DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1 - 20 are pending. Claims 1, 5, 15 have been amended. Claims 1, 11 are independent. File date on 9-24-2024.
This action is in response to application amendments filed on 3-25-2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US PGPUB No. 20210144076) in view of Yu et al. (US PGPUB No. 20170200202).
Regarding Claims 1, 11, Lee discloses an apparatus providing a service enablement layer analytics service in a cellular network and a method for providing a service enablement layer analytics service in a cellular network, the apparatus comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory having instructions, when executed by the processor (Lee ¶ 106: methods according to the above-described example embodiments may be recorded in non-transitory computer-readable media including program instructions to implement various operations of the above-described example embodiments. The media may also include, alone or in combination with the program instructions, data files, data structures, and the like. The program instructions recorded on the media may be those specially designed and constructed for the purposes of example embodiments,), cause the apparatus to:
a) receive, from an analytics service consumer, a service data analytics request, wherein the request includes requirements of the analytics service; (Lee ¶ 008: receiving an analytics request message for network data from a consumer network function device to use analytics information of the network data; collecting first network data for network analytics based on the analytics request message from a first provider network function device; ¶ 052: the consumer network function device 102 may transmit an analytics request for network data to the network data analytics function device 101. At this time, the consumer network function device 102 may transmit a network data analytics request message (ex.Nnwdaf_AnalyticsInfo_Request) or an analytics subscription message (ex.Nnwdaf_AnalyticsSubscription_Subscribe) of network data to the network data analytics function device 101.; ¶ 053: the network data analytics request message or the network data analytics subscription message may further include analytics filter information (requirements).; ¶ 058: The analytics filter information may include the location of the user equipment and slice information used by the user equipment. In addition, the type of the network function device may mean information for classifying the type of the consumer network function device 102. Also, the use case indication may mean information representing a plurality of use cases.)
b) determine, based on the service analytics request, to collect data from a service server; (Lee ¶ 008: receiving an analytics request message for network data from a consumer network function device to use analytics information of the network data; collecting first network data for network analytics based on the analytics request message from a first provider network function device; ¶ 055: the network data analytics function device 101 may collect the first network data from the provider network function device 103 or the OAM device 105. In addition, the network data analytics function device 101 analyzes the first network data collected according to the analytics request of the network data received from the consumer network function device 102 to generate analytics information on the first network data)
c) send, to the determined service server, a request to collect server-side service data related to the service analytics request; (Lee ¶ 008: receiving an analytics request message for network data from a consumer network function device to use analytics information of the network data; collecting first network data for network analytics based on the analytics request message from a first provider network function device; ¶ 055: the network data analytics function device 101 may collect the first network data from the provider network function device 103 or the OAM device 105. In addition, the network data analytics function device 101 analyzes the first network data collected according to the analytics request of the network data received from the consumer network function device 102 to generate analytics information on the first network data)
d) receive, from the determined service layer server, the service data related to the service data analytics request; (Lee ¶ 008: providing an analytics response message including analytics information of the network data to the consumer network function device; ¶ 056: the network data analytics function device 101 may identify an analytics model that generates analytics information for the first network data. As an example, the network data analytics function device 101 may generate an analytics model by itself based on model training (ex. Machine Learning) or may call an analytics model generated by another entity.)
e) determine, based on the service analytics request, to collect data from a service client; (Lee ¶ 008: receiving an analytics request message for network data from a consumer network function device to use analytics information of the network data; collecting first network data for network analytics based on the analytics request message from a first provider network function device; ¶ 069: the network data analytics function device 101 may collect second network data from the provider network function device 103 or the OAM device 105. The first network data may be the same as or different from the second network data. The provider network function device 103 described in step (ii) may correspond to the first provider network function device 103-1 in FIG. 1, and the provider network function device 103 described in step (v) may correspond to the second provider network function device 103-2 of FIG. 1.)
f) send, to the determined service layer client, a request to collect service data related to the service analytics; (Lee ¶ 008: receiving an analytics request message for network data from a consumer network function device to use analytics information of the network data; collecting first network data for network analytics based on the analytics request message from a first provider network function device; ¶ 052: the consumer network function device 102 may transmit an analytics request for network data to the network data analytics function device 101.)
g) receive, from the determined service client, the data related to the service data analytics request; (Lee ¶ 008: providing an analytics response message including analytics information of the network data to the consumer network function device; ¶ 056: the network data analytics function device 101 may identify an analytics model that generates analytics information for the first network data. As an example, the network data analytics function device 101 may generate an analytics model by itself based on model training (ex. Machine Learning) or may call an analytics model generated by another entity.)
h) generate analytics result based on the received server data, the received client data and the requirements of the analytics service; (Lee ¶ 070: the network data analytics function device 101 evaluates the analytics information of the first network data based on the feedback obtained from the consumer network function device 102 and the second network data collected in step (v). Further, the network data analytics function device 101 may change the analytics method used when generating analytics information of the first network data for a specific use case or a specific network function device based on the evaluation result.) and
i) send, to the analytics service consumer, a response indicating the analytics result. (Lee ¶ 008: generating analytics information on network data by analyzing the collected network data based on a method of analyzing network data; ¶ 094: the network data analytics function device 101 may analyze the first network data collected from the first provider network function device 103-1 to generate analytics information of the first network data. Thereafter, the network data analytics function device 101 may provide analytics information of the first network data to the consumer network function device 102 that has transmitted the network data analytics request.; (send response to request))
Lee does not specifically disclose for a) service enablement layer data, and for b) service enablement layer, and for c) service layer server, server-side enablement layer, service enablement layer, and for d) service layer server, server-side enablement layer, service enablement layer, and for e) service enablement layer, and for f) client-side enablement layer, service enablement layer, and for g) client-side service enablement layer, service enablement layer, and for h) server-side data, client-side data.
However, Yu discloses wherein for a) service enablement layer data, and for b) service enablement layer, and for c) service layer server, server-side enablement layer, service enablement layer, and for d) service layer server, server-side enablement layer, service enablement layer, and for e) service enablement layer, and for f) client-side enablement layer, service enablement layer, and for g) client-side service enablement layer, service enablement layer, and for h) server-side data, client-side data. (see Yu ¶ 31: service-enablement system 200 includes a network 202, a server 204, and a number of mobile devices, including mobile devices 206, 208, 210, 212, and 214.; ¶ 032: During operation, server 204 can run the server-side programs of the service-enablement application; ¶ 033: Network 202 can include various types of wired or wireless networks. In some embodiments, network 202 can include the public switched telephone network (PSTN) and the Internet. Mobile devices 206-214 can include various computing devices, including but not limited to: smartphones, tablet computers, laptop computers, personal digital assistants (PDAs), various wearable computing devices (e.g., smartglasses and smartwatches), etc. During operation, mobile devices 206-214 can run the client-side programs of the service-enablement application.; (smartphone analogous to cellular network))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee for a) service enablement layer data, and for b) service enablement layer, and for c) service layer server, server-side enablement layer, service enablement layer, and for d) service layer server, server-side enablement layer, service enablement layer, and for e) service enablement layer, and for f) client-side enablement layer, service enablement layer, and for g) client-side service enablement layer, service enablement layer, and for h) server-side data, client-side data as taught by Yu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Yu for the flexibility of a system that enables operations to be divided into service specific layers within a data analytics analysis environment. (see Yu ¶ 31; ¶ 032; ¶ 033)
Regarding Claims 2, 12, Lee-Yu discloses the apparatus recited in claim 1 and the method recited in claim 11.
Lee does not specifically disclose analytics service consumer is an application server or a service enablement layer server.
However, Yu discloses wherein a service enablement layer server. (see Yu ¶ 031: service-enablement system 200 includes a network 202, a server 204, and a number of mobile devices, including mobile devices 206, 208, 210, 212, and 214.; ¶ 032: During operation, server 204 can run the server-side programs of the service-enablement application,; ¶ 033: Network 202 can include various types of wired or wireless networks. In some embodiments, network 202 can include the public switched telephone network (PSTN) and the Internet. Mobile devices 206-214 can include various computing devices, including but not limited to: smartphones, tablet computers, laptop computers, personal digital assistants (PDAs), various wearable computing devices (e.g., smartglasses and smartwatches), etc. During operation, mobile devices 206-214 can run the client-side programs of the service-enablement application.; (smartphone analogous to cellular network); (selected: a service enablement layer server))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee for analytics service consumer is an application server or a service enablement layer server as taught by Yu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Yu for the flexibility of a system that enables operations to be divided into service specific layers within a data analytics analysis environment. (see Yu ¶ 031; ¶ 032; ¶ 033)
Regarding Claims 4, 14, Lee-Yu discloses the apparatus recited in claim 1 and the method recited in claim 11, wherein the analytics request is a subscription request. (Lee ¶ 068: The notification target address and notification correlation information are information when a network data analytics is subscribed. The notification target address represents the address of the consumer network function device 102. The notification correlation ID is information for correlating notifications from the network data analytics function device 101 to the consumer network function device 102 when a subscription is applied.; ¶ 088: when the network data analytics function device 101 receives an analytics subscription rather than a network data analytics request from the consumer network function device 102, changing the analytics method of the network data is It may mean that the collection method for network data in the cycle is changed in the next cycle.)
Regarding Claims 5, 15, Lee-Yu discloses the apparatus recited in claim 1 and the method recited in claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to collect data from another entity capable of providing analytics service. (Lee ¶ 056: the network data analytics function device 101 may identify an analytics model that generates analytics information for the first network data. As an example, the network data analytics function device 101 may generate an analytics model by itself based on model training (ex. Machine Learning) or may call an analytics model generated by another entity.)
Regarding Claims 7, 17, Lee-Yu discloses the apparatus recited in claim 1 and the method recited in claim 11, wherein the analytics request is related to application performance. (Lee ¶ 016: feedback includes at least one of information on whether or not the consumer network function device uses the analytics information of the network data, information on the performance change of the consumer network function device when the analytics information of the network data is applied,)
Regarding Claims 9, 19, Lee-Yu discloses the apparatus recited in claim 1 and the method recited in claim 11, wherein the analytics request is related to network slice. (Lee ¶ 079: the analytics information of network data includes (i) slice load level information at the network slice instance level, (ii) observed service experience (ex. service experience for network slices,))
4. Claims 3, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Yu and further in view of Zhang et al. (US PGPUB No. 20240236732).
Regarding Claims 3, 13, Lee-Yu discloses the apparatus recited in claim 1 and the method recited in claim 11.
Lee does not specifically disclose the analytics request further includes one or more of an analytics type, identifier(s) of one or more analytics targets, analytics filter information, area of interest.
However, Zhang discloses wherein the analytics request further includes one or more of an analytics type, identifier(s) of one or more analytics targets, analytics filter information, area of interest. (Zhang ¶ 069: a first network entity 504, which may be referred to as a consumer network entity, may transmit an analytics request 508 to a core network entity 502 (e.g., an NWDAF) for requesting analytics. In one example, the first network entity 504 may be associated with one or more of an AMF, an SMF, a PCF, a UDR, an NEF, one or more AFs, an OAM entity, and/or one or more data repositories, etc. The analytics request 508 may specify one or more types of analytics to be performed, such as a load balancing associated with a network, a mobility optimization for a network, and/or an energy saving for a network, etc. As such, the first network entity 504 may include one or more analytics identifier (IDs) and/or model IDs in the analytics request 508, where each analytics ID or model ID may be associated with a type of analytics or an analytics model which may be performed/applied (e.g., by a core network or a RAN).; (selected: one or more analytics type))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee for the analytics request further includes one or more of an analytics type, identifier(s) of one or more analytics targets, analytics filter information, area of interest as taught by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Zhang for the flexibility of a system that enables data analytics processing utilizing multiple parameters such as analytics type. (Zhang ¶ 069)
5. Claims 6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Yu and further in view of Winterton et al. (US PGPUB No. 20220207254).
Regarding Claims 6, 16, Lee-Yu discloses the apparatus recited in claim 1 and the method recited in claim 11.
Lee does not specifically disclose the analytics result includes predictions and the corresponding confidence levels.
However, Winterton discloses wherein the analytics result includes predictions and the corresponding confidence levels. (Winterton ¶ 043: SV detection HW 150, which represents any one or more known or novel hardware mechanisms to dynamically detect SVs and/or the conditions under which they may occur. SV detection HW 150 may detect conditions or anomalies that may be used to predict, with various levels of confidence, speculation vulnerabilities. In embodiments, SV detection HW 150 may use machine learning and/or data analytics techniques, implemented in hardware 152, for SV detection, prediction, and/or prediction confidence level determination.; (SV: speculation vulnerabilities); (prediction, confidence level))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee for the analytics result includes predictions and the corresponding confidence levels as taught by Winterton. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Winterton for the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple parameters such as generation of predictions and generation of confidence levels). (Winterton ¶ 043)
6. Claims 8, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Yu and further in view of Karampatsis et al. (Patent No. WO 2021228411 A1).
Regarding Claims 8, 18, Lee-Yu discloses the apparatus recited in claim 1 and the method recited in claim 11.
Lee does not specifically disclose analytics request is related to edge data network.
However, Karampatsis discloses wherein the analytics request is related to edge data network. (Karampatsis ¶ 004: communication systems, an edge data network may be deployed to enhance performance. When a UE is located in an edge data network service area, it receives the address of an appropriate edge-instance Server Application.; ¶ 050: derives analytics based on an NF request (Consumer NF). A Consumer NF may ask analytics either in form of statistics or predictions. The NWDAF 127 derives the analytics by collecting relevant data from other NFs.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee for analytics request is related to edge data network as taught by Karampatsis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Karampatsis for the flexibility of a system that enables analytics analysis within multiple types of network environments such as an edge data network. (Karampatsis ¶ 004; ¶ 050)
7. Claims 10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Yu and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US PGPUB No. 20150370872).
Regarding Claims 10, 20, Lee-Yu discloses the apparatus recited in claim 1 and the method recited in claim 11.
Lee does not specifically disclose analytics request is related to accesses of services or functions.
However, Raghavan discloses wherein the analytics request is related to accesses of services or functions. (Raghavan ¶ 020: An access control module 112 may regulate security and access for requests to perform various analytic functions. An access control module 112 may perform functions including enforcing security policies indicated by token 104.; ¶ 029: An access control 218 module may regulate access to analytic services based at least in part on an access token 204 received in an analytics request 200. Access token 204 may be a component of a multi-factored authentication scheme.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee for analytics request is related to accesses of services or functions as taught by Raghavan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Raghavan for the enhanced security of a system that regulates access to data analytics functions. (Raghavan ¶ 020; ¶ 029)
Response to Amendments
8. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
A. The 101 Rejection for Claims 1 - 10 is withdrawn due to claim amendments.
B. Applicant argues on page 7 of Remarks: ... (1) determining data to collect from (service layer) server/client based on the service (enablement layer) analytics request ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses the collection of data in direct response to an analytics request received. (Lee ¶ 008: receiving an analytics request message for network data from a consumer network function device to use analytics information of the network data; collecting first network data for network analytics based on the analytics request message from a first provider network function device; ¶ 055: the network data analytics function device 101 may collect (collects data based on a request) the first network data from the provider network function device 103 or the OAM device 105. In addition, the network data analytics function device 101 analyzes the first network data collected according to the analytics request of the network data received from the consumer network function device 102 to generate analytics information on the first network data)
C. Applicant argues on page 7 of Remarks: ... (2) sending, to the determined service (layer) server/client, a request to collect server-side/client-side service (enablement layer) data related to the service (enablement layer) analytics request ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses the collection of data in direct response to an analytics request received. (Lee ¶ 008: receiving an analytics request message for network data from a consumer network function device to use analytics information of the network data; collecting first network data for network analytics based on the analytics request message from a first provider network function device;
D. Applicant argues on page 7 of Remarks: ... (3) receiving, from the determined service (layer) server/client, the server-side/client-side service (enablement layer) data related to the service (enablement layer) analytics request ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses providing an analytics response message in response to the analytics request message. (Lee ¶ 008: providing an analytics response message including analytics information of the network data to the consumer network function device; ¶ 056: the network data analytics function device 101 may identify an analytics model that generates analytics information for the first network data.
E. Applicant argues on pages 7-8 of Remarks: ... nothing in Lee indicates any determination to collect data. ... claim 1 requires an affirmative determination to collect data ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses the collection of data in direct response to an analytics request received. (Lee ¶ 008: receiving an analytics request message for network data from a consumer network function device to use analytics information of the network data; collecting first network data for network analytics based on the analytics request message from a first provider network function device; ¶ 055: the network data analytics function device 101 may collect (collects data based on a request) the first network data from the provider network function device 103 or the OAM device 105. In addition, the network data analytics function device 101 analyzes the first network data collected according to the analytics request of the network data received from the consumer network function device 102 to generate analytics information on the first network data)
F. Applicant argues on page 8 of Remarks: ... "receiving, from the determined service layer server/client, the server-side/client side service enablement layer data related to the service enablement layer data analytics request," ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses providing an analytics response message to the analytics request message. (Lee ¶ 008: providing an analytics response message including analytics information of the network data to the consumer network function device; ¶ 056: the network data analytics function device 101 may identify an analytics model that generates analytics information for the first network data.
G. Applicant argues on page 8 of Remarks: ... Claim 11 and the claims dependent thereon are, therefore, patentable over the cited references ... .
Independent claim 11 contains similar limitations as independent claim 1. Responses against independent claim 1 also answer current arguments against independent claims 11. Responses to arguments against independent claims also answer current arguments against dependent claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYUNG H SHIN/ 6-10-2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447