Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a central axis line of an end portion of the strut on an upstream side” in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. It is noted that said objection is associated to the 112b rejection for claim 7, see below.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference number “43” in Figs. 3 and 5-6.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-6, 10, 12-13, and 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “a combustor plate that has a mixing tube extending to penetrate an upstream end surface and a downstream end surface and into which air is introduced from an upstream end surface side” is believed to be in error for - - a combustor plate that has a mixing tube extending to penetrate an upstream end surface and a downstream end surface, and into the mixing tube - -
Regarding claim 4, the recitation “a fuel nozzle that extends in a direction of the central axis line from inside the mixing tube and in which a tip opening for injecting the first fuel to an end portion on a downstream side is formed” is believed to be in error for - - a fuel nozzle that extends in a direction of the central axis line from inside the mixing tube, and in [[which]]the mixing tube, a tip opening for injecting the first fuel to an end portion on a downstream side is formed - -
Regarding claim 5, the recitation “the strut has a wing shape with an end portion thereof on an upstream side set as a leading edge and the end portion thereof on the downstream side set as a trailing edge” is believed to be in error for - - the strut has a wing shape with an end portion thereof on an upstream side set as a leading edge and [[the]]an end portion thereof on the downstream side set as a trailing edge - -
Regarding claim 6, the recitation “a reduced diameter wall surface that is connected to a downstream side of the upstream wall surface and whose diameter is reduced toward the downstream side” is believed to be in error for - - a reduced diameter wall surface that is connected to a downstream side of the upstream wall surface and [[whose]]the diameter of the reduced diameter wall surface is reduced toward the downstream side - -
Regarding claim 10, the recitation “the combustor plate includes a plurality of the mixing tubes; and each of the mixing tubes includes the first fuel injection unit and the second fuel injection unit” is believed to be in error for - - the combustor plate includes a plurality of the mixing tubes; and each of the plurality of the mixing tubes includes the first fuel injection unit and the second fuel injection unit - -
Regarding claim 12, the recitation “a compressor that generates air; the combustor according to Claim 1 that generates a combustion gas by burning a premixed gas generated by mixing fuel with the air compressed by the compressor” is believed to be in error for - - a compressor that generates compressed air; the combustor according to Claim 1 that generates a combustion gas by burning a premixed gas generated by mixing the compressed air and at least one of the first fuel and the second fuel
Regarding claim 13, term “an inner wall surface of the mixing tube” is believed to be in error for - - [[an]]the inner wall surface of the mixing tube - -
Regarding claim 17, the recitation “a compressor that generates air; the combustor according to Claim 4 that generates a combustion gas by burning a premixed gas generated by mixing fuel with the air compressed by the compressor” is believed to be in error for - - a compressor that generates compressed air; the combustor according to Claim 4 that generates a combustion gas by burning a premixed gas generated by mixing the compressed air and at least one of the first fuel and the second fuel
Applicant is advised that should claim 17 be found allowable, claim 18 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). It is noted that such warming does not indicate that claim 17 is allowable.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the recitation “the reduced diameter wall surface extends from a position in a direction of a central axis line of an end portion of the strut on an upstream side to a position in a direction of a central axis line of the tip opening” is indefinite even in light of the specification. i) according to claim 4 and the [0034] and Figs. 3-5 of the instant Application, term “strut” is a single vane (50) connected to the fuel nozzle (41) and the inner wall surface (33) of the mixing tube (30), and according to claim 5 and [0036] and Figs. 3-5 of the instant Application, recitation “an end portion of the strut on the upstream side” is the leading edge (51) of the strut (50), i.e., recitation “an end portion of the strut on an upstream side” defines a leading edge of a single vane; and
ii) according to [0020] and Figs. 3-5 of the instant Application, term “central axis line” refers to a central axis line (O2) of the mixing tube (30);
iii) therefore, it is unclear what central axis line is defined by recitation “a central axis line of an end portion of the strut on an upstream side”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zuo 8276385, refers as Zuo’ 385 thereafter.
Regarding claim 1, Zuo’ 385 teaches the invention as claimed: A combustor (comprising the fuel injector as shown in Figs. 1-2 and combustion chamber 122) comprising:
a combustor plate (100 in Figs. 1-2) that has a mixing tube (114) extending to penetrate an upstream end surface (the upstream end surface of upstream wall 104, see annotated Fig. 1) and a downstream end surface (the downstream end surface of downstream wall 106, see annotated Fig. 1) and into which air is introduced from an upstream end surface side (air 101 enters mixing tube 114 via the upstream wall 104, see Fig. 1);
a first fuel injection unit (comprising fuel injection hole 116, see Figs. 1-2 and col. 4, ll. 4-9) that is capable of injecting first fuel (the second gas fuel 103 in fuel plenums 112 and 110, see Fig. 1-2 and col. 3, ll. 40-43) along a central axis line (annotated Fig. 1) of the mixing tube (114) from inside the mixing tube (because the fuel injection hole 116 is angled toward the outlet of mixing tube 114 as shown in Fig. 2, the second gas fuel 103 is injected into the mixing tube 114 along the central axis); and
a second fuel injection unit (comprising fuel injection hole 118, see Figs. 1-2 and col. 3, ll. 33-39) that is capable of injecting second fuel (the first gas fuel 105 in fuel plenum 126, see Fig. 1-2 and col. 3, ll. 33-39) into the mixing tube (114) from a radial outer side of the central axis line of the mixing tube (the fuel injection hole 118 is on the wall of the mixing tube 114, and the wall of the mixing tube 114 is located radially outward from the central axis line marked in annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Zuo’ 385 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
Zuo’ 385 further teaches the first fuel injection unit (comprising fuel injection hole 116, see Figs. 1-2 and col. 4, ll. 4-9) injects the first fuel (the second gas fuel 103 in fuel plenum 112 and 110, see Fig. 1-2 and col. 3, ll. 40-43) from a downstream side in the mixing tube with respect to the second fuel injection unit (comprising fuel injection hole 118, see Figs. 1-2 and col. 3, ll. 33-39; the fuel injection hole 116, i.e., the claimed first fuel injection unit is located downstream from the fuel injection hole 118, i.e., the claimed second fuel injection unit, see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Zuo’ 385 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
Zuo’ 385 further teaches wherein the second fuel injection unit (comprising fuel injection hole 118, see Figs. 1-2 and col. 3, ll. 33-39) has a wall surface hole (the fuel injection hole 118 is a wall surface hole, see Figs. 1-2) capable of injecting the second fuel (the first gas fuel 105 in fuel plenum 126, see Fig. 1-2 and col. 3, ll. 33-39) into the mixing tube (114) from an inner wall surface (annotated Fig. 2) of the mixing tube (114).
Regarding claim 10, Zuo’ 385 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
Zuo’ 385 further teaches wherein the combustor plate (100 in Figs. 1-2) includes a plurality of the mixing tubes (a plurality of mixing tubes 114s, see Figs. 1-2); and each of the mixing tubes (each 114s) includes the first fuel injection unit (comprising fuel injection hole 116, see Figs. 1-2 and col. 4, ll. 4-9) and the second fuel injection unit (comprising fuel injection hole 118, see Figs. 1-2 and col. 3, ll. 33-39, see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Zuo’ 385 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
Zuo’ 385 further teaches wherein the first fuel (the second gas fuel 103, and per col. 3, ll. 33-39, the second gas fuel 103 can be hydrogen gas) is more reactive than the second fuel (the first gas fuel 105; per col. 3, ll. 33-39, the first gas fuel 105 can be natural gas, and per col. 1, ll. 20-23, hydrogen gas is more reactive than natural gas).
Regarding claim 12, Zuo’ 385 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
Zuo’ 385 further teaches a gas turbine (the gas turbine engine per col. 3, ll. 50-52 that comprises the fuel injector as shown in Figs. 1-2 and the combustion chamber 122) comprising:
a compressor (inherits from the gas turbine engine as taught by col. 3, ll. 50-52) that generates air (the compressed air 101 that provides to mix with fuel 103 and 105, see Figs. 1-2);
the combustor (100 as shown in Figs. 1-2) that generates a combustion gas (formed by combustion zone 124, see Fig. 1 and col. 3, ll. 50-52) by burning a premixed gas generated by mixing fuel with the air compressed by the compressor (a mixture of air 101 and at least one of the second gas fuel 103 and the first gas fuel 105, see Figs. 1-2 and col. 3, ll. 48-52); and
a turbine driven by the combustion gas (inherits from the gas turbine engine as taught by col. 3, ll. 50-52).
Regarding claim 16, Zuo’ 385 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
Zuo’ 385 further teaches wherein the first fuel (the second gas fuel 103, and per col. 3, ll. 33-39, the second gas fuel 103 can be hydrogen gas) is more reactive than the second fuel (the first gas fuel 105; per col. 3, ll. 33-39, the first gas fuel 105 can be natural gas, and per col. 1, ll. 20-23, hydrogen gas is more reactive than natural gas).
Claims 1, 4, 13-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HELLAT 20240060644.
Regarding claim 1, HELLAT teaches the invention as claimed: A combustor (as shown in Fig. 3) comprising:
a combustor plate (1 in Fig. 3, which is an alternative embodiment of Fig. 1 that shares part of the structures, [0060 and 0085]) that has a mixing tube (43) extending to penetrate an upstream end surface (the upstream end surface of the upstream wall 11 that facing an upstream side 2, see Figs. 1 and 3 and [0078]) and a downstream end surface (the downstream end surface of the downstream wall 12 that facing a downstream side 3, see Figs. 1 and 3 and [0078]) and into which air is introduced from an upstream end surface side (air enters the mixing tube 43 from the upstream side 2, see [0078]);
a first fuel injection unit (comprising nozzle 62 configured to discharge fluid in plenum 32, see Fig. 3, and per [0088] in right column of p. 11, the fluid in plenums 31 and 32 may be two different type of gas fuel, e.g., hydrogen and natural gas) that is capable of injecting first fuel (one of the hydrogen and natural gas in plenum 32) along a central axis line (annotated Fig. 3) of the mixing tube (43) from inside the mixing tube (one of the hydrogen and natural gas is injected into the mixing tube 43 by nozzle 62 along the central axis line, see Fig. 3); and
a second fuel injection unit (comprising hole 51 configured to discharge fluid in plenum 31, see Fig. 3, and per [0088] in right column of p. 11, the fluid in plenums 31 and 32 may be two different type of gas fuel, e.g., hydrogen and natural gas) that is capable of injecting second fuel (another one of the hydrogen and natural gas in plenum 31) into the mixing tube (43) from a radial outer side of the central axis line of the mixing tube (hole 51 is on the wall of the mixing tube 43, and the wall of the mixing tube 43 is located radially outward from the central axis line, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, HELLAT teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
HELLAT further teaches wherein the first fuel injection unit (comprising nozzle 62 configured to discharge fluid in plenum 32, see Fig. 3, and per [0088] in right column of p. 11, the fluid in plenums 31 and 32 may be two different type of gas fuel, e.g., hydrogen and natural gas) includes
a fuel nozzle (62) that extends in a direction of the central axis line (annotated Fig. 3) from inside the mixing tube (43) and in which a tip opening (annotated Fig. 3) for injecting the first fuel (one of the hydrogen and natural gas in plenum 32) to an end portion (where an outlet of the mixing tube 43 is, see annotated Fig. 3) on a downstream side (the combustor plate 1 is divided to an upstream side and a downstream side in the center of the passage 132 of Fig. 2 inside the strut that is suspended in mixing tube 43 as shown in annotated Fig. 3, thus, the outlet of the mixing tube 43 is on a downstream side) is formed,
a strut (the tube that is suspended in the mixing tube 43, see annotated Fig. 3) that extends in a radial direction of the central axis line (annotated Fig. 3) between the fuel nozzle (62) and an inner wall surface (annotated Fig. 3) of the mixing tube (43) and that connects the fuel nozzle (62) and the inner wall surface (annotated Fig. 3) of the mixing tube (43) to each other (see Fig. 3), and
a fuel introduction portion (the passage 132 in Fig. 2 formed in the tube that is suspended in the mixing tube 43 configured to deliver one of the hydrogen and natural gas from plenum 32 to nozzle 62) that introduces the first fuel (one of the hydrogen and natural gas from plenum 32) into the fuel nozzle (62) through an inside of the strut (said passage 132 in Fig. 2 is formed inside of the strut in annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, HELLAT teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
HELLAT further teaches wherein the second fuel injection unit (comprising hole 51 configured to discharge fluid in plenum 31, see Fig. 3, and per [0088] in right column of p. 11, the fluid in plenums 31 and 32 may be two different type of gas fuel, e.g., hydrogen and natural gas) has a wall surface hole (hole 51 is a wall surface hole, see Fig. 3) capable of injecting the second fuel (another one of the hydrogen and natural gas in plenum 31) into the mixing tube (43) from an inner wall surface (annotated Fig. 3) of the mixing tube (43).
Regarding claim 14, HELLAT teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
HELLAT further teaches wherein the combustor plate (1 in Fig. 3) includes a plurality of the mixing tubes (a plurality of mixing tubes 43s, see Fig. 3), and each of the mixing tubes (each 43s) includes the first fuel injection unit (comprising nozzle 62 configured to discharge fluid in plenum 32, see Fig. 3, and per [0088] in right column of p. 11, the fluid in plenums 31 and 32 may be two different type of gas fuel, e.g., hydrogen and natural gas) and the second fuel injection unit (comprising hole 51 configured to discharge fluid in plenum 31, see Fig. 3, and per [0088] in right column of p. 11, the fluid in plenums 31 and 32 may be two different type of gas fuel, e.g., hydrogen and natural gas).
Regarding claim 15, HELLAT teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
HELLAT further teaches wherein the first fuel is more reactive than the second fuel (per [0088] in right column of p. 11, the fluid in plenums 31 and 32 may be two different type of gas fuel, e.g., hydrogen and natural gas, i.e., the claimed first fuel is one of hydrogen and natural gas and the claimed second fuel is another one of hydrogen and natural gas; per [0004-0005], hydrogen is more reactive than natural gas and is preferred to be used to form a diffusion flame, and per [0082] in the right column of p. 10, the fuel provided by the first fuel injection unit, nozzle 62 forms diffusion combustion, thus, the first fuel provided by the fuel injection unit, which comprising nozzle 62, is hydrogen).
Regarding claims 17-18, HELLAT teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
HELLAT further teaches a gas turbine (the gas turbine engine comprising the combustor plate 1 in Figs. 1 and 3, see [0078]) comprising: a compressor (the compressor per [0078]) that generates air (the compressed air provided to the combustor plate 1, [0078]); the combustor (as shown in Figs. 1 and 3) that generates a combustion gas (produced in combustion space 3, Fig. 1 and [0078]) by burning a premixed gas generated by mixing fuel with the air compressed by the compressor (a mixture of compressed air and at least one of the hydrogen and natural gas is injected into the combustion space 3, see Figs. 1 and 3 and [0088] in right column of P. 11); and a turbine driven by the combustion gas (see [0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HELLAT 20240060644 in view of Chen 7107772.
Regarding claim 5, HELLAT teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
HELLAT does not teach the strut has a wing shape with an end portion thereof on an upstream side set as a leading edge and the end portion thereof on the downstream side set as a trailing edge.
However, Chen teaches a combustor plate (10 in Fig. 1) comprising: a mixing tube (40, Figs. 3-4 and col. 3, ll. 55-63) configured to receive air (“Air” in Fig. 4 is fed into mixing tube 40), a first fuel injection unit (per col. 4, ll. 18-32 and Figs. 3-4, in addition to the fuel injection unit 49, a diffusion pilot fuel injector may be added to the center body 42, i.e., the center body 42 and the vanes 44 are the claimed first fuel injection unit) that is capable of injecting first fuel (the fuel injected from center body 42) along a central axis line (annotated Fig. 5) of the mixing tube (4) from inside the mixing tube (40; the center body 42 is inside of the mixing tube 40, see Fig. 4), and a second fuel injection unit (49 comprising fuel injection hole 50, see Fig. 4 and col. 4, ll. 18-28) that is capable of injecting second fuel (the fuel injected from fuel injection hole 50) into the mixing tube (40) from a radial outer side (the fuel injection hole 50 is on the wall of the mixing tube 40, and the wall of the mixing tube 40 is positioned radially outward from the central axis line) of the central axis line (annotated Fig. 4) of the mixing tube (40),
wherein the first fuel injection unit (the center body 42 and the vanes 44, see Fig. 4) includes a fuel nozzle (42) that extends in a direction of the central axis line (annotated Fig. 4) from inside the mixing tube (40) and a tip opening (annotated Fig. 4) for injecting the first fuel (the fuel injected from center body 42) and a strut (vanes 44) that extends in a radial direction (a direction perpendicular to the central axis line in annotated Fig. 4) of the central axis line (annotated Fig. 4) between the fuel nozzle (42) and an inner wall surface (46) of the mixing tube (40) and that connects the fuel nozzle (42) and the inner wall surface (46) of the mixing tube (40) to each other (see Fig. 4), and
wherein the strut (vanes 44) has a wing shape (per col. 3, l. 63 to col. 4 l, 4, vanes 44 are swirler vanes that inherit to have a wing shape) with an end portion thereof on an upstream side (annotated Fig. 4) set as a leading edge (annotated Fig. 4) and the end portion thereof on the downstream side (annotated Fig. 4) set as a trailing edge (annotated Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify HELLAT’s strut to be vanes as taught by Chen, such that
the strut has a wing shape with an end portion thereof on an upstream side set as a leading edge and the end portion thereof on the downstream side set as a trailing edge
in order to promote mixing of the fuel and air to reduce NOx and provide flame stability (Chen, col. 3, l. 63 to col. 4, l. 3).
Regarding claim 8, HELLAT teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
HELLAT further teaches the second fuel injection unit (comprising hole 51 configured to discharge fluid in plenum 31, see Fig. 3, and per [0088] in right column of p. 11, the fluid in plenums 31 and 32 may be two different type of gas fuel, e.g., hydrogen and natural gas) has a surface hole (51, see Fig. 3) capable of injecting the second fuel (another one of the hydrogen and natural gas in plenum 31) into the mixing tube (43) from a surface of the wall (the wall of the mixing tube 43, see Fig. 3).
HELLAT does not teach said second fuel injection unit has a surface hole capable of injecting said second fuel into said mixing tube from a surface of the strut.
However, Chen teaches a combustor plate (10 in Fig. 1) comprising: a mixing tube (40, Figs. 3-4 and col. 3, ll. 55-63) configured to receive air (“Air” in Fig. 4 is fed into mixing tube 40), a first fuel injection unit (per col. 4, ll. 18-32 and Figs. 3-4, in addition to the fuel injection unit 49, a diffusion pilot fuel injector may be added to the center body 42, i.e., the center body 42 and the vanes 44 are the claimed first fuel injection unit) that is capable of injecting first fuel (the fuel injected from center body 42) along a central axis line (annotated Fig. 5) of the mixing tube (4) from inside the mixing tube (40; the center body 42 is inside of the mixing tube 40, see Fig. 4), and a second fuel injection unit (49 comprising fuel injection hole 50, see Fig. 4 and col. 4, ll. 18-28) that is capable of injecting second fuel (the fuel injected from fuel injection hole 50) into the mixing tube (40),
wherein the first fuel injection unit (the center body 42 and the vanes 44, see Fig. 4) includes a fuel nozzle (42) that extends in a direction of the central axis line (annotated Fig. 4) from inside the mixing tube (40) and a tip opening (annotated Fig. 4) for injecting the first fuel (the fuel injected from center body 42) and a strut (vanes 44) that extends in a radial direction (a direction perpendicular to the central axis line in annotated Fig. 4) of the central axis line (annotated Fig. 4) between the fuel nozzle (42) and an inner wall surface (46) of the mixing tube (40) and that connects the fuel nozzle (42) and the inner wall surface (46) of the mixing tube (40) to each other (see Fig. 4), and
wherein the second fuel injection unit (49 comprising fuel injection hole 50, see Fig. 4 and col. 4, ll. 18-28) has a surface hole (50) capable of injecting the second fuel into the mixing tube (40) from a surface of the strut (per col. 4, ll. 23-27, the fuel injection hole may be provided on the wall of the mixing tube 40 or in the vanes 44, i.e., the claimed strut).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify HELLAT’s surface hole to be a surface hole of the strut as taught by Chen, such that
the second fuel injection unit has a surface hole capable of injecting the second fuel into the mixing tube from a surface of the strut
because it is noted that a simple substitution of one known element, in this case, injecting fuel from a wall surface as taught by HELLAT and Chen, for another, in this case, injecting fuel from a strut surface as taught by Chen, to obtain predictable results, in this case, providing fuel for combustion, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings”, MPEP 2141 III(B).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HELLAT 20240060644 in view of Zuo 20110197587, refers as Zuo’ 587 thereafter.
Regarding claim 6, HELLAT teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
HELLAT further teaches wherein the inner wall surface (annotated Fig. 3) of the mixing tube (43) includes:
an upstream wall surface (annotated Fig. 3) that is connected to the upstream end surface (the upstream end surface of the upstream wall 11 that facing to upstream side 2, see Fig. 3) and that extends toward the downstream side (the combustor plate 1 is divided to the upstream side and the downstream side at the center of the passage 132 of Fig. 2 in the strut as shown in annotated Fig. 3, thus, the first portion wall surface extends toward the downstream side) with a uniform inner diameter (see annotated Fig. 3),
a downstream portion wall surface (annotated Fig. 3) that is connected to a downstream side (where the upstream wall surface and the downstream portion wall surface connects in annotated Fig. 3) of the upstream wall surface (annotated Fig. 3) and extends toward the downstream end surface (the downstream end surface of the downstream end wall 12 that faces to downstream side 3, see Fig. 3).
HELLAT further teaches the shape of the mixing tube (43) may be chosen o meet certain requirements, e.g., the velocity of the mixture flow injected from the mixing tube (43) or reduce pressure losses ([0084]).
HELLAT does not said downstream portion wall surface comprising: a reduced diameter wall surface that is connected to said downstream side of said
upstream wall surface and whose diameter is reduced toward said downstream side and a downstream wall surface that is connected to a downstream side of the reduced diameter wall surface and extends toward said downstream end surface with a uniform inner diameter smaller than an inner diameter of the upstream wall surface.
However, Zuo’ 587 teaches a combustor plate (100 in Fig. 8, which is an alternative embodiment of Figs. 4-5 and shares part of the structures of Figs. 4-5) comprising: a mixing tube (802 in Fig. 8), a fuel injection unit (the fuel injection hole in annotated Fig. 8 and 406 in Fig. 4) located closer to an inlet (804, Fig. 8) of the mixing tube (802 in Fig. 8),
wherein an inner wall surface (annotated Fig. 8) of the mixing tube (802 in Fig. 8) includes:
an upstream wall surface (the inner wall surface in section 801, see Fig. 8) connects to an upstream end surface (annotated Fig. 8) and extends toward a downstream end surface (annotated Fig. 8) with a uniform inner diameter (y, Fig. 8 and [0029]), and
a downstream portion wall surface (annotated Fig. 8) that is connected to a downstream side (where sections 801 and 803 connects) of the upstream wall surface (in section 801) and extends to the downstream end surface (annotated Fig. 8),
wherein the downstream portion wall surface (annotated Fig. 8) comprises:
a reduced diameter wall surface (a portion of section 803 marked in annotated Fig. 8) that is connected to the downstream side (where sections 801 and 803 connects) of the upstream wall surface (in section 801) and a diameter of the reduced diameter wall surface is reduced (because the portion of section 803 marked in annotated Fig. 8 has a converging configuration, see Fig. 8 and [0029]) toward the downstream end surface (annotated Fig. 8), and
a downstream wall surface (annotated Fig. 8) that is connected to a downstream side (where the reduced diameter wall surface and the downstream wall surface connects in annotated Fig. 8) of the reduced diameter wall surface (the portion of section 803 marked in annotated Fig. 8) and extends toward the downstream end surface (annotated Fig. 8) with a uniform inner diameter (y’ in Fig. 8 and [0029] is smaller than y in section 801) smaller than an inner diameter (y in section 801) of the upstream wall surface (in section 801).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify HELLAT’s mixing tube to have the shape as taught by Zuo’ 587, such that
HELLAT’s downstream portion wall surface comprising: a reduced diameter wall surface that is connected to a downstream side of the upstream wall surface and whose diameter is reduced toward the downstream side, and a downstream wall surface that is connected to a downstream side of the reduced diameter wall surface and extends toward the downstream end surface with a uniform inner
diameter smaller than an inner diameter of the upstream wall surface (see annotated HELLAT’s Fig. 3 for modification)
in order to prevent flash back and reduce downstream pressure losses (Zuo’ 587, [0019] and [0026] in right column of p. 2).
Regarding claim 7, HELLAT in view of Zuo’s 587 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
HELLAT further teaches the downstream portion wall surface (annotated Fig. 3) extends from a position in a direction of a central axis line of an end portion of the strut on an upstream side to the downstream end surface in a direction of a central axis line of the tip opening (it is noted that the central axis line of the end portion of the strut and the central axis line of the tip opening of the nozzle 62 are two central axis lines 451 in Fig. 2 that align with the central axis line of the mixing tube 43, see annotated Figs. 2 and 3, thus, the downstream portion wall surface extends from the position on the upstream side marked in annotated Fig. 3 to the downstream end surface of the downstream end wall 12 that faces to the downstream side 3, see Fig. 3).
HELLAT in view of Zuo’s 587 as discussed so far does not teach the reduced diameter wall surface of said downstream portion wall surface extends from said position in said direction of said central axis line of said end portion of said strut on said upstream side to a position in said direction of said central axis line of said tip opening.
However, Zuo’s 587 further teaches the reduced diameter wall surface (annotated Fig. 8) of the downstream portion wall surface (annotated Fig. 8) extends from a position on an upstream side (annotated Fig. 8) in a direction of the central axis line (annotated Fig. 8) of the mixing tube (802) to a position (“the position” marked in annotated Fig. 8) in the direction of the central axis line (annotated Fig. 8) of the mixing tube (802).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the mixing tube of HELLTA in view of Zuo’ 587 to have the shape as taught by Zuo’ 587, such that
the reduced diameter wall surface extends from a position in a direction of a central axis line of an end portion of the strut on an upstream side to a position in a direction of a central axis line of the tip opening (see annotated HELLAT’s Fig. 3 for modification)
for the same reason for applying Zuo’ 587 to claim 6 as discussed above.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JINGCHEN LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/DEVON C KRAMER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741