DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 4 only display empty boxes with no further details than the element number, of which does not aid in understanding the invention. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation of “at least two reflection images comprises at least three reflection images” in lines 1-2. It is unclear whether the claim is now requiring three reflection images, as Claim 1, which Claim 2 depends on, only requires two reflection images. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be construed as the reflection images mentioned in Claim 1. However, further clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites receiving an image set comprising at least two reflection images and determining a feature contrast of the at least two pattern features. The limitation of receiving an image set comprising at least two reflection images, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind i.e., visually observing the image of the reflection images. Further, (although it is not required) if these processes are performed by an “inherent” processor, these claimed steps could easily be performed by a generic computer component as the claimed limitations do not require any specialized processor. Similarly, determining a feature contrast of the at least two pattern features, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind i.e., determining a contrast or a difference between images and patterns. If a Claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only
recites one additional element — using one or more generic processors for execution. The processors are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., the system, processor, an output) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using processors. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using processors to perform the identifying and determining steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic processors. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic processors cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. The other independent claim 12 also recites similar limitations as claim 1, which is also found to be not patent eligible at least for the reasons noted above.
The dependent claims 2-11, 14, and 15 are also directed to an abstract idea as the depending claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The elements in those claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, the depending claims, are, also not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6,8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Califa (US20220039679A1) in view of Ogawa (US20210236010A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Califa teaches a method for monitoring a condition of a living organism (corresponding disclosure in at least [0001], where the method is related to monitoring the health-related parameters (condition) of the patient (living organism), “technique specifically relates to monitoring of health-related parameters”) comprising:
(a) receiving an image set comprising at least two reflection images generated at different points in time and an indication of at least one interval between at least two different points in time (corresponding disclosure in at least [0016], where images are received by the image unit at different points in time (sequences of interleaving image data pieces) “configured for providing intervals of coherent illumination pulses separated between them by pulses of field illumination. The first imaging unit may thus collect sequence of interleaving image data pieces and split the collected frames based on illumination conditions”),
wherein a reflection image is generated while the living organism is illuminated by patterned coherent electromagnetic radiation (corresponding disclosure in at least [0005], where the method, which uses speckle pattern, uses electromagnetic radiation “When coherent electromagnetic radiation, e.g. laser beam, is backscattered from an optically rough medium, such as biological tissues, a speckle pattern may appear in the backscattered light”)
and, wherein the reflection image shows at least one pattern feature formed by illuminating at least a part of the living organism by the patterned coherent electromagnetic radiation (corresponding disclosure in at least [0021], where different speckle patterns are formed from illuminating the region “comprises determining contrast variations in image data comprising image data indicative of one or more speckle patterns formed in light returning from illumination spots in said inspection region”),
(b) determining a feature contrast of the at least two pattern features (corresponding disclosure in at least [0021], where the contrast in the speckle patterns are determined “wherein said processing comprises determining contrast variations in image data comprising image data indicative of one or more speckle patterns”)
(c) determining a condition measure of the living organism based on the feature contrast and the indication of the at least one interval (corresponding disclosure in at least [0021], where the conditions of the organism (user) are measured “the determined parameters may comprise at least one of heart rate, heart rate variability, respiratory rate, blood pressure (BP) and pulse wave velocity (PWV)”),
wherein the condition measure is determined using an algorithm (corresponding disclosure in at least [0082], where algorithms are implemented for the results “The method is based on common hardware and employs simple algorithms to achieve these results” and further in [0021], where the conditions of the organism (user) are measured “the determined parameters may comprise at least one of heart rate, heart rate variability, respiratory rate, blood pressure (BP) and pulse wave velocity (PWV)”) and reflection images of a plurality of humans with known condition measures (corresponding disclosure in at least [0005], where the method, which uses speckle pattern, uses electromagnetic radiation “When coherent electromagnetic radiation, e.g. laser beam, is backscattered from an optically rough medium, such as biological tissues, a speckle pattern may appear in the backscattered light”)
(d) outputting the condition measure (corresponding disclosure in at least [0057], where there is a processor for the input data and a parameter determining module, which outputs the condition measures “for processing of the input data where the processing utility 600 includes contrast speckle module 610 and parameter determining module 660”).
Califa does not teach a parametrized classification model, and wherein training the classification model comprises using at least one training dataset comprising reflection images of a plurality of humans with known condition measures.
Ogawa, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a similar concept (parameter measurements) of wherein the condition measure is determined using an algorithm that implements a parametrized classification model, and wherein training the classification model comprises using at least one training dataset of a plurality of humans with known condition measures (corresponding disclosure in at least [0089], where there is a classification model with a training dataset “ predicted blood pressures are determined by applying the pulse wave parameters, output by the pulse-wave parameter determining unit 20, as the data for training to one model created using the data for training” and further in [0090], where the data is for a plurality of humans (plurality of pieces of subject-person data) with known condition measures (blood-pressure) “model selection based on the model evaluation indices determined from the data for testing which includes a plurality of pieces of subject-person data determined by the blood-pressure estimation model evaluating unit”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated a classification model with a training data set as taught by Ogawa. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this because the training data further teaches the model for validation and effectiveness and efficiency increases with the use of a model.
Regarding Claim 2, Califa and Ogawa teach the limitations of Claim 1, and Califa further teaches wherein the image set comprises at least three reflection images (corresponding disclosure in at least [0016], where the imaging unit collects sequences (sets) of image data “configured for providing intervals of coherent illumination pulses separated between them by pulses of field illumination. The first imaging unit may thus collect sequence of interleaving image data pieces and split the collected frames based on illumination conditions,”)
and wherein the at least three reflection images have been generated in a time series with a constant time interval associated with an imaging frequency or changing time intervals associated with a mean imaging frequency (corresponding disclosure in at least [0051], where there is a set sampling rate for the image collection, sampling at a proper rate (frequency) for the imaging of the condition measures (monitoring blood and heart rate) “The first imaging unit 130 is preferably configured for collecting a sequence of images at selected sampling rate, where each image is collected within a selected exposure time, such that the sampling rate is sufficient for monitoring blood perfusion and heart rate of the subject”).
Regarding Claim 5, Califa and Ogawa teach the limitations of Claim 1, and Califa further teaches wherein the reflection images are motion corrected based on motion tracking data associated with the movement of the living organism (corresponding disclosure in at least [0015], where there is a tracking module for correcting the potential shifts of the region “Tracking of the relative location may be used for determining drift of the illumination spot with respect to the inspection region. Such drift may be associated with shift of sub-regions that can be corrected by following selected sub-regions on basis of the inspection region thereby compensating for shifts of the illumination spot”).
Regarding Claim 6, Califa and Ogawa teach the limitations of Claim 1, and Califa further teaches wherein the coherent electromagnetic radiation has a wavelength between 900 nm and 1000 nm (corresponding disclosure in at least [0048], where a wavelength range between 800-1550 nm is used, which encompasses the wavelength “the use of near Infrared illumination, e.g. wavelength range of 800-1550 nm may be preferred providing certain penetration through the skin and being non-visible illumination”).
Regarding Claim 8, Califa and Ogawa teach the limitations of Claim 1, and Califa further teaches wherein the condition measure comprises at least one of the heart rate, the blood pressure and/or the aspiration level (corresponding disclosure in at least [0007], where different biological parameters are measured “thereby enabling to determine biological parameters such as heart rate, heart rate variability (HRV), blood pressure (BP)”).
Regarding Claim 9, Califa and Ogawa teach the limitations of Claim 1, and Califa further teaches wherein outputting the condition measure is substituted by: generating a signal indicating a condition-based action based on a comparison of the condition measure with a threshold associated with a critical condition measure (corresponding disclosure in at least [0069], where there is a threshold for an abnormal condition (critical condition), determined after receiving the signal determined of the condition “system 100 may be located in front of a driver/pilot/operator or any other person/passenger in a moving vehicle and directed for inspection a region of the relevant subject for determining biological parameters such as heart rate… This allows monitoring of health condition of the subject and generating alert if a variation is detected beyond selected threshold”)
outputting the signal indicating the condition-based action (corresponding disclosure in at least [0069], where the signal result based on the critical condition (beyond threshold) is provided “determining biological parameters such as heart rate, heart rate variability etc., or existence of a person in a selected seat by detecting existence of heart rate. This allows monitoring of health condition of the subject and generating alert if a variation is detected beyond selected threshold”).
Regarding Claim 10, Califa and Ogawa teach the limitations of Claim 9, and Califa further teaches wherein the threshold is specific for the living organism (corresponding disclosure in at least [0070], where the measurements and detection of parameters are for an individual “a method for detecting biomedical parameters of an individual according to some embodiments of the present technique”).
Regarding Claim 11, Califa and Ogawa teach the limitations of Claim 1, and Califa further teaches A non-transitory computer-readable data medium storing a computer program including instructions for executing steps of the method (corresponding disclosure in at least [0009], where there is a storage utility (medium) for storing the input data for execution of the processing steps “ A control unit, generally comprising at least one processor and storage utility, is configured for receiving input data in the form of one or more sequences of image data pieces collected by the first imaging unit, and for processing the input data to determine one or more selected parameters of the subject”).
Regarding Claim 12,
Califa teaches a system for monitoring a condition of a living organism (corresponding disclosure in at least [0001], where the method is related to monitoring the health-related parameters (condition) of the patient (living organism), “technique specifically relates to monitoring of health-related parameters”) comprising:
(a) an input for receiving an image set comprising at least two reflection images generated at different points in time and an indication of at least one interval between at least two different points in time (corresponding disclosure in at least [0016], where images are received by the image unitat different points in time (sequences of interleaving image data pieces) “configured for providing intervals of coherent illumination pulses separated between them by pulses of field illumination. The first imaging unit may thus collect sequence of interleaving image data pieces and split the collected frames based on illumination conditions”),
wherein a reflection is generated while the living organism is illuminated by patterned coherent electromagnetic radiation (corresponding disclosure in at least [0005], where the method, which uses speckle pattern, uses electromagnetic radiation “When coherent electromagnetic radiation, e.g. laser beam, is backscattered from an optically rough medium, such as biological tissues, a speckle pattern may appear in the backscattered light”),
and, wherein the reflection image shows at least one pattern feature formed by illuminating at least a part of the living organism by the patterned coherent electromagnetic radiation (corresponding disclosure in at least [0021], where different speckle patterns are formed from illuminating the region “comprises determining contrast variations in image data comprising image data indicative of one or more speckle patterns formed in light returning from illumination spots in said inspection region”),
(b) a processor for - determining a feature contrast of the at least two pattern features (corresponding disclosure in at least [0021], where the contrast in the speckle patterns are determined “wherein said processing comprises determining contrast variations in image data comprising image data indicative of one or more speckle patterns”); and- determining a condition measure of the living organism based on the feature contrast and the indication of the at least one interval (corresponding disclosure in at least [0021], where the conditions of the organism (user) are measured “the determined parameters may comprise at least one of heart rate, heart rate variability, respiratory rate, blood pressure (BP) and pulse wave velocity (PWV)”),
wherein the condition measure is determined using an algorithm (corresponding disclosure in at least [0082], where algorithms are implemented for the results “The method is based on common hardware and employs simple algorithms to achieve these results” and further in [0021], where the conditions of the organism (user) are measured “the determined parameters may comprise at least one of heart rate, heart rate variability, respiratory rate, blood pressure (BP) and pulse wave velocity (PWV)”) and reflection images of a plurality of humans with known condition measures (corresponding disclosure in at least [0005], where the method, which uses speckle pattern, uses electromagnetic radiation “When coherent electromagnetic radiation, e.g. laser beam, is backscattered from an optically rough medium, such as biological tissues, a speckle pattern may appear in the backscattered light”),
(c) an output for outputting the condition measure (corresponding disclosure in at least [0057], where there is a processor for the input data and a parameter determining module, which outputs the condition measures “for processing of the input data where the processing utility 600 includes contrast speckle module 610 and parameter determining module 660”).
Califa does not teach a parametrized classification model, and wherein training the classification model comprises using at least one training dataset comprising reflection images of a plurality of humans with known condition measures.
Ogawa, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a similar concept (parameter measurements) of wherein the condition measure is determined using an algorithm that implements a parametrized classification model, and wherein training the classification model comprises using at least one training dataset of a plurality of humans with known condition measures (corresponding disclosure in at least [0089], where there is a classification model with a training dataset “ predicted blood pressures are determined by applying the pulse wave parameters, output by the pulse-wave parameter determining unit 20, as the data for training to one model created using the data for training” and further in [0090], where the data is for a plurality of humans (plurality of pieces of subject-person data) with known condition measures (blood-pressure) “model selection based on the model evaluation indices determined from the data for testing which includes a plurality of pieces of subject-person data determined by the blood-pressure estimation model evaluating unit”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated a classification model with a training data set as taught by Ogawa. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this because the training data further teaches the model for validation and effectiveness and efficiency increases with the use of a model.
Regarding Claim 13, Califa and Ogawa teach the limitations of Claim 1, and Califa further teaches wherein the system further comprises a camera for generating the at least two reflection images and/or an illumination source for illuminating the living organism by the patterned coherent electromagnetic radiation (corresponding disclosure in at least [0072], where the reflection images are captured using a camera and further the patterned light (the polarized laser) “To calculate the speckle contrast and remote PPG in reflection (rPPGr) signals, a non-collimated, polarized, 850 nm laser was used to illuminate the entire finger with an intensity of 300 μW/cm2. Two additional cameras were used to record the backscattered light from the finger”).
Regarding Claim 14, Califa and Ogawa teach the limitations of Claim 1, and Califa further teaches the method comprising using the condition measure in a condition controlling system (corresponding disclosure in at least [0021], where the control unit (controlling system) takes the condition measures for processing “a control unit comprising at least one processor, the control unit is configured for receiving input data comprising said at least one sequence of image data piece and for processing the image data pieces for generating data indicative of one or more parameters of the individual”).
Regarding Claim 15, Califa and Ogawa teach the limitations of Claim 1, and Califa further teaches a condition controlling system comprising:(a) an input for receiving a condition measure obtained by the method (corresponding disclosure in at least [0056], where there is an input module configured with the processing “the control unit may be configured as a computer unit or system including one or more processors, memory utility and input/output modules”)
and a threshold associated with a critical condition measure (corresponding disclosure in at least [0069], where there is a threshold showing a condition beyond it (critical condition) “This allows monitoring of health condition of the subject and generating alert if a variation is detected beyond selected threshold”);
(b) a processor for generating a signal indicating a condition-based action based on a comparison of the condition measure with the threshold associated with a critical condition measure (corresponding disclosure in at least [0014], where there is a processor included for comparison of the condition measures “the processor unit may operate for determining, within received image data pieces, speckle regions associated with the illumination spot and having speckle patterns. The processor unit may divide the speckle region to two or more sub-regions and determine separate contrast measure for the different sub-regions”; examiner notes the claim does not further specify what is meant by “critical” condition or what the “condition” measured is, and a broadest reasonable interpretation is used); and
(c) an output for outputting the signal indicating a condition-based action (corresponding disclosure in at least [0056], where there is a control unit which includes the processor alongside an output module “the control unit may be configured as a computer unit or system including one or more processors, memory utility and input/output modules”).
Claims 3, 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Califa (US20220039679A1) and Ogawa (US20210236010A1) as applied in Claims 1 and 2 and in further view of Drori (WO2021074920A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Califa and Ogawa teaches the limitations of Claim 2, but does not teach wherein the imaging frequency is at least twice the motion frequency being associated with an expected periodic motion of a body fluid.
Drori, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the imaging frequency is at least twice the motion frequency being associated with an expected periodic motion of a body fluid (corresponding disclosure in at least [pg. 55, lns 28-32], where the imaging frequency will be twice the body fluid (human pulse) “Measuring human pulse, which is typically in a range of 40 beats per minute and above. Such measurement needs analyzing vibrations at a frequency of 1 Hertz and even somewhat less. When such analyzing is performed by analyzing image frames of a video sequence, it is sufficient to analyze image frames at approximately double the rate of the frequency being measured, that is, for example, approximately 2 frames per second or above”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated an imaging frequency that is twice the motion of fluid as taught by Drori. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this because it ensures that the blood flow is being fully measured with each image frame for analysis. One of ordinary skill in the signal processing arts would also have recognized that sampling at twice the frequency rate prevents aliasing, i.e. the Nyquist theorem.
Regarding Claim 7, Califa and Ogawa teach the limitations of claim 1 and wherein the patterned coherent electromagnetic radiation are emitted from an illumination source (corresponding disclosure in at least [0016], where the method of using speckles (patterns) is accomplished with an illumination light source “the illumination unit may comprise, in additional to the coherent illumination light source, a wide field illumination source”),
and wherein the image set comprising at least two reflection images is received from a camera (corresponding disclosure in at least [0016], where the reflection images are received by a camera (video channel, first imaging unit) “The first imaging unit may thus collect sequence of interleaving image data pieces and split the collected frames based on illumination conditions, where frames illuminated by coherent illumination are directed for speckle pattern analysis and frames illuminated by field illumination are directed to a video channel”), but does not teach wherein a distance between the living organism and the camera and/or the distance between the living organism and the illumination source is 5 cm and 150 cm.
Drori, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein a distance between the living organism and the camera and/or the distance between the living organism and the illumination source is 5 cm and 150 cm (corresponding disclosure in at least [pg. 46, ln 31-32], where the distance between the camera and the patient is 40 cm “Figure 15A shows an image of a patient’s arm in human- visible wavelengths, taken at a distance of approximately 40 centimeters from the arm”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the distance between the living organism and the illumination source as taught by Drori. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this because the distance between the light and patient allows for the light to properly illuminate the targeted region for imaging.
Regarding Claim 16, Califa and Ogawa teach the limitations of claim 1 and Califa further teaches at least two reflection images (corresponding disclosure in at least [0021], where different speckle patterns are formed from illuminating the region “comprises determining contrast variations in image data comprising image data indicative of one or more speckle patterns formed in light returning from illumination spots in said inspection region”), but does not teach wherein the at least two reflection images are separated by a constant time interval associated with an imaging frequency or changing time intervals.
Drori, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a similar concept of a constant time interval associated with an imaging frequency or changing time intervals (corresponding disclosure in at least [pg. 55, lns 28-32], where the imaging frequency is at a constant time interval (the interval is associated with the imaging frequency of 1 Hz or less, which is consistent) “Measuring human pulse, which is typically in a range of 40 beats per minute and above. Such measurement needs analyzing vibrations at a frequency of 1 Hertz and even somewhat less. When such analyzing is performed by analyzing image frames of a video sequence, it is sufficient to analyze image frames at approximately double the rate of the frequency being measured, that is, for example, approximately 2 frames per second or above”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated a constant time interval associated with an imaging frequency as taught by Drori. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this because it ensures that imaging is completed with consistent timing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/2025 regarding the Drawings objections have been fully considered and the objection towards Figure 1 and 2 are withdrawn. However, the objection regarding Figure 4 is maintained. The drawing does not provide further detail and does not aid in understanding the invention. There are no reference characters described in detail in the specification for Figure 4 (i.e. reference characters 400, 410, 420, 430, 440, 450).
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/25 regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As recited in the office action above (see 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection), “receiving an image set” and “determining a feature contrast” are still processes covering limitation in the mind. The amendments do not further integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/25 regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112b rejections have been fully considered, but Claim 2 remains rejected in light of the amendments (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112b above).
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.E.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797