Priority
Instant application 18/850,362 filed on 09/24/2024 claims benefit as follows:
CONTINUING DATA:
Status of the Application
Claims 70-100 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/23/2026, 01/21/2026, 12/15/2025, 10/31/2025, 09/26/2025, 09/29/2025, 07/31/2025, 05/30/2025, 04/30/2025, 03/28/2025, 02/27/2025 and 01/14/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 70-82, 85-95 and 96-100 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated WO-2020169850-A1 (published August 27, 2020) evidenced by Buyukdura (Buyukdura et al., Progress in Neuro-Psychopharmacology & Biological Psychiatry 35 (2011) 395–409).
WO-2020169850-A1 teaches and claims 5-methoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (5-MeO-DMT) for use in treating depression (see title and claim 1).
Further, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches evaluation of motor retardation (see p. 118, last 6 lines):
As evidenced by Buyukdura, psychomotor retardation is a major feature of depression (see abstract and introduction):
Since WO-2020169850-A1 teaches and claims 5-MeO-DMT is effective in treating depression, the treatment inherently treats (reduces or eliminates) features of depression including psychomotor retardation, a result that logically flows from the administration of 5-MeO-DMT recited by WO-2020169850-A1.
Regarding instant claim 72, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches use of 5-MeO-DMT in mental disorders:
Further, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches current major depressive episode (see p. 130, first paragraph):
Further, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches treatments of resistant form of major depressive disorder (see page 19, third paragraph):
Regarding claim 79, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches an improvement is observed not later than 2 hours after the last administration of 5-MeO-DMT (“2 hours after the last administration of 5-MeO-DMT” meets the instant limitations “observed on day 1 after the last administration of 5-MeO-DMT”):
Regarding claim 80, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches that improvement persist until at least 14 days after the last administration (see claim 25). Therefore, the WO-2020169850-A1 meets the limitation of improvement observed on day 7.
Regarding claim 85, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches and claims the same dosage as recited in the instant claims:
Regarding claim 86, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches at least one administration within 24 hours (see claim 15):
Regarding claims 87, 88 ,90 and 92, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches each subsequent administration uses a higher dosage amount unless the patient experiences a peak psychedelic experience:
Regarding claim 91, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches:
Regarding claim 94, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches:
Regarding claim 95, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches:
Regarding claim 96, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches Peak Experience Scale Total Score of at least 75 (see page 23, 5th paragraph):
Regarding claim 97, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches 5-MeO-DMT is administered via inhalation:
Regarding claim 98, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches 5-MeO-DMT is administered by nasal administration (see page 23, 6th paragraph):
Regarding claim 100, WO-2020169850-A1 teaches 5-MeO-DMT is administered at a dose sufficient to result in the patient having a peak psychedelic experience (see page 34):
As discussed above, treating depression inherently treats (reduces or eliminates) features of depression including psychomotor retardation, a result that logically flows from the administration of 5-MeO-DMT. It should be noted "where the Patent Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may, in fact, be an inherent
characteristic of the prior art, it possesses the authority to require the applicant to prove that the
subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristics relied on"); In
re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980) (indicating that the burden of proof can be shifted
to the applicant to show that the subject matter of the prior art does not possess the characteristic
relied on whether the rejection is based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. 102 or obviousness under 35
U.S.C. 103 (MPEP 2183).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 70-100 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2020169850-A1 (published August 27, 2020) in view of Buyukdura (Buyukdura et al., Progress in Neuro-Psychopharmacology & Biological Psychiatry 35 (2011) 395–409) and in view of Busner (Busner J, Targum SD. The clinical global impressions scale: applying a research tool in clinical practice. Psychiatry (Edgmont). 2007 Jul;4(7):28-37.
The teachings of WO-2020169850-A1 and Buyukdura have been discussed above, and those teachings are incorporated herein by reference.
As disused above, treating depression inherently treats (reduces or eliminates) features of depression including psychomotor retardation, a result that logically flows from the administration of 5-MeO-DMT.
Regarding claims 82-84 WO-2020169850-A1 does not teach Clinical Global Impression-Severity (CGI-S) scores.
Busner teaches Clinical Global Impressions Scale (CGI) is a research tool which “can make an expert clinical global judgment about the severity of the illness across various time points
within the context of that clinical experience” (see abstract and page 30).
Further, Busner teaches CGI has two components: the CGI-Severity, which rates illness severity, and the CGI-Improvement, which rates change from the initiation (baseline) of treatment (see page 30, What is the CGI).
Since CGI test is a widely recognized 7-point rating scale used by clinicians to measure the overall severity of a patient's illness (see page 30 of Busner), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the tool of Busner with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to use the additional test to monitor patients during treatments. The scores recited in instant claims are results of the administration steps and logically flows from the administration of 5-MeO-DMT.
It should be noted "where the Patent Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may, in fact, be an inherent
characteristic of the prior art, it possesses the authority to require the applicant to prove that the
subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristics relied on"); In
re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980) (indicating that the burden of proof can be shifted
to the applicant to show that the subject matter of the prior art does not possess the characteristic
relied on whether the rejection is based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. 102 or obviousness under 35
U.S.C. 103 (MPEP 2183).
Double Patenting
Claims 70-100 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4, 6, 15-17, 19-24 and 28-31 of copending Application No. 18/675,614 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of 18/675,614 recite:
Because psychomotor retardation is a major feature of depression, a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect that treatments for depression reduce psychomotor retardation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 70-100 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18,28, 32, 35-38 of copending Application No. 18/373,903 (reference application) in view of Garset-Zamani, (Sofie Garset-Zamani Infant Behavior and Development, Volume 61, 2020, 101486).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of 18/373,903 recite a method of treating a patient suffering from postpartum depression (PPD), comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of 5-Methoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (5-MeO-DMT).
As taught by Garset-Zamani (see page 2, 3rd full paragraph), psychomotor retardation is a feature of postpartum depression (PPD), therefore, one of ordinary skill would expect that treatments of PPD reduce psychomotor retardation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/GEORGE W KOSTURKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621