DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 4 in the reply filed on 6/1/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search and examination burden between Groups 4 and 7. This is not found persuasive because there is a serious search and examination burden in treating the claimed divergent inventions in the same application, since each group implicates wholly different search areas (the search for the top guide is entirely different from the search for control forces on a food product… etc.).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 3-6, 9-10, 12, and 14-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim 15 has been amended to include the features of nonelected Group 7, and therefore it has also been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 8, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2 and 8 begin with “An assembly according to claim 1…”, where no assembly is defined in claim 1. The examiner interprets that applicant intends to refence the control assembly introduced in claim 1. Claims 2 and 8 should instead begin with “The control assembly according to claim 1…”.
Claim 13 similarly begins with “A machine of claim 11…”, and should instead read “The food portioning machine of claim 11”….
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the machine" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret that “the machine” refers to the food portioning machine previously introduced in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomas Hiti et al. (US 20090107311 A1 – hereinafter Hiti).
Regarding claim 1, Hiti teaches a control assembly for guiding a food product (Fig. 2, Loaf 50) along a flow path towards a cutter (Fig. 1, Cutting Harp 300) of a food portioning machine (Fig. 1) when the food product is supported on a support plane (Fig. 1, top surface of Bottom Conveyor 84) defined by the machine, comprising: an assembly support (Fig. 8, Support 80) for mounting on the food portioning machine; a pair of side guides (Fig. 7, Rollers 152 and 154) carried by the assembly support for engaging opposite side surfaces of a food product lying on the support plane; and a positioning mechanism (Fig. 7, positioning mechanism comprised of Cylinder 158 and Support System 120) which is carried by the assembly support and is operable: to move the side guides relative to the assembly support towards and away from the support plane (Fig. 7 and Fig. 8, movement shown); and to change the spacing between the side guides in a transverse direction with respect to the flow path (Fig. 7 and Fig. 8, movement shown), a top guide (Fig. 4, Top Conveyor 104) for engaging an upper surface of a food product.
Regarding claim 2, Hiti further teaches an assembly of claim 1, wherein the positioning mechanism is operable to selectively and/or simultaneously (a) move the side guides relative to the assembly support towards and away from the support plane and (b) change the spacing between the side guides in a transverse direction with respect to the flow path (Fig. 7 and Fig. 8, movement shown).
Regarding claim 8, Hiti further teaches an assembly of claim 1, wherein the positioning mechanism is operable to move the top guide relative to the assembly support towards and away from the support plane (Fig. 12 and Fig. 13, movement shown).
Regarding claim 11, Hiti further teaches a food portioning machine including the control assembly of claim 1 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Hiti further teaches a machine of claim 11, wherein the control assembly is arranged to engage a food product when the food product is at a position adjacent to a cutter of the machine (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/ELLA L KEENA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724