DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention Group VIII (claims 1 and 12 – 17) in the reply filed on September 8, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2 – 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group (Groups II – VII), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 8, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“sealing member” recited in claim 1
“cooling member” recited in claim 12
The limitation “sealing member” invokes interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because:
(A) The limitation a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder for performing the claimed function (“member”).
(B) The generic placeholder is modified by functional language (“sealing” or ‘for sealing’).
(C) The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Due to the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the limitation “sealing member” will be interpreted so as to comprise ‘a silicone resin,’ as taught by the Specification (paragraph 38), or an equivalent thereof.
The limitation “cooling member” invokes interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because:
(A) The limitation a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder for performing the claimed function (“member”).
(B) The generic placeholder is modified by functional language (“cooling” or ‘for cooling’).
(C) The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Due to the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the limitation “cooling member” will be interpreted so as to comprise ‘a plate having at least one internal channel configured to allow a cooling fluid or cooling gas to flow therethrough,’ as taught by the Specification (paragraph 72), or an equivalent thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “a plurality of third protruding portions.” Examiner notes that the claim does not otherwise require or recite a ‘plurality of first protruding portions’ or a ‘plurality of second protruding portions.’ Therefore, it is unclear as to whether Applicant intends the limitation to require a ‘plurality of first and second protruding portions’ in addition to the ‘plurality of third protruding portions,’ or whether Applicant only requires a single set of a ‘plurality of protruding portions.’ For the purposes of this Office Action, Examiner will interpret the limitation as “a plurality of protruding portions.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 12 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inazumachi (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2010/0002354) in view of Kosakai (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0019714).
As to claim 1, Inazumachi teaches a sample holder (abstract) comprising: a ceramic substrate (figure 1, element 26 being the ‘ceramic substrate’; paragraphs 55 – 56 and 68); a base plate (figure 1, elements 23 and 24 being the ‘base plate’; paragraph 54); and a tubular member (figure 1, element 37 being the ‘tubular member’; paragraph 110), wherein the ceramic substrate comprises a first surface being a sample holding surface and a second surface located opposite to the first surface (figure 1, element 31a being the ‘first surface’ and lower surface of element 32 being the ‘second surface’; paragraph 56), the base plate comprises a third surface located on the second surface of the ceramic substrate and facing the second surface (figure 1, top surface of element 24 being the ‘third surface’), a fourth surface located opposite to the third surface (figure 1, bottom surface of element 23 being the ‘fourth surface’), and a through hole passing through the third surface and the fourth surface (figure 1, element 36 being the ‘through hole’; paragraph 59), the tubular member is located in the through hole and is bonded to the second surface (figure 1, elements 37, 36, and lower surface of element 32; paragraph 59).
While Inazumachi teaches that the tubular member is secured to the through hole (figure 1, elements 37 and 36; paragraph 59), Inazumachi does not teach how the tubular member is secured to the through hole. Kosakai teaches a sample holder (abstract) comprising: a base plate (figures 1 and 2, element 3 being the ‘base plate’; paragraph 40); and a tubular member (figures 1 and 2, element 40 being the ‘tubular member’; paragraph 64), wherein a through hole passes through the base plate (figures 1 and 2, element 32 being the ‘through hole’; paragraph 63), and the tubular member is located in the through hole (figure 2, elements 40 and 32; paragraph 64). Kosakai further teaches that a sealing member, comprising silicone resin, is provided between an inner peripheral surface of the through hole and an outer peripheral surface of the tubular member (figure 2, element 49 being the ‘sealing member’; paragraph 64, 133, and 58). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to secure a tubular member to a through hole, as taught by Inazumachi, via a sealing member, as taught by Kosakai, because Kosakai teaches that use of a sealing member provides the benefit of securing the tubular member to the through hole (figure 2, elements 40 and 32; paragraph 70), as desired by Inazumachi.
As to claim 12, Inazumachi teaches that the base plate comprises: a heat-resistant member (figure 1, element 24 being the ‘heat resistant member’); a cooling member, comprising a plate having at least one internal channel configured to allow a cooling fluid or cooling gas to flow therethrough (figure 1, element 23 being the ‘cooling member’ and element 28 being the ‘internal channel’; paragraph 57); and an adhesive bonding the heat-resistant member and the cooling member (figure 1, element 35 being the ‘adhesive’; paragraph 58), the heat-resistant member comprising the third surface (figure 1, top surface of element 24), and the cooling member comprises the fourth surface (figure 1, bottom surface of element 23).
As to claim 13, Examiner notes that Kosakai teaches that the sealing member is applied throughout the entire length of the inner periphery of the through hole of the base plate, such that the sealing member bonds the tubular member to the entirety of the base plate (figure 2, elements 49, 32, 40, and 3; paragraph 70). Therefore, Examiner is reasonably interpreting Kosakai such that a lower portion element 49 is the ‘sealing member’ and the remainder of element 49 is an ‘adhesive’ (figure 2, element 49, see below), such that Inazumachi in view of Kosakai teaches that the adhesive is further located between the cooling member and the tubular member in the through hole and bonds the cooling member and the tubular member.
As to claim 14, Examiner notes that Kosakai teaches that the sealing member is applied throughout the entire length of the inner periphery of the through hole of the base plate, such that the sealing member bonds the tubular member to the entirety of the base plate (figure 2, elements 49, 32, 40, and 3; paragraph 70). Therefore, Examiner is reasonably interpreting Kosakai such that an upper portion element 49 is the ‘sealing member’ and the remainder of element 49 is an ‘adhesive’ (figure 2, element 49, see below), such that Inazumachi in view of Kosakai teaches that the adhesive is further located between the heat-resistant member and the tubular member in the through hole and bonds the heat-resistant member and the tubular member.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 - 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Inazumachi does not teach, either expressly or implicitly, the heat-resistant member comprising a plurality of protruding portions in contact with the ceramic substrate and a space located around the protruding portions, as recited by claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hidaka (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0223455) teaches a sample holder comprising: a ceramic substrate; a base plate; and a tubular member, wherein the base plate comprises a through hole, and the tubular member is located in the through hole.
Miwa (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0133258) teaches a sample holder comprising: a ceramic substrate; a base plate; and a tubular member, wherein the base plate comprises a through hole, and the tubular member is located in the through hole.
Prouty (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0296101) teaches a sample holder comprising: a ceramic substrate; a base plate; and a tubular member, wherein the base plate comprises a through hole, and the tubular member is located in the through hole, and a sealing member is provided between an inner peripheral surface of the through hole and an outer peripheral surface of the tubular member.
/CHRISTOPHER J. BESLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725