DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 09/25/2024
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2 and 13 recited, “the Frequency Segment Channel Number field” in line 1. For clarity, it is suggested to change to “a Frequency Segment Channel Number field”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-7, 11, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kneckt et al. (US 2022/0418022) (with an US-Provisional-Application US No. 63/214,096 having earlier priority date 06/23/2021).
Regarding claim 1, Kneckt discloses a method [see Fig. 9, ¶¶ 91-151; a method of AP MLD 112 and non-AP MLD 106 may exchange information about their respective operations, operating parameters, and/or capabilities], comprising:
receiving, by a station (STA) affiliated with a multi-link device (MLD), a respective frame from each of one or more peer STAs on one or more channels in a multi-link operation [see Fig. 9, ¶ 136; receiving, by non-AP MLD 106, the beacon(s) from each of AP MLD (first and/or second AP) on one or more channels in a multi-link operation (see ¶ 129)]; and
performing, by the STA, an operating channel validation regarding a respective channel used by the STA to communicate with each of the one or more peer STAs [see Fig. 9, ¶ 137; performing by determine, by the non-AP MLD/(STA), capability information and/or one or more operating parameter(s) (910)/(operating channel validation) regarding a respective channel used by the STA to communicate with each of the one or more peer STAs; also see step 920, ¶ 148, the non-AP MLD validate a link with the first AP on the new channel)] based on channel center frequency information comprised in operating channel information (OCI) indicated in an OCI element contained in the respective frame [see Fig. 9, ¶ 137; wherein the operation parameter(s) is based on information including traffic patterns, applications executing on the non-AP MLD, battery level of the non-AP MLD, user preferences, parameters of other APs, etc., e.g., in addition to or instead of the parameter(s) for the first AP, e.g., as indicated in the beacons; also see ¶¶ 216, 221-223, OCI may indicate the channels and/or parameters for one or more AP, based on validating the AP using the OCI].
Regarding claim 6, Kneckt discloses the method of claim 1.
Kneckt further discloses wherein each of the one or more peer STAs comprises an Operating Channel Validation Capable (OCVC) STA [see ¶¶ 216-217; wherein each of the one or more peer non-AP MLD (e.g., STA) comprises an Operating Channel Validation (OCV) capable STA (non-AP MLD to perform OCV of multiple links)].
Regarding claim 7, Kneckt discloses the method of claim 6.
Kneckt further discloses wherein the performing of the operating channel validation comprises validating the OCI received in protected messages used in key establishment and confirmation with each of the one or more peer STAs by determining whether channel information in the OCI matches one or more parameters of a current operating channel of the STA [see Fig. 43, ¶¶ 230, 242, ; wherein the performing of the operating channel validation comprises validating the OCI received in protected messages used in key establishment and confirmation with each of the one or more peer STAs by determining whether channel information in the OCI matches one or more parameters of a current operating channel of the STA].
Regarding claim 1, Kneckt discloses a method [see Fig. 9, ¶¶ 91-151; a method of AP MLD 112 and non-AP MLD 106 may exchange information about their respective operations, operating parameters, and/or capabilities], comprising:
receiving, by a station (STA) affiliated with a multi-link device (MLD), a respective frame from each of one or more peer STAs on one or more channels in a multi-link operation [see Fig. 9, ¶ 136; receiving, by non-AP MLD 106, the beacon(s) from each of AP MLD (first and/or second AP) on one or more channels in a multi-link operation (see ¶ 129)]; and
performing, by the STA, an operating channel validation regarding a respective channel used by the STA to communicate with each of the one or more peer STAs [see Fig. 9, ¶ 137; performing by determine, by the non-AP MLD/(STA), capability information and/or one or more operating parameter(s) (910)/(operating channel validation) regarding a respective channel used by the STA to communicate with each of the one or more peer STAs; also see step 920, ¶ 148, the non-AP MLD validate a link with the first AP on the new channel)] based on channel center frequency information comprised in operating channel information (OCI) indicated in an OCI element contained in the respective frame [see Fig. 9, ¶ 137; wherein the operation parameter(s) is based on information including traffic patterns, applications executing on the non-AP MLD, battery level of the non-AP MLD, user preferences, parameters of other APs, etc., e.g., in addition to or instead of the parameter(s) for the first AP, e.g., as indicated in the beacons; also see ¶¶ 216, 221-223, OCI may indicate the channels and/or parameters (included in RNR element, see Fig. 11) for one or more AP, based on validating the AP using the OCI]
wherein the OCI element comprises at least an Operating Class field, a Primary Channel Number field and a Frequency Segment Channel Number field which are repeated for each link of a plurality of links used in the multi-link operation [see Figs. 11, 12, 13, ¶¶ 154, 158-161; wherein the RNR element /(OCI element) comprises at least an Operating Class field, a Primary Channel Number field and a Frequency Segment Channel Number field (Fig. 13, TBTT info) which are repeated for each link of a plurality of links used in the multi-link operation].
Regarding claims 11 and 17-18, the claims recite an apparatus implementable in a multi-link device (MLD), comprising: a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly; and a processor coupled to the transceiver (Fig. 2, ¶¶ 58-60; a device 100 comprising memory 105, wireless communication circuitry 130, processing element 101) and configured to perform the method recited as in claims 1 and 6-7 respectively; therefore, claims 11 and 17-18 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 1 and 6-7 respectively.
Regarding claim 12, Kneckt discloses the apparatus of claim 11.
Kneckt further discloses wherein the OCI element comprises at least an Operating Class field, a Primary Channel Number field and a Frequency Segment Channel Number field which are repeated for each link of a plurality of links used in the multi-link operation [see Figs. 11, 12, 13, ¶¶ 154, 158-161; wherein the RNR element /(OCI element) comprises at least an Operating Class field, a Primary Channel Number field and a Frequency Segment Channel Number field (Fig. 13, TBTT info) which are repeated for each link of a plurality of links used in the multi-link operation].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 2-5 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Kneckt et al. (US 2022/0418022) (with an US-Provisional-Application US No. 63/214,096 having earlier priority date 06/23/2021) in view of Kwon et al. (US 2021/0321388).
Regarding claims 2, Kneckt discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein responsive to a bandwidth of the respective channel being 320 MHz, a value in the Frequency Segment Channel Number field is set to a center frequency of the respective channel.
However, Kwon discloses wherein responsive to a bandwidth of the respective channel being 320 MHz, a value in the Frequency Segment Channel Number field is set to a center frequency of the respective channel [see ¶¶ 21-26; wherein responsive to a bandwidth of the respective channel being 320 MHz, a value in the Frequency Segment Channel Number field is set to a center frequency of the respective channel].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein responsive to a bandwidth of the respective channel being 320 MHz, a value in the Frequency Segment Channel Number field is set to a center frequency of the respective channel” as taught by Kwon in the system of Kneckt, so that it would facilitate communications in which a type of stations (e.g., legacy) recognize a first channel bandwidth/center channel frequency, and another type of station (e.g., enhanced) recognize the first channel bandwidth/center channel frequency as well as enhanced channels of differing bandwidth/center channel frequency [see Kwon; ¶ 7].
Regarding claim 3, Kneckt discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein responsive to a bandwidth of the respective channel being 320 MHz, a value in the Frequency Segment Channel Number field is set to a channel center frequency index of a primary segment being used currently.
However, Kwon discloses wherein responsive to a bandwidth of the respective channel being 320 MHz, a value in the Frequency Segment Channel Number field is set to a channel center frequency index of a primary segment being used currently [see ¶¶ 27, 64, 67, Claim 6; wherein responsive to a bandwidth of the respective channel being 320 MHz, a value in the Frequency Segment Channel Number field is set to a channel center frequency index of a primary segment being used currently].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein responsive to a bandwidth of the respective channel being 320 MHz, a value in the Frequency Segment Channel Number field is set to a channel center frequency index of a primary segment being used currently” as taught by Kwon in the system of Kneckt, so that it would facilitate communications in which a type of stations (e.g., legacy) recognize a first channel bandwidth/center channel frequency, and another type of station (e.g., enhanced) recognize the first channel bandwidth/center channel frequency as well as enhanced channels of differing bandwidth/center channel frequency [see Kwon; ¶ 7].
Regarding claim 4, Kneckt discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein responsive to a bandwidth of the respective channel being not 320 MHz, a value in the Frequency Segment Channel Number field is set to a channel center frequency index of a secondary segment being used currently.
However, Kwon discloses wherein responsive to a bandwidth of the respective channel being not 320 MHz, a value in the Frequency Segment Channel Number field is set to a channel center frequency index of a secondary segment being used currently [see ¶¶ 72-75; wherein responsive to a bandwidth of the respective channel being not 320 MHz, a value in the Frequency Segment Channel Number field is set to a channel center frequency index of a secondary segment being used currently (set EHT_CCFS0/EHT_CCFS1 indicate the channel center frequency of primary 80 MHz and secondary 160 MHz channel)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein responsive to a bandwidth of the respective channel being not 320 MHz, a value in the Frequency Segment Channel Number field is set to a channel center frequency index of a secondary segment being used currently” as taught by Kwon in the system of Kneckt, so that it would facilitate communications in which a type of stations (e.g., legacy) recognize a first channel bandwidth/center channel frequency, and another type of station (e.g., enhanced) recognize the first channel bandwidth/center channel frequency as well as enhanced channels of differing bandwidth/center channel frequency [see Kwon; ¶ 7].
Regarding claim 5, the combined system of Kneckt and Kwon discloses the method of claim 4.
Kneckt does not explicitly disclose wherein the bandwidth of the respective channel is 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz or 80+80 MHz.
However, Kwon discloses wherein the bandwidth of the respective channel is 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz or 80+80 MHz [see ¶¶ 68-69; wherein the bandwidth of the respective channel is 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz or 80+80 MHz].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the bandwidth of the respective channel is 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz or 80+80 MHz” as taught by Kwon in the system of Kneckt, so that it would facilitate communications in which a type of stations (e.g., legacy) recognize a first channel bandwidth/center channel frequency, and another type of station (e.g., enhanced) recognize the first channel bandwidth/center channel frequency as well as enhanced channels of differing bandwidth/center channel frequency [see Kwon; ¶ 7].
Regarding claims 13-16, the claims recite the apparatus of claim 11, to perform the method steps recited as in claims 2-5 respectively; therefore, claims 13-16 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 2- 5 respectively.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Kneckt et al. (US 2022/0418022) (with an US-Provisional-Application US No. 63/214,096 having earlier priority date 06/23/2021) in view of Ouzieli et al. (US 2023/0362647).
Regarding claim 8, Kneckt discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose discarding, by the STA based on a result of the operating channel validation, the respective frame responsive to the respective frame being not on a same primary channel used by the STA to receive one or more physical-layer protocol data units (PPDUs) from a respective one of the one or more peer STAs.
However, Ouzieli discloses discarding, by the STA based on a result of the operating channel validation, the respective frame responsive to the respective frame being not on a same primary channel used by the STA to receive one or more physical-layer protocol data units (PPDUs) from a respective one of the one or more peer STAs [see ¶ 43; discard the beacon frame in case a mismatch between a calculated message integrity code (MIC) and the MIC 309].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “discarding, by the STA based on a result of the operating channel validation, the respective frame responsive to the respective frame being not on a same primary channel used by the STA to receive one or more physical-layer protocol data units (PPDUs) from a respective one of the one or more peer STAs” as taught by Ouzieli in the system of Kneckt, so that it would allow validation by the client device of the operating channel that is used between the AP and the client device [see Ouzieli; ¶ 22].
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites the apparatus of claim 11, to perform the method steps recited as in claim 8; therefore, claim 19 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
In additional to references cited that are used for rejection as set forth above, ALEXANDER et al. (WO 2022/020586) and Seok et al. (US 2021/0315025) are also considered as relevant prior arts for rejection of in claims 1 and 11 (See ALEXANDER; Figs. 4, 5; ¶¶ 57-75; See Seok; Figs. 1, 2; ¶¶ 51-59).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHONG LA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469