DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 120. The PCT Application Number PCT/JP2023/012069, being filed on March 27, 2023.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application No. 18/850,570, filed on September 25, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed September 25, 2024 has been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 2 & 4 lack the proper cross-hatching which indicates the type of materials, which may be in an invention. Specifically, the cross hatching to indicate the insulative materials is improper. The applicant should refer to MPEP Section 608.02 for the proper cross-hatching of materials. Correction is required.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. In certain patents, particularly those for compounds and compositions, wherein the process for making and/or the use thereof are not obvious, the abstract should set forth a process for making and/or use thereof. If the new technical disclosure involves modifications or alternatives, the abstract should mention by way of example the preferred modification or alternative.
The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following:
(1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation;
(2) if an article, its method of making;
(3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use;
(4) if a mixture, its ingredients;
(5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
In lines 6-9, the abstract refers to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention, which is improper content for the abstract. The applicant should delete the references to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention to provide the abstract with proper content.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in lines 1-9, the abstract contains run on sentences, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should correct all instances of run on sentences, to provide the abstract with proper language. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inao et al (Pat Num 10,081,316, herein referred to as Inao). Inao discloses a wire harness (Figs 1-7B), which restricts vibration of the interior conductive path therefore preventing the occurrence of damage and the like after the wire harness is attached to a vehicle (Col 1, lines 48-55). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Inao discloses a wire harness (9, Fig 3) comprising a wire portion (15) that includes at least one insulated wire (18) including a conductor (20) and an insulating (21) covering an outer circumferential surface of the conductor (21), wherein a cross section perpendicular to an axial direction of the wire portion (15) having a flat shape that is longer in a width direction than in a height direction (Fig 3), a pair of exterior members (28, 29) that are respectively in contact with two surfaces (top and bottom) of the wire portion (15) in the height direction (Fig 3) and a fixing member (30, 31) fixing the pair of exterior members (28, 29) to each other with the wire portion (15) sandwiched between the exterior members (28, 29, Fig 3), wherein the wire portion (15) includes a set of a plurality of insulated wires (18, 18), wherein the exterior members (28, 29) are made of a material having a higher tensile modulus than the insulating covering (21) and have a higher bending flexibility than the wire portion(15) in the height direction (i.e. 17 may be made of metal which has a high tensile modulus of resin material insulating the conductors, Col 5, lines 31-33 and is corrugated to provide more flexibility than insulating material that is not corrugated), and the fixing member (30, 31) fixes the pair of exterior members (28, 29) to each other at a plurality of fixing positions (left and right sides) spaced apart from each other in the axial direction of the wire portion (15, Fig 3). With respect to claim 2, Inao discloses that the exterior members (28, 29) have a higher bending flexibility than the wire portion (15) in the width direction as well ( exterior 28, 29 may be made of metal which is corrugated to provide more flexibility than insulating material that is not corrugated). With respect to claim 3, Inao discloses that the two exterior members (28, 29) are each configured as a sheet material that has a bellows structure including ridges (located adjacent 32) and grooves (32) arranged next to each other in the axial direction of the wire portion (15, Fig 3). With respect to claim 7, Inao discloses that the fixing member (30, 31) is not in contact with the wire portion (15) except at end portions of the exterior members (28, 29) in the axial direction of the wire portion (15, Fig 3). With respect to claim 8, Inao discloses that the pair of exterior members (28, 29) are each larger than the wire portion (15) in the width direction (Fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inao (Pat Num 10,081,316). Inao discloses a wire harness (Figs 1-7B), which restricts vibration of the interior conductive path therefore preventing the occurrence of damage and the like after the wire harness is attached to a vehicle (Col 1, lines 48-55), as applied to claim 1 above. Specifically, with respect to claim 4, Inao discloses that when the wire harness (9) is supported so as to extend in a horizontal direction (Fig 3), wherein the wire harness (3) in both the width direction and the height direction has a drooping amount that is supported so as to extend in the horizontal direction (Fig 3). With respect to claim 9, Inao discloses that the insulated wire(18, 18) is a flat wire that includes as a conductor (20, 20), wherein the flat conductors (20, 20) a pair of wires (Fig 3).
However, Inao doesn’t necessarily disclose the drooping amount being at least 70% of a drooping amount of the wire portion alone supported (claim 4), nor the flat conductor obtained by flattening a twisted wire constituted by a plurality of strands that are twisted together (claim 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the wire harness of Inao to comprise the drooping amount being at least 70% of a drooping amount of the wire portion alone supported, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the wire harness of Inao to comprise the pair of conductors to be made by a plurality of strands being twisted together, since it is well known in the art of cables that twisting a plurality of strands together to form a twisted pairs of conductors is commonly utilizing in the field of cable to provide the conductors with protection against cross talk (Examiner takes Official Notice).
Claim(s) 5 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inao (Pat Num 10,081,316) in view of Murayama et al (Pub Num 2010/0263926, herein referred to as Murayama). Inao discloses a wire harness (Figs 1-7B), which restricts vibration of the interior conductive path therefore preventing the occurrence of damage and the like after the wire harness is attached to a vehicle (Col 1, lines 48-55), as applied to claim 1 above.
However, Inao doesn’t necessarily disclose the fixing member is constituted by a tape that has a higher flexibility than the exterior members (claim 5), nor the fixing member is spirally wound around an outer circumferential surface of an assembly constituted by the pair of exterior members and the wire portion with spaces left between turns of the fixing member in the axial direction of the wire portion (claim 6).
Murayama teaches a wire harness (Figs 1-9), that saves wiring space, is simple to assemble, while also improving durability (Paragraph 1). Specifically, with respect to claim 5, Murayama teaches a wire harness (W/H, Fig 1A-1C) comprising a wire portion (located at 20) that includes at least one insulated wire (20) including a conductor (20a) and an insulating (20b) covering an outer circumferential surface of the conductor (20a, Fig 1B), wherein a cross section perpendicular to an axial direction of the wire portion (located at 20) has a flat shape (23) that is longer in a width direction than in a height direction (Fig 1B), wherein a pair of exterior members (top 21 & bottom 21) that are respectively in contact with two surfaces of the wire portion (located at 20) in the height direction (Fig 1B) and a fixing member (left and right 22 and adhesive, Paragraphs 26 & 29) and fixing the pair of exterior members (top and bottom 21) to each other with the wire portion (located at 20) sandwiched between the exterior members (top and bottom 21), wherein the wire portion (located at 20) includes a set of a plurality of insulated wires (20’s, Fig 1B), and the fixing member (left and right 22 and adhesive, Paragraphs 26 & 29) fixes the pair of exterior members (top and bottom 21) to each other at a plurality of fixing positions (left and right sides) spaced apart from each other in the axial direction of the wire portion (Figs 1A-1B), wherein the fixing member (left and right 22) is constituted by a tape (22) that has a higher flexibility than the exterior members (top and bottom 21 as flat and can’t be flexed like the section comprising the tape 22, Fig 2). With respect to claim 6, Murayama teaches the fixing member (left and right 22) are spirally wound around an outer circumferential surface of an assembly (W/H) with spaces left between turns of the fixing member (left and right 22) in the axial direction of the wire portion (located at 20, Fig 1A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the wire harness of Inao to comprise the tape layer configuration as taught by Murayama because Murayama teaches that such a configuration provides a wire harness (Figs 1-9), that saves wiring space, is simple to assemble, while also improving durability (Paragraph 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various wire harnesses.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
May 27, 2026