Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9,11,17,23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claims 9,11,17,23 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term renders indefinite the claimed parameter number, as it turns the number into a number range with unspecified lower and upper bounds. For purposes of compact prosecution, the term “about” is interpreted to mean the parameter number after it has a 10% margin; for example, the “about 0.9 gram per cubic centimeter” limitation in claim 9 is read to mean 0.81-0.99 grams per cubic centimeter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14,15,19,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss (US 20190257449 A1) in view of Broughton (US 3132983 A), hereafter known as Moss and Broughton, respectively.
Regarding claim 14, Moss discloses a hose (100) (fig 1, Moss), comprising:
an extruded inner layer (102) made of a first TPV (para 0028, fig 1, inner layer 110 can be TPV, para 0079, inner layer can be extruded, Moss), the extruded inner layer (102) provides a path for flow of a fluid (fig 1, inner layer 110 is hollow with a path for fluid to flow, Moss)
an intermediate layer (104) made of a reinforcement material, the intermediate layer (104) is circumferentially situated over the extruded inner layer (102) (para 0080, fig 1, reinforcement layer 120 is formed over inner layer, Moss);
and an extruded outer layer (106) made of a second TPV, the extruded outer layer (106) is circumferentially situated over the intermediate layer (104) (para 0074, cover layer 130 can be TPV, para 0081, cover layer is extruded over the intermediate and inner layers to form an outer layer of the hose, Moss), wherein the first TPV and the second TPV are surface treated using a chemical solution (not disclosed).
Moss does not disclose performing a surface treatment of a first thermoplastic vulcanizate (TPV) and a second thermoplastic vulcanizate (TPV) using a chemical solution. However, Broughton teaches surface treating thermoplastic materials prior to extrusion (col 1, lines 46-52, col 2, lines 34-51, the surface of the thermoplastic material is treated with a solvent to become better able to bond, Broughton). Broughton describes a method of optimizing a thermoplastic prior to extrusion, a field related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Broughton into Moss and treated the TPV of Moss with the treatment of Broughton before extruding the hose. The treatment of Broughton makes the TPV more amenable to bonding (col 1, lines 46-52, Broughton), which increases the quality of the extruded hose.
Regarding claim 15, Moss in view of Broughton discloses the hose (100) as claimed in claim 14, wherein the extruded inner layer (102) has a first inner circumferential surface and a first outer circumferential surface (fig 1, Moss, inner layer 110 is extruded and has an inner and outer surface) the intermediate layer (104) has a second inner circumferential surface and a second outer circumferential surface (fig 1, Moss, intermediate layer 120 has an inner and outer surface), the extruded outer layer (106) has a third inner circumferential surface and a third outer circumferential surface (fig 1, Moss, outer layer 130 is extruded and has an inner and outer surface).
Regarding claim 19, Moss in view of Broughton discloses the hose (100) as claimed in claim 14, wherein the intermediate layer (104) is braided, knitted or spiraled over the extruded inner layer (102) (para 0080, intermediate layer 120 can be braided over inner layer 110, Moss).
Regarding claim 20, Moss in view of Broughton discloses the hose (100) as claimed in claim 14, wherein the reinforcement material is selected from a group consisting of polyester, nylon, and aramid (para 0039, the filaments of reinforcement layer 120 can be aramid, polyester, and nylon, Moss)
Claims 16,18,21,23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss in view of Broughton in further view of Celanese’s datasheet: “SANTOPRENETM 271-87-TPV”, hereafter known as Celanese.
Regarding claim 16, Moss in view of Broughton discloses the hose (100) as claimed in claim 14, wherein the extruded inner layer (102) along with the intermediate layer (104) is passed through a hot channel to soften the first TPV (para 0081, fig 1, cover layer 130 can be crosshead extruded onto the inner and intermediate layers. Crosshead extrusion in this case involves feeding the inner and intermediate layers into a heated channel and extruding the cover layer over them. In the heated channel the TPV naturally softens, Moss), but does not disclose the hot channel is having a temperature in a range of 200℃ to 300℃.
However, Celanese teaches an extrusion temperature of 204 C for santoprene, a type of TPV (page 2, Extrusion table, Melt temperature). Celanese is a datasheet for TPV, a field closely related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Celanese into Moss in view of Broughton and extruded the TPV of the outer layer of the hose of Moss in view of Broughton at the extrusion temperature stated in Celanese. Extruding polymers at a predetermined temperature is well known in the art, and the temperature of Celanese can provide reliable results. Since the crosshead extruder feeds the inner and intermediate layer into a heated channel to extrude the outer layer onto, the hot channel temperature is the same as the outer layer extrusion temperature of 204 C. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the hot channel temperature, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954) .
Regarding claim 18, Moss in view of Broughton discloses the hose (100) as claimed in claim 14, but does not disclose the first TPV extrusion temperature.
However, Celanese teaches an extrusion temperature of 204 C for santoprene, a type of TPV (page 2, Extrusion table, Melt temperature). Celanese is a datasheet for TPV, a field closely related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Celanese into Moss in view of Broughton and extruded the TPV of the inner layer of the hose of Moss in view of Broughton at the extrusion temperature stated in Celanese. Extruding polymers at a predetermined temperature is well known in the art, and the temperature of Celanese can provide reliable results. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the extrusion temperature range of the layers, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954) .
Regarding claim 21, Moss in view of Broughton discloses the hose (100) as claimed in claim 14, but does not disclose the extrusion temperature of the second TPV
However, Celanese teaches an extrusion temperature of 204 C for santoprene, a type of TPV (page 2, Extrusion table, Melt temperature). Celanese is a datasheet for TPV, a field closely related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Celanese into Moss in view of Broughton and extruded the TPV of the outer layer of the hose of Moss in view of Broughton at the extrusion temperature stated in Celanese. Extruding polymers at a predetermined temperature is well known in the art, and the temperature of Celanese can provide reliable results. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the extrusion temperature range of the layers, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954) .
Regarding claim 23, Moss in view of Broughton discloses the hose (100) as claimed in claim 14, but does not disclose the density of the TPV.
However, Celanese teaches a TPV with density of 0.96g/cm^3, which is about 0.9g/cm^3 (page 1, Density). Celanese is a datasheet for TPV, a field closely related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Celanese into Moss in view of Broughton and use the TPV of Celanese for the inner and outer layers of the hose. TPV hoses are well known in the art, and the Santoprene TPV of Celanese is colorable, recyclable, and able to be used in a variety of applications and manufacturing methods (page 1, Product description).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek in further view of USDA’s webpage: “Hardline Hose Comparison Study”, hereafter known as USDA.
Regarding claim 24, Moss in view of Broughton discloses the hose (100) as claimed in claim 14, but does not disclose the minimum burst pressure of the hose.
However, USDA teaches a textile reinforced hose with burst pressure of 2400 psi, or 165 bar (Introduction paragraph, USDA). USDA describes a textile reinforced hose, a field closely related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of USDA into Moss in view of Broughton and make the hose have a burst pressure higher than 10 bar. The higher burst pressure would increase the durability and safety of the hose. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the minimum burst pressure of the hose, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Claims 1,2,4,5,11,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss in view of Broughton in further view of Wintek Corporation’s webpage: “Vacuum Extrusion”, hereafter known as Wintek.
Regarding claim 1, Moss discloses a method (200) of manufacturing a hose (100) (para 0079-0081, Moss), the method (200) comprising:
performing a surface treatment of a first thermoplastic vulcanizate (TPV) and a second thermoplastic vulcanizate (TPV) using a chemical solution (not disclosed, although para 0035 and 0077 states the inner and outer TPV layers can have surface treatments, Moss);
extruding the first TPV to form an extruded inner layer (102) of the hose (100) (para 0028, fig 1, inner layer 110 can be TPV, para 0079, inner layer can be extruded, Moss);
forming an intermediate layer (104) made of a reinforcement material over the extruded inner layer (102) (para 0080, fig 1, reinforcement layer 120 is formed over inner layer, Moss);
passing the extruded inner layer (102) along with the intermediate layer (104) through a hot channel to soften the first TPV (para 0081, fig 1, cover layer 130 can be crosshead extruded onto the inner and intermediate layers. Crosshead extrusion in this case involves feeding the inner and intermediate layers into a heated channel and extruding the cover layer over them. In the heated channel the TPV naturally softens, Moss);
extruding the second TPV to form an extruded outer layer (106) of the hose (100) (para 0074, cover layer 130 can be TPV, para 0081, cover layer is extruded over the intermediate and inner layers to form an outer layer of the hose, Moss);
and applying a vacuum pressure during extrusion of the second TPV to provide adhesive strength to the hose (100) (not disclosed).
Moss does not disclose performing a surface treatment of a first thermoplastic vulcanizate (TPV) and a second thermoplastic vulcanizate (TPV) using a chemical solution. However, Broughton teaches surface treating thermoplastic materials prior to extrusion (col 1, lines 46-52, col 2, lines 34-51, the surface of the thermoplastic material is treated with a solvent to become better able to bond, Broughton). Broughton describes a method of optimizing a thermoplastic prior to extrusion, a field related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Broughton into Moss and treated the TPV of Moss with the treatment of Broughton before extruding the hose. The treatment of Broughton makes the TPV more amenable to bonding (col 1, lines 46-52, Broughton), which increases the quality of the extruded hose.
Moss in view of Broughton does not disclose applying a vacuum pressure during extrusion of the second TPV to provide adhesive strength to the hose. However, Wintek teaches applying vacuum pressure during extrusion (product description paragraph 1, vacuum system pulls a vacuum during extruding, Wintek), which can improve adhesive strength (product description paragraphs 2 and 3, Wintek, the vacuum system removes trapped gasses, moisture, air, solvents or reactants, and VOCs, all of which can affect layer adhesion). Wintek describes a device that improves thermoplastic extrusion, a field related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Wintek into Moss in view of Broughton and added the vacuum device of Wintek to the extruder of Moss in view of Broughton. The vacuum device of Wintek removes unwanted material from the extrusion (product description paragraphs 2 and 3, Wintek) improving the quality of the hose.
Regarding claim 2, Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek discloses the method (200) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the extruded inner layer (102) has a first inner circumferential surface and a first outer circumferential surface (fig 1, Moss, inner layer 110 is extruded and has an inner and outer surface) the intermediate layer (104) has a second inner circumferential surface and a second outer circumferential surface (fig 1, Moss, intermediate layer 120 has an inner and outer surface), the extruded outer layer (106) has a third inner circumferential surface and a third outer circumferential surface (fig 1, Moss, outer layer 130 is extruded and has an inner and outer surface).
Regarding claim 4, Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek discloses the method (200) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the intermediate layer (104) is braided, knitted or spiraled over the extruded inner layer (102) (para 0080, intermediate layer 120 can be braided over inner layer 110, Moss).
Regarding claim 5, Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek discloses the method (200) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the reinforcement material is selected from a group consisting of polyester, nylon, and aramid (para 0039, the filaments of reinforcement layer 120 can be aramid, polyester, and nylon, Moss)
Regarding claim 11, Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek discloses the (200) method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the vacuum pressure is about 620 millimeter of mercury (product description paragraph 5, Wintek, vacuum pressure is 20-25 inches of mercury, which is 508-635 mmHg; in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the extrusion vacuum pressure of the hose, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954) .
Regarding claim 17, Moss in view of Broughton discloses the hose (100) as claimed in claim 14, but does not disclose wherein a vacuum pressure is applied during extrusion of the second TPV to provide adhesive strength to the hose (100) the vacuum pressure is about 620 millimeter of mercury.
However, Wintek teaches applying vacuum pressure during extrusion (product description paragraph 1, vacuum system pulls a vacuum during extruding, Wintek), which can improve adhesive strength (product description paragraphs 2 and 3, Wintek, the vacuum system removes trapped gasses, moisture, air, solvents or reactants, and VOCs, all of which can affect layer adhesion), the vacuum pressure being 20-25″Hg (product description paragraph 5, vacuum pressure is 20-25 inches of mercury, which is 508-635 mmHg; in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)) Wintek describes a device that improves thermoplastic extrusion, a field related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Wintek into Moss in view of Broughton and added the vacuum device of Wintek to the extruder of Moss in view of Broughton. The vacuum device of Wintek removes unwanted material from the extrusion (product description paragraphs 2 and 3, Wintek) improving the quality of the hose. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the extrusion vacuum pressure of the hose, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954) .
Claims 3,6,8,9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek in further view of Celanese.
Regarding claim 3, Mossin view of Broughton and Wintek discloses the method (200) as claimed in claim 1, but does not disclose the extrusion temperature of the inner layer.
However, Celanese teaches an extrusion temperature of 204 C for santoprene, a type of TPV (page 2, Extrusion table, Melt temperature). Celanese is a datasheet for TPV, a field closely related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Celanese into Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek and extruded the TPV of the inner layer of the hose of Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek at the extrusion temperature stated in Celanese. Extruding polymers at a predetermined temperature is well known in the art, and the temperature of Celanese can provide reliable results. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the extrusion temperature range of the layers, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954) .
Regarding claim 6, Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek discloses the method (200) as claimed in claim 1, but does not disclose the extrusion temperature of the second TPV.
However, Celanese teaches an extrusion temperature of 204 C for santoprene, a type of TPV (page 2, Extrusion table, Melt temperature). Celanese is a datasheet for TPV, a field closely related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Celanese into Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek and extruded the TPV of the outer layer of the hose of Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek at the extrusion temperature stated in Celanese. Extruding polymers at a predetermined temperature is well known in the art, and the temperature of Celanese can provide reliable results. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the extrusion temperature range of the layers, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954) .
Regarding claim 8, Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek discloses the method (200) as claimed in claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the hot channel is having a temperature in a range of 200℃ to 300℃.
However, Celanese teaches an extrusion temperature of 204 C for santoprene, a type of TPV (page 2, Extrusion table, Melt temperature). Celanese is a datasheet for TPV, a field closely related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Celanese into Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek and extruded the TPV of the outer layer of the hose of Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek at the extrusion temperature stated in Celanese. Extruding polymers at a predetermined temperature is well known in the art, and the temperature of Celanese can provide reliable results. Since the crosshead extruder feeds the inner and intermediate layer into a heated channel to extrude the outer layer onto, the hot channel temperature is the same as the outer layer extrusion temperature of 204 C. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the hot channel temperature, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954) .
Regarding claim 9, Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek discloses the method (200) as claimed in claim 1, but does not disclose the density of the TPV.
However, Celanese teaches a TPV with density of 0.96g/cm^3, which is about 0.9g/cm^3 (page 1, Density). Celanese is a datasheet for TPV, a field closely related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Celanese into Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek and use the TPV of Celanese for the inner and outer layers of the hose. TPV hoses are well known in the art, and the Santoprene TPV of Celanese is colorable, recyclable, and able to be used in a variety of applications and manufacturing methods (page 1, Product description).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek in further view of USDA’s webpage: “Hardline Hose Comparison Study”, hereafter known as USDA.
Regarding claim 10, Moss in view of Broughon and Wintek discloses the method (200) as claimed in claim 1, but does not disclose the minimum burst pressure of the hose.
However, USDA teaches a textile reinforced hose with burst pressure of 2400 psi, or 165 bar (Introduction paragraph, USDA). USDA describes a textile reinforced hose, a field closely related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of USDA into Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek and make the hose have a burst pressure higher than 10 bar. The higher burst pressure would increase the durability and safety of the hose.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the minimum burst pressure of the hose, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek in further view of Industrial Extrusion’s webpage: “Plastic Extrusion”, hereafter known as Industrialextrusion.
Regarding claim 12, Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek discloses the method (200) as claimed in claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising cooling the extruded inner layer (102) and the extruded outer layer (106) in a tank filled with water.
However, Industrialextrusion teaches cooling the extruded plastic in a water filled tank (second figure, water tank, Industrialextrusion). Industrialextrusion describes a polymer extrusion process, a field closely related to Moss, Broughton, and Wintek. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Industrialextrusion into Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek and cool the extruded hose in a water filled tank. Water cooling extruded products is well known in the art, and water cooling offers a cheap and effective way to quickly cool an extruded polymer.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek in further view of Coop’s website: “Molded Hoses”, Strukol’s website: “Mandrel Release Agents”, and published article “Effect of Vulcanization Process Parameters on the Tensile Strength of Carcass of Textile-Rubber Reinforced Conveyor Belts” by Lemmi et al, hereafter known as Coop, Strukol, and Lemmi, respectively.
Regarding claim 13, Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek discloses the method (200) as claimed in claim 1, but does not disclose the method (200) further comprising:
applying a releasing agent on a mandrel for mounting and removal of the extruded inner layer (102), the intermediate layer (104) and the extruded outer layer (106), the releasing agent is selected from a group consisting of polyether, ester oil, non-ionic surfactants, polyglycol mixture, ethylene glycol, and propylene glycol;
mounting the extruded inner layer (102), the intermediate layer (104) and the extruded outer layer (106) on the mandrel on which the releasing agent is applied;
and processing the extruded inner layer (102), the intermediate layer (104) and the extruded outer layer (106) mounted on the mandrel in an autoclave to shape the hose (100) at a temperature range of 150℃ to 170℃ for 35 minutes.
However, Coop teaches mounting a hose with an extruded inner layer, an intermediate layer, and an extruded outer layer onto a mandrel and curing in an autoclave, which shapes the hose to its final shape (page 3, Process for manufacture, Coop). Coop describes the manufacturing process for textile reinforces hose, a field closely related to Moss and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Coop into Moss in view of Broughton and Wintek and mounted the hose onto a mandrel to cure and shape in an autoclave. Curing extruded hoses on a mandrel in an autoclave is well known in the art, and the mandrel controls the final shape of the hose while the autoclave provides even heating.
Moss in view of Broughton, Wintek, and Coop does not disclose applying a release agent selected from a group consisting of polyether, ester oil, non-ionic surfactants, polyglycol mixture, ethylene glycol, and propylene glycol onto the mandrel. However, Struktol teaches a polyether based release agent (page 2, Struktol MR 150, Struktol). Strukol is a product page for mandrel release agents for hoses, a field related to Moss, Coop, and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Strukol into Moss in view of Broughton, Wintek, and Coop and applied the release agent of Strukol onto the mandrel prior to mounting and curing the hose. Release agents are well known in the art, and the release agent of Strukol reduces the effort required to mount and unmount the hose onto the mandrel (page 2, product description paragraph one, Strukol).
Moss in view of Broughton, Wintek, Coop and Strukol does not disclose the time and temperature of the curing and shaping process. However, Lemmi teaches curing at 160 C for 35 minutes (abstract, Lemmi). Lemmi is a research paper about curing textile reinforced rubber devices, a field related to Moss, Coop, and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Lemmi into Moss in view of Broughton, Wintek, Coop, and Strukol and cured the hose at 160 C for 35 minutes, as that combination of time and temperature resulted in the optimum tensile strength (abstract, Lemmi). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the temperature and duration of the curing process, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954) .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7,22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brettschneider (WO 2012000713 A1) discloses a TPV hose with intermediate aramid or polyester reinforcement layer.
McGinnis (US 4529563 A) discloses treating surfaces with cyclohexane and toluene.
Houk (US 20120139147 A1) discloses an extruder with a vacuum system
/H.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753