DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Ishigami and Yokota does not explicitly teach identifies a dynamic area in an image capturing scene, by comparing the plurality of images between frames and determines, as the process target area, an area including a part or the entirety of the dynamic area and a part of a static area that is an area other the dynamic area.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Ishigami teaches subsequent to step 110, processings of steps 115 to 150 are repeated by the number of times equal to the number of pixels of the disparity map. At step 115 in each cycle of the repetition, a correction-target pixel and a plurality of surrounding pixels are newly set for the cycle.
As shown in FIG. 4, a block area 40 is set, which is composed of 9-row.times.9-column dots centering on a correction-target pixel 41. In the block, the plurality of surrounding pixels correspond to the pixels that have remained after removal of the correction-target pixel 41 from all the pixels in the block area 40. It should be noted that the size and shape of the block area 40 may be appropriately changed.
At the subsequent steps 120, 125, 130 and 135, various weights are set for the correction-target pixel 41 and each of the surrounding pixels. The set weights are each used as an amount indicating a degree of contribution to correction in correcting the disparity of the correction-target pixel 41 using a weighted average at step 145 described later.
First, at step 120, a first weight Wx is set for the correction-target pixel 41 and each of the surrounding pixels. The weight W.sub.X is set according to a distance, on the image coordinate, from a pixel targeted to calculation of a weight (the correction-target pixel 41 or the surrounding pixel; hereinafter referred to as "weight-calculation-target pixel") to the correction-target pixel 41. As indicated by an arrow 42 in FIG. 5, a position more distanced from the correction-target pixel 41 in the block area 40 in the right-camera image 21, makes longer the distance, on the image coordinate, from a weight-calculation-target pixel at the position to the correction-target pixel 41.
Specifically, when an image coordinate value of the correction-target pixel 41 is (x, y) and an image coordinate value of a weight-calculation-target pixel is (x',y') on an image coordinate (X, Y) as shown in FIG. 5, weight setting is expressed by:
W X ( x , y , x , x ' , y ' ) exp ( - ( x - x ' ) 2 + ( y - y ' ) 2 2 .sigma. x 2 ) Math . 1 ##EQU00001##
At the subsequent step 125, a second weight W.sub.I is set for the correction-target pixel 41 and each of the surrounding pixels. The weight W.sub.I is set according to a difference in a luminance value between a weight-calculation-target pixel and the correction-target pixel 41 (difference between luminance values in the right-camera image 21). As shown in FIG. 7, the correction-target pixel 41 includes a part of a human body as a subject. As shown in the figure, in the block area 40, the luminance of an area 43 containing a human body is obviously different from the luminance in an area 44 containing the background. In such a case, making use of the difference in luminance, the disparity of the background that is not so relevant to the disparity of the correction-target pixel 41 is permitted to have a low degree of contribution in performing disparity correction calculation for the correction-target pixel 41.
Specifically, when the luminance value of the correction-target pixel 41 (in the right-camera image 21) is represented by I.sub.Xy, and the luminance value of a weight-calculation-target pixel (in the right-camera image 21) is represented by I.sub.Xy, the calculation is as follows:
W I ( I xy , I x ' y ' ) = exp ( - ( I xy - I x ' y ' ) 2 2 .sigma. I 2 ) Math . 2 ##EQU00002##
Specifically, as the difference between the luminance value of the correction-target pixel 41 and the luminance value of a weight-calculation-target pixel becomes larger, the weight W.sub.I of the weight-calculation-target pixel is permitted to be lighter. It should be noted that .sigma..sub.I is a preset constant.
At the subsequent step 130, a third weight W.sub.Z is set for the correction-target pixel 41 and each of the surrounding pixels. The weight W.sub.Z is set according to a difference in position in a depth direction, between a weight-calculation-target pixel and the correction-target pixel 41 when converted to a three-dimensional coordinate. As shown in FIG. 7, the correction-target pixel 41 includes a part of a human body as a subject. As shown in the figure, the block area 40 may include a subject 45 (e.g., white line on a road surface) which has a luminance close to that of the human body, but of which the distances from the cameras 1 and 2 thereto are greatly different from each other. In such a case, making use of the difference in distance from the cameras 1 and 2 (i.e. the positions in a depth direction), the disparity of the subject 45 that is not so relevant to the disparity of the correction-target pixel 41 is permitted to have a low degree of contribution in performing disparity correction calculation for the correction-target pixel 41.
Specifically, when the position in a depth direction of the correction-target pixel 41 is represented by Z.sub.Xy, and the position in a depth direction of a weight-calculation-target pixel is represented by Z.sub.Xy, the calculation is as follows:
X Z ( Z xy , Z x ' y ' ) = exp ( - ( Z xy - Z x ' y ' ) 2 s .sigma. Z 2 ) Math . 3 ##EQU00003##
Specifically, as the difference between a position (whose value becomes larger as distanced from a camera) in a depth direction of the correction-target pixel 41 and the position in a depth direction of a weight-calculation-target pixel becomes larger, the weight W.sub.Z of the weight-calculation-target pixel is permitted to be lighter. It should be noted that .sigma..sub.Z is a preset constant. [0040] – [0048].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishigami et al. (US 2015/0228057 A1) in view of Yokota et al. (US 2018/0336701 A1).
Consider claim 1, Ishigami teaches a parallax information generation device, comprising: an imaging unit configured to capture a plurality of images with different viewpoints ([0026], [0031] – [0032], Fig. 1); a process target area determination unit configured to set a base image and a reference image out of the plurality of images captured by the imaging unit ([0033] – [0039]), and determine a process target area to be subjected to a predetermined image processing in the base image and the reference image ([0040] – [0048]); wherein the process target area determination unit identifies a dynamic area in an image capturing scene, by comparing the plurality of images between frames ([0040] – [0048]), and determines, as the process target area, an area including a part or the entirety of the dynamic area and a part of a static area that is an area other than the dynamic area ([0040] – [0048]).
However, Ishigami does not explicitly teach an image processing unit configured to perform the predetermined image processing to the process target area of each of the base image and the reference image to generate parallax information.
Yokota teaches an image processing unit configured to perform the predetermined image processing to the process target area of each of the base image and the reference image to generate parallax information ([0079], [0093] – [0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of generating parallax information because such incorporation would help perform object recognition based on parallax image. [0067].
Consider claim 2, Yokota teaches the predetermined image processing is a stereo matching process ([0079], [0093] – [0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of generating parallax information because such incorporation would help perform object recognition based on parallax image. [0067].
Consider claim 3, Ishigami teaches the process target area determination unit determines the process target area so that the number of pixels in the process target area satisfies a predetermined condition ([0040] – [0048]).
Consider claim 4, Ishigami teaches the predetermined condition is the number of pixels in the process target area being constant between frames ([0040] – [0048]).
Consider claim 5, Ishigami teaches the process target area determination unit sets, in the static area, an area to be preferentially incorporated into the process target area ([0040] – [0048]).
Consider claim 6, Yokota teaches the image processing unit comprises a corresponding point search unit configured to identify at least two corresponding pixels in the reference image, which are pixels resembling to the pixels in the base image ([0079], [0085] – [0089], [0093] – [0104]), and store the corresponding relationship of the identified pixels as correspondence information ([0079], [0085] – [0089], [0093] – [0104]); and the process target area determination unit identifies a pixel position corresponding to a pixel position in the dynamic area by referring to the correspondence information, and incorporates the identified pixel position in the process target area ([0079], [0085] – [0089], [0093] – [0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of generating parallax information because such incorporation would help perform object recognition based on parallax image. [0067].
Consider claim 9, Yokota teaches the image processing unit comprises: a reliability information generator configured to generate reliability information indicating reliability of a correspondence relationship between the base image and the reference image ([0079], [0085] – [0089], [0093] – [0104], [0161]); and generates parallax information for an image area for which the reliability information indicates higher reliability than a predetermined value ([0079], [0085] – [0089], [0093] – [0104], [0161]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of generating parallax information because such incorporation would help perform object recognition based on parallax image. [0067].
Consider claim 10, Yokota teaches the image processing unit comprises: a distance information generator configured to generate distance information of a target, by using the parallax information ([0109] – [0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of generating parallax information because such incorporation would help perform object recognition based on parallax image. [0067].
Consider claim 11, claim 11 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 1. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 12, claim 12 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 2. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 13, the combination of Ishigami and Yokota teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing a program ([0027] of Ishigami) configured to cause a computer to execute the parallax information generation method of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAT C CHIO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486