DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 24, 2024 and the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are directed towards "a social media recycling application", which is not a statutory category of invention because the broadest reasonable interpretation of "social media recycling application" is software per se. A software program that does not contain at least one structural limitation (such as a "means plus function" limitation) has no physical or tangible form, and thus does not fall within any statutory category.
Independent Claim 1
The claim recites “A process of recycling controlled by a recycling social media application”. However, Claim 1 does not recite steps that would dictate that this claim is a process, rather the claim is directed to being “controlled by a recycling social media application” and further recites the functions of the application. This is directed to a software program, which does not fall within one of the four statutory categories. All dependent claims, Claim 2-15, are also rejected because they lack a structural limitation that would allow them to fall into a statutory category.
Independent Claim 16
The claim recites “the recycling social media application”, which is directed to a software program and does not fall within one of the four statutory categories. All dependent claims, Claims 17-34, are also rejected because they lack a structural limitation that would allow them to fall into a statutory category.
Furthermore, Claims 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to a judicial exception, in this case the exception is an abstract idea (see MPEP 2016.03) without significantly more.
Independent Claim 1:
Step 2A – Prong One:
The limitations of these claims recite the following:
monitors and reports information about recyclable waste
monitors and reports every aspect of the recyclable waste to consumer recycled goods
These limitations, including the activities for logistics to recycle materials, recite an abstract ideas, specifically certain methods of organizing human activities, specifically the role of a recycling center logistics manager.
Claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two:
The scope of the independent claim limitations incorporate the following additional elements:
A recycling social media application
notify specific participants of geolocation, recyclable genre' and weight
These additional elements listed above, or combination of these elements, amount to nothing more than simply reciting the abstract idea while merely confining the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, a recycling social media application, and thus fails to add the inventive concept to the claims. Further additional elements that recite generally implemented to notify participants, are recited at a high level of generality amount to nothing more than instructions to apply the abstract idea without any improvement to technology, technical field, or to the functioning of the computer itself.
Therefore, the additional elements, whether evaluated individually or in combination, fail to integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application.
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
Under Step 2B of the patent eligibility analysis, the combination of additional elements is evaluated to determine whether they amount to something “significantly more” than the recited abstract idea of logistics for recycling waste. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Claims 1 is not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims –
Claim 2 recites the additional element of a user interface. This additional element, whether considered individually or in combination, merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims.
Claim 3 recites the additional element of a delivery service participant interface. This additional element, whether considered individually or in combination, merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims.
Claims 4 and 5 recite the additional elements of traceable tagged bags. These additional elements, whether considered individually or in combination, recite the use of RFID or QR/barcode technology, are recited at a high level of generality and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because these additional elements do not add significantly more.
Claims 6 and 7 recite the additional element of using sensors to notify. This additional element, whether considered individually or in combination, is recited at a high level of generality and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because this additional element does not add significantly more.
Claim 8 further recites the abstract idea of determining geolocation. The claim limitation is further directed to the abstract idea of recycling waste logistics without significantly more.
Claim 9 recites the additional element of a logistics component. This additional element, whether considered individually or in combination, merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims.
Claim 10 further recites the abstract idea of updating and notifying participants. The claim limitation recites activities that a logistics manager would perform and is further directed to the abstract idea of recycling waste logistics without significantly more.
Claim 11 further recites the abstract idea of monitoring, tracking performance and publishing results. The claim limitation recites activities that a logistics manager would perform and is further directed to the abstract idea of recycling waste logistics without significantly more.
Claim 12 further recites the abstract idea of notifying users of the receipt of tagged recycle bag contents. The claim limitation recites activities that a logistics manager would perform and is further directed to the abstract idea of recycling waste logistics without significantly more.
Claim 13 further recites the abstract idea of validating every step of the recycling process and reporting information. The claim limitation recites activities that a logistics manager would perform and is further directed to the abstract idea of recycling waste logistics without significantly more.
Claims 14 and 15 further recite the abstract idea of the logistics of recycling waste. The recitation of maintaining the state of data in an online form without restriction on how the state is maintained and with no description of the mechanism for maintaining the state describes "the effect or result dissociated from any method by which maintaining the state is accomplished" and does not provide a meaningful limitation because it merely states that the abstract idea should be applied to achieve a desired result.
Claim 17 recites the additional element of connecting users to a network of recycling hardware. This additional element, whether considered individually or in combination, merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims.
Claim 18 recites the additional element of a geolocation mapping app. This additional element, whether considered individually or in combination, merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims.
Claim 19 recites the additional element of providing geolocation information. This additional element, whether considered individually or in combination, merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims.
Claim 20 further recites the abstract idea of the logistics of recycling waste. The recitation of maintaining the state of data in an online form without restriction on how the state is maintained and with no description of the mechanism for maintaining the state describes "the effect or result dissociated from any method by which maintaining the state is accomplished" and does not provide a meaningful limitation because it merely states that the abstract idea should be applied to achieve a desired result.
Claim 21 recites the additional element of representing geolocation coordinates on a digital map. This additional element, whether considered individually or in combination, merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims.
Claim 22 further recites the abstract idea of matching recycling waste genre with each location. The claim limitation recites activities that a logistics manager would perform and is further directed to the abstract idea of recycling waste logistics without significantly more.
Claim 23 further recites the abstract idea of confirming receipt of items. The claim limitation recites activities that a logistics manager would perform and is further directed to the abstract idea of recycling waste logistics without significantly more.
Claim 24 further recites the abstract idea of selling raw materials derived from recycled waste. The claim limitation recites activities that a logistics manager would perform and is further directed to the abstract idea of recycling waste logistics without significantly more.
Claims 25 and 26 further recite the abstract idea of the logistics of recycling waste. The recitation of maintaining the state of data in an online form without restriction on how the state is maintained and with no description of the mechanism for maintaining the state describes "the effect or result dissociated from any method by which maintaining the state is accomplished" and does not provide a meaningful limitation because it merely states that the abstract idea should be applied to achieve a desired result.
Claim 27 recites the additional element of both buyer and seller have access to secure financial transactions. This additional element, whether considered individually or in combination, is recited at a high level of generality and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because this additional element does not add significantly more.
Claim 28 further recites the abstract idea of tracking recycled consumer goods purchases. The claim limitation recites activities that a logistics manager would perform and is further directed to the abstract idea of recycling waste logistics without significantly more.
Claims 29-34 further recite the abstract idea of the logistics of recycling waste. The recitation of maintaining the state of data in an online form without restriction on how the state is maintained and with no description of the mechanism for maintaining the state describes "the effect or result dissociated from any method by which maintaining the state is accomplished" and does not provide a meaningful limitation because it merely states that the abstract idea should be applied to achieve a desired result.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamine et al, US Patent Application Publication US 2021/0012605 A1, herein referred to as “Yamine”, and further in view of Smith et al, US Patent Application Publication US 2012/0209783 A1, herein referred to as “Smith”.
Regarding Claim 1, Yamine teaches the following limitation:
which utilizes user/participants and controls, monitors and reports information about recyclable waste from starting point of discarding recyclable homogeneous or heterogeneous recyclable waste into presorting elements that contain electronically enhanced recyclable waste containment elements which notify specific participants of geolocation, recyclable genre' and weight for pickup and delivery to a processing plant whereby said social media application monitors and reports every aspect of the recyclable waste to consumer recycled goods
(¶0015 – the social networking group monitors and tracks the first user’s participation; recyclable waste is pre-sorted into individually identifiable containers; see also ¶0017 – participant social media accounts contains images, and participation data, including weight and genre of recyclable materials, locations, etc.; see also ¶0038 – to display recycling participant’s (first user’s) activity and contributions, a data collection of the first user, generating graphics that reflect the user’s recycling efforts)
However, Yamine does not fully teach, but Smith fully teaches recyclable waste from starting point of discarding recyclable homogeneous or heterogeneous recyclable waste:
(¶0043-46 – a recycling user may confirm whether the recyclable product is composed of non-toxic or toxic materials, manage recycling product information, and track the recyclable product during its lifecycle in near real-time using an online web server)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of detailing a logistical process from the starting point to the end point, as disclosed by Smith, to the logistics of recycling waste methods, as disclosed by Yamine to improve awareness of the status of recycled materials through the various processing steps and increase participation through additional tracking functionality.
Regarding Claim 2, Yamine teaches the following limitation:
where recycling social media application further comprises of a user interface for signup to garner user/participants who will be the collectors and discarders of recyclable waste
(¶0017 – an intelligent interactive digital user interface allows a user to create electronic credentials to track their recycling progress)
Regarding Claim 3, Yamine teaches the following limitation:
where recycling social media application further comprises of a delivery service participant interface for signup to act as the transport mechanism of the recyclable waste from a first collection / presorting location
(¶0094 – a sorting area in high-rise building can have pre-selected recyclable materials in specific bins; a system tracks the in-route progress of a collector transporting the recyclable goods to the recycling center; see also ¶0096 and Fig. 9 – geo-locating hardware connects to a network to create geo-locating services of the recyclable waste and report it to a waste management and logistics center)
Regarding Claim 4, Yamine teaches the following limitation:
where user participants may utilize traceable tagged electronically enhanced homogeneous or heterogeneous bags
(¶0021 – the first user purchases a package with a barcode or QR code that registers the recyclable bags to the first user; see also ¶0069 – the first user uses secondary containers, which are identified using RFID, barcode or QR code, for deposits; see also ¶0093 – a kiosk distributes electronically identifiable bags identifying each genre of recyclable materials)
Regarding Claim 5, Yamine does not fully teach, but Smith fully teaches the following limitation:
where said traceable tagged electronically enhanced homogeneous or heterogeneous bags are recorded at a presorting location and placed in a respective electronically enhanced container and reported to a relational database
(¶0021-22 – the first user registers their bags and scans each bag when it is deposited; the usage of the bags is registered to the first user when deposits are made at the recycling facility)
However, Yamine does not fully teach, but Smith does teach where said traceable tagged electronically enhanced homogeneous or heterogeneous bags are recorded at a presorting location and placed in a respective electronically enhanced container and reported to a relational database
(¶0043-45 – the system uses security or tracking codes to confirm the composition of the recyclable product and to track the products through their lifecycle; see also ¶0147 – uploaded data and image is stored in a SQL relational database for future processing, retrieval and publishing)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of utilizing a unique identifier for a particular user, as disclosed by Smith, to the logistics of recycling waste methods, as disclosed by Yamine to improve reporting automation and increase participation through additional tracking functionality with the implementation of a relational database.
Regarding Claim 6, Yamine teaches the following limitation:
where homogeneous and heterogeneous recyclable waste presorting elements notifies said user/participants recycling social media application of personal inventory changes due to the discarding of tagged tracking bags found in said relational database
(¶0014-15 – to track individual recycling activity, the contributions are displayed and monitored by the social network; the collection station may have genre specific bins or bins where the recyclable waste is pre-sorted in individual waste containers (bags))
Regarding Claim 7, Yamine teaches the following limitation:
where said recyclable waste containment elements utilize network connected sensors to notify a logistics component of the app using a relational database
(¶0096 and Fig. 9-11 – each bin utilizes a “bin full” sensor that is connected to the stationary recycling management structure and then networked to the mobile application)
However Yamine does not fully teach relational database, but Smith does teach relational database:
(¶0147 – the uploaded data and image is stored in a SQL relationship model)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of utilizing a unique identifier for a particular user, as disclosed by Smith, to the logistics of recycling waste methods, as disclosed by Yamine to improve reporting automation and increase participation through additional tracking functionality with the implementation of a relational database.
Regarding Claim 8, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
where enhanced recyclable waste containment elements have sufficient sensors to determine geolocation which is posted in a relational database
(¶0096 and Fig. 9-11 – geo-locating hardware is utilized to connect to a network and reports location to the logistics center; each bin utilizes a “bin full” sensor that is connected to the stationary recycling management structure and then networked to the mobile application)
However Yamine does not fully teach relational database, but Smith does teach relational database:
(¶0147 – the uploaded data and image is stored in a SQL relationship model)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of utilizing a unique identifier for a particular user, as disclosed by Smith, to the logistics of recycling waste methods, as disclosed by Yamine to improve reporting automation and increase participation through additional tracking functionality with the implementation of a relational database.
Regarding Claim 9, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
where logistics component of the app auto-generates geolocation routing map from geolocation sensor data found in the relational database
(¶0039 – to identify each recyclable genre waste bin, each bin is geo-located and the mobile application provides efficient routing for specific genre waste)
However Yamine does not fully teach relational database, but Smith does teach relational database:
(¶0147 – the uploaded data and image is stored in a SQL relationship model)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of utilizing a unique identifier for a particular user, as disclosed by Smith, to the logistics of recycling waste methods, as disclosed by Yamine to improve reporting automation and increase participation through additional tracking functionality with the implementation of a relational database.
Regarding Claim 10, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
to update and notify participants utilizing said recycling social media application through a network the progress of recyclable waste pickup and delivery service through a relational database
(¶0094 – a system to track and update a cloud based network of the collector in-route progress)
However Yamine does not fully teach relational database, but Smith does teach relational database:
(¶0147 – the uploaded data and image is stored in a SQL relationship model)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of utilizing a unique identifier for a particular user, as disclosed by Smith, to the logistics of recycling waste methods, as disclosed by Yamine to improve reporting automation and increase participation through additional tracking functionality with the implementation of a relational database.
Regarding Claim 11, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
utilizing information from the recycling social media application relational database to improve efficiency of recycling through monitoring, tracking performance and publishing results for said members of the social media to view
(¶0094 – the in-route information is graphically displayed to show geo-location of recycling waste management facilities for public access, for collectors and for waste collection companies; companies can utilize a sorting and data generation agent to update, verify and sort recyclable waste; see also ¶0045 – data collection can assist the recyclable waste collector with future strategic routing and improved collection times)
Regarding Claim 12, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
where participants in the geolocation are processing plant personnel who process recyclable waste into recycled raw materials and in turn notify users/participants of verified reception of tagged recycled bag contents
(¶0094 – the in-route information is graphically displayed to show geo-location of recycling waste management facilities for public access, for collectors and for waste collection companies; companies can utilize a sorting and data generation agent to update, verify and sort recyclable waste)
Regarding Claim 13, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
where said recycling social media application electronically validates every step of the recycling process reporting information to a relational database
(¶0021-22 – the first user registers their bags and scans each bag when it is deposited; the usage of the bags is registered to the first user when deposits are made at the recycling facility)
However Yamine does not fully teach relational database, but Smith does teach relational database:
(¶0147 – the uploaded data and image is stored in a SQL relationship model)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of utilizing a unique identifier for a particular user, as disclosed by Smith, to the logistics of recycling waste methods, as disclosed by Yamine to improve reporting automation and increase participation through additional tracking functionality with the implementation of a relational database.
Regarding Claim 14, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
where electronic validation includes geolocations, times, dates, genre of recycled waste and weight
(¶0017 – participant social media accounts contains images, and participation data, including weight and genre of recyclable materials, locations, comments, etc.)
Regarding Claim 15, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
where electronic validation of recycling data is published in a relational database to reflect the geographic relationship of homogeneous and heterogeneous recyclable waste showing routing and tracing of recycled materials
(¶0014-15 – to track individual recycling activity, the contributions are displayed and monitored by the social network; the collection station may have genre specific bins or bins where the recyclable waste is pre-sorted in individual waste containers (bags); see also 0094 – the in-route information is graphically displayed to show geo-location of recycling waste management facilities for public access, for collectors and for waste collection companies; companies can utilize a sorting and data generation agent to update, verify and sort recyclable waste)
Regarding Claim 16, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
offers user/participants the ability to monitor their participation in community recycling using a network of electronically enhanced collection, mobilization, processing and purchasing of recycled consumer goods
(¶0038 – to display recycling participant’s (first user’s) activity and contributions, a data collection of the first user, generating graphics that reflect the user’s recycling efforts)
Regarding Claim 17, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
connects user/participants to a network of recycling hardware, locations and sorting stations
(¶0096 and Fig. 9 – geo-locating hardware connects to a network to create geo-locating services of the recyclable waste and report it to a waste management and logistics center)
Regarding Claim 18, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
a logistics which interconnects electronically enhanced collection and pre sorting hardware in a geolocation mapping app to aid in finding recyclable waste management locations
(¶0096 and Fig. 9 – geo-locating hardware connects to a network to create geo-locating services of the recyclable waste and report it to a waste management and logistics center)
Regarding Claim 19, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
where logistics provides information of geolocation of recycle bins which are full in an efficient routing process
(¶0014 – once the bins have been identified as being full, the bins are geolocated and the mobile application provides efficient routing for specific genre of recyclable waste)
Regarding Claim 20, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
time and date of pickup and time and date of delivery to a processing plant
(¶0028 – when collecting waste genre, user ID, time/date, and deposit genre information is collected; see also ¶0034 – second user (collector) to provide data of recycling materials, collection time/date, weight, genre and geo-location of recycling waste)
Regarding Claim 21, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
a genre' of recyclable waste in the form of a color coded pin drop representing geolocation coordinates on a digital map whereby said coordinates interconnect to form an efficient route for a specific genre of recyclable waste
(¶0032 – to display geo-location, an online map provides pin drop location of waste collection stations)
Regarding Claim 22, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
a corresponding processing plant that matches the genre' of recyclable waste being picked up at each reported geolocation
(¶0040 – geo-location is separated by genre where each pin drop identifies a paper, plastic, etc. location)
Regarding Claim 23, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
notification services from the processing plant which uses a scanning element to determine the tagged bag origin and notifies said user of confirmation of received items and their level of contribution associated with said received items
(¶0022 – if the first user does not follow the recycling procedures, a notification service will notify the first user of a breach of user responsibility and suspend the account until an investigation is conducted.)
Regarding Claim 24, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
which contains an online store to sell recyclable raw material that is generated by the processing plant to perspective online buyers
(¶0088 – first users who collect recycling materials and sell to Second Compensation Provider for an increased amount of Electronic currency reward; see also ¶0010 - the recycler company then sends the recycled goods to a recyclable material re-integration facilities where the material is converted into raw material where goods and products are made)
Regarding Claim 25, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
where recycling social media application further comprises of elements which assure proper and secure transport from recycled raw materials provider to buyer
(¶0036 – the second compensation provider collects recyclable goods and distributes them to companies to convert the recyclable goods into raw materials)
Regarding Claim 26, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
where recycling social media application further contains secure financial transaction elements to assure each party who is participating in the exchange of recyclable raw materials sends and receives said purchased material
(¶0037 – a recyclable electronic wallet is where a second compensation provider transfers money equal to the value of recycled material)
Regarding Claim 27, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
where recycling social media application secure financial transaction covers both buyer and seller of recycled raw materials
(¶0037 – a recyclable electronic wallet uses block chain electronic currency for recyclable waste transactions; see also ¶0066 – compensatory actions include financially rewarding the first user for their participation in recycling activities)
Regarding Claim 28, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
wherein the recycling social media application tracks purchases of recycled consumer goods through an online store which were part of the same participant's recycling cycle they contributed to
(¶0054 – an intelligent system creates feedback data which includes user participation, collector collection efforts, first user transactions)
Regarding Claim 29, Yamine teaches the following limitation:
whereby said recycling app mapping component includes routing individual pickup and delivery of recyclable waste to be diverted to an intermediary geolocation used to congregate larger amounts of recyclable waste and updated to said app relational database
(¶0014 – once the bins have been identified as being full, the bins are geolocated and the mobile application provides efficient routing for specific genre of recyclable waste)
However Yamine does not fully teach relational database, but Smith does teach relational database:
(¶0147 – the uploaded data and image is stored in a SQL relationship model)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of utilizing a unique identifier for a particular user, as disclosed by Smith, to the logistics of recycling waste methods, as disclosed by Yamine to improve reporting automation and increase participation through additional tracking functionality with the implementation of a relational database.
Regarding Claim 30, Yamine does not fully teach, but Smith does teach the following limitation:
where said recycling app relational database includes quantitative relationships corresponding to accrual of said homogeneous or heterogeneous recyclable waste
(¶0015 – the collection station may have genre specific bins or bins where the recyclable waste is pre-sorted in individual waste containers (bags); see also ¶0017 – participant social media accounts contains images, and participation data, including weight and genre of recyclable materials, locations, etc.)
However Yamine does not fully teach recycling app relational database, but Smith does teach recycling app relational database:
(¶0147 – the uploaded data and image is stored in a SQL relationship model)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of utilizing a unique identifier for a particular user, as disclosed by Smith, to the logistics of recycling waste methods, as disclosed by Yamine to improve reporting automation and increase participation through additional tracking functionality with the implementation of a relational database.
Regarding Claim 31, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
where said recycling app relational database includes qualitative relationships corresponding to accrual of said homogeneous or heterogeneous recyclable waste
(¶0015 – the collection station may have genre specific bins or bins where the recyclable waste is pre-sorted in individual waste containers (bags); see also ¶0017 – participant social media accounts contains images, and participation data, including weight and genre of recyclable materials, locations, etc.)
However Yamine does not fully teach recycling app relational database, but Smith does teach recycling app relational database:
(¶0147 – the uploaded data and image is stored in a SQL relationship model)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of utilizing a unique identifier for a particular user, as disclosed by Smith, to the logistics of recycling waste methods, as disclosed by Yamine to improve reporting automation and increase participation through additional tracking functionality with the implementation of a relational database.
Regarding Claim 32, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
where said quantitative relationship data is recorded in a relational database and displayed in said recycling app for user participants to view
(¶0014-15 – to track individual recycling activity, the contributions are displayed and monitored by the social network; the collection station may have genre specific bins or bins where the recyclable waste is pre-sorted in individual waste containers (bags))
However Yamine does not fully teach a relational database, but Smith does teach a relational database:
(¶0147 – the uploaded data and image is stored in a SQL relationship model)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of utilizing a unique identifier for a particular user, as disclosed by Smith, to the logistics of recycling waste methods, as disclosed by Yamine to improve reporting automation and increase participation through additional tracking functionality with the implementation of a relational database.
Regarding Claim 33, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
where said qualitative relationship data is recorded in a relational database in said recycling app for user participants to view
(¶0014-15 – to track individual recycling activity, the contributions are displayed and monitored by the social network; the collection station may have genre specific bins or bins where the recyclable waste is pre-sorted in individual waste containers (bags))
However Yamine does not fully teach a relational database, but Smith does teach a relational database:
(¶0147 – the uploaded data and image is stored in a SQL relationship model)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of utilizing a unique identifier for a particular user, as disclosed by Smith, to the logistics of recycling waste methods, as disclosed by Yamine to improve reporting automation and increase participation through additional tracking functionality with the implementation of a relational database.
Regarding Claim 34, Yamine teaches the following limitations:
where said recycling app geolocation is recorded and displayed in a relational database utilizing a pin drop icon whose color represents respective accrued homogeneous or heterogeneous waste elements
(¶0040 – geo-location can be separated in Google Maps or other GPS programs which offer pin drop location and menu based navigation)
However Yamine does not fully teach a relational database, but Smith does teach a relational database:
(¶0147 – the uploaded data and image is stored in a SQL relationship model)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of utilizing a unique identifier for a particular user, as disclosed by Smith, to the logistics of recycling waste methods, as disclosed by Yamine to improve reporting automation and increase participation through additional tracking functionality with the implementation of a relational database.
Conclusion
be directed to RAHUL SHARMA whose telephone number is (571) 272-3058. The examiner can
normally be reached Monday thru Friday, 8-5 CT.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Nathan Uber can be reached at (571) 270-3923. The fax phone number for the organization where this
application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA)
or 571-272-1000.
/RAHUL SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/NATHAN C UBER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626