DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected because the blocks shown in figs.1-3 needs to be labeled. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, (see the claims 2 and 4 and relative fig.4), fails to show a comparator configured to compare the determined speed with the speed measured by the sensor, and a module for reporting a measurement anomaly as a function of the result of the comparison relative to a detection threshold must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Appropriate correction is required.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase, (see specification, par. [0033], see relative claims 1-6 and relative fig.4) “A monitoring of the anomaly in the measurement of the position sensor 6 is then carried out. For this, in a step 430, the consistency of the position or speed information with the current information is controlled, and it is determined whether there is an anomaly or not, in a step 435, between said information.” is not clear as between which information? Examiner also not clear as to what applicant’s means to convey regarding consistency of the position or speed with the current information for proper understanding of the invention?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase, (see specification, par. [0033], see relative claims 1-6 and relative fig.4) “A monitoring of the anomaly in the measurement of the position sensor 6 is then carried out. For this, in a step 430, the consistency of the position or speed information with the current information is controlled, and it is determined whether there is an anomaly or not, in a step 435, between said information.” is not clear as what is applicant’s means to convey regarding consistency of the position or speed with the current information for proper understanding of the invention?
As to claim 1, the phrase, “the monitoring of an anomaly in the measurement of the position of the electric motor including a control of the consistency of the position or speed information with the current information” is therefore not clear as what is applicant’s means to convey regarding consistency of the position or speed with the current information for proper understanding of the invention?
As to claim 3, the phrase “wherein the electrical control block further comprises
- a means for detecting an anomaly in the measurement of the position sensor via a control of the consistency of the position or speed information with the current information” is therefore not clear? Appropriate correction and clarifications are required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Perisic et al. (Pat.No.: US 8,664,901 B2 and Perisic hereinafter).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) A method for controlling a synchronous electric motor, comprising a generation of a mechanical torque reference from a mechanical setpoint, a measurement of the position of the electric motor and a determination of the speed of the electric motor from the position measurement, a measurement of the current generated by the electric motor, a generation of the voltage references from the mechanical torque reference, and a generation of the control voltages from the reference voltages,
wherein it further comprises a monitoring of an anomaly in the measurement of the position of the electric motor, an adaptation of the electrical control gains as a function of the detection or non-detection of an anomaly in the measurement of the position of the electric motor, and in that the voltage references depend on the values of the electrical control gains, the monitoring of an anomaly in the measurement of the position of the electric motor including a control of the consistency of the position or speed information with the current information.
(As to claim 1, Perisic teaches (figs.1-5, (col.3, lines 48-54), (col.5, lines 65-67), (col.6, lines 1-15), (col.7, lines 22-33, & lines 57-67)) a method for controlling a synchronous electric motor 120, comprising a generation of a mechanical torque reference Te* from a mechanical setpoint ([Wr 138/158, VDC 139] via [Torque to current mapping module 140] of a drive system 100, see fig.1, (col.8, lines 37-47), & (col.9, lines 4-35)), a measurement of the position [121] of the electric motor 120 and a determination of the speed [Wr 138] of the electric motor 120 from the position measurement [121] (see figs.1-2, (col.8, lines 57-62)), a measurement of the current [Ia 122, Ib 123, Ic 124] generated by the electric motor 120 (see fig.1, (col.9, lines 35-39), (col.11, lines 54-61)), a generation of the [voltage commands Vd*, Vq*] (via 170) from the mechanical torque command Te* (see fig.1, (col.9, lines17-35) & (col.10, lines 5-21)), and a generation of the control voltages V*as, V*bs, V*cs from the command voltages [V*d, Vq*] or [V*α, V*β]),
wherein it further comprises a monitoring of an anomaly/fault (via [Fault Detection and confirmation module 150] (see figs.1-2, (col.13, lines 23-26), (col.14, lines 17-45)) in the measurement of the position 121 of the electric motor 120, an adaptation of the electrical control gains [K] (gains K computed via speed estimator module 156, see fig.1, (col.4, lines 10-65), col.5, lines 1-58)) as a function of the detection of an anomaly [sensor fault] (via fault detection module 150, see fig.1, (col.14, lines 17-45)) in the measurement of the position 121 of the electric motor 120, and in that the voltage commands Vd*, Vq* depend on the values of the currents [Iα, Iβ], Id, Iq] (see fig.1) wherein electrical control gains [K(k),K2] are applied (gains K computed via speed estimator module 156, see fig.1, (col.4, lines 10-65), (col.5, lines 1-58), (col.19, lines 1-67) & (col.20, lines 1-45)), the monitoring of an anomaly [sensor fault] (via fault detection module 150], fig.1) in the measurement of the position 121 of the electric motor 121 including a control of the consistency of the position 121 or speed information 138
(Perisic teaches speed or position sensor fault or fail errors provide incorrect/missing measurements, see (col.2, lines 25-41)) with the current information [currents Ia 122, Ib 123, Ic 124] are sensed and transformed currents [Iα, Iβ] (applied see fig.1) to estimate speed 158 and position 162 (via 156, 160, fig.1) due to sensor fault detection (via fault detection module 150, see fig.1, (col.14, lines 17-57), (col.15, lines 55-67) and (col.16, lines 1-17)).
As to claim 3, (Currently Amended) An electrical control system for a synchronous electric motor comprising a mechanical control block configured to receive a mechanical setpoint and deliver a mechanical torque reference, an electrical control block configured to deliver a voltage reference as a function of the torque reference delivered by the mechanical control block, a power block configured to deliver a control voltage to the electric motor as a function of the voltage reference delivered by the electrical control block, a position sensor of the rotor of the electric motor that said electrical control system controls, and means for measuring the current across the electric motor controlled by said electrical control system,
wherein the electrical control block further comprises:
- a means for detecting an anomaly in the measurement of the position sensor via a control of the consistency of the position or speed information with the current information,
- a module for adapting the electrical control gains configured to adapt the gains as a function of the detection or non-detection of an anomaly in the measurement of the position of the electric motor,
- a control module configured to deliver voltage references from the mechanical torque reference, the current measured across the electric motor, and the electrical control gains delivered by the adaptation module.
(As to claim 3, Perisic teaches (figs.1-5, (col.3, lines 48-54), (col.5, lines 65-67), (col.6, lines 1-15), (col.7, lines 22-33, & lines 57-67)) an electrical control system 100 (fig.1) for a synchronous electric motor 120 comprising a mechanical control block ([Torque to current mapping module 140] (see fig.1 of a drive system 100, see fig.1, (col.8, lines 37-47), & (col.9, lines 4-35)) configured to receive a mechanical setpoint [Wr 138/158, VDC 139] and deliver a mechanical torque reference Te*, an electrical control block [current regulator 170] configured to deliver a voltage reference [voltage commands Vd*, Vq*] as a function of the torque reference Te* delivered by the mechanical control block ([Torque to current mapping module 140] (see fig.1, (col.9, lines17-35) & (col.10, lines 5-21)), a power block [voltage transform block 106] configured to deliver a control voltage [V*as, V*bs, V*cs] to the electric motor as a function of the voltage reference [voltage commands Vd*, Vq*] delivered by the electrical control block [current regulator 170], a position sensor 135 (fig.2, (col.8, lines 53-67) of the rotor of the electric motor 120 that said electrical control system 100 (via controller 200, figs.1-2) controls, and means 127 (see fig.1) for measuring the current [Ia 122, Ib 123, Ic 124] across the electric motor 120 controlled by said electrical control system 100 (see fig.1, (col.9, lines 35-39), (col.11, lines 54-61)),
wherein the electrical control block (control system 100 (controller 200), see fig.1) further comprises:
- a means for detecting an anomaly [sensor faults] (via [Fault Detection and confirmation module 150] (see figs.1-2, (col.13, lines 23-26), (col.14, lines 17-45)) in the measurement of the position 121 (via position sensor 135, fig.2) via a control of the consistency of the position 121 or speed information Wr 138 with the current information [currents Ia 122, Ib 123, Ic 124]
(Perisic teaches speed or position sensor fault or fail errors provide incorrect/missing measurements, see (col.2, lines 25-41)) with the current information [currents Ia 122, Ib 123, Ic 124] are sensed and transformed currents [Iα, Iβ] (applied see fig.1) to estimate speed 158 and position 162 (via 156, 160, fig.1) due to sensor fault detection (via fault detection module 150, see fig.1, (col.14, lines 17-57), (col.15, lines 55-67) and (col.16, lines 1-17)),
- a module [speed estimator module 156] for adapting the electrical control gains [K] configured to adapt the gains [K(k),K2] (Perisic teaches gains K computed via speed estimator module 156, see fig.1, (col.4, lines 10-65), col.5, lines 1-58)) as a function of the detection of an anomaly [sensor fault] (via fault detection module 150, see figs.1-2, (col.13, lines 23-26), (col.14, lines 17-45), (col.19, lines 1-67) & (col.20, lines 1-45)) in the measurement of the position 121 of the electric motor 120,
- a control module [current regulator 170] configured to deliver voltage references [voltage commands V*d, V*q] from the mechanical torque reference T*e, the current [Ia 122, Ib 123, Ic 124] (see fig.1, (col.9, lines 35-39), (col.11, lines 54-61)),) measured across the electric motor 120, and the electrical control gains [K, K2] delivered by the adaptation module [speed estimator module 156] (see fig.1, (col.4, lines 10-65), (col.5, lines 1-58), (col.19, lines 1-67) & (col.20, lines 1-45)).
As to claim 5, (Currently Amended) The electrical control system according to claim 3, wherein the power control block further comprises a power converter.
(As to claim 5, Perisic teaches (figs.1-5, (col.3, lines 48-54), (col.5, lines 65-67), (col.6, lines 1-15), (col.7, lines 22-33, & lines 57-67)) an electrical control system 100 (fig.1), wherein the power control block [voltage transform block 106] further comprises a power converter [inverter 110]).
As to claim 6 (Currently Amended) An electrical system comprising a synchronous electric motor coupled to a load, and an electrical control system according to claim 3, coupled to the synchronous electric motor.
(As to claim 6, Perisic teaches (figs.1-5, (col.3, lines 48-54), (col.5, lines 65-67), (col.6, lines 1-15), (col.7, lines 22-33, & lines 57-67)) an electrical drive system 100 (fig.1) comprising a synchronous electric motor 120 coupled to a load (drive train/wheels of Vehicles [HEVs], (see (col.1, lines 14-41), (col.8, lines 37-47), and an electrical control system (controller 200 of drive system 100), figs.1-2) according to claim 3, coupled to the synchronous electric motor 120).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2 and 4 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, the prior art of record(s) (closest prior art Perisic et al., (Pat.No.: US 8,664,901 B2) fails to teach a comparison of the estimated speed with the measured speed, and a reporting of a measurement anomaly as a function of the result of the comparison relative to a detection threshold and in relative to the rest of the limitations of claim 2.
As to claim 4, the prior art of record(s) (closest prior art Perisic et al., (Pat.No.: US 8,664,901 B2) fails to teach a comparator configured to compare the determined speed with the speed measured by the sensor, and a module for reporting a measurement anomaly as a function of the result of the comparison relative to a detection threshold and in relative to the rest of the limitations of claim 4.
However, formal requirements outstanding (see objection to drawings and specification and 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection of claims 1-6 needs to be corrected and clarified) in response to this office action.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: THYAGARAJAN (US Pub. No.: US 2021/0165011 A1) teaches SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR DETECTING POSITION SENSOR FAULTS) (figs.1-10, abstract, para. [0037], and Figs.2, 8, para. [0175]-[0176] teaches sensor failed S807 when speed error > Threshold S805).
Applicant’s arguments
Applicant’s arguments dated 09/04/2024 relating to document US 2013/207479 A1 (D1) and US 7,002,318 B1 (D2) are moot based on the FAOM Non-Final rejection of claims 1-6 relating to Perisic et al., Patent No.: US 8,664, 901 B2.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2837