CTNF 18/850,792 CTNF 91804 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claims 1-10, 12 are presented for examination. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 9-10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolinsky et al. (US 2015/0177394 A1; pub. Jun. 25, 2015) in view of Shen et al. (US 2016/0300973 A1; pub. Oct. 13, 2016) . Regarding claim 1, Dolinsky et al. disclose: A photon counting detector, comprising: a scintillator (para. [0027]-[0028]) configured to convert incident gamma radiation into optical photons; a pixelated photodetector configured to detect the optical photons, wherein the pixelated photodetector is a silicon photomultiplier, (SiPM), detector, wherein each photodetector pixel comprises an array of silicon avalanche photo diodes, (SPADs) (para. [0022]-[0023]) ; and circuitry configured to heat SPADs (para. [0025], [0040], fig.5-7) controlling the length of the heating period (para. [0025], [0040], fig.5-7). Dolinsky et al. are silent about: applying, if dark count rate of a SPAD exceeded a dark count rate threshold, an elevated reverse bias voltage to the SPAD to force the SPAD into breakdown with current flowing through the SPAD for the time of a heating period to locally increase the temperature of the SPAD. In a similar field of endeavor Shen et al. disclose: applying, if dark count rate of a SPAD exceeded a dark count rate threshold, an elevated reverse bias voltage to the SPAD to force the SPAD into breakdown with current flowing through the SPAD (para. [0003] teaches that increasing reverse bias will increase the dark count rate and force the SPAD into breakdown) motivated by the benefits for increased detection efficiency ( Shen et al para. [0003]). In light of the benefits for increased detection efficiency as taught by Shen et al. , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Dolinsky et al. using the teachings of Shen et al . so that an elevated reverse bias voltage to the SPAD to force the SPAD into breakdown with current flowing through the SPAD for the time of a heating period to locally increase the temperature of the SPAD. Regarding claim 2, the combination of Dolinsky et al. and Shen et al. disclose: the circuitry is configured to control the length of the heating period based on the amount of dark count rate and/or the extent by which the dark count rate exceeded the dark count rate threshold (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1) . Re garding claim 3, the combination of Dolinsky et al. and Shen et al. disclose: the circuitry is configured to control the length of the heating period to be longer the larger the amount of dark count rate is and/or the higher the extent is by which the dark count rate exceeded the dark count rate threshold (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1) . Regarding claim 4, the combination of Dolinsky et al. and Shen et al. disclose: the circuitry is configured to control the length of the heating period according to a one or more predetermined lengths (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, especially see para. [0022] of Dolinsky et al., the para. teaches the breakdown voltage depends on the temperature) . Regarding claim 9, the combination of Dolinsky et al. and Shen et al. disclose: the circuitry is configured to monitor the temperature of the SPAD during the heating period by measuring the reverse bias voltage level (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, especially see fig.5-7 of Dolinsky et al.) . Regarding claim 10, the combination of Dolinsky et al. and Shen et al. disclose: the circuitry is configured to control the reverse bias voltage level during the heating level not to fall below a level required to maintain constant current through the SPAD (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1) . Regarding claim 12, the combination of Dolinsky et al. and Shen et al. disclose: A photon counting method, comprising: providing a photon counting detector comprising a scintillator configured to convert incident gamma radiation into optical photons; detecting the flux of optical photons using the pixelated photodetector, wherein the pixelated photodetector is a silicon photomultiplier, (SiPM), detector, wherein each photodetector pixel comprises an array of silicon avalanche photo diodes, (SPADs), and; providing circuitry configured to heat SPADs; applying, if dark count rate of a SPAD exceeded a dark count rate threshold, an elevated reverse bias voltage to the SPAD to force the SPAD into breakdown with current flowing through the SPAD for the time of a heating period to locally increase the temperature of the SPAD; and controlling the length of the heating period (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 1, therefore, the claim is rejected on the same basis) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolinsky et al. (US 2015/0177394 A1; pub. Jun. 25, 2015) in view of Shen et al. (US 2016/0300973 A1; pub. Oct. 13, 2016) and further in view of Ledvina et al. (US 2021/0223098 A1; pub. Jul. 22, 2021) . Regarding claim 5, the combination of Dolinsky et al. and Shen et al. are silent about: circuitry configured to measure the dark count rate of the SPAD. In a similar field of endeavor Ledvina et al. disclose: circuitry configured to measure the dark count rate of the SPAD (para. [0046], [0050]) motivated by the benefits for determining an optimal bias voltage for the SPAD-based semiconductor device ( Ledvina et al. para. [0046]). In light of the benefits for determining an optimal bias voltage for the SPAD-based semiconductor device as taught by Ledvina et al. , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Dolinsky et al. and Shen et al . using the teachings of Ledvina et al . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolinsky et al. (US 2015/0177394 A1; pub. Jun. 25, 2015) in view of Shen et al. (US 2016/0300973 A1; pub. Oct. 13, 2016) and further in view of Van Weeren et al. (US 2020/0366381 A1; pub. Nov. 19, 2020) . Regarding claim 6, the combination of Dolinsky et al. and Shen et al. are silent about: the circuitry is configured to ramp up the reverse bias voltage until a bias current caused by application of the reverse bias voltage to flow reaches a bias current limit. In a similar field of endeavor Van Weeren et al. disclose: the circuitry is configured to ramp up the reverse bias voltage until a bias current caused by application of the reverse bias voltage to flow reaches a bias current limit (para. [0104]) motivated by the benefits for safe operating area (SOA) of the SiPM sensor ( Van Weeren et al. para. [0104]). In light of the benefits for determining an optimal bias voltage for the SPAD-based semiconductor device as taught by Van Weeren et al. , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Dolinsky et al. and Shen et al . using the teachings of Van Weeren et al . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolinsky et al. (US 2015/0177394 A1; pub. Jun. 25, 2015) in view of Shen et al. (US 2016/0300973 A1; pub. Oct. 13, 2016) and further in view of Inoue et al. (US 2023/0299114 A1; pub. Sep. 21, 2023) . Regarding claim 7, the combination of Dolinsky et al. and Shen et al. are silent about: the circuitry is configured to ramp down the reverse bias voltage below breakdown voltage after the heating period and to recharge the SPAD to become sensitive for optical photon detection. In a similar field of endeavor Inoue et al. disclose: the circuitry is configured to ramp down the reverse bias voltage below breakdown voltage after the heating period and to recharge the SPAD to become sensitive for optical photon detection (para. [0087]) motivated by the benefits for reduced dead time ( Inoue et al. para. [0087]). In light of the benefits for reduced dead time as taught by Inoue et al. , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Dolinsky et al. and Shen et al . using the teachings of Inoue et al. Regarding claim 8, the combination of Dolinsky et al., Shen et al. and Inoue et al. disclose: the SPAD insensitive for optical photon detection during the heating period (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 7) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAMADOU FAYE whose telephone number is (571)270-0371. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 9AM-6PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Uzma Alam can be reached at 571-272-3995 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884 /UZMA ALAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/850,792 Page 2 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/850,792 Page 3 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/850,792 Page 4 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/850,792 Page 5 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/850,792 Page 6 Art Unit: 2884