Detailed Action
Acknowledgements
2. Applicant’s arguments/remarks, filed 07/06/2026, are acknowledged. Amended claims 1-10, 14 and newly added claims 15-20 are acknowledged. Claims 1-20 remain pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments, filed 07/06/2026, with regards to independent claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
4. Applicant argues/remarks, on pg. 9 event signals corresponding to pixels outside the ROI are excluded from transmission; as Seo expressly states, the event signals corresponding to pixels outside the ROI “may be selectively excluded” from transmission to the processor ([0062]).
Applicant further states, the selection of ROI event signals for transmission, and the corresponding exclusion of non-ROI event signals from transmission, is the express purpose of Seo. The non-ROI pixels in Seo therefore do not contribute image data to any final image; the are suppressed at the output stage.
Amended claim 1 requires that the circuitry generate the final images by fusing the image data obtained via the at least two subsets of pixels during the respective specific time period.
5. The examiner, respectfully, disagree.
Seo, in [0032], teaches an electronic device including an image processing device 10, vision sensor 100 and a separate vision sensor 101. As illustrated in Fig. 1, element 100 transmits event signals EVS to a processor 200; while element 101 generates and transmits signals that correspond to an external scene/object. [0036] further teaches that the processor 200 detects a movement of an object based on signals of the vision sensor 100 or based on signals generated by both vision sensors 100 and 101. [0052] teaches transmitted event signals transmitted by interface circuit 140 (Fig. 3) to detect movement of an object being imaged by the pixel array 110 of vision sensor 100.
[0062] teaches that event signals EVS are generated based on events that occurred in pixel array 110 and correspondingly a virtual event map EVM is constructed. Further, the event signals are classified as either having occurred in a ROI (EVS_I) and or as having occurred outside of the ROI (EVS_NI). EVS_I may be considered as event data EDT and be transmitted to the processor. In Fig. 17 and 18, event signals are conditionally or non-conditionally output with regards to a region of interest ROI.
[0168], with regards to figures 3 and 18, teaches that the vision sensor 100 sets the ROI and based on set conditions may either output event signals corresponding to entire region (S340) or output event signals corresponding to the ROI (S350).
Seo, therefore, does teach event signals outside a ROI are also transmitted based on mode of operation [0166]. In addition, as stated in [0032], the separate vision sensor 101 generates and transmits signals corresponding to an external scene/object. Only the vision sensor 100 is generating the event signals EVS (and that also can be set to be conditional).
6. In addition, the Applicant argues/remarks that the image generation referenced in [0045] of Seo is not a fusion of image data obtained via subsets of a single pixel array with different imaging parameter value, but instead a separate sensor.
7. The examiner, respectfully, disagrees.
[0045] teaches a plurality of pixels PX that may be implemented in by separate pixel array 110, where one set generates images of an object and another that may sense events. With regards to the event sensing PX, [0045] clearly teaches different imaging parameters that are set out for the event detecting pixel PX than the pixel PX which senses an external scene including an image of an object. Seo, teaches subsets of pixels PX that might be implemented in two arrays sensing different parameters of imaging.
Information Disclosure Statement
8. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/16/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-7, 9, 11, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo et al. (US 2020/0410272 A1).
11. Regarding claim 1, a sensor device (…Seo teaches image processing device
10; [0035]; Fig. 1…) comprising:
a plurality of pixels each configured to receive light and perform photoelectric
conversion to generate an electrical signal (…wherein [0030-0032] teach that element 10
includes a vision sensor 100/101; [0045] further teaches that vision sensor 100 includes a
pixel array 110..);
circuitry configured to:
generate image data from the electrical signals based on imaging parameters that are
adjustable for each pixel (…wherein [0031] teaches processor 200 to generate image based
on signals from the vision sensor 100; [0032] further teaches a separate vision sensor 101 may include a separate pixel array and may generate and/or transmit signals that may be processed to generate an image of an external scene and/or object; [0035] teaches event occurrence (or detection conditions) with respect to a region of interest of the pixel array with regards to vision sensor 100…);
divide for each of a series of specific time periods the plurality of pixels into at
least a first subset of pixels and a second subset of pixels (…wherein [0045] teaches a plurality of pixels PX which generate electrical signals with respect to incident light and an image of an external scene/object may generated; further [0049-0050] teaches that an event occurrence condition may include a sensitivity of a pixel PX and an event detection period; further controller 130 (part of sensor 100) may determine an amount of event signals EVS that are generated at an event detection circuit 120; thus event detecting signals may be viewed as corresponding to a particular group of pixels, different from pixels which are not pixels processed for generating event pixels…);
set for each specific time period to the pixels of each subset a different
parameter value of at least one of the imaging parameters (…wherein [0048-0049] teaches
that controller 130 may adjust event occurrence/detection conditions by adjusting
threshold values (as such a sensitivity of the pixel PX with respect to a given time
period…), and
generate final images by fusing the image data obtained via the at least two
subsets of pixels during the respective specific time period (…wherein [0032] teaches that vision sensor 100 may transmit event signals to processor 200, sensor 101 may transmit signals that may be processed to generate an image; further [0045], sensed incident light by pixel array 110 is used to generate an image through processing; wherein pixels PX may each generate an image of an external scene/object and pixels PX may each sense events in which the intensity varies…).
12. Regarding claim 2, Seo teaches the sensor device according to claim 1 (see
claim above), wherein the circuitry is configured to
generate the final image also based on information about the division of the plurality of
pixels into the different subsets of pixels (…wherein [0033] teaches that a
“pixel array of the vision sensor 100 may capture an image of an object based on the
pixels PX of the pixel array generating one or more electrical signals in response to
incident light being received and/or absorbed at said pixels PX”; wherein event signals
are part of processed pixel arrays corresponding to particular region(s) of interest...).
13. Regarding claim 3, Seo teaches the sensor device according to claim 1 (see
claim 1 above), wherein the circuitry is configured to
set the different parameter values such as to cause complementary reconstruction
properties for image data generation in the different subsets (…wherein as taught in [0035],
event occurrence conditions or detection conditions are set with respect to region of
interest of the pixel array and as such these regions may each have their own condition
of setting; as such these conditions are viewed as elements which make complementary
reconstruction possible for generating image data…).
14. Regarding claim 4, Seo teaches the sensor device according to claim 1 (see
claim 1 above), wherein the circuitry is configured to
perform the division of the plurality of pixels into the subsets of pixels randomly (…wherein [0041] teaches event signals may be selectively transmitted in a limited manner (e.g. one or some); further, even detection data is a variable of what is detected, thus random…).
15. Regarding claim 5, Seo teaches the sensor device according to claim 1 (see
claim 1 above), wherein the circuitry is configured to
perform the division of the plurality of pixels into the subsets of pixels at consecutive points in time based on an evaluation of previously generated final images (…wherein as stated in [0048], the event rate controller 130 may adjust an amount of the event signals thereby limit the selection from a total amount of detected event signals…).
16. Regarding claim 6, Seo teaches the sensor device [[(10)]] according to claim 5 (see
claim 5 above), wherein the circuitry is configured to
change the pixel ratio of the number of pixels in the different subsets based on the evaluation of the previously generated final images (…wherein [0035] teaches that different regions of interest may have varying conditions for event detection condition; as such the recognition of regions is taken into consideration, therefore this is viewed as being relative to previously generated image wherein the region is recognized…).
17. Regarding claim 7, Seo teaches the sensor device [[(10)]] according to claim 6 (see
claim 6 above), wherein the circuitry is configured to
segment the plurality of pixels into different areas based on the evaluation of the
previously generated final images, and to divide the pixels in different areas
according to different pixel ratios (…wherein [0035] teaches that different regions of interest
may have varying conditions for event detection condition; [0142] further teaches
that vision sensor 100 may perform motion estimation to estimate the ROI of the second
frame based on the ROI of a first frame…).
18. Regarding claim 9, Seo teaches the sensor device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein the circuitry is configured to
generate during each specific time period predetermined intermediate images for
each subset of pixels by using the image data generated by the pixels of the respective subset of pixels (…wherein [0142] teaches the generation of frames…), and
to generate the final images by fusing intermediate images of different subsets of pixels (…wherein [0146] teaches the output of a plurality of frames (FRM1-FRM4) as an event data…).
19. Regarding claim 11, Seo teaches the sensor device according to claim 1 (see
claim 1 above), wherein the circuitry is configured to
generate as image data event data that indicate intensity changes above an event
detection threshold of the light (…wherein Seo in [0003] teaches an event as a change in
intensity of light incident on a vision sensor. Further, [0045] teaches that pixels may
sense events in which incident light intensity increases or decreases; as such it is commonly known that the function of determining an increase or a decrease is
performed through thresholding with a reference value...); and
the at least one imaging parameter is one of the event detection threshold (…wherein
[0040] teaches changes in intensity as being relative to event signals…),
a pixel bandwidth (…wherein the increase or decrease value for determining an
event occurrence can be viewed as a pixel bandwidth…), and
a refractory period during which a pixel is inert after event detection (…wherein
[0071] teaches the transmission of reset signal to a pixel after event detection; thus the
reset time may be viewed as a refractory period…).
20. Regarding claim 13, Seo teaches the sensor device according to claim 1 (see
claim 1 above), further comprising
a sensor chip on which the pixels and the circuitry are arranged
(…wherein Seo teaches that the vision sensor 100 (to include processor 200) may be
implemented by a circuitry as such a system-on-chip, as taught in [0037]…); wherein
the sensor chip comprises
a first port for outputting the image data from the sensor chip (…wherein as depicted in Fig. 19, a display device 1500 is connected to a main processor 1200…), and
a second port for inputting control information for controlling the division of the
plurality of pixels into the subsets of pixels and the parameter values of the at least one imaging parameter (…wherein a vision sensor connects to main processor in Fig. 19; Fig. 3 further depicts a more in depth interconnection between the pixel array and event detection/rate controlling of the vision sensor…).
21. Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected for reasons related to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 15 non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (…Seo, in [0037] teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage device for storing a program…) that,
when executed by circuitry of a sensor device that includes a plurality of pixels each configured to receive light and perform photoelectric conversion to generate an electrical signal (…wherein Seo, according Fig. 1 and [0032], teaches vision sensors 100 and 101 in conjunction with operating with processor 200…),
cause the circuitry to perform a method comprising:
generating image data from the electrical signals based on imaging parameters that are adjustable for each pixel (…wherein [0031] teaches processor 200 to generate image based
on signals from the vision sensor; [0035] teaches event occurrence (or detection conditions) with respect to a region of interest of the pixel array…);
dividing for each of a series of specific time periods the plurality of pixels into at least a first subset of pixels and a second subset of pixels (…wherein [0049-0050] teaches that an event occurrence condition may include a sensitivity of a pixel PX and an event detection period; further controller 130 may determine an amount of event signals EVS that are generated at an event detection circuit 120; thus event detecting signals may be viewed as corresponding to a particular group of pixels, different from pixels which are not pixels processed for generating event pixels…);
setting for each specific time period to the pixels of each subset a different parameter value of at least one of the imaging parameters (…wherein [0048-0049] teaches that controller 130 may adjust event occurrence/detection conditions by adjusting threshold values (as such a sensitivity of the pixel PX with respect to a given time period…); and
generating final images by fusing the image data obtained via the at least two subsets of pixels during the respective specific time period (…wherein [0032] teaches the vision sensor 101 may include a separate pixel array and may generate and/or transmit signals that may be processed to generate an image of an external scene and/or object; [0045] further teaches pixels PX which sense events which become part of image data. Further, [0045] teaches that pixels PX through column lines extending in a column direction and row lines extending in a row direction, wherein in image processing each row (odd or even) is fused together to result in an image frame …).
22. Regarding claim 16, Seo teaches the sensor device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
the first subset of pixels and the second subset of pixels are non-overlapping subsets that together include all of the plurality of pixels (…wherein the pixels PX, of array 100 and 101, are not in an overlapping relationship from a perspective of exposure to incident light; Fig. 1…).
23. Regarding claim 17, Seo teaches the sensor device according to claim 11 (see claim 11 above), wherein
the at least one imaging parameter is the event detection threshold (…wherein
[0049] teaches event occurrence/detection conditions and threshold values…) , and
the circuitry is configured to set a first event detection threshold for the first subset of pixels (…wherein in accordance with Fig. 10, Seo teaches an amount of event signals that occurred with regards to a first reference value for a first region of interest…) and a second event detection threshold for the second subset of pixels (…Seo teaches an amount of event signals that occurred with regards to a second reference value for a second region of interest; Fig. 10…), the second event detection threshold being higher than the first event detection threshold (…wherein the second reference value is greater than the first reference value…).
24. Regarding claim 19, the sensor device according to claim 9 (see claim 9 above), wherein the circuitry is configured to
identify, in one of the intermediate images, a time slice based on another of the intermediate images (…wherein [0048] teaches the selection of event signals EVS generated in a given time period based on having occurred at a particular region from the entirety of event signals…), and
to remove noise from said another of the intermediate images using the time slice (…wherein [0075] teaches unit 124 which generates event signals based on particular pixel address and a time stamp and the unit may remove a noise event and generate an event signal “with respect to effective events”…).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
26. Claims 8, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 2020/0410272 A1) in view of Wong et al. (US 2021/0185264 A1).
27. Regarding claim 8, Seo teaches the sensor device according to claim 5 (see
claim 5 above). Seo does not teach wherein the circuitry is configured to
evaluate the previously generated final images by using a neuronal network (…however, Wong teaches an event based sensor in which a neural network is used to determine if a detected event is relative to a desired object category.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a neural network is implemented in which object characteristics of a detected object can be analyzed so to determine operating parameters of the image sensor; wherein as such the object recognized can be mapped as a region of interest…).
28. Regarding claim 10, Seo teaches the sensor device according to claim 1 (see
claim 1 above). Seo does not further teach wherein the circuitry is configured to
generate the final images by using an artificial intelligence model that receives the
image data obtained via the at least two subsets of pixels during each specific
time period and that outputs the final images (…however, Wong teaches image processing (for data output from an image sensor) through a neural network and artificial
intelligence capabilities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention that image processing, as taught by Wong,
can be employed for advanced processing capabilities…).
29. Regarding claim 20, Seo teaches the sensor device according to claim 10 (see claim 10 above), wherein
the artificial intelligence model comprises a model-aware neural network configured to decode and fuse images (…wherein Wong, in [0010], teaches that the neural network determining a detected event and thereafter a region of interest can be mapped for activation. Further, the activated region can be analyzed by the neural network for additional decision. [0048] teaches that a processor 130 can process data output of the image sensor and implement advanced processing capabilities as such neural network and artificial intelligence…).
30. Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 2020/0410272 A1) in view of Reyserhove et al. (US 2020/0195828 A1).
31. Regarding claim 12, Seo teaches the sensor device according to claim 1 (see
claim 1 above), wherein
the circuitry is configured to
generate as image data pixel signals indicating intensity values of the received light for
each pixel (…wherein [0101] teaches vision sensor 100 may measure the amount of event signals generated in response to a change in incident light intensity; further [0146]
teaches the output of a plurality of frames (FRM1-FRM4) as an event data…).
Though Seo teaches detection conditions, Seo doesn’t further explicitly teach
the at least one imaging parameter is one of pixel exposure time (…however, Reyserhove teaches a programmable pixel array in which [0051] teaches that different regions of an image frame are captured at different exposure periods.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention that different exposure times are attributable
to different regions of interest thereby having the ability to generate more image frames
through shorter exposure times, particularly in a region of interest of object tracking;
thereby not using additional resources of processing outside the region of interest…).
32. Regarding claim 18, Seo in view of Reyserhove teaches the sensor device according to claim 12 (see claim 12 above), wherein the at least one imaging parameter is the pixel exposure time, and
the circuitry is configured to set a first pixel exposure time for the first subset of pixels and a second pixel exposure time for the second subset of pixels, the second pixel exposure time being different from the first pixel exposure time (…wherein [0051] teaches a pixel array programming map which can stagger data measurement storage at subset level of different pixel cells in different exposure times (viewed as subsets of pixels with corresponding exposure times) allowing pixel cells of an image frame to be generated wherein different regions have different exposure periods.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention that different exposure times are attributable
to different regions of interest thereby having the ability to generate more image frames
through shorter exposure times, particularly in a region of interest of object tracking;
thereby not using additional resources of processing outside the region of interest…).
Conclusion
33. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SURAFEL YILMAKASSAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639