1-9DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 24 September 2024.
Claims 1-9 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 24 September 2024, 15 December 2025, and 11 February 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “communication unit” and “control unit” in claims 1, 5 and 6. The specification discloses hardware structures of the base station 10 and the terminal 20. Each of the above-described base station 10 and the terminal 20 may be physically a computer device including a processor 1001, a storage device 1002, an auxiliary storage device 1003, a communication device 1004, an input device 1005, an output device 1006, a bus 1007, etc., Paragraph 98.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda et al. (US Publication 2021/0314993).
With respect to claims 1 and 6, Takeda teaches A terminal (terminal, figure 2) comprising:
a communication unit configured to perform an uplink or downlink communication by using a frequency band in which aggregation is performed by carrier aggregation; (A UE 115 may be configured with multiple downlink component carriers and one or more uplink component carriers according to a carrier aggregation configuration, Paragraph 49) and
a control unit configured to, in a case where scheduling is performed in the aggregation- performed frequency band according to a unit including a plurality of component carriers, expect that a search space for monitoring a downlink control signal is to be configured in the plurality of component carriers. (a component carrier may be configured with a single DCI format or PDCCH that may simultaneously schedule data transmissions on multiple component carriers, Paragraph 38)
With respect to claims 3 and 7, Takeda teaches wherein the control unit expects that a configuration of the search space in the plurality of component carriers is to be configured by CORESET. (The configuration of component carriers, and corresponding search spaces may be indicated to a UE. A CORESET and/or search space configuration, including the configuration of one or more component carriers 420, and multi-component carrier scheduling, may be indicated to the UE, Paragraph 95)
With respect to claims 4, 8 and 9, Takeda teaches wherein the control unit expects that there is no limit to a type of or aggregation level of the search space in the plurality of component carriers. (For scheduling component carrier 420-b (e.g., PCell), two search spaces 425 may be configured. The first search space 425 may be a common search space with a search space ID of zero (e.g., search space ID #0) for example. The DCI format associated with the first search space 425 may not include a CIF (e.g., DCI 0_0/1_0 (no CIF)). For component carrier 420-b, a UE specific search space may be configured that may have a search space ID of one (e.g., search space ID #1). The DCI format associated with this second search space 425 may or may not include CIFs (e.g., DCI 0_0/1_0 (no CIF), 0_1/1_1 (with CIF), and/or 0_2/1_2 (with CIF)). Component carrier 420-a may be configured with a search space 425 that may be given a search space ID of one (e.g., search space ID #1) so this search space 425 of component carrier 420-a may be linked with the search space 425 of component carrier 420-b that was given a search space ID of one, Paragraph 96)
With respect to claim 5, Takeda teaches A base station (base station, figure 2) comprising:
a communication unit configured to perform a communication with a terminal by using a frequency band in which aggregation is performed by carrier aggregation; (A UE 115 may be configured with multiple downlink component carriers and one or more uplink component carriers according to a carrier aggregation configuration, Paragraph 49) and
a control unit configured to, in a case where scheduling is performed in the aggregation- performed frequency band according to a unit including a plurality of component carriers, configure a search space for monitoring a downlink control signal in the plurality of component carriers (a component carrier may be configured with a single DCI format or PDCCH that may simultaneously schedule data transmissions on multiple component carriers, Paragraph 38)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US Publication 2021/0314993) in view of Lee et al. (US Publication 2024/0236988).
With respect to claim 2, Takeda doesn’t teach wherein the control unit expects that an upper limit of a number of search spaces in the plurality of component carriers is to be configured.
Lee teaches wherein the control unit expects that an upper limit of a number of search spaces in the plurality of component carriers is to be configured. (The UE may be configured with a maximum of 10 search space (SS) sets per BWP. The UE may monitor PDCCH candidates included in SS sets, paragraph 146)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Takeda with the control unit expects that an upper limit of a number of search spaces in the plurality of component carriers is to be configured as taught by Lee. The motivation for combining Takeda and Lee is to be able to reducing unnecessary power consumption of the UE through the PDCCH monitoring adaptation operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takeda et al. (US Publication 2023/0083414) discloses receive control signaling indicating a joint feedback codebook configuration for jointly reporting feedback for a first CC, a second CC, and a virtual CC that may be mapped to a third CC and a fourth CC. The UE may then receive downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a first downlink transmission via the first CC and a second downlink transmission on the second CC, or both downlink transmissions may be scheduled via the virtual CC. The UE may transmit a joint feedback message for the first CC, the second CC, and the virtual CC based on the joint codebook configuration.
Frenne et al. (US publication 2022/0256573) discloses a wireless device for enabling transmission feedback includes: receiving a first Transport Block (TB) and a second TB; and determining the first TB and the second TB based on a Control Resource Set (CORESET) group identifier of a CORESET over which a corresponding Downlink Control Information (DCI) scheduling the TB is received. In this way, the New Radio (NR) Rel-15 procedure for type 1 HARQ codebook construction might be reused with the same or minimum increase of HARQ feedback overhead with semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook.
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475