DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
BRI of “an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1” includes full-length SEQ ID NO: 1 and fragments thereof because of the indefinite article “an”.
BRI of the transitional phrase “having” is open in view of paragraphs [0021]-[0025] of the specification (MPEP § 2111.03(IV)).
Therefore, the active agent in the instant claims may consist or comprise full-length SEQ ID NO: 1 or any fragment thereof.
If Applicant wishes to limit the scope of the active agent to a peptide consisting of or comprising full-length SEQ ID NO: 1, the claim should be amended to “the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,344,061, published 9 July 2019; hereafter “Chung”).
Chung teaches a pharmaceutical composition for preventing and/or treating hypomelanosis, the pharmaceutical composition containing, as an active ingredient, a peptide consisting of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 (col 4, lns 42-47). SEQ ID NO: 2 taught by Chung is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1.
Regarding the claimed use of treating or preventing inflammatory lung disease in claim 1 and the further functional effects in dependent claims 2-8, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the prior art peptide is structurally identical to the instantly claimed peptide. The peptide is an active ingredient in the prior art composition, suitable for pharmaceutical use. Therefore, the prior art composition and peptide must be capable of performing the instantly claimed functions.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin Sook Suh et al. (NPL 2, IDS 7/16/2025; hereafter “Suh”).
Suh teaches a pharmaceutical composition effective in an inflammatory lung disease model comprising the peptide hBD3-3 as an active agent (p. 5427, col 2). The peptide hBD3-3 comprises the amino acid sequence RR (Figure 1), which is a fragment of instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated by Suh.
Regarding the functional effects in dependent claims 2-8, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the prior art peptide is structurally identical to the instantly claimed peptide, which includes peptide comprising fragments of instant SEQ ID NO: 1. The peptide is an active ingredient in the prior art composition, suitable for pharmaceutical use and is shown to be effective in a model for inflammatory lung disease. Therefore, the prior art composition and peptide must be capable of performing the instantly claimed functions.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung et al. (WO 2022/015069, published 20 January 2022; English language equivalent is US2024/0051993 A1; hereafter “Chung”).
Chung teaches a peptide KYLLVHRPYYRR (SEQ ID NO: 3) ([0035]), which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Chung teaches a pharmaceutical composition for preventing or treating severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) infection, comprising the peptide ([0045]).
Regarding the claimed use of treating or preventing inflammatory lung disease in claim 1 and the further functional effects in dependent claims 2-8, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the prior art peptide is structurally identical to the instantly claimed peptide. The peptide is an active ingredient in the prior art composition, suitable for pharmaceutical use. Therefore, the prior art composition and peptide must be capable of performing the instantly claimed functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,344,061, published 9 July 2019; hereafter “Chung”) in view of Um et al. (CN 107206047 A, hereafter “Um”).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Chung teaches a composition for preventing and/or treating hair loss and promoting hair growth, the composition containing, as an active ingredient, a peptide consisting of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 (col 4, lns 1-47). SEQ ID NO: 2 taught by Chung is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Chung does not teach a functional food comprising the peptide consisting of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 as an active ingredient.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Um teaches a functional food for preventing and/or treating hair loss and promoting hair growth, the composition containing, as an active ingredient, a peptide (p. 5).
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
The specification does not present any evidence that a functional food comprising instant SEQ ID NO: 1 has unexpected properties.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the peptide of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 taught by Chung for the active agent peptide in the functional food taught by Um. It would have been obvious to substitute one active peptide agent for another because both are taught in the prior art to be suitable for the same use, promoting hair growth and preventing hair loss. The rationale for obviousness is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP § 2143.01(B)). The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Although the resulting functional food would be intended for preventing and/or treating hair loss and promoting hair growth, it would possess the ability of treating lung inflammation and pulmonary fibrosis because the active agent, the peptide of SEQ ID NO: 1, is identical to the claimed active agent.
Therefore, claims 9-10 are obvious over the cited art.
Conclusion
CHRISTINA M MARCHETTI BRADLEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1654
/CHRISTINA M MARCHETTI BRADLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654