Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I Claims 1-7 and 17 in the reply filed on 12/16/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 8-16 and 18-20 are currently withdrawn from consideration as non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oneil et al. (DE 3635636 A1).
Claim 1: Oneil teaches a triazole compound represented by the following formula IV (page 5, line 25 of foreign patent DE3635636 A1).
Oneil teaches n is 2, 3 or 4 (see page 4 line 23-24 of the machine translation). The Chemical formula (I) reads on Formula IV of Oneil when R3 and R4 represent a hydrogen atom.
Claim 2: The process by which the triazole compound is formed is not dispositive of the issue of the patentability of the instant product claim.
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oneil et al. (DE 3635636 A1).
Claim 3: Oneil teaches a triazole compound represented by the following formula IV (page 5, line 25 of foreign patent DE3635636 A1).
Oneil teaches n is 2, 3 or 4 (see page 4 line 23-24 of the machine translation). The Chemical formula (I) reads on Formula IV of Oneil when R3 and R4 represent a hydrogen atom.
Claim 17: Oneil teaches the triazole compound can be mixed or combined with additional such as polymethacrylate and sodium nitrate (see page 11, lines 19, 33 and 34 of machine translation). The polymethacrylate meets the claimed resin and the sodium nitrate meets the claimed inorganic material.
Claims 4, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oneil et al. (DE 3635636 A1).
Claim 4: Oneil teaches a triazole compound represented by the following formula IV (page 5, line 25 of foreign patent DE3635636 A1).
Oneil teaches n is 2, 3 or 4 (see page 4, line 23-24 of the machine translation). The Chemical formula (I) reads on Formula IV of Oneil when R3 and R4 represent a hydrogen atom.
Claim 5: Oneil teaches the triazole compound can be applied to a copper substrate as a corrosion inhibitor (see page 5, lines 18-19 of the machine translation).
Claim 7: Oneil teaches the triazole compound can be applied to a copper substrate as a corrosion inhibitor (see page 5, lines 18-19 of the machine translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oneil et al. (DE 3635636 A1) as applied to claim 4, and further in view of Fukuda et. (US 2020/0123422 A1).
Oneil teaches the claimed invention as set forth above.
Claim 6: Oneil does not teach using the triazole based corrosion inhibitor with an adhesive agent. However, Fukuda teaches a triazole based corrosion inhibitor in adhesive agent composition [0102]. Oneil and Fukuda are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is the triazole based corrosion inhibitor. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the adhesive agent of Fukuda with the invention of Oneil, and the motivation for combining would be to enhance the adhering property of the triazole based corrosion inhibitor.
Correspondence
BS
February 6, 2026
/BETELHEM SHEWAREGED/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1785