DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US7762279 (“Zeiber”).
Regarding claim 1, Zeiber discloses (see figs. 6-7) a fluid connector, comprising:
a male end joint (650); and
a female end joint (600), wherein
the fluid connector is formed by injection molding of an engineering plastic (see specification col. 10, lines 18-23),
the male end joint comprises a male end body (defined mainly by 610) and a valve head assembly (defined at least partially by 612 and 626), and the valve head assembly is configured to block the male end body;
the female end joint comprises a female end body (defined mainly by 620) and a valve core assembly (defined at least partially by 608 and 631), and the valve core assembly is configured to block the female end body;
the male end body is plug-connected with the female end body, and in a case that the male end body and the female end body are plugged in place (see assembly of fig. 7), both the valve head assembly and the valve core assembly are opened, to allow communication between the male end joint and the female end joint; and
the valve core assembly comprises a valve core (608), the valve core comprises a first valve core sleeve (portion of valve core 608 disposed to the rightward of pintle 621E, relative to the orientation of fig. 6A, at least partially defined by 608G, 608G and 608B) and a second valve core sleeve (portion of valve core 608 disposed to the leftward of an end face of pintle 621E, relative to the orientation of fig. 6A, at least partially defined by 608D) connected to each other, a sealing groove (groove within which sealing ring 623 is disposed; see fig. 6A) is provided on an inner wall of the second valve core sleeve at a position where the inner wall of the second valve core sleeve is connected to the first valve core sleeve (see fig. 6A), and a sealing ring (623) configured for sealing an outer wall (at least partially defined by 610D and 610E) of the male end body is installed in the sealing groove in a sealed manner (see fig. 7).
With regards to recitations pertaining to the method of manufacturing and/or assembly (e.g. “injection molding”), "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 2, Zeiber discloses the male end joint (650) further comprises a first reset member (640), the first reset member is installed in an inner cavity (see inner cavity of body 610 communicating by passageway 610J) of the male end body (defined mainly by 610), and is configured to drive the valve head assembly (defined at least partially by 612 and 626) to reset and close (to position illustrated in fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 5, Zeiber discloses the female end joint (600) further comprises a second reset member (608E), and the second reset member is installed in an inner cavity of the female end body (mainly defined by 620) and is configured to drive the valve core assembly (defined at least partially by 608 and 631) to reset and close (see closed position illustrated in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Zeiber discloses a valve stem (621) is installed in the inner cavity of the female end body (mainly defined by 620), and the valve stem is configured to abut (mainly abutment between surfaces 621E and 613) against the valve head assembly (defined at least partially by 612 and 626), to push the valve head assembly to open (see open position illustrated in fig. 7); and wherein
a communication cavity (interior cavity of valve stem 621 in direct fluid communication with passage 620J) is provided inside the valve stem, and the communication cavity is in communication with a first opening (620J) of the female end body for connecting a pipe to be connected, and a communication hole (621C) being in communication with the communication cavity is provided on a side wall (radial wall) of the valve stem;
the valve core assembly (defined at least partially by 608 and 631) is slidably sleeved on the valve stem (between positions of figs. 6 and 7) in a sealed manner (via seal 624), and is also slidably sleeved inside the female end body in a sealed manner (via seal 623), to isolate openings at two ends of the female end body; and
in a case that the male end body and the female end body are plugged in place (see fig. 7), the male end body (mainly defined by 610) is configured to push the valve core assembly to slide to expose the communication hole, to make the communication hole be in communication with a second opening (right opening of female end body 620, relative to the orientation of fig. 6) of the female end body.
With regards to the recitation “for connecting a pipe to be connected”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Since the prior art comprises the structure required by the claim to perform the intended use, it is capable of performing the intended use and meets the claim.
Regarding claim 7, Zeiber discloses the valve core assembly (defined at least partially by 608 and 631) further comprises a valve core (608 & 631) and a second sealing ring (622), and wherein
a second sealing groove (groove within which sealing ring 622 is disposed) configured for installing the second sealing ring is provided on an inner wall (wall adjacent sealing end portion 621B of valve stem 621) of the valve core, and the second sealing ring is configured to provide sealing between the valve stem (621) and the valve core (608 & 631).
Regarding claim 8, Zeiber discloses a locking assembly (at least partially defined by 607, 630, 605 and 601) for locking the female end joint (600) and the male end joint (650).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeiber, as applied to claim(s) 1 and 2 above, in view of DE202012011691 (“Schneiders”).
Regarding claim 3, Zeiber discloses the valve head assembly (defined at least partially by 612 and 626) comprising a valve head (612 and 626) and a first sealing ring (625), and wherein
the valve head comprises a valve head blocking portion (626) and an abutting portion (612), and the abutting portion is fixed on the valve head blocking portion (see fig. 6B) and is configured to abut against the first reset member (640).
Zeiber does not disclose a first sealing groove is provided on an inner wall of the male end body, and the first sealing ring installed in the first sealing groove to provide sealing between the valve head blocking portion and the male end body.
However, Schneiders teaches (see fig. 1) a male end body (defined mainly by 26 and 27) having a first sealing groove (sealing groove disposed on left end of male body member 27, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) is provided on an inner wall of the male end body, and a first sealing ring (see sealing ring disposed on an interior of a left end of male body member 27, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) installed in the first sealing groove to provide sealing between a valve head blocking portion (left portion of valve member 50b, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) and the male end body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Zeiber by providing a first sealing groove on an inner wall of the male end body, and installing a first sealing ring in the first sealing groove to provide sealing between the valve head blocking portion and the male end body, as taught by Schneiders, to provide further sealing between the valve head assembly and the male end body.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the combination of Zeiber and Schneiders above discloses the male end joint and the female end joint employed for transfer of hydraulic fluids (Zeiber, see specification col. 9, lines 1-6); however, the combination of Zeiber and Schneiders, above, is silent to a first pipe connected to the male end joint and a second pipe connected to the female end joint.
Schneiders teaches a first pipe (“second fluid conduit”; see English translation page 2) connected to a male end joint (20) and a second pipe (“first fluid line”; see English translation, page 2) connected to a female end joint (10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to further modify the combination of Zeiber and Schneiders by connecting a first pipe to the male end joint and a second pipe to the female end joint, as taught by Schneiders, to be able to configure a fluid system which can be easily connected and disconnected.
Claims 4, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeiber and Schneiders, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US2019/0368642 (“Saga”).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, the combination of Zeiber and Schneiders, above, discloses the invention as claimed except for a cross-section of the abutting portion gradually decreases along a direction approaching the first reset member; and wherein the valve head further comprises a protruding rod arranged at an end of the abutting portion away from the valve head blocking portion, and an end of the protruding rod away from the abutting portion is provided with a conical protrusion.
However, Saga teaches (see fig. 4) a valve head assembly comprising a valve head (36) having a valve head blocking portion (left portion of valve head 37, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) and an abutting portion (portion of valve head 37 abutting spring 38), wherein a cross-section of the abutting portion (see fig. 4) gradually decreases (see tapered portion of valve head 37 extending towards spring 80) along a direction approaching a first reset member (38); and
wherein the valve head further comprises a protruding rod (39) arranged at an end of the abutting portion away from the valve head blocking portion, and an end (see right end of protruding rod 39, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) of the protruding rod away from the abutting portion is provided with a conical protrusion (see beveled right end of protruding rod 39, relative to the orientation of fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to further modify the combination of Zeiber and Schneiders by configuring a cross-section of the abutting portion to gradually decrease along a direction approaching the first reset member and further configuring the valve head with a protruding rod arranged at an end of the abutting portion away from the valve head blocking portion, and an end of the protruding rod away from the abutting portion is provided with a conical protrusion, as taught by Saga, to have a valve head which is better guided through opening and closing positions.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zeiber, Schneiders and Saga above discloses the male end joint and the female end joint employed for transfer of hydraulic fluids (Zeiber, see specification col. 9, lines 1-6); however, the combination of Zeiber, Schneiders and Saga, above, is silent to a first pipe connected to the male end joint and a second pipe connected to the female end joint.
Saga teaches a first pipe (“respective pipe bodies”; see specification paragraph [0024]) connected to a male end joint (14) and a second pipe (“respective pipe bodies”; see specification paragraph [0024]) connected to a female end joint (12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to further modify the combination of Zeiber, Schneiders and Saga by connecting a first pipe to the male end joint and a second pipe to the female end joint, as taught by Saga, to be able to configure a fluid system which can be easily connected and disconnected.
Claims 10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeiber, as applied to claim(s) 1 and 5-7 above, in view of Saga.
Regarding claims 10 and 14-16, Zeiber discloses the male end joint and the female end joint employed for transfer of hydraulic fluids (Zeiber, see specification col. 9, lines 1-6); however, the Zeiber is silent to a first pipe connected to the male end joint and a second pipe connected to the female end joint.
Saga teaches a first pipe (“respective pipe bodies”; see specification paragraph [0024]) connected to a male end joint (14) and a second pipe (“respective pipe bodies”; see specification paragraph [0024]) connected to a female end joint (12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify Zeiber by connecting a first pipe to the male end joint and a second pipe to the female end joint, as taught by Saga, to be able to configure a fluid system which can be easily connected and disconnected.
Claims 1, 8, 9, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US5996624 (“Ekman”) in view of US11480280 (“Langer”).
Regarding claim 1, Ekman discloses a fluid connector, comprising:
a male end joint (2); and
a female end joint (1), wherein
the male end joint comprises a male end body (33 & 34) and a valve head assembly (mainly defined by 31), and the valve head assembly is configured to block the male end body;
the female end joint comprises a female end body (3 & 5) and a valve core assembly (mainly defined by 11), and the valve core assembly is configured to block the female end body;
the male end body is plug-connected with the female end body, and in a case that the male end body and the female end body are plugged in place, both the valve head assembly and the valve core assembly are opened (male end body surfaces 33b’ and 33b” push against valve core 11 and valve stem surface 7a pushes against valve head surface 31a to open flow passage between male and female joints, 2 and 1), to allow communication between the male end joint and the female end joint; and
the valve core assembly comprises a valve core (11), the valve core comprises a first valve core sleeve (portion 11b of valve core, which sleeves over valve stem 7, when in the closed position; see fig. 1) and a second valve core sleeve (portion 11c of valve core 11, which sleeves over tip of male end body portion 33 when connected) connected to each other, a sealing groove (groove within which sealing ring 19 is housed) is provided on an inner wall (radially inner wall) of the second valve core sleeve at a position where the inner wall of the second valve core sleeve is connected to the first valve core sleeve, and a sealing ring (19) configured for sealing an outer wall (mainly defined by 33b’ and 33b”) of the male end body is installed in the sealing groove in a sealed manner.
Ekman does not disclose the fluid connector is formed by injection molding of an engineering plastic.
However, Langer teaches (see specification col. 6, line 63, through col. 7, line 6) a fluid connector (20) formed by injection molding of an engineering plastic.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Ekman by forming the fluid connector by injection molding of an engineering plastic, as taught by Langer, to have a light weight fluid connector for different applications.
With regards to recitations pertaining to the method of manufacturing and/or assembly (e.g. “injection molding”), "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 8, Ekman discloses a locking assembly (at least partially defined by 55 and 6) for locking the female end joint (1) and the male end joint (2).
Regarding claim 9, Ekman discloses the locking assembly (at least partially defined by 55 and 6) comprises a sliding sleeve (6), a locking ball (55) and an elastic member (spring, which biases sliding sleeve 6 toward the right, relative to the orientation of fig. 1), and wherein
the sliding sleeve is connected to an outer side (radially outer side of female body portion 5) of the female end body in a slidable manner (toward and away from male joint 2), one end of the elastic member is connected to or abuts against the female end body (see fig. 1), and the other end of the elastic member abuts against or is connected to the sliding sleeve (6; see fig. 1);
a side wall (5) of the female end body is provided with a receiving through hole (hole in sidewall 5 through which ball 55 extends) for receiving the locking ball, when the male end body and the female end body are in a separated state (see fig. 1), the elastic member is in a compressed state (see fig. 1), and an outer wall (radially outer wall of valve core 11) of a valve core supports the locking ball (see fig. 1), to make at least a part of the locking ball extend from the receiving through hole and abuts against the sliding sleeve in a limiting manner (see fig. 1); and
the outer wall of the male end body is provided with a receiving groove (see receiving groove on male body member 33 in annotated fig. 1, below) for receiving the locking ball, and in a case that the male end body and the female end body are plugged in place, the sliding sleeve is configured to push the locking ball into the receiving groove, a pushing portion (6a) of the sliding sleeve for limiting and abutting against the locking ball is allowed to pass over the locking ball, and a constant-diameter surface of an inner wall (6a) of the sliding sleeve is configured to press the locking ball into the receiving groove.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Ekman discloses the male end joint and the female end joint employed for transfer of fluids; however, the Ekman is silent to a first pipe connected to the male end joint and a second pipe connected to the female end joint.
Langer teaches a first pipe (connected via barbed connector 204) to be connected, a second pipe (connected via barbed connector 104) to be connected, and a fluid connector (20, wherein a male end joint (200') of the fluid connector is connected to the first pipe to be connected, and a female end joint (100') of the fluid connector is connected to the second pipe to be connected.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify Ekman by connecting a first pipe to the male end joint and a second pipe to the female end joint, as taught by Langer, to be able to configure a fluid system which can be easily connected and disconnected.
Regarding claim 20, Ekman discloses a first limiting protrusion (enlarged radially outer diameter portion of valve core 11; see annotated fig. 1, above) is provided on an outer wall of the valve core (11), a second limiting protrusion (reduced radially inner diameter portion of female body member 5; see annotated fig. 1, above) configured to abut against the first limiting protrusion is provided on an inner wall (radially inner wall) of the female end body (mainly defined by 3 and 5), and a position of the first limiting protrusion corresponds to a position of the sealing groove on the inner wall of the second valve core sleeve (see annotated fig. 1, above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed February 17, 2026, have been fully considered.
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection(s) of claim 1, Applicant’s amendments filed February 17, 2026, have/has overcome this/these rejection(s), the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection(s) of claim 1, including subsequent dependent claims thereof, is now withdrawn.
With regards to Applicant’s arguments concerning the prior art rejection of the claims 1, 2, 5, 10, 11 and 14 over Langer, claims 1-6, 8-15, 17 and 18 over Schneiders in view of McKeon, and claims 1, 2, 5-11 and 14-18 over Saga in view of McKeon, Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, the amended claims have necessitated new ground(s) of rejection rendering Applicant's arguments regarding the previous grounds of rejection are moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US5806564, US9032997, US6116277 and US4896697 disclose a fluid coupling having a sliding sleeve with a sealing ring disposed on a connection end thereof.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753