Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,4-13 ,21 and 53-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1.
-Claims 14-20. 22-52 are Cancelled.
Regarding claim 1, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses A beam information determination method, receiving, by a network device, beam capability information sent by an auxiliary communication device, wherein the auxiliary communication device is at least one of: a smart repeater, or a Reconfigurable Intelligence Surface (RIS) ,sending, by the network device, beam configuration information to the auxiliary communication device. [0151]-[0153]In step 1002, the smart repeater may transmit capability information to the access point over a backhaul link between the smart repeater and the access point and In step 1003, the access point may transmit a backhaul resource configuration to the smart repeater over the backhaul link.
Regarding claim 12, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses A beam information determination method, comprising: sending, by an auxiliary communication device, beam capability information to a network device, wherein the auxiliary communication device is at least one of: a smart repeater, or a Reconfigurable Intelligence Surface (RIS) ) ; and receiving, by the auxiliary communication device, beam configuration information sent by the network device[0151]-[0153]In step 1002, the smart repeater may transmit capability information to the access point over a backhaul link between the smart repeater and the access point and In step 1003, the access point may transmit a backhaul resource configuration to the smart repeater over the backhaul link.
Regarding claim 21, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses A beam information determination method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device, reference signal configuration information sent by a network device, [0155] the access point may configure the UE for reference signal beam measurement and reporting.
wherein the reference signal configuration information is determined by the network device based on beam capability information of an auxiliary communication device, and the auxiliary communication device is at least one of: a smart repeater, or a Reconfigurable Intelligence Surface (RIS) [0151]-[0153]In step 1002, the smart repeater may transmit capability information to the access point over a backhaul link between the smart repeater and the access point; In step 1003, the access point may transmit a backhaul resource configuration to the smart repeater over the backhaul link, and measuring, by the terminal device, a reference signal specified in the reference signal configuration information ( fig. 10,[0155]-[0158]In step 1004, the access point may configure the UE for reference signal beam measurement and reporting. In step 1005, the access point may transmit a first set of reference signals (RS) to the smart repeater with the same spatial filter (angular direction) but with different identifiers (e.g., beam IDs) to simulate sweeping, In step 1006, the smart repeater may amplify and transmit a second set of reference signals to the at least one UE over the access link with different spatial filters, wherein [0162] [0163]In step 1010, the UE measures received power (e.g., RSRP) of the second set of reference signals received through the different spatial filters over the access link to obtain a second set of measurement results indicating received power of the second set of reference signals. Wherein, In step 1011, the UE may transmit a report to the access point to report the second set of measurement results obtained in step 1010. In other words, the UE may report the measured spatial filters and the corresponding measured RSRP values (or the offset with respect to the best beam) to the access point through the uplink path amplified by the smart repeater.
Regarding claim 2 and 13, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claims 1 and 12, respectively.
Karimidehkordi discloses wherein the beam capability information comprises at least one of:
information of an antenna panel or an RIS panel;
a beam adjustment capability;
a number of supported beams [0098]-[0101]The gNB 701 sequentially transmits a burst of CSI-RS signals from gNB-to-SR sharing the same radiation pattern (e.g., spatial filter/support or angular direction) but with different beam IDs (e.g., CSI-RS #2.0, #2.1, #2.2, and #2.3 in FIG. 7 ).The smart repeater 702 receives the CSI-RS signals with the same SR backhaul beam (e.g., SR_BH #1), and performs access beam sweeping by mapping each gNB CSI-RS signal to an SR access beam. The smart repeater 702 transmits the received CSI-RS towards the UE 703. For example, the smart repeater 702 may map a first CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.0) to a first SR access beam (SR_AC #0), a second CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.1) to a second SR access beam (SR_AC #1), a third CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.2) to a third SR access beam (SR_AC #2), and a fourth CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.3) to a fourth SR access beam (SR_AC #3). In other words, the CSI-RS signals are repeated by the smart repeater 702 on the SR-to-UE access (SR_AC) link with different spatial filters (angular directions). The UE 703 measures the SR access beams and reports one or more best CSI-RS beam ID(s) (and corresponding RSRP values) via the SR uplink path to the gNB 701. The gNB 701 then informs the SR 702 about the best UE-measured CSI-RS beam ID (e.g., CSI-RS #2.2).; (see [0125] –[0126] Referring to FIG. 9 , in step 901, the smart repeater (SR) and at least one UE establish an initial connection to the access point (e.g., gNB) using wide SR spatial filters (beams). The smart repeater informs the access point about the number of backhaul and access beams of the smart repeater; wherein In step 902 ,the smart repeater may transmit capability information to the access point over a backhaul link between the smart repeater and the access point, wherein the capability information comprises a capability indication of performing joint backhaul and access spatial filter (beam) refinement procedures at the smart repeater; or
angle information of each supported beam [0151]In step 1002, the smart repeater may transmit capability information to the access point over a backhaul link between the smart repeater and the access point, wherein the capability information comprises a capability indication of performing joint backhaul and access spatial filter (beam) refinement procedures at the smart repeater. [0153]In step 1003, the access point may transmit a backhaul resource configuration to the smart repeater over the backhaul link, wherein the backhaul resource configuration indicates one or more time-frequency resources used for a first set of reference signals. With the backhaul resource configuration, the access point configures the smart repeater for the access beam sweeping. where[0156]In step 1005, the access point may transmit a first set of reference signals (RS) to the smart repeater with the same spatial filter (angular direction) but with different identifiers (e.g., beam IDs) to simulate sweeping
Regarding claim 4, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 2. Karimidehkordi discloses wherein the beam adjustment capability comprises at least one of:
a frequency of beam adjustment[0098]-[0101]The gNB 701 sequentially transmits a burst of CSI-RS signals from gNB-to-SR sharing the same radiation pattern (e.g., spatial filter/support or angular direction) but with different beam IDs (e.g., CSI-RS #2.0, #2.1, #2.2, and #2.3 in FIG. 7 ).The smart repeater 702 receives the CSI-RS signals with the same SR backhaul beam (e.g., SR_BH #1), and performs access beam sweeping by mapping each gNB CSI-RS signal to an SR access beam. The smart repeater 702 transmits the received CSI-RS towards the UE 703. For example, the smart repeater 702 may map a first CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.0) to a first SR access beam (SR_AC #0), a second CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.1) to a second SR access beam (SR_AC #1), a third CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.2) to a third SR access beam (SR_AC #2), and a fourth CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.3) to a fourth SR access beam (SR_AC #3). In other words, the CSI-RS signals are repeated by the smart repeater 702 on the SR-to-UE access (SR_AC) link with different spatial filters (angular directions). The UE 703 measures the SR access beams and reports one or more best CSI-RS beam ID(s) (and corresponding RSRP values) via the SR uplink path to the gNB 701. The gNB 701 then informs the SR 702 about the best UE-measured CSI-RS beam ID (e.g., CSI-RS #2.2), or
time required to complete beam adjustment.
Regarding claim 5, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 1. Karimidehkordi discloses wherein the beam configuration information comprises at least one of:
information of a configured beam( fig. 10,[0155]-[0158]In step 1004, the access point may configure the UE for reference signal beam measurement and reporting. In step 1005, the access point may transmit a first set of reference signals (RS) to the smart repeater with the same spatial filter (angular direction) but with different identifiers (e.g., beam IDs) to simulate sweeping, In step 1006, the smart repeater may amplify and transmit a second set of reference signals to the at least one UE over the access link with different spatial filters, wherein [0162] [0163]In step 1010, the UE measures received power (e.g., RSRP) of the second set of reference signals received through the different spatial filters over the access link to obtain a second set of measurement results indicating received power of the second set of reference signals. Wherein, In step 1011, the UE may transmit a report to the access point to report the second set of measurement results obtained in step 1010. In other words, the UE may report the measured spatial filters and the corresponding measured RSRP values (or the offset with respect to the best beam) to the access point through the uplink path amplified by the smart repeater ;
reference signal configuration information; or
association information between a reference signal and a configured beam.
Regarding claim 6, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 5. Karimidehkordi discloses wherein the reference signal configuration information comprises at least one of:
an index of a reference signal adjustment0098]-[0101]The gNB 701 sequentially transmits a burst of CSI-RS signals from gNB-to-SR sharing the same radiation pattern (e.g., spatial filter/support or angular direction) but with different beam IDs (e.g., CSI-RS #2.0, #2.1, #2.2, and #2.3 in FIG. 7 ).The smart repeater 702 receives the CSI-RS signals with the same SR backhaul beam (e.g., SR_BH #1), and performs access beam sweeping by mapping each gNB CSI-RS signal to an SR access beam. The smart repeater 702 transmits the received CSI-RS towards the UE 703. For example, the smart repeater 702 may map a first CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.0) to a first SR access beam (SR_AC #0), a second CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.1) to a second SR access beam (SR_AC #1), a third CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.2) to a third SR access beam (SR_AC #2), and a fourth CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.3) to a fourth SR access beam (SR_AC #3). In other words, the CSI-RS signals are repeated by the smart repeater 702 on the SR-to-UE access (SR_AC) link with different spatial filters (angular directions). The UE 703 measures the SR access beams and reports one or more best CSI-RS beam ID(s) (and corresponding RSRP values) via the SR uplink path to the gNB 701. The gNB 701 then informs the SR 702 about the best UE-measured CSI-RS beam ID (e.g., CSI-RS #2.2);
antenna port number of a reference signal;
a time domain position occupied by a reference signal; or
a frequency domain position occupied by a reference signal.
Regarding claim 7, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 6. Karimidehkordi discloses sending, by the network device, the reference signal configuration information to a terminal device. ( fig. 10,[0155]-[0158]In step 1004, the access point may configure the UE for reference signal beam measurement and reporting. In step 1005, the access point may transmit a first set of reference signals (RS) to the smart repeater with the same spatial filter (angular direction) but with different identifiers (e.g., beam IDs) to simulate sweeping, In step 1006, the smart repeater may amplify and transmit a second set of reference signals to the at least one UE over the access link with different spatial filters, wherein [0162] [0163]In step 1010, the UE measures received power (e.g., RSRP) of the second set of reference signals received through the different spatial filters over the access link to obtain a second set of measurement results indicating received power of the second set of reference signals. Wherein, In step 1011, the UE may transmit a report to the access point to report the second set of measurement results obtained in step 1010. In other words, the UE may report the measured spatial filters and the corresponding measured RSRP values (or the offset with respect to the best beam) to the access point through the uplink path amplified by the smart repeater.
Regarding claim 8, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 7. Karimidehkordi discloses receiving, by the network device, a beam measurement result sent by the terminal device ( fig. 10,[0155]-[0158]In step 1004, the access point may configure the UE for reference signal beam measurement and reporting. In step 1005, the access point may transmit a first set of reference signals (RS) to the smart repeater with the same spatial filter (angular direction) but with different identifiers (e.g., beam IDs) to simulate sweeping, In step 1006, the smart repeater may amplify and transmit a second set of reference signals to the at least one UE over the access link with different spatial filters, wherein [0162] [0163]In step 1010, the UE measures received power (e.g., RSRP) of the second set of reference signals received through the different spatial filters over the access link to obtain a second set of measurement results indicating received power of the second set of reference signals. Wherein, In step 1011, the UE may transmit a report to the access point to report the second set of measurement results obtained in step 1010. In other words, the UE may report the measured spatial filters and the corresponding measured RSRP values (or the offset with respect to the best beam) to the access point through the uplink path amplified by the smart repeater.
Regarding claim 9, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 1. Karimidehkordi discloses determining, by the network device, at least one beam of a transmitting beam or a receiving beam to be used by the auxiliary communication device; and sending, by the network device, beam indication information to at least one of the auxiliary communication device of a terminal device, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate information of the at least one to be used by the auxiliary communication device.
( fig. 10,[0155]-[0158]In step 1004, the access point may configure the UE for reference signal beam measurement and reporting. In step 1005, the access point may transmit a first set of reference signals (RS) to the smart repeater with the same spatial filter (angular direction) but with different identifiers (e.g., beam IDs) to simulate sweeping, In step 1006, the smart repeater may amplify and transmit a second set of reference signals to the UE over the access link with different spatial filters, wherein [0162] [0163]In step 1010, the UE measures received power (e.g., RSRP) of the second set of reference signals received through the different spatial filters over the access link to obtain a second set of measurement results indicating received power of the second set of reference signals. Wherein, In step 1011, the UE may transmit a report to the access point to report the second set of measurement results obtained in step 1010. In other words, the UE may report the measured spatial filters and the corresponding measured RSRP values (or the offset with respect to the best beam) to the access point through the uplink path amplified by the smart repeater.
Regarding claim 10, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 9. Karimidehkordi discloses determining, by the network device, the at least one beam based on at least one of: a beam measurement result sent by the terminal device adjustment [0098]-[0101]The gNB 701 sequentially transmits a burst of CSI-RS signals from gNB-to-SR sharing the same radiation pattern (e.g., spatial filter/support or angular direction) but with different beam IDs (e.g., CSI-RS #2.0, #2.1, #2.2, and #2.3 in FIG. 7 ).The smart repeater 702 receives the CSI-RS signals with the same SR backhaul beam (e.g., SR_BH #1), and performs access beam sweeping by mapping each gNB CSI-RS signal to an SR access beam. The smart repeater 702 transmits the received CSI-RS towards the UE 703. For example, the smart repeater 702 may map a first CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.0) to a first SR access beam (SR_AC #0), a second CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.1) to a second SR access beam (SR_AC #1), a third CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.2) to a third SR access beam (SR_AC #2), and a fourth CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.3) to a fourth SR access beam (SR_AC #3). In other words, the CSI-RS signals are repeated by the smart repeater 702 on the SR-to-UE access (SR_AC) link with different spatial filters (angular directions). The UE 703 measures the SR access beams and reports one or more best CSI-RS beam ID(s) (and corresponding RSRP values) via the SR uplink path to the gNB 701. The gNB 701 then informs the SR 702 about the best UE-measured CSI-RS beam ID (e.g., CSI-RS #2.2); or
information acquired by the network.
Regarding claim 11, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 9. Karimidehkordi discloses wherein the information of the at least one beam is indicated by an associated reference signal, and the information of the at least one beam comprises at least one of: an index of a reference signal0098]-[0101]The gNB 701 sequentially transmits a burst of CSI-RS signals from gNB-to-SR sharing the same radiation pattern (e.g., spatial filter/support or angular direction) but with different beam IDs (e.g., CSI-RS #2.0, #2.1, #2.2, and #2.3 in FIG. 7 ).The smart repeater 702 receives the CSI-RS signals with the same SR backhaul beam (e.g., SR_BH #1), and performs access beam sweeping by mapping each gNB CSI-RS signal to an SR access beam. The smart repeater 702 transmits the received CSI-RS towards the UE 703. For example, the smart repeater 702 may map a first CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.0) to a first SR access beam (SR_AC #0), a second CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.1) to a second SR access beam (SR_AC #1), a third CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.2) to a third SR access beam (SR_AC #2), and a fourth CSI-RS (CSI-RS #2.3) to a fourth SR access beam (SR_AC #3). In other words, the CSI-RS signals are repeated by the smart repeater 702 on the SR-to-UE access (SR_AC) link with different spatial filters (angular directions). The UE 703 measures the SR access beams and reports one or more best CSI-RS beam ID(s) (and corresponding RSRP values) via the SR uplink path to the gNB 701. The gNB 701 then informs the SR 702 about the best UE-measured CSI-RS beam ID (e.g., CSI-RS #2.2);
antenna port number of a reference signal;
a time domain position occupied by a reference signal; or
a frequency domain position occupied by a reference signal.
Regarding claim 53, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 1.
Karimidehkordi discloses A communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the apparatus to perform the method according to claim 1. [0182]-[0185] he apparatus 1300 comprises a processor 1310. The processor 1310 interprets computer program instructions and processes data. The processor 1310 may comprise one or more programmable processors. The processor 1310 may comprise programmable hardware with embedded firmware and may, alternatively or additionally, comprise one or more application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs).
Regarding claim 54, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 1.
Karimidehkordi discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, wherein when the instructions are executed, the method according to claim 1 is implemented [0182]-[0185] he apparatus 1300 comprises a processor 1310. The processor 1310 interprets computer program instructions and processes data. The processor 1310 may comprise one or more programmable processors. The processor 1310 may comprise programmable hardware with embedded firmware and may, alternatively or additionally, comprise one or more application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs).
Regarding claim 55, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 12.
Karimidehkordi discloses A communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the apparatus to perform the method according to claim 12. [0182]-[0185] he apparatus 1300 comprises a processor 1310. The processor 1310 interprets computer program instructions and processes data. The processor 1310 may comprise one or more programmable processors. The processor 1310 may comprise programmable hardware with embedded firmware and may, alternatively or additionally, comprise one or more application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs).
Regarding claim 56, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 21.
Karimidehkordi discloses A communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the apparatus to perform the method according to claim 21. [0182]-[0185] he apparatus 1300 comprises a processor 1310. The processor 1310 interprets computer program instructions and processes data. The processor 1310 may comprise one or more programmable processors. The processor 1310 may comprise programmable hardware with embedded firmware and may, alternatively or additionally, comprise one or more application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs).
Regarding claim 57, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 12.
Karimidehkordi discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, wherein when the instructions are executed, the method according claim 12 is implemented[0182]-[0185] he apparatus 1300 comprises a processor 1310. The processor 1310 interprets computer program instructions and processes data. The processor 1310 may comprise one or more programmable processors. The processor 1310 may comprise programmable hardware with embedded firmware and may, alternatively or additionally, comprise one or more application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs).
Regarding claim 58, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all the features with respect to claim 21.
Karimidehkordi discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, wherein when the instructions are executed, the method according claim 21 is implemented [0182]-[0185] he apparatus 1300 comprises a processor 1310. The processor 1310 interprets computer program instructions and processes data. The processor 1310 may comprise one or more programmable processors. The processor 1310 may comprise programmable hardware with embedded firmware and may, alternatively or additionally, comprise one or more application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim 3 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 in view of Elshafie et al US20240413855A1
Regarding claim 3, Karimidehkordi et al US20250088948A1 discloses all features with respect to claim 2.
Karimidehkordi does not disclose wherein the information of the antenna panel or the RIS panel comprises at least one of:
direction information of the antenna panel or the RIS panel; or
element arrangement information of the antenna panel or the RIS panel.
Elshafie discloses wherein the information of the antenna panel or the RIS panel comprises at least one of:
direction information of the antenna panel or the RIS panel; or
element arrangement information of the antenna panel or the RIS panel (fig. 9, steps 910-930;[0072]-[0075] discloses at 910, by defining a size of RIS elements. For example, the RIS controller may define the size of RIS elements using a processor of the RIS controller; At 920,the RIS controller may transmit the indication of the size of RIS elements to the network entity ;At 930, the RIS controller receives from the network entity a set of patterns representing one or more active RIS elements and one or more inactive RIS elements based on the size of RIS elements
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Karimidehkordi by including wherein the information of the antenna panel or the RIS panel comprises at least one of: direction information of the antenna panel or the RIS panel; or element arrangement information of the antenna panel or the RIS panel, as taught by Elshafie, in order to manage training of reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) elements (see Elshafie [0001]).
Conclusion
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478