DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oyaizu et al. (US2013/0068335A1) hereinafter Oyaizu.
Regarding claim 1, Oyaizu discloses a transportation hose comprising an inner layer ([paragraph 0020]: tubular resin layer 1 and Figure 1: 1), an intermediate layer ([paragraph 0020]: inner surface rubber layer 2 and Figure 1: 2), a reinforcing layer ([paragraph 0020]: reinforcing layer 3 and Figure 1: 3), and an outer layer ([paragraph 0020]: out surface layer 4 and Figure 1: 4) laminated in this order,
the inner layer containing a thermoplastic resin composition containing first thermoplastic resin (paragraph [0028] discloses PA9T and PAMXD6 as options for resin B, which are generic names for Ny9T and MXD6) having a deflection temperature under load of 75 o C or higher (inherently disclosed by Oyaizu, as applicant’s own disclosure mentions MXD6 and Ny9T as an options in Table 1-1 to 1-7, MPEP 2112 (III))
and second thermoplastic resin (paragraph [0026] discloses PA6, PA66, PA612, PA11, PA12 as options for resin A which are generic names for Ny6, Ny6.66, Ny6.12, Ny11 and Ny12) having a deflection temperature under load of lower than 75 o C (inherently disclosed by Oyaizu, as applicant’s own disclosure mentions Ny6, Ny6.66, Ny6.12, Ny11, Ny12 as an options in Table 1-1 to 1-7, MPEP 2112 (III)),
the intermediate layer ([paragraph 20]: inner surface rubber layer 2 and Figure 1: 2) containing a rubber composition containing vulcanized rubber ([paragraph 045]: mentions rubber options including NBR, EPDM, etc; paragraph [0091] discusses about Butyl rubber (NBR) vulcanization, paragraph [0092] discussed about EPDM vulcanization, paragraph [0095] discusses about using vulcanization for production of hose),
and the inner layer and the intermediate layer being bonded in a direct manner or via an adhesive layer (paragraph [0020] mentions use of adhesive as an option for improving bonding between layers).
Oyaizu primarily discloses a refrigerant transportation hose, but discloses transportation of fuel as an additional application area for the disclosed hose containing aromatic-aliphatic combination of material (paragraph [0007]). Additionally, while in the preamble section of the claimed invention applicant mentions fuel transportation hose. Fuel transportation is seen to be an intended use in the preamble and has not been given patentable weight. A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. MPEP2111.02(II)
Regarding claim 2, Oyaizu discloses a fuel transportation hose according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Oyaizu further discloses a ratio of a mass of the first thermoplastic resin to a total mass of the first thermoplastic resin and the second thermoplastic resin is from 0.05 to 0.67 (paragraph [0011] explains ratio of thermoplastic resin B to A ranges from 5/95 to 40/60). Range disclosed by Oyaizu is within the range claimed in the current limitation. Hence Oyaizu anticipates the range claimed in the current limitation (MPEP 2131.03).
Regarding claim 3, Oyaizu discloses a fuel transportation hose according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Oyaizu further inherently discloses the first thermoplastic resin has an aromatic ring in a main chain (paragraph [0028] discloses PA9T and PAMXD6 as options for resin B, which are known to have aromatic benzene ring in the main chain). Additionally, presence of aromatic benzene ring is inherent to the chemical composition of the Oyaizu’s disclosed thermoplastic resins (PA9T and PAMXD6) which are also mentioned in applicant’s own disclosure (Table 1-1 to 1-7). MPEP 2112 (III)
Regarding claim 4, Oyaizu discloses a fuel transportation hose according to claim 3 as set forth above.
Oyaizu further inherently discloses the aromatic ring has 6 to 10 carbons (paragraph [0028] discloses PA9T and PAMXD6 as options for resin B, which are known to have aromatic benzene ring containing 6 carbons in the main chain). Additionally, presence of aromatic benzene ring with 6 carbons is inherent to the chemical composition of the Oyaizu’s disclosed thermoplastic resins (PA9T and PAMXD6) which are also mentioned in applicant’s own disclosure (Table 1-1 to 1-7). MPEP 2112 (III).
Regarding claim 5, Oyaizu discloses a fuel transportation hose according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Oyaizu further discloses the first thermoplastic resin is aromatic polyamide resin (paragraph [0028] discloses PA9T and PAMXD6 as options for resin B, which are generic names for Ny9T and MXD6).
Regarding claim 6, Oyaizu discloses a fuel transportation hose according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Oyaizu further discloses second thermoplastic resin is aliphatic polyamide (paragraph [0026] discloses PA6, PA66, PA612, PA11, PA12 as options for resin A which are generic names for Ny6, Ny6.66, Ny6.12, Ny11 and Ny12).
Regarding claim 7, Oyaizu discloses a fuel transportation hose according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Oyaizu implicitly discloses the inner layer has a content of a free sulfur component with respect to an amount of the inner layer of 1.0 mass% or less or contains no free sulfur component (Oyaizu discloses inner layer containing 3 components, (A) an aliphatic polyamide; (B) a semi-aromatic polyamide; and (C) an elastomer ([paragraph 0010]). Oyaizu discloses PA9T and PAMXD6 as options for resin B, which are generic names for Ny9T and MXD6 (paragraph [0028]). Oyaizu discloses PA6, PA66, PA612, PA11, PA12 as options for resin A which are generic names for Ny6, Ny6.66, Ny6.12, Ny11 and Ny12 (paragraph [0026]). None of resin A and resin B have sulfur in them. For components C, Oyaizu discloses elastomers such as an olefin-based elastomer, a styrene-based elastomer, a polyester-based elastomer and a polyamide-based elastomer (paragraph [0031]). For olefin-based elastomer Oyaizu discloses EPDM and EPM rubber (paragraph 0032). For preparation of EPDM rubber Oyaizu discloses 1 part by weight of sulfur as vulcanizing agent for 100 parts by weight of EPDM (paragraph [0093]) which is 1% weight of sulfur. This implies the inner layer will have 1% or less of free sulfur with respect to the inner layer mass. In case the inner layer uses other elastomers not requiring sulfur for vulcanization, the inner layer will contain no free sulfur).
Regarding claim 8, Oyaizu discloses a fuel transportation hose according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Oyaizu further discloses ratio of a thickness of the inner layer to a thickness of the intermediate layer is from 0.01 to 2.00 (paragraph [0081] mentions thickness range for inner resin layer to be 0.02-2 mm, and thickness range for inner surface rubber layer to be 0.5 to 5 mm. Example values of 0.15mm/1.5mm will result in ratio to be 0.01 and 2mm/1mm will result in ratio to be 2)
Regarding claim 11, Oyaizu discloses a fuel transportation hose according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Oyaizu further inherently discloses the inner layer has a storage modulus E at -30 o c of 1500 to 3500 MPa (Oyaizu discloses PA9T and PAMXD6 as options for resin B (paragraph [0028]), which are generic names for Ny9T and MXD6 mentioned in applicant’s disclosure. Oyaizu discloses PA6, PA66, PA612, PA11, PA12 as options for resin A (paragraph [0026]) which are generic names for Ny6, Ny6.66, Ny6.12, Ny11 and Ny12 mentioned in applicant’s disclosure. Oyaizu discloses elastomers such as an olefin-based elastomer, a styrene-based elastomer, a polyester-based elastomer and a polyamide-based elastomer (paragraph [0031]. Oyaizu anticipates all the components of the inner layer. Hence as per MPEP 2112 (III) limitations introduced in claimed invention are anticipated).
Regarding claim 12, Oyaizu discloses a fuel transportation hose according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Oyaizu further discloses the inner layer further contains rubber (paragraph [0032] mentions about EPDM and EPM rubber) and/or elastomer (paragraph [0010] mentions tubular resin layer containing elastomer C).
Regarding claim 13, Oyaizu discloses a fuel transportation hose according to claim 12 as set forth above.
Oyaizu further discloses elastomer is polyester elastomer, polyamide elastomer, or modified styrene-based elastomer (paragraph [0031] mentions polyester-based, polyamide-based and styrene-based elastomers as options for elastomers).
Regarding claim 14, Oyaizu discloses a fuel transportation hose according to claim 12 as set forth above.
Oyaizu further discloses the inner layer has a sea-island structure of the thermoplastic resin composition and the rubber and/or the elastomer (paragraph [0022] explains thermoplastic resins A and B to not be in a disperse state like sea-island structure indicating that a disperse state can be considered as a sea-island structure; paragraph [0041] describes the elastomer C in inner layer to be not compatible with the thermoplastic resins A and B and to be in a state of being dispersed in a particulate fashion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyaizu in view of Fukushi et al. (US2005/0159557A1) hereinafter Fukushi.
Regarding claim 9, Oyaizu discloses a fuel transportation hose according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Oyaizu further inherently discloses the inner layer has a degree of swelling after 7 days of immersion in a fuel at a temperature of 23 0 C of 35.0% or less (Oyaizu discloses PA9T and PAMXD6 as options for resin B (paragraph [0028]), which are generic names for Ny9T and MXD6 mentioned in applicant’s disclosure. Oyaizu discloses PA6, PA66, PA612, PA11, PA12 as options for resin A (paragraph [0026]) which are generic names for Ny6, Ny6.66, Ny6.12, Ny11 and Ny12 mentioned in applicant’s disclosure. Oyaizu discloses elastomers such as an olefin-based elastomer, a styrene-based elastomer, a polyester-based elastomer and a polyamide-based elastomer (paragraph [0031]. Oyaizu anticipates all the components of the inner layer. Hence as per MPEP 2112 (III) limitations introduced in claimed invention are anticipated.).
Oyaizu does not disclose a fuel containing 42.5 vol% of isooctane, 42.5 vol% of toluene, and 15 vol% of ethanol with respect to an entire amount of the fuel. Fukushi teaches Fuel H with 42.5 vol% of isooctane, 42.5 vol% of toluene, and 15 vol% of ethanol (paragraph [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use hose disclosed by Oyaizu to transport the fuel taught by Fukushi and expect the same outcome as introduced in the current invention. One motivation to do so would be if the fuel taught by Fukushi turns out to be suitable for the intended application.
Regarding claim 10, Oyaizu discloses a fuel transportation hose according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Oyaizu further inherently discloses the inner layer has a fuel transmission after 7 days of immersion in a fuel at a temperature of 23 0 C of 5.00 mg.mm/24h.cm2 or less (Oyaizu discloses PA9T and PAMXD6 as options for resin B (paragraph [0028]), which are generic names for Ny9T and MXD6 mentioned in applicant’s disclosure. Oyaizu discloses PA6, PA66, PA612, PA11, PA12 as options for resin A (paragraph [0026]) which are generic names for Ny6, Ny6.66, Ny6.12, Ny11 and Ny12 mentioned in applicant’s disclosure. Oyaizu discloses elastomers such as an olefin-based elastomer, a styrene-based elastomer, a polyester-based elastomer and a polyamide-based elastomer (paragraph [0031]. Oyaizu anticipates all the components of the inner layer. Hence as per MPEP 2112 (III) limitations introduced in claimed invention are anticipated.).
Oyaizu does not disclose a fuel containing 42.5 vol% of isooctane, 42.5 vol% of toluene, and 15 vol% of ethanol with respect to an entire amount of the fuel. Fukushi teaches Fuel H with 42.5 vol% of isooctane, 42.5 vol% of toluene, and 15 vol% of ethanol (paragraph [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use hose disclosed by Oyaizu to transport the fuel taught by Fukushi and expect the same outcome as introduced in the current invention. One motivation to do so would be if the fuel taught by Fukushi turns out to be suitable for the intended application.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyaizu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tokai Rubber (JP2001072804A).
Regarding claim 15, Oyaizu discloses a fuel transportation hose according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Oyaizu further inherently discloses the vulcanized rubber is rubber with acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber vulcanized (paragraph [0045] discloses acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber (NBR) as an option for rubber). Oyaizu is silent on composition of acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber. Tokai teaches NBR with acrylonitrile content 43-50 mas% with respect to entire amount of NBR (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use NBR taught by Tokai for constructing the hose of Oyaizu. Motivation to do so would be to get an inexpensive rubber composition containing NBR as a base material, and to provide a fuel delivery hose which suits to severe fuel penetration regulations and further has good low temperature characteristics (Abstract).
Conclusion
/FAISAL AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753