DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on September 25, 2024. Claims 1 and 5-6 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 25, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Jung et al (US 20210078428; hereinafter Jung).
In regards to claim 1, Jung discloses of a power supply control device to be installed in a vehicle and used in a power supply system including a power supply unit, a power path serving as a path for supplying power based on the power supply unit to a load, and a power storage unit functioning as a backup power supply at least when power supply from the power supply unit is interrupted (“A solar charging system and method for a vehicle may include a battery mounted in the vehicle, a solar panel mounted on the vehicle to perform solar power generation, and a solar controller that receives electricity generated from the solar panel to operate, and controls charging of the battery using the electricity.” (Abstract), “The battery 400 supplies power to an electric device mounted in the vehicle, such as an electric control unit (ECU) and/or a driving motor (power source). The battery 400 may be charged by electricity produced by the solar panel 100. The battery 400 may include at least one of a first battery 410 and/or a second battery 420. In the present connection, the first battery 410 is a low voltage battery that supplies the accessory power or the start power, that is, a 12V battery, and the second battery 420 is a high voltage battery supplying power required for driving the driving motor.” (Para 0052), where the first battery (power supply unit) is interrupted after starting the vehicle, where the second battery (power storage unit) then is used for driving the vehicle), comprising:
a charging/discharging unit configured to perform a discharging operation for supplying power to the load based on power from the power storage unit (“The battery 400 supplies power to an electric device mounted in the vehicle, such as an electric control unit (ECU) and/or a driving motor (power source). The battery 400 may be charged by electricity produced by the solar panel 100. The battery 400 may include at least one of a first battery 410 and/or a second battery 420. In the present connection, the first battery 410 is a low voltage battery that supplies the accessory power or the start power, that is, a 12V battery, and the second battery 420 is a high voltage battery supplying power required for driving the driving motor.” (Para 0052)), a regeneration operation for supplying power to the power supply unit based on power from the power storage unit (“When the electricity is started to be produced from the solar panel 100, the solar controller 600 receives the corresponding electricity and performs an initialization operation. The solar controller 600 monitors output voltage of the solar panel 100 and activates a ready mode when the output voltage exceeds threshold voltage. The solar controller 600 identifies the start power state through the start system 200 in the ready mode. When the start power state is the start power OFF state (start OFF state), the solar controller 600 may wake up the battery management system 300 to perform battery charging. When the start power state is the start power ON state (start ON state), the solar controller 600 attempts to charge the battery when the output power of the solar panel 100 is 1 W or more. The solar controller 600 monitors states of charge of the first battery 410 and the second battery 420, and determines at least one of the first battery 410 and/or the second battery 420 as a charging target. The solar controller 600 compares the states of charge of the first battery 410 and the second battery 420 every predetermined period to determine the charging target. The solar controller 600 charges the determined charging target with the power produced from the solar panel 100.” (Para 0055), “When the SOC value of the first battery 410 (first battery SOC) exceeds the SOC value of the second battery 420 (second battery SOC) and the first battery SOC is equal to or less than a first reference SOC, the second processor 612 selects the first battery 410 as the charging target and activates a corresponding first battery charging mode. When the first battery SOC exceeds the second battery SOC and the first battery SOC exceeds the first reference SOC, the second processor 612 selects the second battery 420 as the charging target and activates a second battery charging mode. Furthermore, when the first battery SOC does not exceed the second battery SOC and the first battery SOC is less than a second reference SOC, the second processor 612 selects the first battery 410 as the charging target and activates the first battery charging mode. When the first battery SOC does not exceed the second battery SOC and the first battery SOC is equal to or greater than the second reference SOC, the second processor 612 selects the second battery 420 as the charging target and activates the second battery charging mode.” (Para 0069)), and a charging operation for supplying power to the power storage unit based on power from the power supply unit (“When the first battery SOC exceeds the first reference SOC in S160, the solar controller 600 activates the second battery charging mode (S180). The second processor 612 selects the second battery 420 as the charging target, and controls the second converter 640 to start the charging operation of the second battery 420.” (Para 0087)); and
a control unit configured to control the charging/discharging unit (“When the electricity is started to be produced from the solar panel 100, the solar controller 600 receives the corresponding electricity and performs an initialization operation. The solar controller 600 monitors output voltage of the solar panel 100 and activates a ready mode when the output voltage exceeds threshold voltage. The solar controller 600 identifies the start power state through the start system 200 in the ready mode. When the start power state is the start power OFF state (start OFF state), the solar controller 600 may wake up the battery management system 300 to perform battery charging. When the start power state is the start power ON state (start ON state), the solar controller 600 attempts to charge the battery when the output power of the solar panel 100 is 1 W or more. The solar controller 600 monitors states of charge of the first battery 410 and the second battery 420, and determines at least one of the first battery 410 and/or the second battery 420 as a charging target. The solar controller 600 compares the states of charge of the first battery 410 and the second battery 420 every predetermined period to determine the charging target. The solar controller 600 charges the determined charging target with the power produced from the solar panel 100.” (Para 0055),
the control unit controlling the charging/discharging unit to perform the regeneration operation when a start switch for starting the vehicle switches off, until a predetermined regeneration end condition is established, controlling the charging/discharging unit to perform the charging operation when the regeneration end condition is established ((“When the electricity is started to be produced from the solar panel 100, the solar controller 600 receives the corresponding electricity and performs an initialization operation. The solar controller 600 monitors output voltage of the solar panel 100 and activates a ready mode when the output voltage exceeds threshold voltage. The solar controller 600 identifies the start power state through the start system 200 in the ready mode. When the start power state is the start power OFF state (start OFF state), the solar controller 600 may wake up the battery management system 300 to perform battery charging. When the start power state is the start power ON state (start ON state), the solar controller 600 attempts to charge the battery when the output power of the solar panel 100 is 1 W or more. The solar controller 600 monitors states of charge of the first battery 410 and the second battery 420, and determines at least one of the first battery 410 and/or the second battery 420 as a charging target. The solar controller 600 compares the states of charge of the first battery 410 and the second battery 420 every predetermined period to determine the charging target. The solar controller 600 charges the determined charging target with the power produced from the solar panel 100.” (Para 0055), “The second processor 612 determines whether the start is activated (IGN ON) through the start system 200. When the start is deactivated (IGN OFF), the second processor 612 wakes up the battery management system 300. At the instant time, the battery management system 300 receives the driving power from the first battery 410 at the wake up.” (Para 0063), “When the SOC value of the first battery 410 (first battery SOC) exceeds the SOC value of the second battery 420 (second battery SOC) and the first battery SOC is equal to or less than a first reference SOC, the second processor 612 selects the first battery 410 as the charging target and activates a corresponding first battery charging mode. When the first battery SOC exceeds the second battery SOC and the first battery SOC exceeds the first reference SOC, the second processor 612 selects the second battery 420 as the charging target and activates a second battery charging mode. Furthermore, when the first battery SOC does not exceed the second battery SOC and the first battery SOC is less than a second reference SOC, the second processor 612 selects the first battery 410 as the charging target and activates the first battery charging mode. When the first battery SOC does not exceed the second battery SOC and the first battery SOC is equal to or greater than the second reference SOC, the second processor 612 selects the second battery 420 as the charging target and activates the second battery charging mode.” (Para 0069), “When the first battery SOC exceeds the first reference SOC in S160, the solar controller 600 activates the second battery charging mode (S180). The second processor 612 selects the second battery 420 as the charging target, and controls the second converter 640 to start the charging operation of the second battery 420.” (Para 0087)), and determining a degree of degradation of the power storage unit, based on a value of a voltage of the power storage unit and a current value flowing through the power storage unit during at least one of the regeneration operation and the charging operation performed after the regeneration operation (“When activating the second battery charging mode, the second processor 612 determines whether a second charger mounted in the vehicle is charging the second battery 420 and battery voltage of the second battery 420 exceeds reference voltage. In the present connection, the second charger may be an inverter, a regenerative brake system, or the like. When the second charger is charging the second battery 420 and the voltage of the second battery 420 exceeds the reference voltage (e.g., 309 V), the second processor 612 switches an operation mode of the solar controller 600 from the second battery charging mode to the first battery charging mode. When the second charger is not charging the second battery 420 and/or when the battery voltage of the second battery 420 is equal to or less than the reference voltage, the second processor 612 charges the second battery 420 with the output power of the solar panel 100.” (Para 0072), “Referring to FIG. 6, when activating the second battery charging mode, the solar controller 600 determines whether the second charger mounted in the vehicle is charging the second battery 420 and whether the battery voltage of the second battery 420 exceeds the reference voltage (S181). In the present connection, the second charger may be the inverter, the regenerative brake system, or the like.” (Para 0098), “The battery management system 300 is configured to optimally manage the battery 400 to increase energy efficiency and extend a lifespan thereof. The battery management system 300 monitors voltage, current, temperature, and the like of the battery 400 in real time to prevent overcharge or overdischarge. The battery management system 300 may determine a residual amount of the battery 400, that is, a state of charge (SOC).” (Para 0051), see also Para 0078).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Miura (JP 2012147529; already of record from IDS).
In regards to claim 5, Jung discloses of the power supply control device according to claim 1,
wherein the control unit controls the charging/discharging unit to perform the regeneration operation … and determines the degree of degradation of the power storage unit, based on the value of the voltage of the power storage unit and the value of the current flowing through the power storage unit during the regeneration operation (“When activating the second battery charging mode, the second processor 612 determines whether a second charger mounted in the vehicle is charging the second battery 420 and battery voltage of the second battery 420 exceeds reference voltage. In the present connection, the second charger may be an inverter, a regenerative brake system, or the like. When the second charger is charging the second battery 420 and the voltage of the second battery 420 exceeds the reference voltage (e.g., 309 V), the second processor 612 switches an operation mode of the solar controller 600 from the second battery charging mode to the first battery charging mode. When the second charger is not charging the second battery 420 and/or when the battery voltage of the second battery 420 is equal to or less than the reference voltage, the second processor 612 charges the second battery 420 with the output power of the solar panel 100.” (Para 0072), “Referring to FIG. 6, when activating the second battery charging mode, the solar controller 600 determines whether the second charger mounted in the vehicle is charging the second battery 420 and whether the battery voltage of the second battery 420 exceeds the reference voltage (S181). In the present connection, the second charger may be the inverter, the regenerative brake system, or the like.” (Para 0098), “The battery management system 300 is configured to optimally manage the battery 400 to increase energy efficiency and extend a lifespan thereof. The battery management system 300 monitors voltage, current, temperature, and the like of the battery 400 in real time to prevent overcharge or overdischarge. The battery management system 300 may determine a residual amount of the battery 400, that is, a state of charge (SOC).” (Para 0051), see also Para 0078 and 0055).
However, Jung does not specifically disclose of such that a discharge current from the charging/discharging unit is constant.
Miura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of such that a discharge current from the charging/discharging unit is constant (“On the other hand, when the charged amount is not the lower limit charged amount or less (SB3, No), the discharge control unit 64b discharges from the battery 55 and supplies the discharged power to each load 40 (SB4). This charging is performed by a known method such as constant current discharge or constant voltage discharge, and a known overdischarge prevention method for preventing overdischarge is applied as necessary.” (Para 0049), see also Para 0051).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging/discharging unit, as taught by Jung, to include having a constant current discharge, as taught by Miura, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent overdischarging (Miura Para 0049).
In regards to claim 6, Jung discloses of the power supply control device according to claim 1,
wherein the control unit controls the charging/discharging unit to perform the charging operation … and determines the degree of degradation of the power storage unit, based on the value of the voltage of the power storage unit and the value of the current flowing through the power storage unit during the charging operation. (“When activating the second battery charging mode, the second processor 612 determines whether a second charger mounted in the vehicle is charging the second battery 420 and battery voltage of the second battery 420 exceeds reference voltage. In the present connection, the second charger may be an inverter, a regenerative brake system, or the like. When the second charger is charging the second battery 420 and the voltage of the second battery 420 exceeds the reference voltage (e.g., 309 V), the second processor 612 switches an operation mode of the solar controller 600 from the second battery charging mode to the first battery charging mode. When the second charger is not charging the second battery 420 and/or when the battery voltage of the second battery 420 is equal to or less than the reference voltage, the second processor 612 charges the second battery 420 with the output power of the solar panel 100.” (Para 0072), “Referring to FIG. 6, when activating the second battery charging mode, the solar controller 600 determines whether the second charger mounted in the vehicle is charging the second battery 420 and whether the battery voltage of the second battery 420 exceeds the reference voltage (S181). In the present connection, the second charger may be the inverter, the regenerative brake system, or the like.” (Para 0098), “The battery management system 300 is configured to optimally manage the battery 400 to increase energy efficiency and extend a lifespan thereof. The battery management system 300 monitors voltage, current, temperature, and the like of the battery 400 in real time to prevent overcharge or overdischarge. The battery management system 300 may determine a residual amount of the battery 400, that is, a state of charge (SOC).” (Para 0051), see also Para 0078 and 0055).
However, Jung does not specifically disclose of such that a charge current from the charging/discharging unit is constant.
Miura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of such that a charge current from the charging/discharging unit is constant (“On the other hand, when the charged amount is not the upper limit charged amount or more (SA3, No), the charge control unit 64a charges the battery 55 (SA4). This charging is performed by a known method such as constant current charging or constant voltage charging, and a known overcharge preventing method for preventing overcharging is applied as necessary.” (Para 0042), see also Para 0044).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging/discharging unit, as taught by Jung, to include having a constant current charge, as taught by Miura, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent overcharging (Miura Para 0042).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wantanabe et al. (US 20180241099) discloses of forcing a charging of a secondary battery when the vehicle is turned off.
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663