DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. 2021/0286502 A1 to Lemay et al.
As to claim 1, Lemay discloses a display control device, comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire first position and posture information of an input apparatus located in a real space (Fig. 1, paragraphs 0048-0062, where input devices (125, 130, 140, 150) acquire eye and hand positions and postures);
an extraction unit configured to extract, based on the first position and posture information of the input apparatus, a first part of virtual content in a virtual space, wherein a stereoscopic display stereoscopically displays the virtual content in the real space (Fig. 1, 2 and 7K-7M, paragraphs 0066-0071 and 0173-0179, where controller (110) extracts, based on the position and posture of hand (7038), a part of virtual content, hand (7038’) in a virtual space, via the data obtaining unit (241)); and
a generation unit configured to generate video content based on the first part of the virtual content (Fig. 1-3, paragraphs 0061, 0067-0073, where display generation component (120) generates video content).
As to claim 2, Lemay discloses the display control device, wherein
the extraction unit is further configured to extract the first part of the virtual content at a first angle of view (Fig. 1, 2 and 7A, paragraphs 0066-0071 and 0112-0120, where controller (110) is the extraction unit), and
the first angle of view corresponds to a line-of-sight of a user based on the first position and posture information of the input apparatus (Fig. 7A, paragraphs 0112-0120, where virtual content (7100) is displayed at an angle based on user (7202) position and posture).
As to claim 3, Lemay discloses the display control device, wherein
the extraction unit is further configured to extract a second part of the virtual content with a second angle of view based on the first position and posture information of the input apparatus (Fig. 7A, paragraphs 0112-0120, where virtual content (7102) is displayed and a second angle based on user (7204) position and posture), and
the generation unit is further configured to generate the video content corresponding to the second angle of view (Fig. 1-3 and 7A, paragraphs 0112-0120, where CGR content is displayed on display (7102) based on the angle).
As to claim 4, Lemay discloses the display control device wherein
the extraction unit is further configured to:
detect a specific object included in the virtual content; and
extract the second part of the virtual content with the second angle of view to include the detected specific object (Fig. 7F and 7G, paragraphs 0149-0150, where object (7014) is detected and is included in the virtual content as virtual object (7014’)).
As to claim 5, Lemay discloses the display control device, wherein
the extraction unit is further configured to:
detect a face of the specific object; and
correct the second angle of view include the face of the specific object in the first angle of view (Fig. 7A-7D, paragraphs 0119-0122, where the user’s face (7202, 7204) is detected and displayed based on the angle).
As to claim 6, Lemay discloses the display control device, wherein
the extraction unit is further configured to:
set a gaze point in the virtual content based on the first position and posture information on the input apparatus; and
extract a second part of the virtual content based on a second angle of view that connects the line-of-sight of the user and the gaze point (Fig. 1 and 5, paragraphs 0098-0103, where eye tracking device (130) tracks the gaze point of the user’s eyes (592)), and
the generation unit is further configured to generate the video content corresponding to the second angle of view (Fig. 1 and 5, paragraphs 0098-0103, where controller (110) generates frames (562) to be displayed on display (510)).
As to claim 7, Lemay discloses the display control device, wherein
the extraction unit is further configured to:
apply, based on the first position and posture information of the input apparatus, a camera parameter to a virtual camera, wherein
the virtual camera is in the virtual space, and
extract a range of the virtual space corresponding to a second angle of view, wherein the second angle of view is associated with the virtual space imaged by the virtual camera (Fig. 7A, paragraph 0117, where cameras (7104, 74016) capture the virtual space).
As to claim 8, Lemay discloses the display control device, wherein
the extraction unit is further configured to:
perform a correction process to include a specific object in the second angle of view; and
extract the first part of the virtual content based on the correction process to include an imaging target, wherein the imaging target corresponds to the specific object (Fig. 7F and 7G, paragraphs 0149-0150, where object (7014) is detected and is included in the virtual content as virtual object (7014’)).
As to claim 9, Lemay discloses the display control device, wherein
the extraction unit is further configured to extract, based on a camera trajectory, the range of the virtual space that is corresponding to the second angle of view (Fig. 7K-7M, paragraphs 0173-0179, where the trajectory of the user (7202) opening the box lid (7042) with hand (7038) is detected such that the virtual lid (7042’) and virtual hand (7038’) are displayed on display (7100)).
As to claim 10, Lemay discloses the display control device, wherein
the acquired first position and posture information of the input apparatus is detected by a sensor, and
the input apparatus includes the sensor (Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0076, where image sensors (314) acquire position and posture information).
As to claim 11, Lemay discloses the display control device, wherein
a sensor detects the acquired first position and posture information of the input apparatus, and
the stereoscopic display includes the sensor (Fig. 1-3 and 7A, paragraphs 0048 and 0193, where input devices (125, 130, 140, 150) acquire position and posture information and is included in stereoscopic display (7100)).
As to claim 12, Lemay discloses the display control device, wherein
an external device detects the acquired first position and posture information of the input apparatus, and
the external device is different from each of the input apparatus, the stereoscopic display, and the display control device (Fig. 1-3 and 5, paragraph 0100, where controller (110) may direct external cameras for capturing the physical environment of the CGR experience to focus in the determined direction).
As to claim 13, Lemay discloses the display control device, further comprising a display control unit configured to control a display of the video content on an external display (Fig. 7A, paragraph 0113, where content is displayed on displays (7100, 7202)).
As to claim 14, Lemay discloses the display control device, wherein
the generation unit is further configured to generate the video content that includes three-dimensional information (Fig. 7A, paragraphs 0112-0119, where three-dimensional information is displayed on displays (7100, 7102)),
the display control unit is further configured to control, based on a viewpoint in the virtual space, the display of the video content on the external display, and
the viewpoint is set based on the first position and posture information of the input apparatus (Fig. 7A, paragraphs 0112-0119, where three-dimensional information is displayed on displays (7100, 7102) based on the position and postures of users (7202, 7204)).
As to claim 15, Lemay discloses the display control device, wherein
the acquisition unit is further configured to acquire second position and posture information a plurality of input apparatuses (Fig. 1-3 and 7A, paragraphs 0048 and 0193, where input devices (125, 130, 140, 150) acquire position and posture information),
the extraction unit is further configured to extract the first part of the virtual content based on the second position and posture information of each of the plurality of input apparatuses (Fig. 1 and 2, paragraphs 0066-0071, where controller (110) extracts virtual content passed on posture and position information via the data obtaining unit (241)),
the generation unit is further configured to generate a plurality of pieces of the video content based on the first part of the virtual content (Fig. 1-3, paragraphs 0061, 0067-0073, where display generation component (120) generates video content), and
the display control unit is further configured to display the plurality of pieces of the video content, wherein the plurality of pieces of the video content is switched based on a user input (Fig. 7A-7Q, paragraphs 0205-0206, where the user (7202, 7204) can switch the plurality of pieces of video content based on their interaction with the physical and virtual objects).
As to claim 16, Lemay discloses limitations similar to claim 1.
As to claim 17, Lemay discloses limitations similar to claim 1. In addition, Lemay discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon, a computer-executable instructions which when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute operations (Fig. 2, paragraph 0065, where memory (220) includes a non-transitory computer readable storage medium).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, with respect to claim 1, on pages 9-11, lines 10-1, Lemay fails to disclose, “an extraction unit configured to extract, based on the first position and posture information of the input apparatus, a first part of the virtual content in a virtual space”. Examiner disagrees as Lemay discloses, “an extraction unit configured to extract, based on the first position and posture information of the input apparatus, a first part of the virtual content in a virtual space” (Fig. 1, 2 and 7K-7M, paragraphs 0066-0071 and 0173-0179, where controller (110) extracts, based on the position and posture of hand (7038), a part of virtual content, hand (7038’) in a virtual space, via the data obtaining unit (241)).
Applicant argues, with respect to claims 16 and 17, on page 11, lines 1-4, the claims are not anticipated by Lemay for the reasons stated above with regard to claim 1. Examiner disagrees for the reasons stated above.
Applicant argues, with respect to claims 2-15, on page 11, lines 5-10, the claims are not anticipated by Lemay based on their dependence on claim 1. Examiner disagrees for the reasons stated above.
Applicant argues, with respect to claims 1-7, on page 11, lines 11-13, the claims are in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees for the reasons stated above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANEETA YODICHKAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/ANEETA YODICHKAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627