DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 14-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 7-13 of U.S. Patent No. [12,513,201, hereinafter refers '201].
Regarding claim 1, the claim limitation of “to receive an indication whether a transmission mode for inactive/idle reception of multicast is applied for a multicast session, and based on the indication, perform procedures to enable reception of the multicast session using the transmission mode for inactive/idle mode reception” corresponds to claim limitation of “receive an indication whether a transmission mode for inactive mode reception of multicast is applied for a multicast session, and based on the indication, perform procedures to enable reception of the multicast session using the transmission mode for inactive mode reception of multicast for the multicast session.” Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitation of claim 1 is met by the rejection of claim 1 of ‘201.
Regarding claim 2, the claim limitation of “wherein the indication as to whether inactive/idle reception of multicast is applied for the multicast session is included in the announcement for the multicast session” corresponds to claim limitation of “wherein the indication is indicative of whether inactive mode reception of multicast is applied for the multicast session.” Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitation of claim 2 is met by the rejection of claim 2 of ‘201.
Regarding claim 3, the claim limitation of “to send a join request message for the multicast session to a network control element, and receive a join accept message from the network control element, wherein the join accept message comprises the indication as to whether the transmission mode for inactive/idle reception is enabled for the multicast session” corresponds to claim limitation of “wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus-user equipment to: send a join request message for the multicast session to a network control element, and receive a join accept message from the network control element.” Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitation of claim 3 is met by the rejection of claim 3 of ‘201.
Regarding claim 4, the claim limitation of “to indicate support for idle/inactive reception of multicast in the join request message” corresponds to claim limitation of “indicate support for inactive mode reception of multicast for the multicast session.” Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitation of claim 4 is met by the rejection of claim 4 of ‘201.
Regarding claim 5, the claim limitation of “wherein the procedures to enable reception of the multicast session using the transmission mode for inactive/idle mode reception comprise monitoring broadcasted information whether the transmission mode for inactive/idle reception of multicast is applied for the multicast session in the cell where the UE is located” corresponds to claim limitation of “wherein the procedures to enable reception of the multicast session using the transmission mode for inactive mode reception of multicast for the multicast session comprise information whether the transmission mode for inactive mode reception of multicast is applied for the multicast session in the cell where the user equipment is located.” Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitation of claim 5 is met by the rejection of claim 5 of ‘201.
Regarding claim 6, the claim limitation of “wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to receive data of the multicast session while in RRC-inactive or RRC-idle state” corresponds to claim limitation of “wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to: receive data of the multicast session while in radio resource control (RRC)-inactive.” Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitation of claim 6 is met by the rejection of claim 6 of ‘201.
Regarding claim 7, the claim limitation of “wherein, when inactive/idle reception of multicast is to be applied for the multicast session, the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to omit feedback concerning reception of the multicast session to the network while the transmission mode for inactive/idle reception of multicast is applied, or transmit less feedback concerning reception of the multicast session to the network while the transmission mode for inactive/idle reception of multicast is applied than in case the transmission mode for inactive/idle reception of multicast is not applied for the multicast session” corresponds to claim limitation of “wherein the user equipment is caused to perform procedures by configuring operations based on the indication to omit feedback concerning reception of the multicast session to a network while the transmission mode for inactive mode reception of multicast for the multicast session is applied.” Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitation of claim 7 is met by the rejection of claim 1 of ‘201.
Regarding claim 14, the claim limitation of “receive a join request message for a multicast session from a user equipment, and send a join accept message in response to the join request message, wherein the join accept message comprises an indication as to whether a transmission mode for inactive/idle reception of multicast is to be enabled for the multicast session” corresponds to claim limitation of “receive a join request message for a multicast session from a user equipment, and send a join accept message in response to the join request message, wherein the join accept message comprises an indication as to whether a transmission mode for inactive mode reception of multicast is to be enabled for the multicast session.” Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitation of claim 14 is met by the rejection of claim 7 of ‘201.
Regarding claim 15, the claim limitation of the instant claim is same as claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, the claim limitation of “wherein the join request message for the multicast session received from the user equipment comprises information that the user equipment supports the transmission mode for idle/inactive reception of multicast” corresponds to claim limitation of “wherein the join request message for the multicast session received from the user equipment comprises information that the user equipment supports the transmission mode for idle/inactive mode reception of multicast for the multicast session.” Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitation of claim 16 is met by the rejection of claim 9 of ‘201.
Regarding claim 17, the claim limitation of the instant claim is same as claim 10.
Regarding claim 18, the claim limitation of “wherein the sent indication as to whether the transmission mode for inactive/idle reception of multicast is to be enabled for the multicast session is determined based on at least one of: the received indication from the multicast-broadcast session management function; or the received information from the user equipment that that the user equipment supports the transmission mode for idle/inactive reception of multicast” corresponds to “wherein the sent indication as to whether the transmission mode for inactive mode reception of multicast is to be enabled for the multicast session is determined based on at least one of: the received indication from the multicast-broadcast session management function; or the received information from the user equipment that the user equipment supports the transmission mode for idle/inactive mode reception of multicast for the multicast session.” Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitation of claim 18 is met by the rejection of claim 11 of ‘201.
Regarding claim 19, the claim limitation of “an indication as to whether the transmission mode for inactive/idle reception of multicast is to be enabled for the multicast session[[:]]; decide, at least partially based on the received indication, whether to apply the transmission mode for inactive/idle reception of multicast for the multicast session in at least one radio cell served by the apparatus; and transmit data of the multicast session in the radio cell using the decided transmission mode” corresponds to claim limitation of “wherein the sent indication as to whether the transmission mode for inactive mode reception of multicast is to be enabled for the multicast session is determined based on at least one of: the received indication from the multicast-broadcast session management function; or the received information from the user equipment that the user equipment supports the transmission mode for idle/inactive mode reception of multicast for the multicast session.” Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitation of claim 19 is met by the rejection of claim 12 of ‘201.
Regarding claim 20, the claim limitation of “wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform at least one of: broadcast an indication in the at least one radio cell as to whether the transmission mode for inactive/idle reception of multicast is applied for the multicast session; keep a user equipment that joined the multicast session located within the at least one radio cell in RRC-connected state while the multicast session is active if the transmission mode for inactive/idle reception of multicast is not being applied for the multicast session; and allow a user equipment that joined the multicast session located within the at least one radio cell to transition to RRC-inactive state or RRC-idle state while the multicast session is active if the transmission mode for inactive/idle reception of multicast is being applied for the multicast session” corresponds to claim limitation of “wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform at least one of: broadcast an indication in the at least one radio cell as to whether the transmission mode for inactive mode reception of multicast is applied for the multicast session; keep the user equipment that joined the multicast session located within the at least one radio cell in a radio resource control (RRC)-connected state while the multicast session is active if the transmission mode for inactive mode reception of multicast is not being applied for the multicast session; and allow a-the user equipment that joined the multicast session located within the at least one radio cell to transition to a RRC-inactive state or a RRC-idle state while the multicast session is active if the transmission mode for inactive mode reception of multicast is being applied for the multicast session.” Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitation of claim 19 is met by the rejection of claim 12 of ‘201.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2021/0321226 A1, hereinafter refers as Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an apparatus, in a user equipment, comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive an indication whether a transmission mode for inactive/idle reception of multicast is applied for a multicast session (Fig. 15, el. 1505-1515, when the multicast is in inactive mode, to provide the feedback as an indication, para. 25-26),
based on the indication, perform procedures to enable reception of the multicast session using the transmission mode for inactive/idle mode reception (Fig. 16, para. 80-81).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein the indication is indicative of whether inactive reception of multicast is applied for the multicast session is included in the announcement for the multicast session (para. 26, to provide a feedback message [refers the announcement] during inactive mode).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: send a join request message for the multicast session to a network control element, and receive a join accept message from the network control element (para. 198).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: indicate support for inactive reception of multicast (Fig. 15, el. 1510-1515).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses wherein the procedures to enable reception of the multicast session using the transmission mode for inactive mode reception comprise information whether the transmission mode for inactive reception of multicast is applied for the multicast session in the cell where the UE is located (Fig. 15, para. 25-26).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: receive data of the multicast session while in radio resource control (RRC)-inactive (Fig. 15, el. 1505; el. 1515).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses an apparatus, in a network element performing a session management function, comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive a join request message for a multicast session from a user equipment (Fig. 6, el. 640),
and send a join accept message in response to the join request message, wherein the join accept message comprises an indication as to whether a transmission mode for inactive reception of multicast is to be enabled for the multicast session (Fig. 15, el. 1505-1515; when the multicast is in inactive mode, to provide the feedback as an indication).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses wherein the join accept message comprises the indication as to whether the transmission mode for inactive reception of multicast is to be enabled in at least one of: an Ni session management container to be transmitted to the user equipment (Fig. 4); or an N2 session management container to be transmitted to a radio access network node.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses wherein the join request message for the multicast session received from the user equipment comprises information that the user equipment supports the transmission mode for idle/inactive reception of multicast (Fig. 15, para. 25-26).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: receive an_ indication from a _ multicast-broadcast session management function as to whether the transmission mode for inactive reception of multicast is to be enabled for the multicast session (Fig. 15, para. 25-26).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang discloses wherein the sent indication as to whether the transmission mode for inactive reception of multicast is to be enabled for the multicast session is determined based on at least one of: the received indication from the multicast-broadcast session management function; or the received information from the user equipment that the user equipment supports the transmission mode for idle/inactive reception of multicast (Fig. 15, para. 25-26).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang discloses an apparatus, in a network element performing a radio access network node, comprising:
at least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least
to receive information about a multicast session comprising an indication as to whether the transmission mode for inactive reception of multicast is to be enabled for the multicast session: decide, at least partially based on the received indication (Fig. 15, para. 25-26), whether to apply the transmission mode for inactive reception of multicast for the multicast session in at least one radio cell (para. 25, Fig. 15) served by the apparatus; and transmit data of the multicast session in the radio cell using the decided transmission mode (Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform at least one of: broadcast an indication in the at least one radio cell as to whether the transmission mode for inactive reception of multicast is applied for the multicast session (Fig. 15);
keep a user equipment that joined the multicast session located within the at least one radio cell in radio resource control (RRC)-connected state while the multicast session is active if the transmission mode for inactive reception of multicast is not being applied for the multicast session (para. 25-26, Fig. 15-16);
and allow a user equipment that joined the multicast session located within the at least one radio cell to transition to RRC-inactive state or RRC- idle state while the multicast session is active if the transmission mode for inactive reception of multicast is being applied for the multicast session (Fig. 4-5, para. 25-26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Kidiri et al. (US 2021/0194714 A1, hereinafter refers as Kidiri).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses all limitation of claim 1,
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein, when inactive reception of multicast is to be applied for the multicast session, the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: omit feedback concerning reception of the multicast session to the network while the transmission mode for inactive reception of multicast is applied;
Kidiri teaches wherein, when inactive reception of multicast is to be applied for the multicast session, the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: omit feedback concerning reception of the multicast session to the network while the transmission mode for inactive reception of multicast is applied (no uplink feedback during inactive mode);
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the inventio to modify Kidiri to include Zhang in order to save the system resource.
Conclusion
/CAI Y CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425