DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-12 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant's request for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. §119(a)-(d). Certified copies of the priority documents have been received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 7402337 to Takaya et al. (hereinafter, “Takaya at __”).
Regarding claims 1-4, Takaya discloses a spherical calcium titanate powder having an average circularity of 0.8 or higher and an average diameter of 1-50 microns (Takaya at “Abstract” & 4:19 states that the reference produces dielectric materials which include calcium titanate).
The claim further requires that the calcium titanate has a hear viscosity of 3kPa-s or less wherein the shear viscosity is determined via a resin composition conisisting of 60 pbv BPA liquid epoxy, 40% pbv calcium titanate and the rheometer operates at 0.11/s using a 10mm-phi flat plate and 1 mm sample thickness at 25+-/1 C.
Takaya discloses broadly values which cover the circularity and D50 0.95 and 1-10 microns respectively (5:50-65) and “Table 1” of the Instant Specification sets forth that 10 microns and 0.91 circularity results in 1880 Pa-s, SSA of 1.4 m2/g, and FHWM at 32-34 degrees of 0.169. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the calcium titanate of Takaya to be approximate to those values, absent evidence to the contrary, though the Office cannot test for this. See MPEP 2112 V, "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency' under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness' under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (quoting In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430,433-34 (CCPA 1977))".
As to claims 6 and 7, Takaya discloses that the calcium titanate is a filler for a resin (5:50-55 & 6:34 discloses thermoplastic resin).
Claims 8, 9, 11 and 12 are the same as those of claims 3, 4, 6 and 7 but instead dependent upon claim 2.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPH10279925A to Kobayashi (hereinafter, “Kobayashi at __”; cited and provided by Applicants).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Kobayashi discloses in “Fig. 1” calcium titanate particle having a circularity of nearly 1 and an average diameter of 25 microns.
The claim further requires that the calcium titanate has a hear viscosity of 3kPa-s or less wherein the shear viscosity is determined via a resin composition conisisting of 60 pbv BPA liquid epoxy, 40% pbv calcium titanate and the rheometer operates at 0.11/s using a 10mm-phi flat plate and 1 mm sample thickness at 25+-/1 C.
Since the circularity and the D50 fall within the claimed range, it would follow that the shear viscosity would be less than 3000 Pa-s under those testing conditions, absent evidence to the contrary. See the above discussion on MPEP 2112 V.
Turning to claims 6, 7 and 12, the material is a filler in a thermosetting resin ([0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaya as applied to claims 1 and 2 above respectively.
Turning to claims 5 and 10, it also follows that a lower value can be expected for the viscosity from lower particle sizes (which has been held to be prima facie obvious per MPEP 2144.05) as Takaya discloses breadth in the particle size diameter vis a vis Instant Specification “Table 1”.
Conclusion
RICHARD M. RUMP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/RICHARD M RUMP/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759