DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 16, 17, 19-21, 25-26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wisniewski et al. (US-20240417143-A1).
Wisniewski discloses:
1. A closure (40) for a flowable product comprising: a base (55) and a lid (100), the base and the lid being joint together by a hinge (104) such that the lid is movable between an open position and a closed position, wherein the base extends longitudinally from a first end to a second end (Fig. 6), wherein the base comprises a flowable product dispensing passage along the longitudinal length of the base extending from the first end to the second end of the base (Fig. 6), wherein the base comprises a sealing element (60) configured to be coupled within the dispensing passage of the base such that the dispensing passage is sealed and the flowable product cannot pass through the dispensing passage (par. 0085), wherein the base further comprises a pressing element (94) configured to be pressed and displaced between a first operational position and a second operational position such that when the pressing element is at the first operational position the pressing element does not contact with the sealing element and the flowable product cannot pass through the dispensing passage, and when the pressing element is at the second operational position, the pressing element contacts and breaks the sealing element and the flowable product can pass through the dispensing passage (par. 0089), wherein the pressing element comprises an annular outer collar, a central hub (Fig. 7) and a plurality of spokes extending from the annular outer collar to the central hub (par. 0092)..
16. The closure of claim 1, wherein the closure is a flip-top closure and the base is connectable to a dispensing opening of a container, specifically an edible oil container (Fig. 3).
17. The closure of claim 1, wherein the base further comprises a substantially cylindrical sidewall (par. 0088), an annular top platform (92) and a cylindrical dispensing spout (89) situated in the centre of the platform (Fig. 5).
19. The closure of claim 1, wherein a plurality of through-holes are defined between corresponding spokes and the through-holes, the spokes, the central hub and the annular outer collar are arranged to control the flux of flowable product when flowing through the dispensing passage such that the gurgling of the flowable product is at least partially reduced (par. 0092).
20. The closure of claim 1, wherein the pressing element is substantially circular-shaped and the pressing element comprises a cross-sectional profile defined including an first slope comprising a continuous increase of the height of the pressing element from an initial height to a maximum height during a first part of the diameter of the pressing element (Fig. 6), and a second slope comprising a continuous decrease of the height of the pressing element from the maximum height to a second height during a second part of the diameter of the pressing element (Fig. 6).
21. The closure of claim 20, wherein the pressing element comprises a substantially cylindrical side wall configured to be connected to an inner portion of the dispensing passage by a plurality of frangible bridges (par. 0092).
25. The closure of claim 1, wherein the pressing element comprises one or more cutting elements (97) situated at a lower surface of the pressing element, wherein when the pressing element is at the first operational position the cutting elements do not touch the sealing element (Fig. 6) and when the pressing element is at the second operational position the cutting elements puncture and break the sealing element (par. 0099).
26. The closure of claim 1, wherein the base comprises one or more arcuated slots and the lid comprises one or more spaced apart connectors, wherein the connectors are adapted to mate with the slots using a snap fit locking mechanism (par. 0091).
29. A kit for containing and dispensing a flowable product comprising: a container (44) comprising an interior space for housing the flowable product and a filling and dispensing spout, the closure of claim 1, wherein the base of the closure is configured to be attached to the filling and dispensing spout.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wisniewski et al. (US-20240417143-A1) in view of Herald et al. (US-20060011573-A1).
Wisniewski fails to teach one or more tamper evident elements frangibly connected to the lid, wherein the base comprises one or more recesses into which the corresponding tamper evident element is engaged such that, when the tamper evident elements are separated with respect to the lid, the tamper-evident elements move into the corresponding recess.
Herald teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a closure with one or more tamper evident elements (28) frangibly connected to the lid, wherein the base comprises one or more recesses (32) into which the corresponding tamper evident element is engaged such that, when the tamper evident elements are separated with respect to the lid, the tamper-evident elements move into the corresponding recess (par. 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the closure with tamper evident elements, as taught by Herald, in order to make the closure further tamper proof.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wisniewski et al. (US-20240417143-A1) and Herald et al. (US-20060011573-A1) in view of Elliot (US-6405885-B1).
The modified closure of Wisniewski fails to teach wherein the tamper-evident elements comprise marks, wherein the marks are adapted to be visible when the lid is in a closed position and the marks are not visible when the is displaced into the corresponding recess after the lid is opened for the first time.
Elliot teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a closure indicia on a tamper evident element (Figs. 2, 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the closure with indicia, as taught by Elliot, in order convey information to a user.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wisniewski et al. (US-20240417143-A1) in view of Shibata et al. (US-20100044337-A1).
Wisniewski fails to teach wherein the base, the lid and the sealing element are made of the same material, specifically the material is polyolefin.
Shibata teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture closure components out of polyolefin (par. 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the closure with polyolefin, in order to adjust costs and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wisniewski et al. (US-20240417143-A1) in view of von Spreckelsen et al (US-20040200837-A1).
Wisniewski teaches wherein the sealing element is configured to break and retract without any material separation upon contact of the pressing element with the sealing element (Fig. 9), but fails to teach a stretched film that is thinner than 100 microns
Von Spreckelsen teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a sealing element as a stretched film thinner than 100 microns (par. 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the sealing element as a stretched film, as taught by von Spreckelsen, in order to adjust costs, in order to ensure the element breaks and since such a modification would have been a change in size of an existing component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., wherein the spokes are attached at the central hub) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). A component that extends to another component does not mean that it is integrally connected at both components
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733