DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 09/25/2024.
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PARK et al. (US 2023/0262660) (having earlier Priority date of 07/10/2020).
Regarding claim 1, FAN discloses a terminal [see Fig. 21A, 21B, 32, ¶¶ 377-397, 467; a transmission UE 3200 (also see Fig. 21A, 21B, 33, ¶¶ 394-397; a reception UE 3300 as terminal)] comprising:
a receiving unit [see Fig. 32, ¶ 469; transceiver 3210] that receives a signal from another terminal on any subchannel included in a resource pool including non-contiguous frequency resources [see ¶¶ 382, 386; the PSFCH frequency resource sets for HARQ feedback transmission may be non-contiguous on the frequency axis; (¶ 379, transmission UE receiving PSFCH /reception UEs transmitting PSFCH); also see Method A, ¶ 453];
a transmitting unit [see Fig. 32, ¶ 469; transceiver 3210] that transmits a signal to another terminal on any subchannel included in the resource pool [see Fig. 13B, 21B, ¶¶ 386, 388; transmit a PSCCH or PSSCH through unicast communication in slot index ‘0’ and start subchannel index (or start RB index) ‘1’; also see Method A, ¶ 453]; and
a control unit [see Fig. 32, ¶ 469; controller 3220] that determines in which actual component carriers subchannels constituting the resource pool are included [see ¶ 383; assumed that the PSFCH frequency resource in the resource pool is constituted of M RBs as shown in FIG. 7 or the resource pool is constituted of M frequency resources as shown in FIG. 6 (i.e., when the symbols used for PSFCH transmission/reception in the PSFCH-configured resource pool use all of the M RBs); also see Method A, ¶ 453], wherein the transmitting unit transmits a control signal to another terminal in the resource pool [see ¶ 383; transmit sidelink control information in the corresponding resource pool; also see Method A, ¶ 453, (transmit corresponding HARQ-ACK information)].
Regarding claim 2, FAN discloses the terminal according to claim 1.
FAN further discloses wherein in a case where the control unit determines that each of the subchannels is included in a single one of the actual component carriers, the transmitting unit transmits the control signal on the single one of the actual component carriers [see Fig. 24, ¶ 435; case 1, where PSFCH reception/transmission each is performed in the same carrier in response to PSSCH transmission/reception].
Regarding claim 3, FAN discloses the terminal according to claim 1.
FAN further discloses wherein in a case where the control unit determines that each of the subchannels is included in a single one of the actual component carriers, the transmitting unit transmits the control signal on a plurality of the actual component carriers [see Fig. 24, ¶¶ 435-438; case 2, wherein the PSFCH signals transmitted/received on a specific carrier may include HARQ-ACK information for the PSSCH signals transmitted/received on a plurality of carriers].
Regarding claim 4, FAN discloses the terminal according to claim 1.
FAN further discloses wherein in a case where the control unit determines that at least one of the subchannels is included in a plurality of the actual component carriers, the transmitting unit transmits the control signal on a single one of the actual component carriers [see Fig. 24, ¶¶ 443; case 3, where it may be considered that PSSCHs may be transmitted/received through a plurality of carriers, and PSFCH signals are transmitted/received through one carrier (e.g., primary cell)].
Regarding claim 5, FAN discloses the terminal according to claim 1.
FAN further discloses terminal according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the control unit determines that at least one of the subchannels is included in a plurality of the actual component carriers, the transmitting unit transmits the control signal on the plurality of the actual component carriers [see Fig. 24, ¶¶ 435-438; case 3, where the PSFCH signal including HARQ-ACK information for the PSSCH signal transmitted/received on specific carrier i may be transmitted/received on specific carrier i or j and this may be determined through SCI information].
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites communication method executed by a termina to perform the terminal recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 6 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Conclusion
In additional to references cited that are used for rejection as set forth above, AKKARAKARAN et al. (US 2022/0053519) is also considered as relevant prior arts for rejection of in claims 1 and 6 (Fig. 3, 6, ¶¶ 68, 96-98).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHONG LA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469