DETAILED ACTION
The IDS has been considered by the examiner.
The specification and drawings have been accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-12 AND 14-15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha (US 2023/0043459) in view of 3GPP TS 23.501 V17.4.0 (IDS submitted on 09/24/2024, hereinafter 3GPP).
Referring to claim 1, Shrestha discloses a method performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) in a satellite communication with discontinuous coverage (FIG. 1, FIG.4, Abstract and Par. 34, 180 and 181, “AMF 192 is generally the control node that processes the signaling between UEs 104 and 5GC 190. Generally, AMF 192 provides QoS flow and session management”, “techniques for resuming communications with a non-terrestrial network in discontinuous coverage”, note that the communications network 400 in figure 4 represents and includes a non-terrestrial network (NTN) entity 140 (which is equivalent to a satellite communication)), the method comprising: identifying one or more parameters associated with discontinuous coverage (Par. 100, 23, “identify that the UE is in the coverage area of an NTN with discontinuous coverage, and the network entity may be aware of the coverage gap pattern for the NTN (e.g., when and where a coverage gap will occur)”. Note that NTN determines the coverage revisit time, the revisit time is the time that indicates when the satellite would provide coverage and when the coverage would be discontinuous. Thus, the revisit time is equivalent to a parameter associated with discontinuous coverage); and
determining, based on the one or more parameters associated with discontinuous coverage, a user equipment (UE) out-of-coverage period (Par. 23, “a non-terrestrial network (NTN) may provide discontinuous radio coverage to a user equipment (UE), for example, due to the orbit of NTN satellites. For example, some NTNs (such as a low Earth orbit (LEO) systems) may have one or more revisit times (which may also be known as the response time or coverage gap) ... The revisit time may be the duration between consecutive viewings (or coverage areas) of a given location for an NTN. As an example, the satellite revisit time (or coverage gap) could be 10 to 40 minutes”, “The UE may be unreachable by the wireless network (such as the core network) during revisit time. During the coverage gap,” note that NTN determines the coverage revisit time, the revisit time is the time that indicates when the satellite would provide coverage and when the coverage would be discontinuous. Thus, the revisit time is equivalent to a parameter associated with discontinuous coverage when a user equipment (UE) is out-of-coverage period).
Shrestha is not relied on for disclosing the claim language: in case of determining the UE-out-of-coverage period, transmitting to the UE a signal including an extended connected time parameter, wherein the UE is maintained in a connected mode for the extended connected time parameter.
In analogous art, 3GPP discloses in case of determining the UE-out-of-coverage period, transmitting to the UE a signal including an extended connected time parameter, wherein the UE is maintained in a connected mode for the extended connected time parameter (see section 5.31.7.3, “When a UE initiates MO signalling … the AMF may keep the UE in CM-CONNECTED state and the RAN may keep the UE in RRC-CONNECTED state for an Extended Connected Time period”, “The Extended Connected Time values indicates the minimum time the RAN should keep the UE in RRC-CONNECTED state”. Section 5.31.7.4, “the AMF may assign an Active Time value for the UE … and indicates it to the UE”, “UE and AMF shall set a timer corresponding to the Actie time value negotiated”, note that the AMF keeps the UE in an Extended Connected Time period and AMF assigns such Extended connected time period by assigning an Active Time Value. Further, the AMF indicates (by signaling) the active time value to the UE, which is equivalent to transmitting to the UE a signal including an extended connected time parameter. The Extended Connected Time period or the Active Time Value is equivalent to the extended connected time parameter).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Shrestha by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP, for the purpose of predicting the windows of time when the satellite coverage is not available and extending the radio coverage of the terminal during those down times, thus providing continuous coverage at all times. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 2, the combination of Shrestha/3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the UE-out-of-coverage period comprises a period in which there is a lack of availability of satellite coverage for the UE (Shrestha, Par. 44, “due to the orbit of NTN satellites. For example, some NTNs (such as a low Earth orbit (LEO) systems) may have one or more revisit times (which may also be known as the response time or coverage gap) in certain geographical areas. The revisit time may be the duration between consecutive viewings (or coverage areas) of a given location for an NTN”, note that a coverage gap or revisit time or duration between consecutive viewings (or coverage areas) of a given location for an NTN is the time is the UE-out-of-coverage period in which there is a lack of availability of satellite coverage for the UE).
Referring to claim 4, the combination of Shrestha/3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: providing the extended connected time parameter to a Radio Access Network (RAN) via higher layer signaling (3GPP, section 5.31.7.3, “The AMF is aware of pending or expected MT traffic, the AMF may keep the UE in CM-connected state and the RAN may keep the UE in RRC-Connected state”, “AMF maintains the N1 connection and provides the extended connected time value to the RAN … the RAN should keep the UE in Connected state”, note that the AMF provides the extended time value to the RAN so that the RAN use it and keep the UE in Connected state. With regards to higher layer signaling, examiner notes that in 5G, communication between the AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function) and the RAN (Radio Access Network, e.g., gNB) happens at the higher layers of the protocol stack, specifically in the control plane. Further, the N2 interface is the logical link between the RAN and the AMF, carrying control-plane signaling for tasks such as UE registration, mobility management, connection setup, and NAS message transport).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Shrestha by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP, for the purpose of using most efficient signaling approach between core network nodes in order to keep the terminal connected by extending the radio coverage of the terminal during those down times, thus providing continuous coverage at all times. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 5, the combination of Shrestha/3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the UE is maintained in an N2 connection for the extended connected time parameter (3GPP, section 5.31.7.3, “The AMF maintains the N2 connection for at least the Extended Connected Tie and provides the Extended Connected Time value to the RAN. The Extended Connected Time value indicates the minimum time the RAN should keep the UE in RRC Connected state”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Shrestha by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP, for the purpose of using most efficient signaling approach between core network nodes in order to keep the terminal connected by extending the radio coverage of the terminal during those down times, thus providing continuous coverage at all times. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 6, Shrestha discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a satellite communication with discontinuous coverage (FIG. 1 and FIG. 4, Par. 23, “non-terrestrial network (NTN) may provide discontinuous radio coverage to a user equipment (UE)”), wherein one or more parameters associated with discontinuous coverage are identified (Par. 100, 23, “identify that the UE is in the coverage area of an NTN with discontinuous coverage, and the network entity may be aware of the coverage gap pattern for the NTN (e.g., when and where a coverage gap will occur)”. Note that NTN determines the coverage revisit time, the revisit time is the time that indicates when the satellite would provide coverage and when the coverage would be discontinuous. Thus, the revisit time is equivalent to a parameter associated with discontinuous coverage), and wherein based on the one or more parameters associated with discontinuous coverage, the UE-out-of-coverage period is determined (Par. 23, “a non-terrestrial network (NTN) may provide discontinuous radio coverage to a user equipment (UE), for example, due to the orbit of NTN satellites. For example, some NTNs (such as a low Earth orbit (LEO) systems) may have one or more revisit times (which may also be known as the response time or coverage gap) ... The revisit time may be the duration between consecutive viewings (or coverage areas) of a given location for an NTN. As an example, the satellite revisit time (or coverage gap) could be 10 to 40 minutes”, “The UE may be unreachable by the wireless network (such as the core network) during revisit time. During the coverage gap,” note that NTN determines the coverage revisit time, the revisit time is the time that indicates when the satellite would provide coverage and when the coverage would be discontinuous. Thus, the revisit time is equivalent to a parameter associated with discontinuous coverage when a user equipment (UE) is out-of-coverage period).
Shrestha is not relied on for disclosing the claim language in case of determining a UE-out-of-coverage period, receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), a signal including an extended connected time parameter, and maintaining in connected mode for the extended connected time parameter.
In analogous art, 3GPP discloses in case of determining an UE-out-of-coverage period, receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), a signal including an extended connected time parameter, and maintaining in connected mode for the extended connected time parameter (see section 5.31.7.3, “When a UE initiates MO signalling … the AMF may keep the UE in CM-CONNECTED state and the RAN may keep the UE in RRC-CONNECTED state for an Extended Connected Time period”, “The Extended Connected Time values indicates the minimum time the RAN should keep the UE in RRC-CONNECTED state”. Section 5.31.7.4, “the AMF may assign an Active Time value for the UE … and indicates it to the UE”, “UE and AMF shall set a timer corresponding to the Actie time value negotiated”, note that the AMF keeps the UE in an Extended Connected Time period and AMF assigns such Extended connected time period by assigning an Active Time Value. Further, the AMF indicates (by signaling) the active time value to the UE, which is equivalent to transmitting to the UE a signal including an extended connected time parameter. The Extended Connected Time period or the Active Time Value is equivalent to the extended connected time parameter).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Shrestha by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP, for the purpose of predicting the windows of time when the satellite coverage is not available and extending the radio coverage of the terminal during those down times, thus providing continuous coverage at all times. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 7, the combination of Shrestha/3GPP discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the UE-out-of-coverage period comprises a period in which there is a lack of availability of satellite coverage for the UE (Shrestha, Par. 44, “due to the orbit of NTN satellites. For example, some NTNs (such as a low Earth orbit (LEO) systems) may have one or more revisit times (which may also be known as the response time or coverage gap) in certain geographical areas. The revisit time may be the duration between consecutive viewings (or coverage areas) of a given location for an NTN”, note that a coverage gap or revisit time or duration between consecutive viewings (or coverage areas) of a given location for an NTN is the time is the UE-out-of-coverage period in which there is a lack of availability of satellite coverage for the UE).
Referring to claim 9, the combination of Shrestha/3GPP discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the receiving the signal including the extended connected time parameter comprises receiving the signal from a Radio Access Network (RAN) via higher layer signaling (3GPP, section 5.31.7.3, “The AMF is aware of pending or expected MT traffic, the AMF may keep the UE in CM-connected state and the RAN may keep the UE in RRC-Connected state”, “AMF maintains the N1 connection and provides the extended connected time value to the RAN … the RAN should keep the UE in Connected state”, note that the AMF provides the extended time value to the RAN so that the RAN use it and keep the UE in Connected state. With regards to higher layer signaling, examiner notes that in 5G, communication between the AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function) and the RAN (Radio Access Network, e.g., gNB) happens at the higher layers of the protocol stack, specifically in the control plane. Further, the N2 interface is the logical link between the RAN and the AMF, carrying control-plane signaling for tasks such as UE registration, mobility management, connection setup, and NAS message transport).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Shrestha by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP, for the purpose of using most efficient signaling approach between core network nodes in order to keep the terminal connected by extending the radio coverage of the terminal during those down times, thus providing continuous coverage at all times. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 10, the combination of Shrestha/3GPP discloses the method of claim 6, wherein maintaining in connected mode comprises maintaining an N2 connection (3GPP, section 5.31.7.3, “The AMF maintains the N2 connection for at least the Extended Connected Tie and provides the Extended Connected Time value to the RAN. The Extended Connected Time value indicates the minimum time the RAN should keep the UE in RRC Connected state”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Shrestha by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP, for the purpose of using most efficient signaling approach between core network nodes in order to keep the terminal connected by extending the radio coverage of the terminal during those down times, thus providing continuous coverage at all times. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 11, Shrestha discloses an access and mobility management function (AMF) in a satellite communication with discontinuous coverage (FIG. 1, FIG.4, Abstract and Par. 34, 180 and 181, “AMF 192 is generally the control node that processes the signaling between UEs 104 and 5GC 190. Generally, AMF 192 provides QoS flow and session management”, “techniques for resuming communications with a non-terrestrial network in discontinuous coverage”, note that the communications network 400 in figure 4 represents and includes a non-terrestrial network (NTN) entity 140 (which is equivalent to a satellite communication)), the AMF comprising:
a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver (FIG. 1, 12, Par. 181, “AMF 192 may be in communication”, Par. 34, 180 and 181, “AMF 192 is generally the control node that processes the signaling between UEs 104 and 5GC 190. Generally, AMF 192 provides QoS flow and session management”, “techniques for resuming communications with a non-terrestrial network in discontinuous coverage”. Note that the Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) is a control-plane network function that is a software-based control plane entity that processes and routes signaling messages between the User Equipment (UE), the 5G Access Network (gNB), and other core functions, thus, it includes a processor and a transceiver) and configured to:
identify one or more parameters associated with discontinuous coverage (Par. 100, 23, “identify that the UE is in the coverage area of an NTN with discontinuous coverage, and the network entity may be aware of the coverage gap pattern for the NTN (e.g., when and where a coverage gap will occur)”. Note that NTN determines the coverage revisit time, the revisit time is the time that indicates when the satellite would provide coverage and when the coverage would be discontinuous. Thus, the revisit time is equivalent to a parameter associated with discontinuous coverage);
determine, based on the one or more parameters associated with dis- continuous coverage, a user equipment (UE) out-of-coverage period (Par. 23, “a non-terrestrial network (NTN) may provide discontinuous radio coverage to a user equipment (UE), for example, due to the orbit of NTN satellites. For example, some NTNs (such as a low Earth orbit (LEO) systems) may have one or more revisit times (which may also be known as the response time or coverage gap) ... The revisit time may be the duration between consecutive viewings (or coverage areas) of a given location for an NTN. As an example, the satellite revisit time (or coverage gap) could be 10 to 40 minutes”, “The UE may be unreachable by the wireless network (such as the core network) during revisit time. During the coverage gap,” note that NTN determines the coverage revisit time, the revisit time is the time that indicates when the satellite would provide coverage and when the coverage would be discontinuous. Thus, the revisit time is equivalent to a parameter associated with discontinuous coverage when a user equipment (UE) is out-of-coverage period).
Shrestha is not relied on for disclosing the claim language: in case of determining the UE-out-of-coverage period, transmitting to the UE a signal including an extended connected time parameter, wherein the UE is maintained in a connected mode for the extended connected time parameter.
In analogous art, 3GPP discloses in case of determining the UE-out-of-coverage period, transmitting to the UE a signal including an extended connected time parameter, wherein the UE is maintained in a connected mode for the extended connected time parameter (see section 5.31.7.3, “When a UE initiates MO signaling … the AMF may keep the UE in CM-CONNECTED state and the RAN may keep the UE in RRC-CONNECTED state for an Extended Connected Time period”, “The Extended Connected Time values indicates the minimum time the RAN should keep the UE in RRC-CONNECTED state”. Section 5.31.7.4, “the AMF may assign an Active Time value for the UE … and indicates it to the UE”, “UE and AMF shall set a timer corresponding to the Actie time value negotiated”, note that the AMF keeps the UE in an Extended Connected Time period and AMF assigns such Extended connected time period by assigning an Active Time Value. Further, the AMF indicates (by signaling) the active time value to the UE, which is equivalent to transmitting to the UE a signal including an extended connected time parameter. The Extended Connected Time period or the Active Time Value is equivalent to the extended connected time parameter).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Shrestha by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP, for the purpose of predicting the windows of time when the satellite coverage is not available and extending the radio coverage of the terminal during those down times, thus providing continuous coverage at all times. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 12, the combination of Shrestha/3GPP discloses the AMF of claim 11, wherein the UE-out-of-coverage period comprises a period in which there is a lack of availability of satellite coverage for the UE (Shrestha, Par. 44, “due to the orbit of NTN satellites. For example, some NTNs (such as a low Earth orbit (LEO) systems) may have one or more revisit times (which may also be known as the response time or coverage gap) in certain geographical areas. The revisit time may be the duration between consecutive viewings (or coverage areas) of a given location for an NTN”, note that a coverage gap or revisit time or duration between consecutive viewings (or coverage areas) of a given location for an NTN is the time is the UE-out-of-coverage period in which there is a lack of availability of satellite coverage for the UE).
Referring to claim 14, the combination of Shrestha/3GPP discloses the AMF of claim 11, further comprising: providing the extended connected time parameter to a Radio Access Network (RAN) via higher layer signaling (3GPP, section 5.31.7.3, “The AMF is aware of pending or expected MT traffic, the AMF may keep the UE in CM-connected state and the RAN may keep the UE in RRC-Connected state”, “AMF maintains the N1 connection and provides the extended connected time value to the RAN … the RAN should keep the UE in Connected state”, note that the AMF provides the extended time value to the RAN so that the RAN use it and keep the UE in Connected state. With regards to higher layer signaling, examiner notes that in 5G, communication between the AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function) and the RAN (Radio Access Network, e.g., gNB) happens at the higher layers of the protocol stack, specifically in the control plane. Further, the N2 interface is the logical link between the RAN and the AMF, carrying control-plane signaling for tasks such as UE registration, mobility management, connection setup, and NAS message transport).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Shrestha by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP, for the purpose of using most efficient signaling approach between core network nodes in order to keep the terminal connected by extending the radio coverage of the terminal during those down times, thus providing continuous coverage at all times. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 15, Shrestha discloses a user equipment (UE) in a satellite communication with discontinuous coverage (FIG. 2, 8, 9 and Par. 23, “non-terrestrial network (NTN) may provide discontinuous radio coverage to a user equipment (UE)”), the UE comprising:
a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver (FIG. 2 and 8-9 and Par. 190, 188, “processor 264”, “receive”, “transceivers 254a-254r,”), wherein one or more parameters associated with discontinuous coverage are identified (Par. 100, 23, “identify that the UE is in the coverage area of an NTN with discontinuous coverage, and the network entity may be aware of the coverage gap pattern for the NTN (e.g., when and where a coverage gap will occur)”. Note that NTN determines the coverage revisit time, the revisit time is the time that indicates when the satellite would provide coverage and when the coverage would be discontinuous. Thus, the revisit time is equivalent to a parameter associated with discontinuous coverage), and wherein based on the one or more parameters associated with discontinuous coverage, the UE-out-of-coverage period is determined (Par. 23, “a non-terrestrial network (NTN) may provide discontinuous radio coverage to a user equipment (UE), for example, due to the orbit of NTN satellites. For example, some NTNs (such as a low Earth orbit (LEO) systems) may have one or more revisit times (which may also be known as the response time or coverage gap) ... The revisit time may be the duration between consecutive viewings (or coverage areas) of a given location for an NTN. As an example, the satellite revisit time (or coverage gap) could be 10 to 40 minutes”, “The UE may be unreachable by the wireless network (such as the core network) during revisit time. During the coverage gap,” note that NTN determines the coverage revisit time, the revisit time is the time that indicates when the satellite would provide coverage and when the coverage would be discontinuous. Thus, the revisit time is equivalent to a parameter associated with discontinuous coverage when a user equipment (UE) is out-of-coverage period).
Shrestha is not relied on for disclosing the claim language: in case of determining an UE-out-of-coverage period, receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), a signal including an extended connected time parameter, and maintaining in connected mode for the extended connected time parameter.
In analogous art, 3GPP discloses in case of determining an UE-out-of-coverage period, receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), a signal including an extended connected time parameter, and maintaining in connected mode for the extended connected time parameter (see section 5.31.7.3, “When a UE initiates MO signalling … the AMF may keep the UE in CM-CONNECTED state and the RAN may keep the UE in RRC-CONNECTED state for an Extended Connected Time period”, “The Extended Connected Time values indicates the minimum time the RAN should keep the UE in RRC-CONNECTED state”. Section 5.31.7.4, “the AMF may assign an Active Time value for the UE … and indicates it to the UE”, “UE and AMF shall set a timer corresponding to the Actie time value negotiated”, note that the AMF keeps the UE in an Extended Connected Time period and AMF assigns such Extended connected time period by assigning an Active Time Value. Further, the AMF indicates (by signaling) the active time value to the UE, which is equivalent to transmitting to the UE a signal including an extended connected time parameter. The Extended Connected Time period or the Active Time Value is equivalent to the extended connected time parameter).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Shrestha by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP, for the purpose of predicting the windows of time when the satellite coverage is not available and extending the radio coverage of the terminal during those down times, thus providing continuous coverage at all times. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 3, 8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha (US 2023/0043459) in view of 3GPP TS 23.501 V17.4.0 (IDS submitted on 09/24/2024, hereinafter 3GPP) and further in view of Qualcomm (NAS Handling of Discontinuous Coverage – 3GPP TSG-CT WG1 Meeting #133e-bis – IDS document submitted 09/24/2024, hereinafter Qualcomm)
Referring to claim 3, the combination of Shrestha/3GPP discloses the method of claim 1.
The above combination is not relied on for disclosing wherein the one or more parameters associated with discontinuous coverage includes at least one of: a satellite fly-over time or a remaining time before the satellite flyover a time commences.
In an analogous art, Qualcomm discloses one or more parameters associated with discontinuous coverage includes at least one of: a satellite fly-over time or a remaining time before the satellite flyover a time commences (Section 2, “the flyover times and coverage gap durations”, “Flyover time of 2 minutes with the coverage gap duration of 13 hours can be assumed”, “average flyover time of satellite can be around 2 minutes”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of Qualcomm so that the flyover time of the satellite is used for calculating a lack of availability of satellite coverage for the UE, and thus using when the satellite would not be in view for purpose of providing continuous coverage when the satellite is not in view. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Dependent claims 8 and 13 recite features analogous to the feature of dependent claim 3, thus, they are rejected for the same reason as set forth above.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FRED A CASCA whose telephone number is (571)272-7918. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 9 to 5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/FRED A CASCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644