DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 14, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
As to claim 16, the claim does not end in a period, rendering unclear the full contents of the claimed language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,788,820 to Liu (Liu).
As to claim 11, Liu teaches an electrochemical reactor, capable of performing the functional language of “capable of processing an organic mixture comprising a suspension of a solid and a liquid”, the reactor comprising an inner electrode (21), an outer electrode (31), the inner electrode (21) and the outer electrode (31) arranged concentrically forming a first cavity therebetween, two inlets (14), forming a first inlet and a second inlet, each separately inputting into the first cavity and thus capable of performing the functional language of “introducing the liquid into the first cavity” and “introducing the solid into the first cavity” such that “the liquid and the solid are introduced separately”, the inner electrode (21) rotatable around its longitudinal axis and provided with through holes acting as mixing elements (Column 3, Lines 26 to 49; Figure 2; MPEP 2114).
As to claim 12, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Liu further teaches that the reactor comprises a vessel (10) enclosing the inner electrode (21) and the outer electrode (31) forming a second cavity between the outer electrode (31) and the vessel (10), the cavity configured to be filled with a fluid and thus capable of being filed with thermostated fluid (Column 3, Lines 26 to 49; Figure 2; MPEP 2114).
As to claim 14, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Liu further teaches that the reactor comprises outlets (15 and 25) configured for allowing removal of electrolyzed reaction mixture from the reactor (Column 3, Lines 26 to 49; Figure 2; MPEP 2114).
As to claim 15, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 14. The outlets of Liu are capable of being connected to an inlet of another reactor (MPEP 2114), Liu specifically teaching outlets connected to downstream devices such as filters (Column 4, Lines 10-20).
As to claim 16, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Liu teaches that the inner electrode (21) and outer electrode (31) are concentric and thus that the inner diameter of the outer electrode is equal to the outer diameter of the inner electrode plus twice the interelectrode gap (Figure 2).
As to claim 17, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Liu teaches that the gap between the electrodes is constant (Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US 2011/0147204 A1 to Leiato et al. (Leiato).
As to claim 13, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 11. However, Liu is silent as to the materials for forming the inner and outer electrodes. However, Leiato also discusses water electrolysis with concentric electrodes and teaches that both inner and outer electrodes can be effectively formed of, for example, stainless steel or titanium (Abstract; Paragraph 0027). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the inner and outer electrode of Liu of stainless steel or titanium with the reasonable expectation of effectively forming the electrodes as taught by Leiato.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794