DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “road type recognition unit” in claims 1-14.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Corresponding structure for the claimed “road type recognition unit” is provided in paragraph [0038] of the specification as-filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to “a storage medium storing a program”. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, this storage medium may be a transitory form of a signal transmission, such as a carrier wave or a signal per se. Transitory forms of signal transmission are not directed to any of the statutory categories of patent-eligible subject matter (see MPEP 2106.03).
Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “a non-transitory storage medium” or the like.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abhyanker (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0136414 A1) in view of Tran (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0108926 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Abhyanker teaches a control device (computer system 200) for a mobile object (autonomous neighborhood vehicle 100) that is able to move in both a roadway and a sidewalk (see [0109]-[0110]), the control device comprising:
a road type recognition unit configured to recognize whether a region of interest is a roadway or a sidewalk and detected by a detection device that detects an external situation of the mobile object (see [0109]-[0110]); and
a control unit configured to control the mobile object based on a result of the recognition of the road type recognition unit (see [0109]-[0110]).
Abhyanker does not expressly teach the region of interest is recognized as a roadway or a sidewalk based on a bicycle mark used for guiding a passage of a bicycle.
Tran also generally teaches an autonomous mobile object (see Abstract). Tran teaches an equipped optical sensor, LiDAR , or RADAR is used to detect a bike lane and an associated marking for the bike lane (see [0014], [0066]-[0067], and [0074]-[0114]). Tran teaches the recognition of the bike lane, along with associated markings and signage, is used in part to determine a vehicular roadway and a sidewalk present in the operating environment (see [0074]-[0114] and [0121]-[0130]).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by Abhyanker such that the recognition of a roadway or a sidewalk is based on a bicycle mark present in a bike lane, in view of Tran, as Tran teaches this is an effective manner in segmenting a detected environment to isolate a sidewalk and a vehicular roadway to better guide the autonomous vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Abhyanker and Tran further teaches the road type recognition unit recognizes whether the region of interest is a roadway or a sidewalk based on the bicycle mark and a direction of the bicycle mark (see [0014], [0066]-[0067], [0074]-[0114], and [0121]-[0130] of Tran).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Abhyanker and Tran further teaches the road type recognition unit recognizes whether the region of interest is a roadway or a sidewalk based on the bicycle mark and a sign provided in vicinity of the bicycle mark (see [0014], [0066]-[0067], [0074]-[0114], and [0121]-[0130] of Tran).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Abhyanker and Tran further teaches the road type recognition unit recognizes whether the region of interest is a roadway or a sidewalk based on the bicycle mark and widths of a first road on which the bicycle mark is displayed and a second road adjacent to the first road (see [0014], [0066]-[0067], [0074]-[0114], and [0121]-[0130] of Tran).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Abhyanker and Tran does not expressly teach the road type recognition unit recognizes a road with a narrow width between the first and second roads as a sidewalk and recognizes a road with a broad width between the first and second roads as a roadway.
However, as noted above in the rejection of claim 4, Tran teaches the use of a minimum lane width to detect a roadway lane being separated from a sidewalk via a bike lane and transition zone (see [0124]). As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by the combination of Abhyanker and Tran such that the road type recognition unit recognizes a road with a narrow width between the first and second roads as a sidewalk and recognizes a road with a broad width between the first and second roads as a roadway, in view of Tran, as it is known to those of ordinary skill in the art that sidewalks are typically more narrow than roadway lanes and as Tran teaches the system is able to identify roadway lanes based on a width of the lane.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Abhyanker and Tran further teaches the bicycle mark is disposed on a first road and a boundary object for distinguishing the first road from a second road adjacent to the first road is adjacent to the bicycle mark, the road type recognition unit recognizes whether the second road is a roadway or a sidewalk based on one or both of presence or absence of a vehicle on the first and second roads and the width of the first road and the width of the second road (see [0106] and [0121]-[0124] of Tran).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Abhyanker and Tran further teaches the boundary object is a planting (see [0124] of Tran).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Abhyanker and Tran further teaches the road type recognition unit recognizes a road on which there is no vehicle between the first and second roads as a sidewalk (see [0124] of Tran).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Abhyanker and Tran does not expressly teach the road type recognition unit recognizes a road on which the width is narrow width between the first and second roads as a sidewalk.
However, as noted above in the rejection of claims 4 and 5, Tran teaches the use of a minimum lane width to detect a roadway lane being separated from a sidewalk via a bike lane and transition zone (see [0124]). As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by the combination of Abhyanker and Tran such that the road type recognition unit recognizes a road on which the width is narrow width between the first and second roads as a sidewalk, in view of Tran, as it is known to those of ordinary skill in the art that sidewalks are typically more narrow than roadway lanes and as Tran teaches the system is able to identify roadway lanes based on a width of the lane.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Abhyanker and Tran, as applied to claim 9 above, further teaches the road type recognition unit identifies a road of which the width is narrow between the first and second roads and recognizes the identified road as a sidewalk when there is no vehicle on the identified road (see [0124] of Tran and the rejection of claim 9 above).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Abhyanker and Tran further teaches the road type recognition unit recognizes whether the region of interest is a roadway or a sidewalk based on the bicycle mark, a direction of the bicycle mark, widths of right and left roads of the bicycle mark, and a sign provided in vicinity of the bicycle mark (see [0014], [0066]-[0067], [0074]-[0114], and [0121]-[0130] of Tran).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Abhyanker and Tran further discloses the road type recognition unit recognizes whether the region of interest is a roadway or a sidewalk based on the bicycle mark and a direction of the bicycle mark when the direction of the bicycle mark is recognizable, and recognizes whether the region of the interest is a roadway or a sidewalk based on one or both of the bicycle mark and widths of right and left roads of the bicycle marks and a sign provided in vicinity of the bicycle mark when the direction of the bicycle mark is not recognizable (see [0014], [0066]-[0067], [0074]-[0114], and [0121]-[0130] of Tran; note that the inclusion of the bicycle mark and direction is not necessary in the determination when one is not recognized).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Abhyanker and Tran, as applied to claim 1 above, teaches a control method for a mobile object (autonomous neighborhood vehicle 100 of Abhyanker) in a control device (computer system 200 of Abhyanker) for a mobile object that is able to move in both a roadway and a sidewalk (see [0109]-[0110] of Abhyanker), the method comprising:
recognizing whether a region of interest is a roadway or a sidewalk based on a bicycle mark used for guiding a passage of a bicycle and detected by a detection device that detects an external situation of the mobile object (see [0109]-[0110] of Abhyanker and [0014], [0066]-[0067], [0074]-[0114], and [0121]-[0130] of Tran); and
controlling the mobile object based on a result of the recognition (see [0109]-[0110] of Abhyanker).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Abhyanker and Tran, as applied to claim 1 above, teaches a storage medium storing a program causing a control device (computer system 200 of Abhyanker) for a mobile object (autonomous neighborhood vehicle 100 of Abhyanker) that is able to move in both a roadway and a sidewalk (see [0109]-[0110] of Abhyanker) to perform:
recognizing whether a region of interest is a roadway or a sidewalk based on a bicycle mark used for guiding a passage of a bicycle and detected by a detection device that detects an external situation of the mobile object (see [0109]-[0110] of Abhyanker and [0014], [0066]-[0067], [0074]-[0114], and [0121]-[0130] of Tran); and
controlling the mobile object based on a result of the recognition (see [0109]-[0110] of Abhyanker).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Abhyanker and Tran, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okai (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2023/0245223 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Abhyanker and Tran, as applied to claim 1 above, does not expressly teach the control unit controls the mobile object in a roadway mode for traveling on a roadway when the mobile object is located on a road recognized as a roadway by the road type recognition unit, and controls the mobile object in a sidewalk mode for traveling on a sidewalk when the mobile object is located on a road recognized as a sidewalk by the road type recognition unit.
Okai also generally teaches a system for operating a mobile object that is capable of being operated on both a roadway and a sidewalk (see Abstract and [0329]). Okai teaches the mobility 5001 has a set maximum speed according to the roadway on which it is operating, such that a maximum speed while operating on a sidewalk is lower than a set maximum speed while operating on a roadway (see [0329]).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by the combination of Abhyanker and Tran such that the control unit controls the mobile object in a roadway mode for traveling on a roadway when the mobile object is located on a road recognized as a roadway by the road type recognition unit, and controls the mobile object in a sidewalk mode for traveling on a sidewalk when the mobile object is located on a road recognized as a sidewalk by the road type recognition unit, by limiting the speed to a lower maximum speed value in the case of operating on the sidewalk as compared to while operating on the roadway, in view of Okai, as Okai teaches this allows the vehicle to operate more safely on a sidewalk where pedestrians may be present.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Abhyanker, Tran, and Okai, as applied to claim 13 above, further teaches the control unit limits an upper limit speed during traveling of the mobile object to a first speed when the mobile object is located on a road recognized as a roadway by the road type recognition unit, and limits an upper limit speed during traveling of the mobile object to a second speed less than the first speed when the mobile object is located on a road recognized as a sidewalk by the road type recognition unit (see [0329] of Okai and the rejection of claim 13 above).
Conclusion
/ANSHUL SOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667