DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of 35 USC 371 of PCT/EP2023/058211 (filed on 03/29/2023) and claims benefit to EUROPEAN PATENT OFFICE (EPO) 22165646.5 (filed on 03/30/2022).
Claims Status
Claims 1-18 are pending and have been examined on merits.
Claim Interpretation
For clarity of the record the following comments are made regarding claim interpretation under broadest reasonable interpretation:
None of the ‘optionally’ limitations are considered as required by the claims.
Claim 15 contains the word 'preferably' and ‘such as’ in the context of claim limitations. Use of the word 'preferably' and ‘such as’ as it pertains to 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is addressed below; however, under broadest reasonable interpretation, 'preferably' and ‘such as’ are interpreted akin to 'optionally'.
Claim 4 recites “means for dissolving or degrading the biocompatible hydrogel beads…”. In the specification, Applicants describe dissolving or degrading the biocompatible hydrogel dependent on the composition of the hydrogel itself (See, p34 lines 5-8). Applicants’ specification recites that biocompatible alginate beads can be dissolved by the use of alginate lyase treatment, treatment with divalent cation chelating agent, or a combination thereof (See, p34 lines 13-16). Therefore, claim 4 is interpreted as covering use of alginate lyase treatment, treatment with divalent cation chelating agent, or a combination thereof, as the ‘means for dissolving or degrading’ a biocompatible hydrogel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 12-16, the preamble of the claims reference “the method according to claim 1”, “a tissue scaffold according to the method according to claim 1”, or “a first tissue scaffold”; theses are separate inventions (method, product of the method, and a separate product), thus making the claims indefinite. Though the claims can be dependent on claim 1, the claims expand in an attempt to cover multiple different statutory categories of inventions. The claims as currently written such that they both further limit the method of claim 1 and attempts to cover products made by the method of claim 1. This causes the claim to be indefinite due to the metes and bounds being unclear and making it unclear when infringement were to occur (See, MPEP 2173.05(p)).
Regarding claim 15, the phrase "preferably" and “such as” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Appropriate corrections or clarifications are required.
Improper Markush Grouping
Claims 12-15 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives.
See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of claims 12-15 are improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons:
Claims 12-15 have a Markush group consisting of ‘the method according to claim 1’, ‘a tissue scaffold according to the method according to claim 1’, or ‘a first tissue scaffold’. The method according to claim 1 is drawn to a method of manufacturing a tissue scaffold. A tissue scaffold according to the method according to claim 1 is the product of the method according to claim 1. A first tissue scaffold is any tissue scaffold comprising the elements listed in claims 12-15, which has different requirements than the scaffold created by the method according to claim 1; such as in claim 12, the biocompatible hydrogel bead are biocompatible alginate beads have one or more cell adhesion ligand(s) on their outer surface, this is not required by the tissue scaffold made by the method according to claim 1. Therefore, there are structural dissimilarities between the three elements of the Markush group.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
For compact prosecution, claims 12-15 are being interpreted as reciting ‘The method according to claim 1’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 9, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhat et la (FASEB journal, 2013).
Bhat et al teaches the use of engineered cell secreted extracellular matrix (ECM) on microbeads suspended in alginate hydrogels promote cell adhesion and enhance osteogenic differentiation of undifferentiated mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) (See, Abstract).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 9, Bhat et al teaches the use of cytodex2 microcarrier beads (60-87μm), that were coated with denatured porcine collagen (See, p4845 col 2 paragraph 3). The MSCs in hydrogels containing ECM-coated carrier beads were implanted in mice and it increased vessel density (See, p4847 col 2 paragraph 2); thus, making the microbeads biocompatible. This reads on, wherein the biocompatible hydrogel beads support attachment of the first group of cells, of claim 1, as collagen is a known adhesion and proliferation for MSCs (See, p4844 col 2 paragraph 2).
Bhat et al teaches the alginate hydrogel with ECM coated beads were created by mixing alginate solution with Cytodex® beads, the cell suspension of MSCs, and CaSO4. This reads on, a method of manufacturing a tissue scaffold, comprising providing a first group of cells and biocompatible hydrogel beads; bringing the first group of cells together with the biocompatible hydrogel beads to obtain a first cell-bead culture mixture; of claim 1.
The mixture gelled between 2 glass plates for 1 hour at 37°C to create alginate disks 8mm diameter and 2mm thick, then prepared with dermal biopsy punch for in vitro and in vivo assays (See, p4845 col 2 paragraph 4). This reads on, wherein the first group of cells and biocompatible hydrogel beads of step b) are brought together in a mold to obtain the first cell-bead mixture of claim 1. This also reads on, subjecting the first tissue scaffold to mechanical condition thereby obtaining a mechanically conditioned first tissue scaffold of claims 1 and 3.
Bhat et al teaches the MSC loaded disks were cultured in growth medium for 24 hours and then with osteogenic medium (See, p4846 col 1 paragraph 3). This reads on, culturing the first cell-bead mixture to produce ECM thereby obtaining a first tissue scaffold of claim 1, as MSC produce and secrete ECM when cultured.
Bhat et al teaches that ECM deposited by MSCs on tissue culture plastic can be transferred to a secondary surface (See, p4845 col 1 paragraph 2). This reads on, wherein the first group of cells are anchorage dependent cells that can produce and secrete ECM of claim 1.
The tissue scaffold disks produced by the method taught by Bhat et al reads on, a tissue scaffold obtainable by the method according to claim 1 of claim 9.
Regarding claim 2, following the discussion above, Bhat et al teaches that MSC loaded disks were cultured in growth medium for 24 hours; which reads on wherein the first cell-bead mixture in step c) is cultured at least until the first tissue scaffold is self-supporting.
Regarding claim 11, following the discussion above, Bhat et al teaches a first tissue scaffold comprising a first group of cells (MSCs), biocompatible hydrogel beads supporting attachment of the first group of cells (ECM coated beads and alginate hydrogel), and extracellular matrix produced by the first group of cells.
Bhat et al teaches that the MSCs interacted with the microcarrier beads due to their ECM coatings; the beads were uniformly dispersed throughout the gels and the ECM-coated beads in unmodified alginate facilitated some cell attachment to the beads (See, p4846 col 2 paragraph 5, Figure 2). This reads on, wherein the first group of cells are attached to the outer surface of the biocompatible hydrogel beads; and wherein the first group of cells and the biocompatible hydrogel beads are embedded I the extracellular matrix, as the MSCs are entrapped in the hydrogels containing ECM-coated carrier beads and as they are cultured, the are secreting ECM.
Regarding claim 12, following the discussion above, Bhat et al teaches a method comprising a first group of cells (MSCs), biocompatible hydrogel beads supporting attachment of the first group of cells (ECM coated beads and alginate hydrogel), and extracellular matrix produced by the first group of cells; wherein the first group of cells are attached to the outer surface of the biocompatible hydrogel beads; and wherein the first group of cells and the biocompatible hydrogel beads are embedded I the extracellular matrix, and the biocompatible hydrogel beads are biocompatible alginate breads having one or more adhesion ligand(s) on their outer surface, as the hydrogel beads are made with ECM coating, that the cells adhere to, and alginate and CaSO4.
Regarding claim 13, following the discussion above, Bhat et al teaches a method of manufacturing a tissue scaffold with the aforementioned elements. Bhat et al teaches the use of Cytodex®2 microcarrier beads (60-87μm) were coated with denatured porcine collagen (See, p4845 col 2 paragraph 3). This reads on, wherein the biocompatible hydrogel beads are biocompatible hydrogel microbeads due to their size.
Regarding claim 14, following the discussion above, Bhat teaches the use of microbead carriers with sizes ranging from 60-87μm, this reads on, wherein the biocompatible hydrogel beads are biocompatible hydrogel beads of an average size in the range of 10 to 200 μm in their largest diameter.
Regarding claim 15, following the discussion above, Bhat et al teaches that 100% of the microbeads are within the size range of 60-87μm, therefore this reads on, wherein at least 60% of the biocompatible hydrogel beads have a size in the range of 10 to 200 μm.
Regarding claims 16-18, following the discussion above, the range of the size of the microcarrier beads taught in Bhat et al reads on the ranges of claims 16 (average size in the range of 10-150 μm), claim 17 (average size in the range of 30-150 μm), and claim 18 (average size in the range of 30-90 μm).
Therefore, claims 1-3, 9, 11-18 are anticipated by Bhat et al.
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al (Tissue engineering, 2012).
Liu et al teaches using human umbilical cord mesenchymal stem cells (hUCMSCs) in a scaffold for muscle engineering by encapsulating the cells in degradable microbeads inside a hydrogel matrix; such that the microbeads degrade and release the cells and create macropores in the hydrogel matrix (See, Abstract).
Regarding claims 1-2, Liu et al teaches making oxidized alginate fibrin microbeads in which the hUCMSCs were encapsulated (hUCMSC-microbeads). These hUCMSC-microbeads were then put in RGD modified alginate solution to make hUCMSC-microbead-AM. This reads on, ...wherein the biocompatible hydrogel beads support attachment of the first group of cells;… of claim 1 as fibrin supports growth and attachment of MSC cells (See, p2304 col 1 paragraph 2).
Liu et al describes in Figure 1B, that the microbeads act as a filler and RGD-modified alginate as the matrix (See, p2305 col 2 paragraph 2). This reads on, a method of manufacturing a tissue scaffold,…comprising… a) providing a first group of cells and biocompatible hydrogel beads; b) bringing the first group of cells together with the biocompatible hydrogel beads to obtain a first cell-bead mixture of claim 1.
Liu et al teaches that on day 1 of culturing hUCMSC-microbead-AM showed living cells, by days 3, 7 and 14 the cells have a spreading morphology (See, p2307-2308, Figure 2). This reads on,…c) culturing the first cell-based mixture to produce extracellular matrix thereby obtaining a first tissue scaffold of claim 1, as hUCMSC are mesenchymal cells that are known in the art to produce ECM when cultured. Therefore, this also reads on, wherein the first group of cells are anchorage dependent cells that can produce and secrete ECM of claim 1. This also reads on, wherein the first cell-bead mixture in step c) is cultured at least until the first tissue scaffold is self-supporting of claim 2, as the cells are cultured in growth media and viability tested for up to 14 days (See, p2306 col 1 paragraph 1).
The microbeads were added into RGD-modified alginate as the matrix, the composite solution was filled into a disk mold of 6.4 mm diameter and 2 mm thickness to make disks (See, p2305 col 2 paragraph 2, Figure 1B). This reads on, wherein the first group of cells and the biocompatible hydrogel beads of step b) are brough together in a mold to obtain the first cell-bead mixture of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, following the discussion above, Liu et al teaches that by days 8 and 14 of culturing the hUCMSC-microbead-AM no longer had the microbead boundary visible, indicating the microbead degraded by day 8 (See, p2307 col 2 paragraph 1, Figure 1F). This reads on, wherein the first tissue scaffold…the biocompatible hydrogel beads are self-degradable, and the first tissue scaffold is cultured until the biocompatible hydrogel beads are self-degraded, thereby obtaining a third issue scaffold.
Regarding claim 8, following the discussion above, the microbeads were added into RGD-modified alginate as the matrix, the composite solution was filled into a disk mold of 6.4 mm diameter and 2 mm thickness to make disks (See, p2305 col 2 paragraph 2, Figure 1B). The constructed disks were then cultured in cell growth medium for 1, 3,7 and 14 days, and cell viability was determined; with cells viable up to day 14 (See, p2306 col 1 paragraph 1, Figure 2). This reads on, wherein the mold is made of bioinert material; designed to allow exchange of nutrients and gases between exterior and interior of the mold; and completely or partly submerged in cell culture media.
Regarding claim 9, following the discussion above, Liu et al teaches a method that produces a tissue scaffold according to claim 1, therefore the product is also taught. This reads on, a tissue scaffold obtainable by the method according to claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1, 2, 4, 8 and 9 are anticipated by Liu et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (Tissue engineering, 2012) as applied to claim 1-2, 4, and 8-9 above, and further in view of Bhat et la (FASEB journal, 2013).
The teachings of Liu et al are set forth above.
Regarding claim 5, following the discussion above, Liu et al teaches a first tissue scaffold that after 8 days in culture the biocompatible hydrogel beads self-degrade to obtain a third tissue scaffold.
Liu et al does not teach mechanically conditioning the third tissue scaffold to obtain a mechanically condition third tissue scaffold.
The teachings of Bhat et al are also set forth above. Bhat et al teaches that the alginate hydrogel disks (8 x 2 mm) were loaded between 2 flat platens and compressed at 1 mm/min, to determine compressive moduli (See, p4846 col 1 paragraph 1). Figure 1 shows that alginate hydrogels with ECM-coated beads had greater compressive moduli (See, p4846 col 2 paragraph 4).
As both Liu et al and Bhat et al teach the use of biocompatible microbeads with MSCs to produce first tissue scaffold disk, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Liu et al to further include a mechanical conditioning of stretching the tissue scaffold with flat plates and compression of the hydrogel disks as taught by Bhat et al. As engineering muscle tissue is the objective for Liu et al, it would be advantageous to know the ability of the first tissue scaffold produced by Liu et al to stretch and resist deformation to further understand the elongation of the cells in the scaffold and for future applications for muscle engineering. This conclusion of obviousness is based on teaching suggestion motivation rationale. One would have been motivated to make this modification method to further improve and understand the first tissue scaffold for muscle tissue engineering. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success evidenced by Bhat et al and Liu et al.
Therefore, claim 5 is rendered obvious by Liu et al in view of Bhat et al.
Claims 6-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (Tissue engineering, 2012) as applied to claim 1-2, 4, and 8-9 above, and further in view of Zhang (Bioactive materials, 2021).
The teachings of Liu et al are set forth above.
Regarding claims 6-7 and 10, following the discussion above, Liu et al teaches obtaining a third tissue scaffold after 8 days of culturing the biocompatible hydrogel bead with hUCMSCs disk.
Liu et al does not teach the decellularization of the third tissue scaffold.
Zhang et al teaches the use of decellularized extracellular matrix (dECM) scaffolds and recellularized scaffolds in tissue engineering (See, Abstract).
Zhang et al teaches that cell derived dECM scaffolds provide an alternative to organ or tissue derived dECM scaffolds, due to the cells secreting cell specific ECM when culture in vitro, which can then be decellularized (See, p17 ¶ 2.1.2). This reads on, wherein the third tissue scaffold is subjected to decellularization thereby obtaining a fourth tissue scaffold of claim 6. This also reads on; a tissue scaffold obtainable by the method according to claim 6 of claim 10.
Figure 2a2 depicts isolating cells, culturing them, decellularizing to isolate dECM, then recellularizing or cultured with another population of cells to then be implanted into a subject (See, p17 Figure 2a2). This reads on, wherein the fourth tissue scaffold is incubated in the presence of a second group of cells, thereby obtaining a fourth tissue scaffold repopulated with the second group of cells of claim 7.
Zhang et al teaches that cell-derived dECM have unique benefits, including that cell-derived dECM scaffolds are to more practical to obtain, especially with progenitor or stem cell populations, can reduce the risk of pathogen transfer caused by allogenic ECM and thus eliminate or reduce immune responses, induced by xenogeneic ECM, and in vitro cultured cell-derived ECM is easier to modify and graft on other surfaces of biomaterials (See, p17 ¶2.1.2).
As both Liu et al and Zhang et al teach in vitro culture cell-derived tissue scaffold, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary sill in the art to have modified the method of Liu et al to decellularize the third tissue scaffold to obtain a fourth tissue scaffold and then repopulate the fourth tissue scaffold with a second cell group of cells as taught by Zhang et al. This conclusion of obviousness is based on teaching suggestion motivation rationale. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Zhang et al taught that the decellularization of the scaffold would provide unique benefits for administration to a subject. Liu et al teaches that hUCMSC-microbead-AM construct is to be directed to create muscle tissue for the lip muscle defect in babies born with cleft lip and palate (See, p2312 col 1 paragraph 2); therefore, providing a way to make the scaffold and construct less immunogenic and provide the site with muscle tissue, the modification of decellularization and repopulation is obvious. One would have a reasonable expectation of success taught by Zhang et al.
Therefore, claims 6-7 and 10 are rendered obvious by Liu et al in view of Zhang et al.
Conclusion
/CAROLINE M LARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/ALLISON M FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633