DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsiang et al. (TW200920207A).
As to claim 1, Hsiang discloses a coverlay film (figs. 1A-1C) comprising:
an insulating film 110 having a first main surface and a second main surface as a surface opposite to the first main surface;
an adhesive layer 112 disposed on the first main surface and formed from an uncured adhesive; and
a separator 114 disposed on the adhesive layer, wherein
the insulating film has a thickness of more than or equal to 2 µm and less than or equal to 15 µm (¶0018), and
the adhesive layer has a thickness of more than or equal to 10 µm and less than or equal to 50 µm (¶0020).
As to claim 2, Hsiang discloses a protective film 118, wherein the protective film is disposed on the second main surface (figs. 1A-1B).
As to claim 3, Hsiang discloses that a peel strength of the protective film with respect to the insulating film is greater than a peel strength of the separator with respect to the adhesive layer (¶0011).
As to claim 4, Hsiang disclsoes that the thickness of the adhesive layer is larger than the thickness of the insulating film (¶0018-0020).
As to claim 5, Hsiang disclsoes that the insulating film has a thickness of more than or equal to 2 µm and less than or equal to 13 µm, and the adhesive layer has a thickness of more than or equal to 20 µm and less than or equal to 50 µm (¶0018-0020).
As to claim 6, Hsiang discloses that the insulating film is formed from polyimide or a liquid crystal polymer (¶0019).
As to claim 7, Hsiang discloses a printed wiring board 120 comprising:
a base film having a third main surface (figs. 1B-1C);
a conductive pattern disposed on the third main surface (¶0003 discloses a PI substrate and a copper foil metal layer); and
the coverlay film according to claim 1, wherein the separator is peeled off in the coverlay film, the coverlay film is disposed on the third main surface such that the adhesive layer covers the conductive pattern, and the adhesive is cured (figs. 1A-1C).
As to claim 8, Hsiang discloses a method for manufacturing a coverlay film (figs. 1A-1C), the method comprising:
preparing an insulating film 110 which has a first main surface and a second main surface as a surface opposite to the first main surface, and in which a protective film 118 is disposed on the second main surface;
forming an adhesive layer 112 from an uncured adhesive on the first main surface; and
disposing a separator 114 on the adhesive layer, wherein
the insulating film has a thickness of more than or equal to 2 µm and less than or equal to 15 µm (¶0018), and
the adhesive layer has a thickness of more than or equal to 10 µm and less than or equal to 50 µm (¶0020).
As to claim 9, Hsiang discloses peeling off the protective film from the insulating film (figs. 1B-1C).
As to claim 10, Hsiang discloses a method for manufacturing a printed wiring board, the method comprising:
preparing a coverlay film having an insulating film 110 including a first main surface and a second main surface as a surface opposite to the first main surface, an adhesive layer 112 disposed on the first main surface and formed from an uncured adhesive, a protective film 118;
disposed on the second main surface, and a separator 114 disposed on the adhesive layer;
peeling off the separator from the adhesive layer (fig. 1B);
preparing a base film which has a third main surface and in which a conductive pattern is disposed on the third main surface (fig. 1B, see circuit board 120; ¶0003);
disposing the coverlay film on the third main surface such that the adhesive layer covers the conductive pattern, and curing the adhesive; and peeling off the protective film from the insulating film (figs. 1B, 1C).
As to claim 11, Hsiang discloses that the protective film is peeled off after the coverlay film is disposed on the third main surface (fig. 1C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0251433) discloses a base substrate having a thickness in the range of 5 to 50μm, an adhesive layer about 10-50μm thick, and a separator film.
Wu et al. (Pub. No. US 2016/0205776) discloses an insulation film, an adhesive layer, and a release film.
/AMOL H PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847