DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 13 May 2026. Claims 11-17 and 21 are currently pending of which claims 11, 14 and 16 are currently amended and claim 21 is new. Claims 1-10 and 18-20 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 13 May 2026. The rejections to the claims presented under 35 USC 112 in the Office Action of 16 March 2026 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 13 May 2026. The rejections to the claims presented under 35 USC 102 in the Office Action of 16 March 2026 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,788,820 to Liu (Liu) in view of US 2006/0032754 A1 to Surikov et al. (Surikov).
As to claim 11, Liu teaches an electrochemical reactor, capable of performing the functional language of “capable of processing an organic mixture comprising a suspension of a solid and a liquid”, the reactor comprising an inner electrode (21), an outer electrode (31), the inner electrode (21) and the outer electrode (31) arranged concentrically forming a first cavity therebetween, two inlets (14), forming a first inlet and a second inlet, each separately inputting into the first cavity and thus capable of performing the functional language of “introducing the liquid into the first cavity” and “introducing the solid into the first cavity” such that “the liquid and the solid are introduced separately”, the inner electrode (21) rotatable around its longitudinal axis (Column 3, Lines 26 to 49; Figure 2; MPEP 2114).
However, Liu fails to teach that the inner electrode comprises mixing elements comprising groove, recesses, depression, protrusions or attached elements.
However, Surikov also discusses rotating electrochemical reactors for water electrolysis and teaches that all of cuts, openings and screw grooves on the surfaces of the electrodes can be utilized to improve delivery and mixing of the electrolyte solution (Paragraphs 0016 and 0018). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide either or both of the inner and outer electrode with, for example, grooves on the surface thereof in order to improve delivery and mixing of the electrolyte as taught by Surikov.
As to claim 12, the combination of Liu and Surikov teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Liu further teaches that the reactor comprises a vessel (10) enclosing the inner electrode (21) and the outer electrode (31) forming a second cavity between the outer electrode (31) and the vessel (10), the cavity configured to be filled with a fluid and thus capable of being filed with thermostated fluid (Column 3, Lines 26 to 49; Figure 2; MPEP 2114).
As to claim 14, the combination of Liu and Surikov teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Liu further teaches that the reactor comprises outlets (15 and 25) configured for allowing removal of electrolyzed reaction mixture from the reactor (Column 3, Lines 26 to 49; Figure 2; MPEP 2114).
As to claim 15, the combination of Liu and Surikov teaches the apparatus of claim 14. The outlets of Liu are capable of being connected to an inlet of another reactor (MPEP 2114), Liu specifically teaching outlets connected to downstream devices such as filters (Column 4, Lines 10-20).
As to claim 16, the combination of Liu and Surikov teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Liu teaches that the inner electrode (21) and outer electrode (31) are concentric and thus that the inner diameter of the outer electrode is equal to the outer diameter of the inner electrode plus twice the interelectrode gap (Figure 2).
As to claim 17, the combination of Liu and Surikov teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Liu teaches that the gap between the electrodes is constant (Figure 2).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Liu and Surikov as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US 2011/0147204 A1 to Leiato et al. (Leiato).
As to claim 13, the combination of Liu and Surikov teaches the apparatus of claim 11. However, Liu is silent as to the materials for forming the inner and outer electrodes. However, Leiato also discusses water electrolysis with concentric electrodes and teaches that both inner and outer electrodes can be effectively formed of, for example, stainless steel or titanium (Abstract; Paragraph 0027). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the inner and outer electrode of Liu of stainless steel or titanium with the reasonable expectation of effectively forming the electrodes as taught by Leiato.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Liu and Surikov as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US 5,112,463 to Zhang et al. (Zhang).
As to claim 21, the combination of Liu and Surikov teaches the apparatus of claim 14. However, Zhang also discusses apparats for electrolysis such as water electrolysis with inlet and outlet and teaches that each inlet and outlet should be provided with valves for controlling the inlets and the outlets (Column 3, Lines 8-32; Figure 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the inlets and outlet of Liu with valves for controlling the inlets and outlets as taught by Zhang.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794