DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed on 10/16/2025. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 12-13, 15, 17, 19, 21-24, 27, 28, 30-31, 36-39 amended. Claim 29 cancelled. Claims 1-28 and 30-39 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 16-28, 30-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenther US Publication No. 20140272807 cited in previous action in view of PAUTLER WO 2017145122 A1.
Re Claim 1, Guenther (abstract; figures 1-11) an apparatus, comprising:
a targeting aid system (10) to be secured to a firearm (figure 1), at least in part, wherein the firearm is to be operated by a user, and wherein the targeting aid system (10) comprises:
a plurality of sensors, comprises an image sensor (24) (P28, 32, 40) and a movement sensor (P31) and at least one processor (30) to :
obtain one or more signals or signal packets from at least one of the plurality of sensors (24, P32) ;
determine at least a direction and speed of a target in flight based at least in part on the one or more signals or signal packets obtained from the at least one of the plurality of sensors (P32, P35, P40);
determine at least one feedback parameter based at least in part on at least one user action and based at least in part on the direction and speed of the target in flight ( P28, P32, P 34, P35, P40);
and initiate at least one feedback process to provide at least haptic, audible and/or visual feedback to the user indicative of at least one adjustment with resect to reorientation of the firearm at least in part in accordance with the at least one feedback parameter (P35, P40, P41)
Guenther fails to specifically discloses provide at least haptic, audible and/or visual feedback to the user indicative of at least one adjustment with respect to reorientation of the firearm at least in part in real- time or near real-time while the user is tracking the target in flight.
However Pautler discloses providing at least haptic, audible and/or visual feedback to the user indicative of at least one adjustment with respect to reorientation of the firearm at least in part in real- time or near real-time while the user is tracking the target in flight (P21, P22).
Given the teachings of Pautler it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Guenther with providing at least haptic, audible and/or visual feedback to the user indicative of at least one adjustment with respect to reorientation of the firearm at least in part in real- time or near real-time while the user is tracking the target in flight.
Doing so would provide feedback to the shooter in real-time or near real-time on how to improve the shot (P21).
Re Claim 2, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Guenther discloses wherein the firearm comprises a barrel and wherein the targeting aid system is to be secured to the barrel (Figs. 1-5).
Re Claim 3, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Guenther discloses wherein the firearm further comprises a trigger mechanism , and wherein the at least one user one user actions includes a firearm-handling action or an aiming action, or any combination thereof (P34, P35).
Re Claim 4, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 2, and Guenther discloses wherein the movement sensor comprises an inertial motion unit (P34-35, 40).
Re Claim 5, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 4 and Guenther discloses when dependent on claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is to determine the at least one feedback parameter based at least in part on a movement of the barrel in accordance with one or more signals or signal packets generated by the inertial motion unit (P34-35, 40).
Re Claim 6, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Pautler discloses wherein the at least one processor is to determine the direction and speed of the target in flight based at least in part on one or more signals or signal packets obtained from the image sensor (P24-P25, P52-55, P58-P60, P46).
Re Claim 7, Guenther and Pautler discloses he apparatus of claim 6, and Pautler discloses wherein the at least one processor is to determine the direction and speed of the target at least in part via analysis of image content representative of the target or one or more background features, or any combination thereof ((P24-P28, P52-55, P58-P60, P46).
Re Claim 8, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 7, and Pautler discloses wherein the at least one processor is to determine the direction and speed of the target in flight at least in part via analysis of pixel content of two or more consecutive images of the image content (P24-P28, P52-55, P58-P60, P46).
Re Claim 9, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Pautler discloses wherein the at least one processor is to determine the at least one feedback parameter based at least in part on the direction and speed of the target in flight and based at least in part on one or more parameters representative of one or more characteristics of at least one projectile or at least one projectile cloud to be discharged from the firearm (P21-P28, P52-55, P58-P60, P46).
Re Claim 10, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 9, and Pautler discloses wherein the targeting aid system further comprises a user interface and wherein the one or more parameters representative of the one or more characteristics of the at least one projectile or the at least one projectile cloud is to be obtained via the user interface (P21-P28, P52-55, P58-P60, P46).
Re Claim 11, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 9 , and Pautler discloses wherein the one of more parameters representative of the one or more characteristics of the at least one projectile or the at least one projectile cloud includes one or more parameters representative of ammunition type, expected projectile speed, expected drop or expected deviation from a straight-line trajectory, or any combination thereof (P6, P8-10, P30-32, P36-P37).
Re Claim 12, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Guenther wherein the at least one feedback process further indicates in real-time or near real-time, or any combination thereof, to the user a deviation of the user activity action relative to the direction and speed of the target (paragraph 35, 40).
Re Claim 13, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Guenther wherein the plurality of sensors includes a GPS/GNSS sensor, an altimeter, a barometer, a thermometer or a pulsimeter, or any combination thereof (P8, P32, P40).
Re Claim 16, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Guenther discloses wherein the targeting aid system further includes at least one memory device, wherein the at least one processor is to initiate storage of at least sensor content or content representative of the at least one user action, or any combination thereof, in the at least one memory device (P28, 34, 37).
Re Claim 17, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 16, and Guenther discloses wherein the targeting aid system further includes a communication interface, wherein the at least one processor is to initiate communication of one or more signal packets representative, at least in part, of the sensor content between the targeting aid system and an external computing system (P36-38).
Re Claim 18, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 17, and Guenther discloses wherein the external computing system comprises a cellular telephone or a tablet device (P40).
Re Claim 19, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Guenther discloses wherein the at least one feedback process includes an image display to provide visual feedback to the user based, at least in part, on the at least one user action relative to the direction and speed of the targe (P40).
Re Claim 20, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 19, and Guenther discloses wherein the image display comprises a cellular telephone or a tablet device (P40).
Re Claim 21, Guenther and Pautler discloses apparatus of claim 1, comprising:
Wherein movement sensor (26), wherein the movement sensor (26) is to detect acceleration, angular speed or azimuth position, or any combination thereof, of the firearm (P23), and wherein the apparatus further comprises a communication interface to transmit at least one sensor reading to an external computing system, wherein the communication interface is further to obtain at least a second feedback parameter from the external computing system, wherein the at least the second feedback parameter is based at least in part on the at least one sensor reading and based at least in part on the at least one user action (P23, P33, P60)
Re Claim 22, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 21, and Pautler discloses wherein the reorientation of the firearm comprises reorientation of the firearm with respect to a pitch axis, a yaw axis, and/or a roll axis (P24, P36).
Re Claim 23, Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 21, and Pautler discloses wherein the at least the second feedback parameter is further to be based at least in part on one or more parameters representative of one or more characteristics of at least one projectile to be discharged from the firearm (P8-10, P28-P30).
Re Claim 24, Guenther discloses a method, comprising at a targeting aid system (10)secured to a firearm, wherein the firearm is operated by a user(Abstract; Figs. 1-11):
obtaining one or more signals or signal packets from at least one of a plurality sensor of the targeting aid system (P32, P35); wherein the plurality of sensors comprises an image sensor and a movement sensor;
determining, via at least one processor (30) of the targeting aid system (10) , a direction and speed of a target in flight based at least in part on the one or more signals or signal packets obtained from the at least one of the plurality of sensor (P32, P35, P40););
determining at least one feedback parameter based at least in part on at least one user action relative to the direction and speed of the target (P35) in flight (P32, P35, P40); and
providing haptic, audible and/or visual feedback to the user indicative of at least one adjustment with respect to reorientation of the fire arm at least in part in accordance with the at least one feedback parameter (P35, P40, P41).
Guenther fails to specifically discloses provide at least haptic, audible and/or visual feedback to the user indicative of at least one adjustment with respect to reorientation of the firearm at least in part in real- time or near real-time while the user is tracking the target in flight.
However Pautler discloses providing at least haptic, audible and/or visual feedback to the user indicative of at least one adjustment with respect to reorientation of the firearm at least in part in real- time or near real-time while the user is tracking the target in flight (P21, P22).
Given the teachings of Pautler it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Guenther with providing at least haptic, audible and/or visual feedback to the user indicative of at least one adjustment with respect to reorientation of the firearm at least in part in real- time or near real-time while the user is tracking the target in flight.
Doing so would provide feedback to the shooter in real-time or near real-time on how to improve the shot (P21).
Re Claim 25, Guenther and Pautler discloses the method of claim 24, and Guenther discloses wherein the firearm comprises a barrel and wherein the targeting aid system is secured to the barrel (Figs. 1-5).
Re Claim 26, Guenther and Pautler discloses the method of claim 25, and Guenther discloses wherein the firearm further comprises a trigger mechanism, and wherein the at least one user action includes movement of the barrel or activating the trigger mechanism, or any combination thereof (Abstract).
Re Claim 27, Guenther and Pautler discloses the method of claim 25, and Guenther discloses wherein the movement sensor includes an inertial motion unit (P34-35, P40).
Re Claim 28, Guenther and Pautler discloses the method of claim 27, and Guenther discloses wherein the determining the at least one feedback parameter is based at least in part on movement of the barrel in accordance with one or more signals or signal packets generated by the inertial motion unit (P34-35, 40).
Re Claim 30, Guenther and Pautler discloses the method of claim 24, and Pautler discloses wherein the determining the direction and speed of the target in flight is based at least in part on one or more signals or signal packets obtained from the image sensor (P24-P25, P52-55, P58-P60, P46).
Re Claim 31, Guenther and Pautler discloses the method of claim 30, and Pautler discloses wherein the determining the direction and speed of the target in flight comprises analysis of image content representative of the target in flight or one or more background features, or a combination thereof (P24-P25, P52-55, P58-P60, P46).
Re Claim 32, Guenther and Pautler discloses the method of claim 24, and Pautler discloses wherein the determining the at least one feedback parameter is further based at least in part on one or more parameters representative of one or more characteristics of at least one projectile or at least one projectile cloud to be discharged from the firearm((P21-P28, P52-55, P58-P60, P46). ).
Re Claim 33, Guenther and Pautler discloses the method of claim 32, and Pautler discloses wherein the targeting aid system further comprises a user interface (P23, P26, P34).
Re Claim 34, Guenther and Pautler discloses the method of claim 33, and Pautler discloses further comprising obtaining the one or more parameters representative of the one or more characteristics of the at least one projectile or the at least one projectile cloud via the user interface (P23, P26, P34).
Re Claim 35, Guenther and Pautler discloses the method of claim 34, and Pautler discloses wherein the one of more parameters representative of the one or more characteristics of the at least one projectile or the at least one projectile cloud includes one or more parameters representative of ammunition type, expected projectile speed, expected drop or expected deviation from a straight-line trajectory, or any combination thereof (P6, P8-10, P30-32, P36-P37).
Re Claim 36, Guenther and Pautler discloses the method of claim 24, and Pautler discloses wherein the providing haptic, audible and/or visual feedback to the user includes providing feedback indicative of a deviation of the user activity action relative to the direction and speed of the target in real-time or near real-time, or any combination thereof (P21, P22).
Re Claim 37, Guenther and Pautler discloses the method of claim 24, and Guenther discloses comprising storing the one or more signals or signal packets obtained from the at least one of the plurality of sensor in at least one memory of the targeting aid system (P28, 34, 37).
Re Claim 38, Guenther and Pautler discloses the method of claim 24, and Guenther discloses further including transmitting, via a communication interface of the targeting aid system, one or more signal packets representative, at least in part, of the one or more signals or signal packets obtained from the at least one of the plurality of to an external computing system (P36-38).
Re Claim 39, Guenther and Pautler discloses the method of claim 24, and Guenther discloses wherein the providing haptic, audible and/or visual feedback to the user includes providing visual feedback via an image display of the targeting aid system based at least in part on the at least one user action relative to the direction and speed of the target (P40).
Claim(s) 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenther US Publication No. 20140272807 cited in previous action in view of PAUTLER WO 2017145122 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ehrlich et al. US Publication No. 2025/0012547 which claims foreign priority to Application IL286420 filed 9/14/21 cited in previous action.
Re Claims 14 and 15 , Guenther and Pautler discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Guenther and Pautler fails to disclose wherein the processor is to determine the at least one feedback parameter further based at least in part on wind speed, air pressure, humidity or air temperature, or any combination thereof.
Ehrlich discloses wherein the processor is to determine the at least one feedback parameter further based at least in part on wind speed, air pressure, humidity or air temperature, or any combination thereof (P15, 53, P88).
Ehrlich further discloses wherein one or more parameters specifying wind speed, air pressure, humidity or air temperature, or any combination thereof, is to be obtained via the plurality of sensors, via a user interface or via a wireless communication interface, or any combination thereof (P53, P15, P88).
Given the teachings of Ehrlich it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Guenther and Pautler with wherein the processor is to determine the at least one feedback parameter further based at least in part on wind speed, air pressure, humidity or air temperature, or any combination thereof.
As suggested by Ehrlich doing so would provide complete picture of feedback instructions that address other matters such as wing on how to compensate aiming of the firearm based on analysis of a plurality of sensor data collected during operation of the firearm (P88).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 21, 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant amended the claims with new limitations which necessitated new search and consideration. Therefore this action is made final.
Conclusion
The following reference is cited but not relied upon:
Means et al. discloses enable/disable audible or other real-time coaching operation (e.g., through audible, haptic or other feedback), control and specify impact of safety infractions on the marksmanship scorecard of one or more (or all participating) shooters, etc.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SONJI N. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/SONJI N JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876