Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention group I (claims 1-17) and species A (figs. 2-3; claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-17) in the reply filed on 6/25/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-17 are addressed below. Claims 3, 11, 18 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 reciting “the shut off valve member” and “the fuel passage” is indefinite as these limitations lack proper antecedent basis in the claim. As best understood, this is interpreted to mean the valve assembly until further clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-10, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gotthardt (DE102016122092A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gotthardt discloses an injection device (see fig. 4A) for injecting a combined water/gaseous fuel mixture into a combustion space of an engine, the injection device comprising:
a first inlet (A1) for receiving a supply of water into a water chamber;
a second inlet (A2) for receiving a supply of gaseous fuel into a flow passage (M);
a mixing device (I1) comprising a valve assembly which is configured to control the flow of water between the water chamber and the flow passage (M) so as to establish a combined gaseous fuel/water mixture within the flow passage; and
an injection nozzle (I2) including a valve needle (bod y of I2) which is operable to control the delivery of the combined gaseous fuel/water mixture from the flow passage into the combustion space.
Regarding claim 9, Gotthardt discloses the shut off valve member (the valve assembly; see 112 rejection above) is an annular member and wherein the fuel passage extends through the shut off valve member (see fig. 4A; fuel flows through the center of I1).
Regarding claim 10, Gotthardt discloses the mixing device (I1) including a water-metering orifice (opening that allows water flowing through I1 from A1; see fig. 4A) between the water chamber and the flow passage, whereby the flow of water through the water-metering orifice is under the control (via structure of I1) of the valve assembly.
Regarding claim 12, Gotthardt discloses a fuel injection system (fig. 4a-4b) for injecting gaseous fuel into a combustion space of an engine, the fuel injection system including;
a storage assembly comprising a first store for storing gaseous fuel (upstream of A2, pressurized gas tank not shown) and a second store for storing water (upstream of A1, at/upstream of pump or around/upstream of valve I1), the first and second stores configured to deliver gaseous fuel and water respectively to the injection device of claim 1 (as shown in fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 13, Gotthardt discloses the fuel injection system as claimed in claim 12, wherein the mixing device of the injection device forms a part of the storage assembly (water has to exist inside the mixing device I1 for a time before existing I1).
Regarding claim 14, Gotthardt discloses the fuel injection system as claimed in claim 12, wherein the injection nozzle (I2) and the mixing device (I1) are separated from one another (see fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 15, Gotthardt discloses the fuel injection system as claimed in claim 12, wherein the mixing device is located immediately upstream of the injection device (see fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 16, Gotthardt discloses the fuel injection system as claimed in claim 15, wherein the mixing device is formed in an integrated housing together with the injection device (I1 and I2 are installed within the same integrated housing part labeled E1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotthardt (DE102016122092A1) in view of Ueda (US 6095111).
Regarding claim 2, Gotthardt is silent regarding the injection nozzle is an outwardly-opening injection nozzle in which the valve needle moves outwardly from an injection nozzle housing to initiate delivery of the combined gaseous fuel/water mixture.
However, injection nozzle with valve needle moving outward from an injection nozzle housing is known, as shown in Ueda’s fig. 6 (nozzle housing 78, valve needle 81a moving downward/outward to deliver fuel).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gotthardt to incorporate the teachings of Ueda to utilize the injection nozzle that is an outwardly-opening injection nozzle in which the valve needle moves outwardly from an injection nozzle housing to initiate delivery of the combined gaseous fuel/water mixture. Utilizing a different known nozzle would yield the predictable result of facilitating fuel discharge as shown in Ueda’s figure 6.
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotthardt (DE102016122092A1).
Regarding claim 17, Gotthardt is silent regarding a plurality of injection devices, each having an associated mixing device and configured to deliver a combined water/fuel mixture from an associated flow passage into the combustion space under the control of the injection nozzle (Gotthardt shows detail of one injection device).
However, It is known to have plurality of similar injection device in various fuel injection system. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to utilize duplicates of the same injection device in duplicate of combustion space. No inventive effort would have been required.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of injection devices, each having an associated mixing device and configured to deliver a combined water/fuel mixture from an associated flow passage into the combustion space under the control of the injection nozzle, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The combination of the prior arts teaches various features of the claimed invention, as presented above, but fail to teach or suggest further details of the valve assembly in the mixing device defined in claims 4-8.
Conclusion
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752