DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-8, 10-12, 15-16 in the reply filed on 9/29/2026 is acknowledged. Therefore, claims 18-24 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8, 10, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 7. The claim recites that locally determining … comprises: followed by five operations separated by semicolons and ending with “or”. It is unclear whether all five operations are required (as the open-ended “comprises” suggests) or whether any one suffices (as the final or suggests).
Claim 8. The claim depends from claim 6 and recites the response information and the core network device. Claim 6 introduces a core network device and response information only within its second alternative (sending request information to a core network device … and receiving response information returned by the core network device). When the first alternative of claim 6 (locally determining) is selected, the response information and the core network device in claim 8 have no antecedent basis, and the scope of claim 8 cannot be determined (MPEP 2173.05(e)). The same defect carries into claims 10–12 and 15, which depend from claim 8.
Claim 10. The claim recites wherein the PINE type comprises at least one of …. In claim 8, a PINE type is introduced only inside the optional alternative an authorization type identifier indicating a PINE type that the second device is authorized, which is one member of a “wherein the PINE information further comprises at least one of” list. When another member of that list is selected, “the PINE type” lacks antecedent basis and it is unclear what element claim 10 further limits.
Claim 12. The claim recites “the update request comprises the PINE information of the second device and the PIN information”. PIN information is introduced in claim 2 (broadcasting PIN information), but claim 12 depends from claim 11, which depends through claims 8 and 6 from claim 1, not from claim 2. The PIN information therefore lacks antecedent basis. The claim also recites “the core network device”, which lacks antecedent basis for the reason given for claim 8. Claim 15 inherits this defect.
Claim 15. The claim recites … comprises at least one of: [A]; [B]; and [C], where [B] is sending a join rejection response to the second device in a case that the second device is allowed to join the PIN and the update notification is an update failure notification and [C] is sending the join acceptance response to the second device in a case that the second device is allowed to join the PIN and the update notification is the update failure notification. Because the list is conjoined with “and”, under SuperGuide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 886 (Fed. Cir. 2004), at least one of [A], [B] and [C] can be read as requiring at least one of each, in which case [B] and [C] require opposite responses (rejection and acceptance) under the identical condition. In addition, the join acceptance response and the update failure notification in [C] have antecedent basis only in [A] and [B] respectively. It is therefore unclear whether the claim requires one, some or all of the three operations and what the first device must send when the update fails. The specification presents these as alternatives ([0181]–[0187]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vamanan (US 2023/0308986 A1).
Claim 1. Vamanan discloses:
A method for processing information performed by a first device comprising — [0004]: “a processor of a personal Internet of things (IoT) network (PIN) management capability (PEMC) device configured to send an announcement … receive, from a PIN element in response to the announcement, a PIN join request … and send, to the PIN element in response to the PIN join request, a PIN join accept message”:
receiving a join network request of a second device — [0057]: “When joining the PIN, a PIN element sends a PIN Join Request.”; [0086]: “receiving, from a PIN element in response to the announcement, a PIN join request” (the PIN element is the second device).
wherein the join network request comprises device information of the second device — [0057]: “This PIN Join Request may include the services the PIN element offers in the PIN, whether the PIN element can be discovered by other PIN elements within the PIN or discovered by devices that are external to the PIN, etc. The PIN Join request can also carry security credentials that enables the PEMC to validate a PIN element”; [0066]: “the PIN element may also indicate in the PIN Join request that it is capable of functioning as a PIN Gateway (PEGC).”
determining, according to the device information, whether to allow the second device to join a personal Internet of Things network (PIN) to obtain a determination result — [0057]: “The PIN Join request can also carry security credentials that enables the PEMC to validate a PIN element and add it to the PIN.”; [0092]: “the method further comprising validating the PIN element based on the security credentials.”; [0061]: “The restricted discovery allows only PIN elements which have been configured with the PIN information to join.”
and sending a join network response to the second device according to the determination result — [0058]: “A PIN Join Accept is sent by the PEMC through which the PIN element is informed of its PIN Element Identifier.”; [0086]: “sending, to the PIN element in response to the PIN join request, a PIN join accept message comprising a PIN Element Identifier assigned to the PIN element.”
Claim 2. Vamanan discloses the method according to claim 1 (above), wherein the method further comprises:
broadcasting PIN information — [0055]: “the PEMC periodically sends PIN related information and waits for a response within a time window. The broadcast information may include PIN identifier, PIN services offered (including services over 5GS), a PIN Class (open to all or restricted), the time window within which PEMC expects join requests from the PIN elements, etc.”; [0056]: “A PIN is created by the PEMC that periodically announces PIN parameters. This could be parallel transmissions on multiple connections (Bluetooth links) or broadcast (WiFi, PC5).”
wherein the PIN information is used for the second device to discover the PIN managed by the first device — [0057]: “The PIN elements receive the broadcast announcement from the PEMC and depending on their local configurations decide whether to join the PIN or wait for another PEMC broadcast.”; [0054]: “two exemplary methods of PIN element discovery.”
Claim 6. Vamanan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, according to the device information, whether to allow the second device to join the PIN to obtain the determination result comprises:
locally determining, according to the device information, whether to allow the second device to join the PIN to obtain the determination result — [0057]: “security credentials that enables the PEMC to validate a PIN element and add it to the PIN”; [0092]: “validating the PIN element based on the security credentials.” The PEMC itself performs the validation on the content of the request; no core-network query is involved, so the determination is local.
Claim 16. Vamanan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein sending the join network response to the second device according to the determination result comprises at least one of:
in a case that the determination result indicates that the second device is allowed to join the PIN, sending a join acceptance response to the second device after the determination result is generated — [0057]–[0058]: the PEMC validates the PIN element and adds it to the PIN, and then “A PIN Join Accept is sent by the PEMC through which the PIN element is informed of its PIN Element Identifier.” The Join Accept is the join acceptance response, sent after the validation result is obtained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vamanan in view of Lv US 2024/0388912.
Claim 3. Vamanan discloses the method according to claim 2 (see the 102 rejection above), and further discloses that the PIN join exchange runs on top of an established connection — [0053]: “Both exemplary methods are running on top of Non-3GPP (Bluetooth or WiFi) connections or on top of NR PC5 Direct Communication as shown in FIG. 5.”; [0056]: “This could be parallel transmissions on multiple connections (Bluetooth links) or broadcast (WiFi, PC5).”
Vamanan does not explicitly disclose receiving a connection request sent by the second device after discovering the PIN information; establishing a connection with the second device based on the connection request; and receiving the join network request of the second device on the connection established with the second device.
Lv in the related field of endeavor discloses, for a PEMC admitting a PIN element over a non-3GPP connection, the claimed two-stage sequence in which the connection is first established at the initiative of the joining element and the registration (join) request is then sent over that connection:
receiving a connection request sent by the second device after discovering the PIN information — [0074]: “One method is that the PEMC opens its own hotspot. In this case, the PIN element can access the hotspot and register with the PEMC.”; [0158]–[0159]: “Step 1: The PEMC may turn on a hotspot. Step 2: The PIN element communicates with the PEMC through the hotspot of the PEMC.” The PEMC’s hotspot (its SSID) is what the PIN element discovers; the PIN element’s access to that hotspot is a connection request received by the PEMC;
establishing a connection with the second device based on the connection request — [0076]: “(1) The user equipment establishes a communication connection to the PIN element through non-3GPP access. For example, the communication connection is established through hotspot direct connection.”; [0184]: “the apparatus is further configured to establish a communication connection to the PIN element through a non-3GPP access”;
receiving the join network request of the second device on the connection established with the second device — [0076]: “(2) The user equipment receives second registration request information from the PIN element. (3) In a case that the second registration request has been verified, the user equipment adds the PIN element to the PIN. (4) The user equipment sends second registration response information.”; [0160]–[0162]: “Step 3: The PIN element or the PINE enabler registers with the PEMC and sends a second registration request. … Step 4: If registration succeeds, the PEMC sends a second registration response to the PIN element”. The second registration request, sent through the already-established hotspot connection, is a join network request received on that connection, and it carries the element’s device information ([0161]: “a PIN element enabler ID, a PIN element ID, a UE ID, an application ID on the PIN element, a current IP address of the PIN element itself, and a security credential”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the PIN creation of Vamanan and the secondary parallel connection of Lv in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide a distinction amongst different PIN elements in a multiple PIN environment.
Claims 4, 5, 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vamanan in view of Shah US 2024/0430312.
Claim 4. Vamanan discloses the method according to claim 1 (see 102 rejection), in which the PIN Join Request carries information about the PIN element ([0057]) and the PEMC assigns a PIN Element Identifier ([0058]).
Vamanan does not explicitly disclose wherein the device information at least comprises a device identifier of the second device.
Shah in the related field endeavor discloses a join request to a PEMC that carries a device identifier of the requesting element — [0085]: “The requestor generates the unique identity for the requestor and includes the unique identity in the first message.”; [0087]: “If the first message already includes the identity of the requestor, then the second functional entity 102B validates uniqueness of the identity present in the first message. If the identity available in the first message is already assigned to other PIN element within PIN 100, then the second functional entity 102B generates the unique identity of the requestor.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the PIN creation of Vamanan and the PIN element identifier of Shah in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide non-duplicate identifiers to PIN elements.
Claim 5. Vamanan in view of Shah discloses the method according to claim 4 (above), wherein the device information further comprises at least one of:
service information indicating a service supported by the second device — Vamanan [0057]: “This PIN Join Request may include the services the PIN element offers in the PIN”; Shah [0085]: “list of application identities on the requestor”;
an optional type identifier indicating a PIN element (PINE) type that the second device has a capability to be configured — Vamanan [0066]: “Along with the services, the PIN element may also indicate in the PIN Join request that it is capable of functioning as a PIN Gateway (PEGC).”;
capability information at least indicating communication capability and/or management capability of the second device — Shah [0085]: “capabilities of the requestor (such as whether the requestor supports relay capability or not, …), access type supported for the communication”;
or a name of the second device — Shah [0085]: “a user readable name of the requestor”.
Claim 8. Vamanan discloses the method according to claim 6 (see 102 rejection), and further discloses assigning PINE information to the second device in a case that the first device determines that the second device is allowed to join the PIN; wherein the PINE information at least comprises a PINE identifier — [0057]–[0058]: the PEMC validates the element and adds it to the PIN, and “A PIN Join Accept is sent by the PEMC through which the PIN element is informed of its PIN Element Identifier.”; [0086]: “a PIN Element Identifier assigned to the PIN element.”
Vamanan does not explicitly disclose wherein the PINE information further comprises at least one of: an authorization type identifier …; validity time information …; role type information …; permission information …; capability information indicating PIN capability of the second device; a name of the second device; or service information indicating a service supported by the second device.
Shah discloses that the information the PEMC assigns to and holds for an admitted element comprises, with its identifier, its name and its service information — [0086]: “The second functional entity 102B adds the requestor to the PIN 100 and stores the requestor’s details received in the first message into a table along with the requestor’s unique identities”; [0088]: “The second message includes the unique identity of the requestor, the layer-2 address of the requestor, the list of applications on the requestor, user readable name of the requestor”. Shah also discloses validity time information associated with membership — [0088]: the response includes “lifetime of the PIN”; [0057]: “The PMS 102B provides life span information of the PIN 100 to the authorized user or the PIN elements.”
Claim 10. Vamanan in view of Shah discloses the method according to claim 8, and Vamanan discloses wherein the PINE type comprises at least one of:
a PEGC indicating that the second device is authorized with PIN gateway capability — [0069]: “The PEMC assigns the role of PEGC by sending a PEGC Assign Request to a PIN element capable of the gateway function. If the PIN element accepts the PEGC assignment, it responds with PEGC Assign Accept.”; [0018]: “a PEGC is responsible for routing communications between the PIN and external systems”;
or a PINE indicating that the second device is authorized to use the PIN — [0058]: an element admitted with a PIN Element Identifier and no gateway role is an ordinary PIN element authorized to use the PIN; [0018]: “One of the elements in PIN has an active management capability (PEMC) and the same element or another element may have an active gateway capability (PEGC).”
Shah likewise discloses the PEMC and PEGC types — [0046]: “the first functional entity 102A may act as the PIN element 104A with gateway capability (PEGC)”; [0047]: “The second functional entity 102B acts as the PIN element 104B with management capability (PEMC)”. The PEGC role assigned by Vamanan’s PEMC ([0069]) is an authorization type identifier indicating the PINE type that the second device is authorized.
Claim 11. Vamanan in view of Shah discloses the method according to claim 8, and Vamanan discloses wherein sending the join network response … comprises: sending the join network response carrying the PINE information of the second device to the second device — [0058]: “A PIN Join Accept is sent by the PEMC through which the PIN element is informed of its PIN Element Identifier. The PIN Join Accept may also include a PIN Element Identifier for a PEGC applicable for this PIN element.” Shah likewise: [0088]: “The first response message includes the unique identity of the requestor …”.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vamanan in view of Dowlatkhah US 2018/0035290.
Claim 7. Vamanan discloses the method according to claim 6 (see 102 rejection), in which the PEMC locally decides whether a PIN element may join ([0057], [0061]) and may rely on user input or local configuration — [0061]: “The restricted discovery allows only PIN elements which have been configured with the PIN information to join. This configuration could be based on user input or local configuration in devices.”; [0068]: “a PEMC can be pre-configured with certain UE identifiers for potentially suitable PEGC (3GPP identifiers e.g., GPSI are used to identify trusted PEGCs).”
Vamanan does not disclose the particular local decision mechanisms of claim 7: displaying the device information of the second device, detecting a return instruction for the device information, and determining whether to allow the second device to join the PIN according to the return instruction; determining that the second device is allowed to join the PIN in a case that the device information of the second device is on a first list; determining that the second device is not allowed to join the PIN in a case that the device information of the second device is outside the first list; determining that the second device is prohibited from joining the PIN in a case that the device information of the second device is on a second list; or determining that the second device is allowed to join the PIN in a case that the device information of the second device outside the second list.
Dowlatkhah discloses each of these mechanisms for deciding whether a requesting device may join a local wireless network managed on behalf of its owner:
displaying the device information of the second device, detecting a return instruction for the device information, and determining whether to allow the second device to join the PIN according to the return instruction — [0042]: “a pop-up window or similar access-request display element 142 is presented on a display of the host’s equipment 140. In some embodiments, the access-request display element includes identifying information relating to the request, such as the requestor’s name … Alternatively or in addition, the identifying information can include the MAC address 135 of the requesting guest mobile phone 102.”; [0043]: “the host is presented with a simple yes or no selection in association with the grant access request. The host can make the appropriate selection which can be forwarded to the IMS 118. The IMS 118, in turn, authorizes, denies and/or modifies authorization based on the host’s selection.”; [0065]: “To the extent access is granted, access of the guest equipment to the visiting Wi-Fi network is facilitated at 524. To the extent access is denied, access of the guest equipment to the visiting Wi-Fi network is prevented at 526.”;
determining that the second device is allowed to join the PIN in a case that the device information of the second device is on a first list — [0032]: “the host profile 136 can include one or more of a first list of authorized users, e.g., a”white” list”; [0063]: “to the extent that the guest appears on a white list, access to the guest is authorized at 524”;
determining that the second device is not allowed to join the PIN in a case that the device information of the second device is outside the first list — [0064]: “To the extent that the guest does not appear on any of the lists, an access request is generated … and presented to equipment of host at 520” (access is withheld unless and until the host grants it, [0065]); [0068]: “If the Wi-Fi puck is not included in a predetermined authorized list, an access request can be generated … To the extent that the host rejects the request, access of the Wi-Fi puck is denied or otherwise prevented at 614.”;
determining that the second device is prohibited from joining the PIN in a case that the device information of the second device is on a second list — [0032]: “a second list of unauthorized or blocked users, e.g., a”black” list”; [0063]: “To the extent that the guest appears on a black list, access to the guest is blocked at 514, and the guest is prevented from accessing the WAN at 516.”;
or determining that the second device is allowed to join the PIN in a case that the device information of the second device outside the second list — [0041]: “the IMS 118 then determines, from the host’s profile 136, whether the guest has previously registered, e.g., in a white list, signifying that access should be granted, or black list, signifying that access should be blocked.”; [0063]–[0065]: a device not on the black list is authorized either from the white list or by the host’s grant.
Dowlatkhah also discloses that the device information checked against the lists is the device identifier and name — [0040]–[0041]: “the request access display element 134 includes a Media Access Control (MAC) address 135 of the guest’s mobile phone 102 … The information, e.g., the MAC address, name and/or message … is sent over a wireless link to the WAP 130” (compare Applicant’s [0104], [0109]: white/black lists of IMEIs, IMSIs or MAC addresses).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the PIN creation of Vamanan and the device admission to a network of Dowlatkhah in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide automated device admission to a network.
Claim 16 (alternative ground, in the event both cases are required). Vamanan discloses the method according to claim 1 and the first case, in a case that the determination result indicates that the second device is allowed to join the PIN, sending a join acceptance response to the second device after the determination result is generated ([0057]–[0058], see the 102 rejection).
Vamanan does not explicitly disclose the second case, in a case that the determination result indicates that the second device is not allowed to join the PIN, sending a join rejection response to the second device after the determination result is generated.
Dowlatkhah discloses sending a response that denies access after the decision — [0043]: “The IMS 118, in turn, authorizes, denies and/or modifies authorization based on the host’s selection.”; [0054]: “To the extent that the guest device is associate on the list, a message can be generated by the messaging module 324 and returned to the portable, wireless Wi-Fi hotspot 303 … Likewise, access can be authorized, prohibited, or restricted, as the case may be.”; [0065]: “To the extent access is denied, access of the guest equipment to the visiting Wi-Fi network is prevented at 526.” It would have been obvious to have Vamanan’s PEMC return a join rejection to a PIN element that fails validation, as Dowlatkhah returns a denial message to the requester, so that the requesting device learns the outcome and can stop waiting within the announcement time window ([0055]) or try another PIN ([0057]); a negative response to a request is the ordinary counterpart of Vamanan’s PIN Join Accept, and the result is predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: See respective recitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Reference
Relevance
US 2024/0206012 A1 (Dou, Huawei), CN priority 08/25/2021 and 11/05/2021, 102(a)(2)
A core-network PIN function (which “may be co-deployed with the AMF”, [0209]) sends the PIN ID and the identifiers and roles of devices added to the PIN to the UDM ([0428]–[0434]); update success/failure indications are returned and relayed to the terminal ([0473]–[0482]). Principal art against withdrawn claims 18–24; also relevant to claim 12 (update request / update notification).
US 2021/0368341 A1 (Liao), published 11/25/2021, 102(a)(1)
Personal IoT network with a gateway UE that registers PIN devices with the 5G core, which “indicates the result of the registration of the PIN device and its services to the gateway UE”; user profiles stored in UDM/UDR. Relevant to claim 12.
US 2024/0388912 A1 (Lv, vivo), CN priority 01/29/2022, 102(a)(2)
PEMC receives a registration request from a PIN element (element ID, enabler ID), verifies it, adds it to the PIN, and returns a response with a context ID / PIN ID and registration termination time; gives the reason for registration failure. Relevant to claims 1, 4, 8 (validity time) and 16 (rejection).
US 2025/0261097 A1 (Kumar, Samsung), IN priority 03/25/2022, 102(a)(2)
PIN discovery and communication; PIN subscription handling. Not applied (four-day margin; narrower than Vamanan).
US 2025/0175776 A1 (Purkayastha, InterDigital), provisional 03/28/2022, 102(a)(2)
PIN configuration and management by a PEMC. Not applied (one-day margin; cumulative to Vamanan).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Examiner should be directed to Fayyaz Alam whose telephone number is (571) 270-1102. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9:30am to 7:00pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
Fayyaz Alam
October 26, 2026
/FAYYAZ ALAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646