DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zinovik et al. (US 20170055587 A1) in view of Batista et al. (US 20210307399 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zinovik directed to aerosol-delivery system comprising an inductive heating device for heating an aerosol-forming substrate ([0001]), discloses an aerosol generating device (inductive heating device 1; [0078], Fig. 3) configured to receive a stick (smoking article 2; [0079], Fig.3) comprising an aerosol generating substance (aerosol-forming substrate 20, Fig. 2-3) and a susceptor (susceptor 21; Fig. 2-3), the aerosol generating device comprising:
a housing (housing 10; [0079], Fig. 3) comprising an opening to an inner wall defining therein an insertion space (cavity 14; [0079], Fig. 3) configured to accommodate insertion of the stick ([0079]), wherein the housing further comprises an outer wall surrounding the inner wall (cavity 14 is surrounded by inner walls of the device housing 10 ([0079], Fig. 3) ;
Zinovik further discloses an inductor coil L2 (coil; [0076], Fig2. 2, 5) embedded in the device housing at the proximal end of device housing to surround the insertion space [0078], during operation the inductor L2 coil is inductively coupled to susceptor 21 of the aerosol generating substance ([0079]).
Zinovik further discloses a power source (a DC power source 11 having a rechargeable battery 110; [0080], Fig. 3), connected to inductor coil L2, through a power supply electronics 13 LC Load network that includes the inductor coil L2 ([0080], Figs. 2-4). Furthermore, a power source provides a constant DC supply voltage [0043], [0061], [0094]). In this case, the constant voltage is the reference voltage.
Zinovik further discloses a controller (a microprocessor control unit 131; [0080], Fig. 2) which controls the power source ([0080], [0094]). Furthermore, during operation a switching transistor 1321 (Fig. 4) is switched to a mode in which it generates pulses only every 10 milliseconds for a duration of 1 millisecond, during this 1 millisecond the values of the DC supply voltage and of the DC current are measured ([0099]). A predetermined constant voltage applied while measuring current reads on a reference voltage.
Zinovik further discloses a DC voltage sensor for measuring the DC current drawn from the a DC power source of constant supply voltage ([0043]) and feeds it back to the controller [0094] – [0096]).
Zinovik further teaches the relationship of current to the susceptor load in detail; the total ohmic load 1324, is the sum of the ohmic resistance RCoil of the inductor L2 and the ohmic resistance RLoad of the susceptor 21 ([0081), and an apparent ohmic resistance Ra drawn from the DC power source is determined from the quotient of the DC supply voltage VDC and DC current IDC (i.e., Ra = VDC/IDC) ([0093, Fig. 9). The apparent Ra ohmic resistance determined by VDC/IDC corresponds to a series connection formed by an ohmic resistance RCIRCUIT (which is substantially smaller than the ohmic resistance of the susceptor) and the ohmic resistance of the susceptor ([0093], Fig. 9). Considering this relationship Ra = VDC/IDC, at a constant supply voltage a higher apparent resistance produces a lower measured current ([0097]).
Zinovik does not explicitly disclose (I) a plurality of coils; (II) measuring respective current values flowing through each of the plurality of coils; and (III) causing the power source to apply a voltage to at least one coil of the plurality of coils having the measured current value less than or equal to a predetermined reference current value.
Regarding (I), Batista directed to a device and method of generating aerosol (Abstract), discloses an aerosol generating device configured to receive a stick (article 3; [0079]-[0080], [0097], Fig.5) comprising an aerosol generating substance (aerosol-forming substrate 30; [0097], Fig. 3) and a susceptor (susceptor S; [0100]), the aerosol generating device comprising: a housing (housing 2; [0094]), Fig. 1) comprising a heating chamber 5 located within a housing ([0098]) and is a space within which the stick is received and heated.
Batista further discloses a heater 4 comprising a plurality of coils (first and second induction coils 4a, 4b; [0041] - [0042], [0100], Fig. 4) are arranged to heat, in use, a susceptor S of an aerosol generating substance received in a heating chamber 5 ([0100], Fig. 5), the heater 4 is operatively connected or connectable to the power source ([0100]). Each coil generates a field in its own region, and an electric circuitry controls each coil ([0041]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Zinovik’s single inductor coil L2 by substituting it with a plurality of induction coils as taught by Batista, because both Zinovik and Batista are directed to aerosol generating devices comprising an inductive heater, Batista teaches a plurality of induction coils allows generation of a magnetic field in a first region only, a second region only or operating together (Batista, [0041] - [0042]), and this merely involves substituting one known element (one induction coil) for another (plurality of induction coils) to yield predictable results.
Regarding (II), Batista discloses a controller (electric circuitry E; [0031] – [0035], [0083]), controls the performance of the induction coils 4a, 4b ([0117]). The controller comprises a current monitoring sensor configured to measure the current flowing through and/or to and/or from the first and second induction coils 4a, 4b ([0110]). Furthermore, the controller comprises a processor configured to compare the received current data with expected or desired (e.g. reference/predetermined) current data stored in memory ([0110], [0129]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Zinovik’s controller, once modified to include a plurality of coils, to be able to measure the current through each coil under a reference voltage, as taught by Batista, because both Zinovik and Batista are directed to aerosol generating device comprising an inductive heater, Batista teaches monitoring each coil’s current gives more accurate control of the duration and quantity of thermal energy delivered to the article that forms aerosol (Batista [0015]) and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar aerosol generating device to yield predictable results.
Regarding (III), Batista discloses that the electric circuitry (i.e., controller) controls the supply of electrical energy from the power source to the first and second induction coils 4a, 4b ([0116]).
Furthermore, the controller is configured to control (e.g. alter or stop) the induction coil generating a magnetic field when a monitored current flowing through the induction coil differs from an expected or desired (e.g. reference) current. Furthermore, the controller controls the induction coil generating a magnetic field when the monitored current flowing through the induction coil is less than, equal to or greater than the desired reference current ([0034]).
Batista further teaches comparing each coil’s measured current with reference current data comprising a pre-set threshold current ([0035], [0110], [0118]), further teaches controlling a coil when its monitored current is “less than, equal to or greater than” the reference current, including through a switch that selectively allows electrical energy to reach the coil ([0034]). In one embodiment, the current data for the first induction coil 4a is less than the threshold amount of the reference current ([0018]). Batista further discloses that electrical energy supplied to one or both induction coils 4a, 4b may be increased or decreased and/or the frequency of the magnetic field may be controlled (e.g. increased or decreased) ([0128]). Thus, Batista discloses a controller configured to cause the power source to apply voltage to at least one coil whose measured current is less than or equal to a predetermined reference current.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Zinovik’s controller, to cause the power source to apply a voltage to the coil or coils whose measured current is less than or equal to the predetermined reference current value as taught by Batista, because both Zinovik and Batista are directed to aerosol generating device comprising an inductive heating, Batista teaches a susceptor of a particular size , shape, location or configuration, or an article misaligned with the coils, produce a measured coil current below the threshold current (Batista [0120, [0128]) and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar aerosol generating device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, modified Zinovik in view of Batista teaches the aerosol generating device of claim 1.
Batista teaches that expected or desired (e.g. reference) current may comprise a threshold current, for example a pre-set threshold current. The desired reference current may comprise a current range ([0034], [0035]), the desired reference current may comprise a current profile or measured current data for the plurality of coils and is stored in a memory ([0110], [0129]).
Batista teaches a predetermined reference current value for the plurality of coils, but does not explicitly disclose that the predetermined reference current value is individually set for each of the plurality of coils.
However, Batista discloses each coil is compared and controlled separately ([0117] -[0118]), and the controller controls each coil separately based on its own monitored performance ([0041]). Furthermore, where plural coils are provided, the coils need not be alike, that is the controller operates each coil at a different operating frequency ([0042]). The coils can also be placed at any suitable location relative to the heating chamber ([0125]). Furthermore, a coil’s measured performance depends on its operating conditions ([0016]), the reference current may be a threshold, a range or a current profile ([0035]) which shows that it is a parameter chosen to match the coil’s expected response.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to calibrate a predetermined current reference value to be set for each coil, by applying the teaching of Batista as expressed above. The reference value is result-effective variable that yields no unpredictable result.
Regarding claim 5, Zinovik further discloses that cavity 14 is fully closed and surrounded by those inner walls of the device housing defining cavity 14 ([0079], Fig. 3). Inductor L2 coil is embedded in the device housing 10 surrounding a cavity 14 ([0078]). Furthermore, a helically wound inductor coil is positioned on or adjacent the internal surface of the cavity allows to further minimize the size of the device ([0053]). Thus, the coil is disposed adjacent to the claimed inner wall.
Batista also discloses that the induction coils 4a, 4b are embedded in the housing 2 ([0100]). The first and second major boundary surfaces 5a, 5b define the periphery of the heating chamber within housing 2 ([0024], [0099], Fig. 3). Furthermore, the first coil 4a may be located adjacent to the first major boundary surface 5a and a second coil 4b may be located adjacent the second major boundary surface 5b ([0125]). Thus, boundary surfaces 5a, 5b are the claimed inner wall.
Zinovik alone discloses a single inductor coil positioned adjacent to the internal surface of the cavity ([0078]- [0079]). In the modification applied to claim 1, Zinovik in view of Batista is modified to have a plurality of coils and Batista discloses placing each coil adjacent to a boundary surface (i.e., inner wall) of the heating chamber ([0125]). Accordingly, modified Zinovik in view of Batista would result in both coils (plurality of coils) being disposed adjacent to the inner wall.
Furthermore, to the extent of any further modification is needed, it would be obvious to one having an ordinary skill to position plurality of coils adjacent to the inner wall as per Zinovik’s disclosure of disposing one coil adjacent to the inner wall in order to minimize the size of the device.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zinovik in view of Batista and further in view of Ku et al. (US 20160064988 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Zinovik, in view of Batista teaches the aerosol generating device of claim 1.
Batista teaches a controller compares the current data measured through each coil of the plurality of coils with the predetermined reference or threshold current ([0110], [117]-[0118]). Batista further teaches the case in which all coils fall on the same side of the threshold, when the article is misaligned the currents through each induction coil 4a, 4b are lower than the threshold ([120]). Modified Zinovik in view of Batista therefore teaches a controller that determines whether every coil’s measured current is on one side of the reference current and bases its control of the coils on that collective result.
Neither Zinovik nor Batista explicitly disclose when all measured current values of the plurality of coils are greater than the predetermined reference current value, the controller causes the power source to apply the voltage to a coil having a lowest measured current value.
Ku directed to wireless charging system having a plurality of transmitting coil and a controller (Abstract), discloses a wireless charging system 100 includes a power transmitter 50 having a plurality of transmitting(induction) coils 12, 14, 16, and 18 ([0046]). Furthermore, Ku discloses a controller 20 (i.e., controller) measuring current and voltage of each of the plurality of induction coils 12, 14, 16, and 18.
Ku further teaches a controller configured to apply charging power only to one or more induction coil of the plurality of coils having a magnitude of current which is smaller than a magnitude of a preset threshold current ([0013], [0052]).
Ku further teaches, in another embodiment, that the controller applies charging power only to the transmitting coil having the smallest magnitude of current among the measured magnitude of current of each of the transmitting coils. For example, induction coil 18 are present on the straight line), the magnitude of current of the corresponding transmitting coil 18 ([0051]).
Ku further discloses the controller transmits a micro signal to each induction coil and measures the current flowing in each coil ([0059], (S603) in Fig. 6), the controller then detects the coil in which the smallest current flows and connects operating power to that coil ([0059], S605, (S607), (S609) in Fig. 6).
Ku explains that the coil with the smallest measured current is the coil most closely aligned with the electrical load receiver, and therefore the coil with the highest power transmission efficiency ([0044]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Zinovik’s controller, by configuring the controller such that when all measured current values of the plurality of coils exceed the predetermined reference current value, the power source to applies a voltage to the coil with the lowest measured current value predetermined reference current value as taught by Ku, because all Zinovik, Batista and Ku are directed to an induction heating system, Ku teaches applying power to a coil a lowest measured current value in order to achieve transmission efficiency, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar multi-coil induction heating device to yield predictable results.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zinovik in view of Batista as applied to claim 1 above and Ku, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20210091601 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Zinovik in view of Batista and further in view of Ku discloses a controller configured to, based on all measured current values being greater than the predetermined reference current value, cause the power source to apply the voltage to a coil having a lowest measured current value ([0059] and steps S603, S605, (S607), (S609) in Fig. 6).
Ku further discloses that when a receiving coil 30 positioned on two adjacent coils 16 and 18, the controller applies power to both the coils 16 and 18 rather than to only one, that is Ku identifies such additional coils by comparison with a fixed threshold/reference, not by a deviation from the lowest measured value.
Modified Zinovik in view of Batista and further in view of Ku does not disclose a controller configured to cause the power source to apply the voltage to at least one additional coil having a measured current value less than a reference deviation from the lowest measured current value, based on all measured current values being greater than the predetermined reference current value.
Kim directed to a wireless power transmitter comprising a power transmitter, a controller and a plurality transmitting coils (Abstract), discloses a first transmitting coils 181a to 181c (i.e., plurality of coils) ([0176]) and for each coil, obtains a signal strength (i.e., measured value) indicating that coil’s coupling with a signal strength of the signals transmitted ([0216] –[0219]). Kim further discloses selecting the coils having the highest signal strength as the coil corresponding to the position of the receiving coil 281 (analogous to a susceptor) (Fig. 14A,[0217]).
Kim demonstrates a multi-coil selection based on data received from a power receiver 200, wherein a voltage applied to the second transmitting coil 182 reaches a preset reference voltage before the voltage at the receiving coil reaches its target (Fig. 12 and ([0203]- [0210]).
Kim further discloses a difference between the two highest signal strengths (measured value) is within a predetermined reference value, the wireless power transmitter 100 applies power through the second transmitting coil in addition to the two first transmitting coils corresponding to the position of the receiving coil 281 ([0219], Figs. 14A-14D). Kim therefore discloses applying power to at least one additional coil. Kim’s predetermined reference value is a preset limit on the difference between the measured value of the additional coil and the measured value of the selected coil and corresponds to the claimed reference deviation.
Therefore, applying Kim’s teaching to the current values measured in Ku, the reference value is necessarily expressed as a current difference measured from the lowest measured current value, so that power applied to any additional coil whose measured current value is less than a reference deviation from the lowest measured current value.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify modified Zinovik by configuring the controller such that when all measured current values exceed the predetermined reference current value, the power source applies the voltage to both coils having the lowest measured current values and to at least one the coil whose measured current value is less than a reference a reference deviation from the lowest measured current value as taught by Kim, because Zinovik, Batista Ku and Kim are all directed to an induction heating system, Kim teaches applying power to at least one additional coil in order to achieve power transmission efficiency (Kim, Fig. 12), and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar multi-coil induction heating device to yield predictable results.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zinovik in view of Batista as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mironov et al. (US 20200221772 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zinovik in view of Batista teaches the device of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach that the plurality of coils are each configured as a pan coil that is wound a plurality of times from an innermost turn to an outermost turn and faces the inner wall.
Mironov directed to an aerosol generating device with an inductive heater ([0002]), discloses aerosol generating device 100 comprises a device housing 110 defining a chamber 120 for receiving the aerosol-generating article 10 ([0132], Fig.3).
Mironov further discloses that an inductor coil assembly 130 comprising a plurality of coils (Figs. 4, 7) is arranged inside the aerosol-generating device 100 between an outer wall of the housing 110 and the chamber 120 ([0132], [0134]).
Mironov further discloses that both inductor coils are planar coils disposed around part of the circumference of the chamber, both coils are spirally wound coil having an axis of winding which is normal to the surface in which the coil lies ([0040]). That is the planar inductor coils are disposed around part of the circumference of the chamber, each lying on a curved plane that generally follows the circular shape of the chamber (Fig. 6, [0145]).
A spirally wound coil necessarily has a plurality of turns running from an innermost turn to an outermost turn (i.e., a pan coil). Because each of Mironov’s planar coils lie on a surface following the chamber wall, with its winding axis normal to that surface, each coil faces the chamber wall. Mironov therefore teaches coils each configured as a pan coil wound plurality of times from an innermost turn to an outermost turn and faces the inner wall.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Zinovik by providing planar pan coils lying against the inner wall as taught by Mironov, because Zinovik, Batista and Mironov are all directed to an aerosol generating device with inductive heating system, Mironov teaches interchangeable alternatives of heating coils such as helical or planar coils in order to facilitate optimal positioning of an elongate susceptor element for heating by either of the coils ([0012]), and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar aerosol generating device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, The aerosol generating device of claim 6, wherein the plurality of coils are configured such that respective facing directions of each coil intersect each other.
Zinovik in view of Batista teaches more than two induction coils and that each coil can be located in any suitable location relative to the heating chamber (Batista [0125]).
However, neither Zinovik nor Batista explicitly disclose the plurality of coils are configured such that respective facing directions of each coil intersect each other.
Mironov teaches planar coils disposed around part of the circumference of the chamber, each on a curved plane following the chamber’s shape and each with winding axis normal to that surface ([0040], [0145]).
Mironov’s planar coils with parallel, aligned magnetic axes (Fig. 6, [0145]), thus does not expressly teach coils whose facing directions intersect.
However, one of ordinary skill in art would be motivated to place three or more of Mironov’s planar coils at different positions around the circumference of the inner wall as Batista’s disclosure of coils placed at any suitable location ([0125]). When planar coils face around a wall from different circumferential positions, each winding axis is normal to the wall at that position and so points toward the chamber’s central axis. The facing directions of coils that are not diametrically opposed therefore necessarily intersect.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Zinovik, to place its plurality of coils at different positions around the circumference of the chamber inner wall as taught by Mironov, such that the coils intersect, because Zinovik, Batista and Mironov are all directed to an aerosol generating device with inductive heating system, Mironov teaches positioning of coils in the chamber to heat different regions of the chamber with individually controlled coils and to tailor the energy supply to the received article (Mironov [0029]- [0030]; Batista [0016], [0041]), and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar aerosol generating device to yield predictable results.
Furthermore, the Examiner notes that adding coils at additional circumferential positions is a duplication and rearrangement of parts with no unexpected result. MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(B), (C).
Regarding claim 8, modified Zinovik teaches the aerosol generating device of claim 6. Modified Zinovik further discloses a susceptor in the form of a flat strip, for example a stainless-steel strip, placed within the aerosol generating substance (Zinovik [0100], Figs. 1-3).
Zinovik in view of Batista does not explicitly teach susceptor having a plate shape.
Mironov discloses that plurality of coils are arranged around part of the circumference of the chamber ([0145]) to inductively heat a susceptor ([0015] – [0016]). The susceptor is in the form of a pin, rod, blade, or plate ([0077], [0091]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Zinovik by having a plate shape susceptor surrounded by plurality of coils that are arranged around part of the circumference of the chamber as taught by Mironov, because Zinovik, Batista and Mironov are all directed to an aerosol generating device with inductive heating system, Mironov teaches alternative forms of a susceptor element based on a user's need ([0090]) and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar aerosol generating device to yield predictable results.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zinovik in view of Batista and Mironov as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Blandino et al. (US 20220183371 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Zinovik teach the aerosol generating device of claim 6.
Zinovik in view of Batista and Mironov does not disclose a first shielding member disposed between adjacent coils among the plurality of coils.
Blandino directed an aerosol provision device comprising a receptacle/susceptor configured to receive aerosol generating material (Abstract), discloses a plurality of coils, a first inductor coils 124, and a second inductor coils 126 ([0102]- [0103], Fig. 2) arranged adjacent to one another and independently heat different regions of a susceptor ([0053] - [0054], [0104]).
Blandino further discloses a radially extending magnetic shield member (washer like) arranged between the first inductor coil and the second inductor coil [0053], ([0056]). A radially extending magnetic shield member is the claimed first shield member that is disposed between adjacent coils of the plurality of coils
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Zinovik by placing a shield member between adjacent coils as taught by Blandino, because Zinovik, Batista Mironov and Blandino are all directed to an aerosol generating device with inductive heating system, Blandino teaches a radially extending shield member in order to decouple the induction coils meaning each coil acts independently, or in other words that there are no or lower induced effects in a neighboring non-operated coil (Blandino [0054]) and this involves applying a known technique to a similar aerosol generating device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, modified Zinovik teaches the aerosol generating device of claim 9, but does not explicitly teach a second shielding member connected to the first shielding member and disposed between the inner wall and the outer wall of the housing to surround the plurality of coils.
Blandino discloses an aerosol generating device 100 comprising a housing (housing 102 or outer cover 102; [0092], Figs. 1-3). Blandino further discloses a magnetic shield member 202 (Fig. 6) which is in contact with, and surrounds the first and second inductor coils 124, 126 ([0124]). The magnetic shield member 202 comprises a ferrite layer, which acts as the shield ([0126], Figs. 6-12). Magnetic shield member 202 is the claimed second shielding member.
Blandino further discloses an insulating air gap or insulting member is provided between the second shielding member and the outer housing of the device ([0029], [0057], [0109]), therefore the insulating air gap or insulating member 128 is the claimed inner wall of the housing and the outer cover 102 is the outer wall of the housing, such that the second shielding member is disposed between the inner wall and the outer wall of the housing surrounding the plurality of coils ([0057]).
As established in claim 9, Blandino teaches a first shielding member that is positioned between adjacent coils and radially extending from the susceptor out to the inductor coils ([0053] – [0056]). The first shielding member
Blandino further discloses that the second shielding member is wrapped around the outside of the same inductor coils ([0128], Fig. 7).
Therefore, the Examiner notes that Blandino’s second shielding member is connected to its first shielding member through the coils. In any event, forming the two shielding members as connected or integral parts would have been an obvious design choice. MPEP § 2144.04 (V)(B).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Zinovik by adding a second shield member connected to its first shielding member and disposed between the inner and outer wall of the device housing as taught by Blandino, because Zinovik, Batista Mironov and Blandino are all directed to an aerosol generating device with inductive heating system, Blandino teaches that a magnetic shield member arrangement creates a thermal barrier between the hot susceptor and the outer casing/housing of the device (Blandino [0057]) and this involves applying a known technique to a similar aerosol generating device to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/HELEN GHEBRESELASSIE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755