DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/850,265, dated on 09/24/2024.
Claims 16-35 pending.
Claims 1-15 cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17, 19-26 and 28-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Murray, el. al. (WO 2020/198594 A1).
Claim 16, Murray discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (UE; Fig. 9/16, el. 300) for a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) operation (Fig. 15/16), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS) (network; Fig. 9/16, el. 302), a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message including a DRX configuration for a serving cell; determining a DRX active period based on the DRX configuration; performing Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring during the DRX active period; receiving a first indication from the BS; and stopping the PDCCH monitoring during the DRX active period for a specific duration in response to receiving the first indication (receiving a DRX configuration, determining a DRX active period, performing PDCCH monitoring during the DRX active period, receiving a first indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration, stopping the PDCCH monitoring during the DRX active period based on first active DRX configuration for a specific duration for adapting the first active DRX configuration into a second active DRX configuration in response to receiving the adaptation indication to perform PDCCH monitoring in accordance with the second active DRX configuration; A first apparatus including a processor; and a memory storing computer-executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the first apparatus to: receive, from a second apparatus, information including Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configurations, wherein one of the DRX configurations is a first active DRX configuration and other DRX configurations are candidate DRX configurations; perform Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring in accordance with the first active DRX configuration; monitor signaling from the second apparatus for an indication that is used for adapting the first active DRX configuration; receive from the second apparatus an indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration into a second active DRX configuration; based on the indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration into the second active DRX configuration, adapt the first active DRX configuration into the second active DRX configuration; and perform PDCCH monitoring in accordance with the second active DRX configuration; abstract; DRX adaptation may include one of more of the following schemes: a) adaptation of the active time through variation of PDCCH monitoring duty cycle while keeping unchanged the DRX configurations parameters, i.e. the parameters configured into the MAC by RRC for the control of DRX operation; b) adaptation of the DRX configuration parameters; c) DRX Adaptation with the network forcing the UE into sleep or forcing the UE to wake up or remain awake. The DRX adaptation assumes a power saving scheme where the UE is configured to operate DRX procedure and therefore built on top of DRX procedure. The DRX adaptation in the UE may be based on explicit signaling from the base station, implicit signaling from the base station or may be autonomously done by the UE; ¶132; claim 1; The first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first apparatus is configured to perform PDCCH monitoring for a plurality of cells, and the indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration includes a plurality of Skip Indicator fields with one Skip indicator field per serving cell or group of serving cells, that are used to indicate if PDCCH monitoring should be skipped for an associated DRX cycle or cycles for corresponding Serving Cells; claim 6; wherein the first apparatus is a user equipment and the second apparatus is a base station; claim 18).
Claims 17, 26, Murray discloses wherein the first indication is received via RRC signaling (receiving the adaptation indication via RRC signaling; Considering the scheme of DRX adaptation through adaptation of the DRX configuration parameters, the signaling may be RRC signaling based, MAC signaling based for example MAC CE specifically specified for DRX adaptation through adaptation of the DRX configuration parameters, or PHY DCI signaling. Furthermore, any of the DRX adaptation schemes described herein may be applied; ¶132).
Claims 19, 28, Murray discloses wherein the specific duration is indicated by the first indication, configured via RRC signaling, or determined based on a specific timer (stopping the PDCCH monitoring during the DRX active period based on first active DRX configuration for a specific duration for adapting the first active DRX configuration into a second active DRX configuration in response to receiving the adaptation indication to perform PDCCH monitoring in accordance with the second active DRX configuration, stopping the PDCCH monitoring for a specific duration based on the DRX configuration parameters which are indicated by the adaptation indication received via RRC signaling; A first apparatus including a processor; and a memory storing computer-executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the first apparatus to: receive, from a second apparatus, information including Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configurations, wherein one of the DRX configurations is a first active DRX configuration and other DRX configurations are candidate DRX configurations; perform Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring in accordance with the first active DRX configuration; monitor signaling from the second apparatus for an indication that is used for adapting the first active DRX configuration; receive from the second apparatus an indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration into a second active DRX configuration; based on the indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration into the second active DRX configuration, adapt the first active DRX configuration into the second active DRX configuration; and perform PDCCH monitoring in accordance with the second active DRX configuration; abstract; DRX adaptation may include one of more of the following schemes: a) adaptation of the active time through variation of PDCCH monitoring duty cycle while keeping unchanged the DRX configurations parameters, i.e. the parameters configured into the MAC by RRC for the control of DRX operation; b) adaptation of the DRX configuration parameters; c) DRX Adaptation with the network forcing the UE into sleep or forcing the UE to wake up or remain awake. The DRX adaptation assumes a power saving scheme where the UE is configured to operate DRX procedure and therefore built on top of DRX procedure. The DRX adaptation in the UE may be based on explicit signaling from the base station, implicit signaling from the base station or may be autonomously done by the UE; ¶132; claim 1; The first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first apparatus is configured to perform PDCCH monitoring for a plurality of cells, and the indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration includes a plurality of Skip Indicator fields with one Skip indicator field per serving cell or group of serving cells, that are used to indicate if PDCCH monitoring should be skipped for an associated DRX cycle or cycles for corresponding Serving Cells; claim 6; determined based on a specific timer such as drx-shortcycle and drx-longcycle, In yet another exemplary embodiment, the UE may adapt the active time not only with adjustments to on-duration timer or inactive timer but also the UE may adapt the active time by adapting for example the DRX cycle including shifting the starting time instants of DRX cycle. For example, the UE may switch between a plurality of DRX cycles configured into the UE either autonomously or upon detection of an implicit DRX adaption indication by the base station, for e.g. the UE may switch between short or long DRX cycles; ¶140).
Claims 20, 29, Murray discloses wherein: the stopping of the PDCCH monitoring starts at an offset after receiving the first indication, and the offset is indicated by the first indication or configured via RRC signaling (stopping the PDCCH monitoring during the DRX active period based on first active DRX configuration for a specific duration for adapting the first active DRX configuration into a second active DRX configuration in response to receiving the adaptation indication to perform PDCCH monitoring in accordance with the second active DRX configuration, stopping the PDCCH monitoring at an offset based on the DRX configuration parameters which are indicated by the received the adaptation indication; A first apparatus including a processor; and a memory storing computer-executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the first apparatus to: receive, from a second apparatus, information including Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configurations, wherein one of the DRX configurations is a first active DRX configuration and other DRX configurations are candidate DRX configurations; perform Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring in accordance with the first active DRX configuration; monitor signaling from the second apparatus for an indication that is used for adapting the first active DRX configuration; receive from the second apparatus an indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration into a second active DRX configuration; based on the indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration into the second active DRX configuration, adapt the first active DRX configuration into the second active DRX configuration; and perform PDCCH monitoring in accordance with the second active DRX configuration; abstract; DRX adaptation may include one of more of the following schemes: a) adaptation of the active time through variation of PDCCH monitoring duty cycle while keeping unchanged the DRX configurations parameters, i.e. the parameters configured into the MAC by RRC for the control of DRX operation; b) adaptation of the DRX configuration parameters; c) DRX Adaptation with the network forcing the UE into sleep or forcing the UE to wake up or remain awake. The DRX adaptation assumes a power saving scheme where the UE is configured to operate DRX procedure and therefore built on top of DRX procedure. The DRX adaptation in the UE may be based on explicit signaling from the base station, implicit signaling from the base station or may be autonomously done by the UE; ¶132; In a third exemplary embodiment, a single complete DRX configuration is provided by the network, and a rules-based mechanism is then used by the UE to autonomously decide when to enter DRX and how long to remain in DRX, effectively adapting the drx-ShortCycle, drxLongCycle and/or drx-StartOffset parameters. Information such as DL assignments and/or UL grants signaled via DCI may be used by the UE to perform the adaption; ¶¶140; see also table 4, exemplary fields included in a DCI format used to signal DRX parameters including drx-startoffset and drx-slotoffset; In yet another exemplary embodiment, the UE may adapt the active time not only with adjustments to on-duration timer or inactive timer but also the UE may adapt the active time by adapting for example the DRX cycle including shifting the starting time instants of DRX cycle. For example, the UE may switch between a plurality of DRX cycles configured into the UE either autonomously or upon detection of an implicit DRX adaption indication by the base station, for e.g. the UE may switch between short or long DRX cycles; ¶140).
Claims 21, 30, Murray discloses further comprising: stopping a DRX timer configured by the DRX configuration in response to receiving the first indication (stopping a DRX timer configured by the first active DRX configuration in response to receiving and indication from the BS to monitor during the DRX active period based on the second active DRX configuration; A first apparatus including a processor; and a memory storing computer-executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the first apparatus to: receive, from a second apparatus, information including Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configurations, wherein one of the DRX configurations is a first active DRX configuration and other DRX configurations are candidate DRX configurations; perform Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring in accordance with the first active DRX configuration; monitor signaling from the second apparatus for an indication that is used for adapting the first active DRX configuration; receive from the second apparatus an indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration into a second active DRX configuration; based on the indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration into the second active DRX configuration, adapt the first active DRX configuration into the second active DRX configuration; and perform PDCCH monitoring in accordance with the second active DRX configuration; abstract; DRX adaptation may include one of more of the following schemes: a) adaptation of the active time through variation of PDCCH monitoring duty cycle while keeping unchanged the DRX configurations parameters, i.e. the parameters configured into the MAC by RRC for the control of DRX operation; b) adaptation of the DRX 5 configuration parameters; c) DRX Adaptation with the network forcing the UE into sleep or forcing the UE to wake up or remain awake. The DRX adaptation assumes a power saving scheme where the UE is configured to operate DRX procedure and therefore built on top of DRX procedure. The DRX adaptation in the UE may be based on explicit signaling from the base station, implicit signaling from the base station or may be autonomously done by the UE; ¶132; claim 1; The first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first apparatus is configured to perform PDCCH monitoring for a plurality of cells, and the indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration includes a plurality of Skip Indicator fields with one Skip indicator field per serving cell or group of serving cells, that are used to indicate if PDCCH monitoring should be skipped for an associated DRX cycle or cycles for corresponding Serving Cells; claim 6).
Claims 22, 31, Murray discloses wherein: the DRX timer comprises at least one of a DRX inactivity timer, a DRX on-duration timer, a DRX retransmission timer, a DRX Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) Round Trip Time (RTT) timer, and a DRX short cycle timer (the DRX timer comprising a DRX inactivity timer and a DRX on-duration timer; In a third exemplary embodiment, a subset of the DRX configuration parameters; e.g. drx-onDurationTimer, drx-InactivityTimer, are signaled by the network to perform the adaption. The DRX configuration parameter(s) used to perform the adaption may be provided via RRC signaling, a MAC CE and/or DCI; ¶136; a DRX retransmission timer, a DRX Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) Round Trip Time (RTT) timer, and a DRX short cycle timer; Table 4).
Claims 23, 32, 35, Murray discloses further comprising: receiving a second indication from the BS; and restarting the PDCCH monitoring during the DRX active period in response to receiving the second indication (receiving indications from the BS to stop the PDCCH monitoring based on the first active DRX configuration and restart the PDCCH monitoring during the DRX active period based on the second active DRX configuration; A first apparatus including a processor; and a memory storing computer-executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the first apparatus to: receive, from a second apparatus, information including Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configurations, wherein one of the DRX configurations is a first active DRX configuration and other DRX configurations are candidate DRX configurations; perform Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring in accordance with the first active DRX configuration; monitor signaling from the second apparatus for an indication that is used for adapting the first active DRX configuration; receive from the second apparatus an indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration into a second active DRX configuration; based on the indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration into the second active DRX configuration, adapt the first active DRX configuration into the second active DRX configuration; and perform PDCCH monitoring in accordance with the second active DRX configuration; abstract; DRX adaptation may include one of more of the following schemes: a) adaptation of the active time through variation of PDCCH monitoring duty cycle while keeping unchanged the DRX configurations parameters, i.e. the parameters configured into the MAC by RRC for the control of DRX operation; b) adaptation of the DRX 5 configuration parameters; c) DRX Adaptation with the network forcing the UE into sleep or forcing the UE to wake up or remain awake. The DRX adaptation assumes a power saving scheme where the UE is configured to operate DRX procedure and therefore built on top of DRX procedure. The DRX adaptation in the UE may be based on explicit signaling from the base station, implicit signaling from the base station or may be autonomously done by the UE; ¶132; claim 1; The first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first apparatus is configured to perform PDCCH monitoring for a plurality of cells, and the indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration includes a plurality of Skip Indicator fields with one Skip indicator field per serving cell or group of serving cells, that are used to indicate if PDCCH monitoring should be skipped for an associated DRX cycle or cycles for corresponding Serving Cells; claim 6).
Claims 24, 33, Murray discloses wherein the first indication and the stopping of the PDCCH monitoring are specific to the serving cell (claim 1; The first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first apparatus is configured to perform PDCCH monitoring for a plurality of cells, and the indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration includes a plurality of Skip Indicator fields with one Skip indicator field per serving cell or group of serving cells, that are used to indicate if PDCCH monitoring should be skipped for an associated DRX cycle or cycles for corresponding Serving Cells; claim 6).
Claim 25, analyzed with respect to claim 16 the further limitation of claim 25 disclosed by Murray, a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 9/16, el. 330) comprising at least one processor, and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to the at least one processor and storing one or more computer-executable instructions (In an exemplary embodiment, a first apparatus (e.g., a UE 102, 300) includes a processor (e.g., processor 118); and a memory (e.g., non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132, etc.). The memory storing computer-executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the first apparatus; ¶208; first apparatus comprising a processor and a memory storing computer-executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the first apparatus to; claim 1).
Claim 34, analyzed with respect to claim 16 the further limitation of claim 34 disclosed by Murray, a base station (BS) (network; Fig. 9/16, el. 302; Fig. 7/16, el. 90) comprising at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to the at least one processor and storing one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Computing system 90 may comprise a computer or server and may be controlled primarily by computer readable instructions, which may be in the form of software, wherever, or by whatever means such software is stored or accessed. Such computer readable instructions may be executed within a processor 91, to cause computing system 90 to do work; ¶98).
Claims 18 and 27, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray, el. al. (WO 2020/198594 A1) in view of Jeon el. al. (US 2022/0110184 A1).
Claims 18, 27, Murray discloses wherein the first indication is received via Downlink Control Information (DCI) (receiving the DRX adaptation indication via PDCCH DCI; wherein the indication for adapting the first active DRX configuration is signaled using Downlink Control Information (DCI); claim 7).
Murray does not disclose receiving a DCI addressed to a specific Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) different from a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI).
Jeon in the same field of endeavor, DRX configuration (title; abstract) discloses receiving a DCI addressed to a specific Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) different from a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI) (A base station may attach one or more cyclic redundancy check (CRC) parity bits to a DCI in order to facilitate detection of transmission errors. When the DCI is intended for a UE (or a group of the UEs), the base station may scramble the CRC parity bits with an identifier of the UE (or an identifier of the group of the UEs). Scrambling the CRC parity bits with the identifier may comprise Modulo-2 addition (or an exclusive OR operation) of the identifier value and the CRC parity bits. The identifier may comprise a 16-bit value of a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI); ¶206; DCIs may be used for different purposes. A purpose may be indicated by the type of RNTI used to scramble the CRC parity bits. For example, a DCI having CRC parity bits scrambled with a paging RNTI (P-RNTI) may indicate paging information and/or a system information change notification. The P-RNTI may be predefined as “FFFE” in hexadecimal. A DCI having CRC parity bits scrambled with a system information RNTI (SI-RNTI) may indicate a broadcast transmission of the system information. The SI-RNTI may be predefined as “FFFF” in hexadecimal. A DCI having CRC parity bits scrambled with a random access RNTI (RA-RNTI) may indicate a random access response (RAR). A DCI having CRC parity bits scrambled with a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) may indicate a dynamically scheduled unicast transmission and/or a triggering of PDCCH-ordered random access. A DCI having CRC parity bits scrambled with a temporary cell RNTI (TC-RNTI) may indicate a contention resolution (e.g., a Msg 3 analogous to the Msg 3 1313 illustrated in FIG. 13A). Other RNTIs configured to the UE by a base station may comprise a Configured Scheduling RNTI (CS-RNTI), a Transmit Power Control-PUCCH RNTI (TPC-PUCCH-RNTI), a Transmit Power Control-PUSCH RNTI (TPC-PUSCH-RNTI), a Transmit Power Control-SRS RNTI (TPC-SRS-RNTI), an Interruption RNTI (INT-RNTI), a Slot Format Indication RNTI (SFI-RNTI), a Semi-Persistent CSI RNTI (SP-CSI-RNTI), a Modulation and Coding Scheme Cell RNTI (MCS-C-RNTI), and/or the like; ¶207).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to receive a DCI addressed to a specific Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) different from a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), as taught by Jeon to modify Murray’s method and system in order to transmit DCIs with different type of RNTIs for a different purposes (¶207).
Conclusion
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471