DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending and examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Re Claim 17, it is recited :wherein the exterior body includes a non-woven fabric” and then “wherein the non-woven fabric has a density …” Examiner believes that it is sufficiently clear that in this situation, “the non-woven fabric” is referring to that of the exterior body. However, Examiner also notes that Claim 1, from which Claim 17 indirectly depends from, already recites a non-woven fabric. As such, one skilled in the art may also interpret said limitation as referring to the non-woven fabric of the post-treatment material. Examiner recommends further clarifying the claim recitation by stating “wherein the non-woven fabric of the exterior body has a density …”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arco et al. (US 2007/0149942) in view of Ikishima et al. (US 2017/0252228).
Re Claim 1, Arco discloses a post-treatment material (disposal tape 1) for an absorbent article (diaper 10), the post-treatment material comprising:
a bonding portion (attachable portion 2) to be bonded to an exterior body of an absorbent article (e.g., Figs. 1a-1b),
wherein the bonding portion is a portion configured to be weldable by ultrasonic welding or thermal welding (see [0021] “… the extensible base material 3 itself, which could be attached by adhesives, heat, ultrasonic bonding, pressure bonding or any other well known bonding means.”).
Arco discloses that the post-treatment material comprises a multilayer web having film, fibrous or other layers ([0022] & [0031]) but does not explicitly disclose a non-woven fabric layer including a non-woven fabric having a density of from 15 kg/m3 to 120 kg/m3 and containing chemical fibers; a resin layer including an elastomer layer; and wherein the non-woven fabric layer serves as an outermost surface of the post-treatment material for an absorbent article.
Ikishima discloses a stretchable laminate suitable for use in absorbent articles ([0035]), wherein the stretchable laminate comprises a nonwoven layer and an elastomer layer ([0032] “a stretchable laminate including an elastomer layer and a non-woven fabric layer arranged on at least one side of the elastomer layer”). The nonwoven layer(s) contains chemical fibers ([0057]) and serves as the outermost surface of the stretchable laminate. Ikishima also discloses that a most preferred thickness of the elastic laminate is from 1mm to 0.1mm ([0035]) and gives an example where the elastomer layer is 60µm and a nonwoven applied to both surfaces of the elastomer layer, wherein the nonwoven has a basis weight of 24 g/m2. Since it is not readily clear how thick Ikishima’s nonwoven is (Ikishima’s stretchable laminate includes adhesive layer(s) at applied at two different basis weights at undisclosed thickness), one skilled in the art cannot indisputably determine the density of Ikishima’s nonwoven. However, if one assumes that the adhesive layer(s) is of negligible thickness, one can arrive at a nonwoven having a density of ~50 kg/m3 (1mm laminate thickness and 60 µm elastomer layer thickness yields 0.47mm thickness for each of the two nonwoven layers; note that density is basis weight divided by thickness). Additionally, it is likely that Ikishima’s nonwoven has a density that falls within the claimed range because Ikishima discloses various values that fall within the same ranges as those disclosed in the current Application: a stretchable laminate having an overall thickness of 0.8-1.2mm, an elastomer layer having a thickness of 30-100 µm, and a nonwoven layer having a basis weight of 20gsm or more. Given that Ikishima’s stretchable laminate has similar measurements and a nonwoven basis weight, it is likely that Ikishima’s nonwoven will also have the same density as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Arco with the laminate taught by Ikishima since the selection of a material suitable for its intended use (i.e., selection of a nonwoven-elastomer stretchable laminate to use in an absorbent article) establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2144.07).
Re Claim 2, Arco and Ikishima combine to disclose claim 1, and in the combination, Ikishima also discloses wherein the non-woven fabric is a spunlace non-woven fabric ([0056]), a carded non-woven fabric ([0056]), an air-through non-woven fabric, or a spunjet non-woven fabric.
Re Claims 3-4, Arco and Ikishima combine to disclose claim 1, and in the combination, Ikishima also discloses wherein the chemical fibers are olefin-based resin fibers that are polypropylene-based resin fibers ([0057]).
Re Claim 5, Arco and Ikishima combine to disclose claim 4, while Arco and Ikishima do not explicitly disclose that the non-woven fabric contains 30 wt % or more of the polypropylene-based resin fibers, but Ikishima appears to suggest that the non-woven fabric may be made completely of fiber from one material (see [0057], “the non-woven fabric layer may contain fiber of polypropylene, … or a blend thereof, or a mixture thereof…”). As such, one skilled in the art would reasonably expect that the entire non-woven, or 100%, would be of polypropylene-based resin fibers.
Re Claims 6-8, Arco and Ikishima combine to disclose claim 1, and in the combination, Ikishima also discloses wherein the elastomer layer contains a styrene-based elastomer or an olefin-based elastomer ([0009]), wherein the elastomer layer contains the olefin-based elastomer ([0009]-[0013]), and wherein the olefin-based elastomer is a propylene-based elastomer (see [0014]).
Re Claim 9, Arco and Ikishima combine to disclose claim 1, and both disclose wherein the post-treatment material has foldable structures (since the material is a thin stretchable laminate, it is capable of being folded).
Re Claim 10, Arco and Ikishima combine to disclose claim 1, and Arco also discloses wherein the post-treatment material has a band shape (e.g., Figs. 5 & 7), but both references are silent to a length of the post-treatment material being from 50 mm to 250 mm. However, since Arco discloses that the band is for wrapping around a rolled-up used diaper, one skilled in the art would be able to determine an appropriate length such that the band can accomplish its intended purpose.
Re Claim 11, Arco and Ikishima combine to disclose claim 1, but neither explicitly discloses wherein the post-treatment material has a basis weight of from 50 g/m2 to 150 g/m2. However, given that Ikishima’s stretchable laminate is made of the same materials (i.e., same material density) and generally having the same overall thickness and elastomer layer thickness as that of the currently disclosed invention, one skilled in the art would expect that the resulting basis weight for the stretchable laminate, which is the post-treatment material, would be the same as claimed.
Re Claims 12-15, Arco and Ikishima combine to disclose claim 1, but they do not explicitly discloses wherein the post-treatment material has a breaking elongation of from 150% to 600%, a maximum strength of 2 N/10 mm or more, a stress after extension of 0.5 N/10 mm or more, or an elongation at a load of 2 N of 30% or more. However, these values are material properties of the post-treatment material. When the structure or composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims of the instant invention, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112-2112.01). A prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except for a claimed property or function. The Examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties that anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has a basis for shifting the burden of proof to the Applicant. Since the Ikishima stretchable laminate has the same material layers as that recited in the claims, one skilled in the art would expect it to exhibit the same values as claimed by the Applicant.
Re Claim 16, Arco discloses an absorbent article, comprising: an exterior body (see Figs. 1a-1b). Additionally, Arco and Ikishima combine to disclose the post-treatment material for an absorbent article of claim 1.
Re Claim 17, Arco and Ikishima combine to disclose claim 16, and Arco also discloses wherein the exterior body includes a non-woven fabric in an outermost surface thereof ([0021] “This could in some cases be a nonwoven used to form the back surface of the disposable article.”).
Both Arco and Ikishima are silent to the non-woven fabric of the exterior body having a density of from 15 kg/m3 to 120 kg/m3. However, since Arco discloses that the exterior body would be formed of a nonwoven and that the post treatment material may be a laminate that includes a layer of nonwoven, one skilled in the art may find it convenient and cost-saving to use the same nonwoven in both situations. As explained in the rejection for claim 1, while neither Arco nor Ikishima explicitly discloses a nonwoven density falling within the claimed range, but given Ikishima’s disclosure of laminate thickness, elastomer layer thickness and nonwoven basis weight, all of which fall within the same ranges as those disclosed in the current Application, it is likely that the nonwoven used in the Ikishima stretchable laminate would have the claimed density. Using this nonwoven also as the exterior surface of the absorbent article/diaper would obviate a need to keep multiple types of nonwovens in stock and thus would likely be cost-saving.
Re Claim 18, Arco and Ikishima combine to disclose claim 16, and Arco also discloses wherein the absorbent article is a pants-type diaper (see Figs. 1a-1b).
Re Claim 19, Arco discloses a method of manufacturing an absorbent article, the method comprising:
bonding a laminate (attachable portion 2, [0022] “multilayer web having film, fibrous or other layers” and [0031]) and an exterior body of an absorbent article to each other (see e.g., Figs. 1a-1b) by ultrasonic welding or thermal welding ([0021]).
Arco does not disclose laminating a non-woven fabric layer including a non-woven fabric having a density of from 15 kg/m3 to 120 kg/m3 and containing chemical fibers, and a resin layer including an elastomer layer to produce the laminate.
Ikishima discloses a stretchable laminate suitable for use in absorbent articles ([0035]), wherein the stretchable laminate comprises a nonwoven layer and an elastomer layer ([0032] “a stretchable laminate including an elastomer layer and a non-woven fabric layer arranged on at least one side of the elastomer layer”). The nonwoven layer(s) contains chemical fibers ([0057]) and serves as the outermost surface of the stretchable laminate. Ikishima also discloses that a most preferred thickness of the elastic laminate is from 1mm to 0.1mm ([0035]) and gives an example where the elastomer layer is 60µm and a nonwoven applied to both surfaces of the elastomer layer, wherein the nonwoven has a basis weight of 24 g/m2. Since it is not readily clear how thick Ikishima’s nonwoven is (Ikishima’s stretchable laminate includes adhesive layer(s) at applied at two different basis weights at undisclosed thickness), one skilled in the art cannot indisputably determine the density of Ikishima’s nonwoven. However, if one assumes that the adhesive layer(s) is of negligible thickness, one can arrive at a nonwoven having a density of ~50 kg/m3 (1mm laminate thickness and 60 µm elastomer layer thickness yields 0.47mm thickness for each of the two nonwoven layers; note that density is basis weight divided by thickness). Additionally, it is likely that Ikishima’s nonwoven has a density that falls within the claimed range because Ikishima discloses various values that fall within the same ranges as those disclosed in the current Application: a stretchable laminate having an overall thickness of 0.8-1.2mm, an elastomer layer having a thickness of 30-100 µm, and a nonwoven layer having a basis weight of 20gsm or more. Given that Ikishima’s stretchable laminate has similar measurements and a nonwoven basis weight, it is likely that Ikishima’s nonwoven will also have the same density as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Arco with the laminate taught by Ikishima since the selection of a material suitable for its intended use (i.e., selection of a nonwoven-elastomer stretchable laminate to use in an absorbent article) establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
/SUSAN S SU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781
28 October 2026