an overlapping composition as shown above. Kamiya et al. further teaches an overlapping manufacturing process as explained in table 1 below [0054-0065, 0067-0072, table2]. Since Kamiya et al. discloses a substantially similar and overlapping steel composition and method of manufacture, one of ordinary skill would expect a substantially similar and overlapping range of precipitate parameters relative to those as claimed to naturally flow from the disclosure of Kamiya et al.
The examiner’s position is further bolstered by the overlapping mechanical properties of yield strength disclosed by Kamiya et al., wherein one of ordinary skill would readily understand an overlapping yield strength to be a direct result of the claimed precipitate microstructure.
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Kamiya et al. (wt.%)
C
0.1 – 0.45
0.2 – 0.5
Si
0 – 1
0.05 – 1
Mn
0.01 – 1
0.1 – 1
P
0 – 0.05
0 – 0.03
S
0 – 0.005
0 – 0.005
Al
0.001 – 0.1
0.005 – 0.1
Cr
0.1 – 2
0.1 – 1.2
Mo
0.2 – 2
1.1 – 2.5
N
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.01
W
0 – 0.5
0 – 1
Co
0 – 0.5
0 – 1
Ni
0 – 0.5
0 – 1
Rare earth
0 – 0.02
0 – 0.005
Cu
0 – 0.5
0 – 1
B
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.005
One or more of
Ca
Mg
0.0005 – 0.02
0.0005 – 0.02
0 – 0.005
0 – 0.005
One or more of
Ti
Nb
V
0.001 – 0.3
0.001 – 0.3
0.001 – 0.5
0.002 – 0.02
0 – 0.05
0.01 – 0.3
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Manufacturing Parameters
Instant specification [0085-0113]
Kamiya et al. [0054-0065, 0067-0072, table2]
Slab reheating at 1100 to 1300 degrees C
Slab reheating at 1250 degrees C
Hot rolling and/or pipe forming
Hot rolling and pipe forming
Intermediate heating at 400 to 600 degrees C for 20 to 120 minutes
Preheat tempering at 550 degrees C for 30 minutes
High temperature heating at 880 to 1000 degrees C for 10 to 90 minutes
Quenching treatment at Ac3 to 1000 degrees C for 15 minutes
Quenching at 300 degrees C per minute or faster
Water cooling, which one of ordinary skill would readily understand to meet/overlap the claimed cooling rate
Tempering at 650 to 700 degrees C for 20 to 180 minutes
Tempering at 655 to 680 degrees C for 30 minutes
Regarding 2, Kamiya et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned composition of Kamiya et al. further overlaps with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 3-4, Kamiya et al. discloses the steel of claims 1-2 (see previous). Kamiya et al. further teaches the steel for oil well pipes [0001].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/842,233 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between the instant claims and co-pending claims is a recitation of yield strength of “862 MPa or more” as instantly claimed versus “758 to less than 862 MPa” in the co-pending claims. These ranges are substantially close such that prima facie obviousness exists because there is a miniscule, negligible difference between “less than 862 MPa” and “862 MPa or more” which is not patentably distinct absent concrete evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734